Image of Riviera Hotel

Riviera Hotel

3 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4 out of 5 from 24 reviews
4 stars
Av de Antonio Machado, 49, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain
A customer favourite for many years, the Hotel Riviera, has wonderful sea views both from the pool terraces and dining room. Access to the beach is by the lift or along the stepped pathway.

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
First trip to Benalmadena
5 years 7 months ago
This was my first trip to Benalmadena and I was looking forward to it and was not disappointed.

HOTEL
Although this was sold as a 4 star Hotel, it should have been a 3 at the most, whilst it was clean it was certainly dated and the communal areas were tired looking. The location however could not have been more perfect - it was sited on the main promenade, which was gated and you gained access to the promenade via a buzzer system and used your 'key card' to get back in.

FOOD
I was half board and was satisfied with that, having just a snack (if I fancied it) at lunchtime. The food itself was much better than average it was good quality and did not have chips with everything - thank goodness. Various pasta's an option with potatoes rather than the chips. Soup always on offer, with salads and hot main courses with 'show food' cooked in front by the chef and then various sweets. Breakfast was the normal porridge, cereals, bacon eggs, fried and scrambles, sausages and cold meats. Coffee was better than most i.e. strong so you could taste it - I'm not a tea drinker so can't tell you what that was like.

STAFF
The bar staff were good and entertaining as were the restuarant staff making sure you got your drinks in double quick time. Some of the cocktails that were being served did not bear any resembance to cocktails I have had before! The bar prices were average.

ENTERTAINMENT
This went on - I did not stay and watch as Hotel entertainment does not appeal to me and I like to go out and about, but this Hotel had 65+ guests and the magicans seem to appeal - but it wasn't for me.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Never again
6 years 4 months ago
We have just been to the Riviera hotel, never again.

This hotel would never get a 4 star rating in a million years. I will keep it short. Our room needed new carpets, because they were all stained and worn. Our bathroom was disgusting, the many tiles that had come off, had been replaced by what looked like a very botched up job with polyfiller. The toilet flush cistern was hanging off the wall. Which had only originally been fixed with silicone. The only thing holding it on was the 2 pins that went into the toilet base.

Be very careful of pickpockets, we knew about them but were still robbed of 6o euros. They are very good at what they do. We went to the local park where the animals were wandering around free. The guy came behind us and threw some evil smelling liquid on us, to make it look like a bird had poo’d on us. Then showed us a water tap, and distracted us. Then took the money from my wallet, and then replaced my wallet. As I said they are very good.

To top it all we went to get some so-called breakfast [continental] on the day of our departure, we and many others were watching cockroaches on the dining room floor.

Please don’t accept a room on the front of the hotel, because the road is like a small motorway, very very noisy. You won’t get much sleep.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Maisie
Not a 4*
6 years 5 months ago
Stayed at the Riviera hotel Benalmadena for six nights. The hotel is opposite good beach near to resort facilities. Very busy road outside front of hotel. Area around hotel was scruffy and dirty. Hotel pool area and gardens need updating. Indoor pool advertised on internet but closed for the whole of our holiday, informed by rep it is only open in winter. Hotel shop closed down also.

Food was okay if you like English food when on holiday in Spain!

Hotel room scruffy with dirty carpet, mouldy wardrobe and bathroom had old tiles that were cracked and dangerous on the walls. Informed rep. of my disappointment with the hotel and told lots of people love it and return every year, doesn't say much for their standards!

This is not to the standard of a 4* hotel and I would never stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Carol And Bernard
Will we return? absolutely!
6 years 10 months ago
Really lovely hotel, clean and staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is right on beach front accessed via poolside lift which is very handy. Pool is clean and nice comfy sunbeds.

The food was fantastic!! Really tasty lots of choice and always hot be prepared to put on a bit of weight we certainly did.

Cannot comment on entertainment as we went out every night. Would we come back to the Riviera ? Absolutely! Already planning it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
A Robottom
8 years ago
We have recently returned from a months holiday at the Riviera hotel including Xmas and New year everything was very much as we expected for a spanish hotel even had two new year celebrations ours and theirs!(the one hour difference) But they have got norovirus in there and people were going down with it every day.The hotel waited to our knowledge 11 days before even posting a notice on the door the self service buffets carried on as normal without any supervision regarding using tongs or even using the hand sanitizer I even saw a man dip his finger into a bowl of cream and lick it!needless to say even with the delays at the airports (snow) we were glad to come home.
This hotel is not 4 stars
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Sandra Brown
8 years 2 months ago
we have just arrived back from a fabulous week in this hotel, ok the rooms could do to be refurbished, but they were kept very clean by the cleaning staff, the reception staff were very very helpful, my husband broke his glasses while we were there, and asked at reception where the nearest opticians were, not only did they find us the address and phone numbers of 3 opticians,but rang to see what time they opened. The food was fabulous some of the best we have had and we have stayed in many hotels . The location could not be better, and the pool area is lovely, there are nice thick cushions/matresses for the sun beds. Drinks in the hotel bar are very expensive but we have found this is usually the case in hotels, so we did not stay in on a night to watch the enertainment, so i cannot comment on any of the entertainment. All in all we had a really great week at this hotel and will definatley return to stay again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

Recommended
Mags
8 years 3 months ago
i must agree with other reviewers, the hotel does need a refurbishment, carpets are very stained and there was,when we there a nasty smell in the hotel reception area and stairs. wardrobes scratched and burn hole in bedcover.this really should not be in a 4* hotel. the positive points were, food very good location excellent and pool area good although as mentioned previously people do reserve sunbeds and they are't german,they are all british and mostly pensioners.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Sandra
8 years 4 months ago
Went to this hotel on recommendation, and read the reviews here and was looking forward to arriving. Im afraid i thought the hotel was in need of a refurb, as did several other guests, the carpets in our room were very badly stained and marked. The sheets were changed every other day and the towels each day if you require. The food was poor when we first arrived but picked up dramatically in the 2nd week. There was a scramble for the poolside beds, and a fight ensued one morning!!! The main clientele going to this hotel were older although we are in our forties and did not feel out of place as there were people of our age and younger there and i have to say met some lovely people. Staff were ok maids worked very hard.
The entertainment started at 10 to 11 each night. what i was surprised at, was there is a seating area outside with tables and chairs and a lot of guests liked to sit outside at night and chat, but at 12 o clock the lights were knocked out and everyone was left sitting in the pitch black, this happened every night regardless of how many people remained. Not good especially for people trying to find their way back into the hotel with no lights.
The location is good,easy access to beach and shops. The prom is flat and easy to walk or use a wheelchair.it is right next to a VERY busy road and noise can be heard from this.
Rumours were rife that this hotel is to be downgraded to a 3 star next year, I must say i would agree with that, as i dont think it was 4 star.
I would recommend this hotel for older guests or middle aged couples, not for the younger generation.
If the hotel had a refurb i might go again, but not in the forseeable future
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Bill And Margaret
8 years 9 months ago
We stayed here in March 2009 for 5 days. The hotel is centrally located near the marina and beach (at the rear), with a busy road at the front of the hotel. The hotel is kept clean and the room-maid service was very good. The rooms are spacious with plenty of storage space. The carpets throughout the hotel needed to be re-newed, as these were marked or worn. The hotel is popular with over-50s with no children under 16 allowed. We would definitely return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Ann Ferguson
9 years 2 months ago
my husband and i had stayed in this hotel in january so knew what it was like when we returned in october with my parents who are in their 70s and our 16 year old daughter the rooms are very clean and the food is very nice it does seem to cater very well for the older generation but was good that no children running around though a bit boring for the 16 year old the location is ideal as it is on the flat with shops and bars directly opposite the staff were all very helpful and pleasant we didnt see much entertainment and my parents wouldv'e rather it began earlier as after walking about all day 10 oclock was late for them i would visit this hotel again it also has a television room which you can smoke in which was very handy and my husband didnt have to stand outside
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: