Image of MS Alay Hotel

MS Alay Hotel

5 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
3 stars
Avenida de Alay, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain
A well established property within the UK market, offering good standards of comfort and service. The hotel boasts an excellent central location next to the resort, promenade and yachting harbour. Enjoying splendid views across the marina.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Maz And Ian
Pleasant surprise, comfortale rooms
6 years 9 months ago
What a pleasant surprise, this hotel was excellent. The twin room was great the beds were so comfy. The breakfast very good and waiter was first class.

We will be back soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
pix
10 years 5 months ago
Hotel was basic but extremely clean, maid service every day and they always came when we were either out at breakfast or out by the pool. Our room had 2 double beds, air con, bathroom (immaculate) and a sitting area with TV. Also had a fridge however this didn't seem to work and we didn't report it as we didn't need it. The hotel also has an ice machine in each block, if this is empty then the barstaff are always more than happy to fill it right up for you with a smile.

The location was excellent overlooking the marina and very close to the beach and the main road where there is a supermarket literally around the corner. It is close to the bars however we didn't experience any noise even out on the balcony. There doesn't seem to be much here for children so it is more ideal for couples or families with older teenagers.

There are two pools, one has free sunbeds spread over a patio area and a lawn area there was a never a problem getting a sunbed at any time of day. It's worth noting that this pool is 2 metres deep all around so may not be suitable for unconfident swimmers. The other pool area had sunbeds that you had to pay for, I think it was 2 euros a day but we did not use this pool so I don't know for certain and can't comment on the pool itself. The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for us, when we arrived we were allocated a room on the 3rd floor, I have a lift phobia so my partner took the cases in the lift and I walked up, the man on reception noticed this and followed us up. He asked if I didn't like lifts and immediately offered to move us to the identical room on the first floor even though we were only on the third floor which wasn't exactly alot of stairs, I thought this was fantastic customer service. We were given a courtesy room to shower in due to having a late flight and when the people before us were taking too long they opened an extra room for us.

All in all this hotel was perfect for us with a great location and excellent cleanliness. Yes it was basic but we didn't need anything more and would much rather have a basic hotel that is spotless with excellent staff. Would definately recommend this hotel to others.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Nigel
10 years 5 months ago
Our Double room was very spacious with exceptional views across the marina and beach.

The location is ideal if you want to access the beaches and nightlife. The cleanliness was excellent with daily maid service (be sure to put out your do not disturb sign if you want a lie in)

The Breakfast was fine it tried to cater for all tastes but there is plenty for everyone even a diet corner for those counting calories. Staff are polite and helpful.

The hotel is very quiet just what we where looking for the terrace garden is ideal for relaxing on a sun lounger. Pool is basic but a very nice temperature, ideal for a cool down.

Not really anything in the way of entertainment and I think I only counted 4 children in the hotel during my five day visit.

I will definitely be going back, an excellent base for a relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Holiday rooms direct

Recommended
B&k
10 years 5 months ago
hi stayed here in july the hotel not bad the only drawback was the food, it was cold in morning and evening, there was no entertainment. some areas of the hotel eg balconies were not 4star standard
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: med hotels

10 years 8 months ago
Hotel is superbly located for the Marina. Room allocated also had fine view over the marina. Hotel is large, and I do feel more could be made of the area available for seating around lobby area.

It dopes have a 70's feel to it - however no complaints about staff or cleanliness. Pool area looked quite small and I can imagine rather crowded during peak season.

Added bnus was car parking facility without charge at least during April). Handy for a night stop before flying from Malaga.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
We only stayed at The Alay for 2 nights after visiting relatives further up the coast. We wished we could have stayed longer. A superb Hotel, very clean and the staff are very attentive & friendly. Beds were comfortable and our room was quite large with a great view. We booked online and possibly because the time of year was a great bargain. Breakfast was adequate, yet again service very good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
David Sanders
10 years 11 months ago
Absolutely superb hotel in a great location.

Could not fault cleanliness of rooms or public areas.

Food was excellent on the whole, good choice at breakfast and dinner, might be a bit repetitive for 2 weeks. Could have been hotter on occassion, but there is a microwave available to guests.


Right next to, and overlooking the marina. We had rooms 1151 & 1152 breathtaking balcony views of marina/sea-front and beyond. 24 hour square just 200 yards up the road. Only one small complaint about the rooms - they were too hot,with apparently no overide control for heating (reception said aircon not used in winter) so we found it necessary to leave the balcony doors open most of the time.

Staff were all very polite, friendly and helpful without exception.

No entertainment as such, but singer/keyboard player was in the bar mon-sat, quite willing to do your requests.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, or stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Self booked

Recommended
Jan
12 years 5 months ago
We loved this hotel and would go back again tomorrow. This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and the marina is just down the road. See how the other half live.

24 hour square is on the corner and that does mean 24 hour discos. Pubs bars everything you could wish for.

Ask for room 220, best room by far. It over looks the pool and NO noise can be heard from the road.

All the staff are so friendly, We found anyway.

The only down fall if any are the little flies by the pool !! You are in Spain so take your insect repellent with you, you'll be fine. We had NO problems what so ever and YES we will return. Oh, the chemist up the road will sort out ANY problems you have. I hope you don't need them though. I only used it for prickly heat with all that sun.

Happy hols Jan xx
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: skytours

Recommended
13 years 2 months ago
Hotel is in excellent location, just next to Puerto Marina on the edge of Benalmadena, and is also within 15 minutes walk to Torremolinos.
Hotel has 70's style decor and makes a point of using this to great effect. Nothing at all about the hotel is tatty.
We were there on a B&B basis, and the buffet breakfast was the best I have had anywhere. The staff do not mind how much you eat!
There is no entertainment as such apart from pianist in the evenings in the American bar. We used the bar each evening before going on elsewhere. So, this hotel would not be suited to families with children.
There are 2 outdoor pools, but you have to pay for hire of sunbeds which I think is pretty standard now with most hotels.
This is our 2nd visit to this hotel, and we will definately be back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent Traveller

Recommended
RDonovan
13 years 6 months ago
I stayed here only 3 weeks ago. And I was very happy with the apartment. We booked a Studio apartment and I was worried that it would be too small. Maybe we were lucky, but it was huge!. We were on the 4th Floor, wouldnt reccomend going up the stairs after a few drinks!! The lift is very good, if a bit small.We were near the stairwell which could be a bit noisy at times but never really bothered us. The rooms were fully air conditioned, microwave, toaster(big surprise). The shower was very powerful and we always had hot water. Only thing was the hob was a bit slow heating up but got used to it. Our apt was with a pool view, but we never really got the sun on the balcony, so dissapointed with that but only a small detail. The pool is very big with alot of room around the pool to sun bath and a garden with option of getting sunbeds, think it was around
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget Travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: