Image of Milford Plaza Hotel

Milford Plaza Hotel

40 of 51 hotels in Manhatten

3 out of 5 from 14 reviews
3 stars
700 8th Avenue, New York, NY, United States
Located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan's Theater District, the Milford Plaza offers exceptional value in hotel accommodations and the convenience of proximity to all of New York's major attractions including Times Square and corporate business headquarters.

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
Great hotel in an even better location!
4 years 10 months ago
If you are looking for a comfortable safe hotel for a short stay in New York that is close to Times Square, Empire State Building and The Rockefeller Centre then look no further than the Milford Plaza Hotel!

We checked in to the hotel on a Friday afternoon and were quickly greeted by a very friendly receptionist who looked to see if our rooms were available but as we were a tad early they were not. We left our luggage with the Bell Boys to store and went off to find some lunch. On our return we were dealt with by a different receptionist who unfortunately wasn't as helpful. We were given the keys to one of our rooms and went there to recoup from our flight and await the keys to our second.

The rooms themselves have just been refurbished and only have minor wear and tear which is to be expected with the large amount of traffic that they get through the rooms. The rooms we were allocated had excellent views of Times Square and we only heard the odd bit of street noise but that is to be expected in the Big Apple!

The rooms are fitted with a 32 inch TV with a great range of channels should you get time to chill out from all that there is to see in New York! There is a safe with a digital lock, iron, hair dryer and plenty of storage space. The beds are very comfy and I feel asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow!

The hotel offers a bar which serves food and drinks in the evening (from 5pm) and during the day it serves coffee and soft drinks. There is a 24 hour shop you should need anything and the lobby is fitted with 8 iMacs and you can use them for free in 30 minute intervals, this is to allow others use them aswell! You can even print stuff for free which is very handy should you wish to book tickets in advance.

Overall the hotel is great I would not have any hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone! If you want to go to New York stay here, you won't be disappointed!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct

Recommended
Sara
11 years 2 months ago
Nothing much seems to have changed in this hotel since the first reviews in 2005. We had to asl to be moved as the first room was dark and felt dirty. Looked out on to all of the air-conditioning units.
The staff in the hotel cafe were very rude.
The hotel is extremely busy and the reception area is always noisy
Beds were very uncomfortable, to soft.

The best thing about the hotel is the location
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: n/a

Jenny & Glyn
11 years 9 months ago
On arrival the reception staff were fine,nice foyer. Our first room was on floor 7, a corner room with very distressed furniture, grubby wallpaper but a clean bed. In the bathroom you could see they only cleaned the bare essentials as behind the small radiator there was a bit of dried up soap with dust. After the first night we asked to be moved as at first the air cond didn't work properly and then it turned cold and the heating didn't work. Moved to floor 6 with twin beds, a bigger room but with worst decoration, wall paper scabby, not been cleaned between beds and bed side cabinets as there was a layer of dust etc. In the bathroom lots of mildew on tiles and ceiling. The only good thing was that the beds were clean and comfortable. We came in one night and found that they had re folded dirty towels and put back on the shelf. We complained but it didn't make any difference.

The only good thing was the location. I would not stay here again even if they paid me.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked it ourselves via Expedia

12 years 6 months ago
Between the five of us we had 2 rooms. One for a couple and one for 2 adults and a child. The room for 3 was supposed to be a family room but was only slightly bigger than the smaller room. Both rooms were very small. Rooms have TV, hairdryer, Iron and ironing board so no need to take them with you. The room which I stayed in was cold. The heating was on but you could not feel it through the draughty window. The other room was red hot.

Hotel location short walk from Time Square, so that was great.

Reception staff very helpful but other staff a bit arrogant.

Absolutely NO facilities for children at all. No lounge etc to sit in. Following other comments about the Celebrity diner attached to the hotel, did not bother to try it.

Hotel was very clean.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Getaway

Sara And Neil Whitton
13 years 3 months ago
Horrid especially the fact we had just come from the beautiful mandalay Bay in New York!!

Good location
Good holiday been back since and stayed at Novo Hotel which was great.

Staff were unfriendly and unhelpfull, rude actually some of them.

For what we paid we expected better, the reception is ok but the rooms and rest of the hotel oh my god, felt like I was in the shining in the corridors and the rooms had outdoor car park ceilings! The beds were horrible.

The general feeling was brown and dark and cold. Mingin!! don't do it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: seperate flights and booked hotels directly ourself

P Yendall
13 years 5 months ago
Stayed at this hotel in Feb 05.

The reception area is very nice we were disappointed with the room it was a bit small and smelt musty.

We were out sightseeing all day until late so it was'nt too bad.

The location of this hotel is excellent times square is just a short walk away the restaurant next door is crap.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: expedia

Julie And Janni
13 years 6 months ago
When we first arrived we were given a tiny room not even big enough to store our suitcases in let alone 2 adults, it was unclean and bed not made,bathroom dirty etc so we complained immediately and after about an hour were moved to a room on the 18th floor - we had asked for low floor as I suffer with vertigo! However room was much better - 2 big double beds and far more spacious so we just kept the curtains shut to avoid the vertigo situation!

Hotel was fantastic location wise particularly as we were 2 females travelling alone - plenty to see and do and loads of restaurants nearby, handy also for underground which we used a lot once we got the hang of it.

Staff were a bit miserable and the porter refused to leave our room until we had given him a tip - we were reluctant to do this as we had already tipped once for the first room but felt a bit uneasy when he just stood and stared so we paid up in the end.

Wouldnt recommend the diner attached to hotel as overpriced and we waited hours for our order - sophias round the corner far superier and staff polite and courteous.

Dont buy theatre tickets in advance or queue at TK office in Times Sq - we were told we had no chance of seeing Lion King as it is sold out up to a year in advance - we walked into where it was showing in New Amsterdam theatre and got tickets for
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

Recommended
Naylor
13 years 6 months ago
We travelled down by bus from Boston where we stayed for the New Year, for one night only....The hotel lobby looked very swish, and the room rate for the night seemed very reasonable. They put us on one of the top floors, even though we had asked for a lower floor, as I, like many other people suffer from vertigo!!

The room was horrible...it was dark, needed a good clean and you could hardly see out of the windows...it smelt very 'musty' but luckily enough we could open the window to let some fresh air in. The bathroom was so small you couldn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Louise
13 years 8 months ago
Hotel basic but clean.

Room very small with a mirror running the length of it, which made it seem bigger.

Very very good location. 1 Block from Times square, No problems getting a Cab from outside the hotel and plenty of restaurants in walking distance.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Inetrnet Booking

Recommended
14 years 5 months ago
This was the second time we have stayed here,the first time was great ,hence the return !! ,the room we were given was awful,dark and dingy and was not acceptable,we complained straight away and were then given fantastic rooms ,no complaints whatasoever (the americans expect you to complain !!!),staff were great,room clean and tidy ,2 big double beds what more could you ask for ,after all when you are in new york you will hardly be in the room anyway there is that much to do and see. I would recommend this hotel if you want an ideal location ,close to all tourist attractions and close to times square !! Brilliant
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: getaway

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum