Image of Amaraigua Hotel

Amaraigua Hotel

12 of 14 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

3 out of 5 from 42 reviews
3 stars
Avinguda dels Pins, 7, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain

42 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    16
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    5

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
10 years 6 months ago
This is a very poor hotel, with poor rooms, poor unsympathetic staff and poor facilities. It is definitely not a three star accommodation. When we were there, the stench from the hotel sewerage system was overwhelming.

The beach is handy and but expensive if hiring beach beds for two weeks, especially for a family.

The food is poor with little choice or variety. The restaurant is small and soon fills up.

The rooms on the railway side are small with small bath tubs.

We started going to Spain some forty years ago when you could only get half board. Then, the breakfast would consist of coffee or tea, one butter, one jam and one roll.

This hotel was similar inasmuch that attitudes have not changed just that it has become all inclusive. This all inclusive facility is great but the hotel building goes back to the 1970's and has not changed much at all since then, in spite of it being refurbished some twelve years ago.

The swimming pool is small and inadequate and so is the sunbathing area of the hotel. There was only two of us and we could afford to hire two sunbeds on the beach for 8 euros each day which cost us 132 euros for the fortnight we stayed here. Families of four or more could find it very expensive!

To get to the town and shopping areas you have to go through an underground passage that ran underneath the main railway line! Because the hotel entertainment was poor each night, we went out to other hotels or entertainment bars.

My advice, is do not go to this hotel, especially if you have children. Go there if you are an alcoholic and like to consume intoxicating liquor all day!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Fleetway

Jimd-f
10 years 10 months ago
I’m just back from a 6 day break at this hotel.

This hotel is situated right on the beach and pedestrian access is through an underpass from the main street under the railway track. There is a road outside the hotel which is accessed from either end of the resort.

It is advertised as a 3* hotel and it is maybe just that.

It is a smallish hotel, with a garden, patio, small swimming pool, hot tub, childrens’ pool and access to the beach. There is an outside snack bar that opens in the morning, till lunch, and in the afternoon till 6.30pm.

Unlike other AI’s there is no food served after dinner finishes at 21.00. You can also get drinks at this bar during the day.

On arrival, at around 9pm the check-in was very smooth, and we were in our rooms within 10 minutes. They operate an wristband system for those on AI, so I would advise you to ensure that it is left wide enough for you to be able to take it off if you intend to sunbathe, or more likely to leave the hotel.

Our rooms were very clean, but although the hotel had only been open for 2 weeks before we arrived, the décor was very tired and it did not appear as if any work had been done over the winter.

The TV, toilet and a/c all worked fine, but the only English channel was $ky News. . No hairdryer in the rooms. The rooms and hotel in general were all kept very clean, with maids working all hours.

The food was well cooked and presented and there was the usual variety i.e. a fish dish, pasta, meat dish; plenty salad and fruit. I saw the “famous” horse sausages on display one day but chose something different. I never really have liked the taste of horse meat! The drinks in the restaurant during meals are self service and you can help yourself to beer, wine and soft drinks.

The inside bar was fine with the usual daily cocktail and varying measure sizes of the vodka depending on who served you and the staff were friendly enough and treated us very well. They use cheap plastic disposable “glasses” for all drinks which was a bit of a nuisance, and their insistence that you could only get 2 drinks at a time, even when we were the only 3 people in the bar, was a bit of a pain.

The entertainment, which was outside most nights was nothing special, the usual mixture of quiz, disco etc. they do have a parrot show though, and if you have not seen it before you should not miss that.

The only problem that we encountered during our stay was with the electric. Power went off in some rooms, mine was affected 3 times during my stay, including a complete power cut throughout the hotel. I don’t know the cause but it would concern me if I wanted to book there again.

There was also a problem with some of the hot trays in the restaurant for the latter part of our stay, so they could not keep all the food warm on that part of the buffet.
This is a small and reasonably friendly hotel with the advantage of being right on the beach. I booked this as a cheap break and got exactly what I expected.

Unfortunately, the electrical problems I experienced would put me off rebooking this hotel, as would the general 2* air of the place, but other than that it is a cheap holiday and you get what you pay for.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Lisa
11 years 5 months ago
Hola! I stayed in this hotel last week and I had the best time ever!! The food was great and the staff were very friendly!! Especially Jesus he was gorgeous!!

I don't know how anyone could disagree with this hotel as it was clean and situated on the beach, lots of varietes of foods to eat and entertainment every night!!

I'm planning my next holiday there next year and can't wait!!!!

See you next year Amaraguia!!!!

Thanks for making my holiday fantastic!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Click Air

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Midson
12 years 6 months ago
Upon arrival we were aware we would have to make the journey to the hotel via the subway - this did not concern us (subway was clean and we had no problems with it) Upon arrival at the hotel, although the lobby seemed small, it appeared professional we were met eventually by a smiling receptionist who checked us in and gave us a list of what can only be described as "rules" we were also provided with wrist bands and given strict instructions that we must wear them.

When entering our room we were struck by how small it was but at least it was clean (although as non smokers the slightly stale smoky air and ashtray were not too attractive - we were not offered a non smoking room) Having read through the rules we found the room safe to cost 24 euros for the week (6 of which was the deposit) on closer inspection we realised this was not actually attached to anything so although it was locked someone could have wandered off with it! Also you had to pay 20 euros to get the remote for the TV - you will get this back at the end of your stay. Warning, there is a particulartly early check out time of 10am. One of the lights in the room was not working, on reporting this to reception we were handed a light bulb, with a smile. We also reported a smashed fire alarm which was on the 1st floor corridor on the second day of our stay upon leaving 6 days later this was still broken!

Our room was not cleaned until 3.00pm, yet we were regularly woken at 7.00am by the shouting cleaners.

Moving on to the food, it was disgusting, from the caterpillar found on the lettuce (how many poor souls have eaten this?) to the horse sausages and the chips, chips and more chips there isn't much more that can be said.

We don't normally fuss about the food as you can only expect so much from all inclusive but this was awful. The only night we were able to eat suffcient to class it as a dinner was on their Gala dinner night - they appeared to be clebrating but we were not sure what!!

The staff that worked in the restaurant were overworked but very friendly (some staff in particular worked everyday of our stay - all day - this is not 9-5!) Location was good for us as we went on holiday with the sole intention of lying on the beach all day - the all inclusive drinks stretching to the beach was a bonus.

There was nothing that can be described as entertainment, the 2 members of staff that provided the kids entertainment again seemed to work all day everyday of our stay. The gym was rediculous the machines old and no variety.

In short we would not return to this hotel!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Complete Travel Solutions

Gibson
12 years 6 months ago
After reading previous reviews we were aware that the bus would drop off on the otherside of the road and the subay would need to be traversed so we booked a cab prior to leaving the UK and when we got to the airport it couldn't have been easier the driver was waiting and sped us off to the hotel.

Reception was fine and the staff friendly and helpful, they had a great command of the language and explained the necessary in detail.

Off to our room, this was on the ground floor and it was a bit of a shock to find ourselves only the distance of a a small patio area from the bar and entertainment. However, with a drink and a relax we realised that actually we had a prime spot to sit and watch while being that little bit way from the main throng. The room was clean enough with the smallest bathroom ever but once you got used to sitting "sidesaddle" this wasn't a problem.

The staff at the hotel work extremely long hours and boy do they work hard. There has been reviews that said they were not very friendly but we didn't find this to be the case, many times we think that they were just so busy to hold a conversation.

The food wasn't great but there wasn't a day that we didn't manage to find something to eat. The staff in the dining room were helpful and friendly and if anything was brought to their attention, like the wine had run out, they were on it straight away with a smile.

The entertainment was poor but they made an effort.

All in all for the price we paid it was a great holiday, the sun shone for the whole week and that makes a difference.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: fleetway

Recommended
Jennifer Ballard
12 years 6 months ago
Altough all inclusive the food was awful was served up pigs cheek and what was apparently dodo! bar snacks are stale buns with hotdogs, cold pizza and chips.
First room had a mouldy bathroom ceiling so were moved to one with a used plaster in the shower!
The staff were miserable couldn't look any less like they want to help or even be there.
entertainment is poor the highlight was the parrots.
Karaoke nearly every night. Very loud no good for kids.
There is a small town centre by the train station which is nice also there is a seafood restaurnt across the road from the hotel which is lovely the paella was beautiful!
The subway to Malgrat town is scary with graffiti all over the walls. But at least it gets you away from this hotel.
I would never ever go back here!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: easy jet

Jo & Mike Carpenter
12 years 9 months ago
This is the second time we have been to the Amaraigua Hotel, we stayed here for a week last year as well. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable, as we stayed here last year we contacted the hotel and asked for a room in a certain part of the hotel and got it. The hotel cleaners work very hard and are always somewhere in the hotel.

You do have to go through an underpass to get to the hotel but this is great, you are right on the beach and can enjoy the All Inclusive whilst on the beach unlike most of the hotels in the resort where you are stuck with the choice of the beach or hotel, it also means that you are not bothered by lots of noise from the street as you are away from it, but if you do want to go to the town it is only just through the underpass and you are there, the underpass itself is cleaned every day and unlike the ones in the UK you don't feel at threat walking through them.

You will not go hungry, there is not a great choice of food as it is only a small hotel, but there is always something to eat, we had a three course meal every evening and you can do the same for breakfast and lunch if you so wish.

The bar staff are great, once you are there for a couple of days you don't even need to order the drinks, they are generally making them as you walk up to the bar.

The railway station is only 5-10 minutes away and from here you can get to most places along the coast, we went to Barcelona for the day, it took just over an hour to get there and only cost 6 euro each for the return journey!!

We will be going back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fleetway

Recommended
L Hutson
12 years 9 months ago
A great hotel, we have a 3 year old and 18 month and had a fantastic time.

It was exceptionally clean and our room was spacious enough with twin beds(!) a single for the little man and a travel cot, two pushchairs and the furniture! There are no drawers so you have to get creative (bedside tables and the desk) but a large wardrobe with a shelf.

The food was great, lots of it, snacks were fried hot dogs, chips or pizza but an abundance of ice cream which kept our boy in heaven! A good choice at each meal time with fresh salad and cooked foods which were refilled and replaced so you didn't have things hanging around.

Sometimes there was a small wait to get into the resteraunt but only a few minutes and it never really bothered us.

The pool was small but big enough for kids, adults, inflatables, games, swimming and splashing around in the shallow end for the little ones. There are limited sunbeds around the hotel but there are grassed areas you can lie on and a large patio area. Plus the beach is right outside and a fine shingle which still makes good sandcastles and isn't horrible.

The sea does dip but there is plenty of wave space before it gets to that for jumping and paddling and if you want to swim I guess you don't need it to be shallow anyway.
Entertainment was limited but it was fine and I guess it depends who is there and who wants to join in, the kids all seemed happy enough.

The only problem we had was getting to the hotel when we were dropped off because you have to go across the road via a subway and with large cases, hand luggage, two pushchairs, tired and sleepy babies, tired parents and drunken people outside bars at midnight it was a nightmare and the bus driver lady wouldn't even wait whilst a man offered to help us across to the hotel (5 minutes)fortunately a spanish guy helped. Just be sure you can carry your luggage or get a daytime flight!

The subway was fine the rest of the time and kept the hotel isolated from late night drunks and noise but still close to town for bars, resteraunts and shops.

A wonderful holiday, three star hotel and a great deal and you do get what you pay for but this isn't in any way negative!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Sanctuary

Recommended
Mr Merry
12 years 10 months ago
Hi, My Family and I have just returned home after being on a one week all inclusive break to the Hotel Amaraigua. As an honest, plain speaking Yorkshireman, and after reading other reviews, all readers who expect 5 star accomodation, and 5 star food at 3 star prices, should move on immediately. Sensible people are invited to read on.

My Party included my wife, my two sons, (30,21) my son's partner and our 3 year old grandson.

So, we came with Fleetway, and despite some minor pre-travel arrangement problems arrived at the Amaraigua.
The weather was overcast and it rained a little, second day the same, but then the Sun came out, and hung in there for the rest of the week.
Please don't think I am mad enough to blame the travel company or the Hotel for the weather,although I am lead to believe some do.

My main tip is not to change english money at reception, they offered 1.30 euro per
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fleetway

Recommended
Ann ,andrew Heath. Mavis, Alec Rowlands
13 years 5 months ago
Amaraigua Hotel Malgrat.

This hotel is by far the worse I have ever stayed in lights switched off at midnight if not before.

Chairs and tables are not to be moved if you do bar staff refuse to serve you.

Our rooms 205 & 203 were one of the better rooms, when it rained the cellings & walls were wet, part of the celling fell to the floor, clothes and beds felt damp.
The rooms were cleaned every day.

The food for the most part of the holiday(10 days)was not fit for pigs even though every day and every meal there was pork not much of anything else. We had fried eggs 2 days out of 10. Left over food (there were loads) turned up later in the day battered.

Hotel location was right on the beach. But the only way to reach the hotel is by underpass, we were not told of this at time of booking if we had we would not of booked this hotel as 3 of us have trouble walking and one has to use a stick.

This underpass was under water up road level on our day of departure we had to scramble up the railway embankment over the railway lines down the embankment over a 3 foot wall onto the pavement, the road was also underwater all this with cases, hand luggage and a walking stick not a easy escape. Staff no help, we were unable to have any food or drink on the morning of departure as the hotel was flooded.

The day before we left hotel staff were handing out bin bags to put on your feet, and waiting for new guests with towels to dry there feet on.

All blankets were fetched out of guests rooms to put on floors to mop up the floods (I hope there is not a cold spell this week) this is a hotel from hell.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: one step travel

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum