Image of Metro Hotel

Metro Hotel

16 of 51 hotels in Manhatten

5 out of 5 from 7 reviews
45 West 35th Street, New York, NY, United States

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Alison Jackson
A good little Art Deco gem!
8 years 4 months ago
This is a little art deco gem - right in the middle of mid-town Manhattan, between 5th and 6th - W34th.

Small by NYC standards (only 12 floors) but all the better for it!

Hotel has been recently refurbished - the lobby is beautiful, all glass and wood and mirrors - art deco style. The reception and bell boys were friendly and very helpful and the maids kept our rooms spotless.

With a view from the bedroom window of the Empire State and a roof terrace with the same view - the usual night time noise is a small price to pay to stay here.

We were expecting a basic continental breakfast - but it was much better than that. Coffee/tea 24hrs; breakfast was 6.30am till 10am. Fresh juices,fresh fruit salad, bread for toast, choice of pastries and muffins, 4 types of bagels - really really good.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
9 years 5 months ago
Location location location!! It couldnt have been better!! The view from our window of the Empire State Building will be treasured forever!! Staff v friendly. No problems staying here again. Roof space in NYC at a premium so this was an added bonus but the bar there did get extra busy thurs/fri. Overal a great stay!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Virgin

Recommended
Dan
9 years 10 months ago
Stayed in this hotel in Feb 2009.

We arrived at the hotel via a cab at about 2pm, the doorman was there to help us with our bags and check in was really fast.
One thing though, the hotel needs a credit card info just incase you charge anything to the mini bar etc, i didnt have a credit card and neither did my friend, we only have Meastro cards which they dont accept, so we had to pay a cash deposit of $250, so its best to take your credit card if you have one.

We were allocated room 604, the room was a decent size with 2 single beds as it was a twin room, the view outfront was awesome, looking straight up at the Empire State Building.

The beds were comfy and changed daily, the room was also very clean and had a pretty decent sized TV.

An electronic safe is in the room free of charge and the instructions are there on how to set it up.

The bathroom was pretty small but its mainly because the shower is pretty large, you can only just get in the bathroom and manage to close the door behind you.

The mini bar has a large selection of snacks and drinks but they are pretty expensive as are most mini bars, i would advise that if you need snacks and drinks there is a pharmacy on the corner of 5th Avenue and 34th street which is about a 2 minute walk from the hotel, and this sells everything you would need.

Like most hotels in NYC there is the occasional siren or car noises that you can hear every night but i suppose there is no getting away from that.

The hotel is in a perfect location, close to Times Square, Madison square Garden, Empire State building, 5th Avenue etc, it really is the perfect location.

There is a gym on the top floor that is free for guests and also a rooftop garden where you can get one of the best views of the empire state building from anywhere in the city.

There is also free WIFI access and you just need to ask for the username and password from the reception.

Overall my stay at the Metro was a great one, very nice hotel and i would reccomend it for any of my friends or family.

Enjoy it guys, i know i did.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Virgin Atlantic

Recommended
Sharon
10 years 11 months ago
On arrival we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a 1930's feel about it. The staff are very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly.
Breakfast was included and was really nice, starting at 7am until 11am. Complimentary tea and coffee available 24hours.
The rooms were a little smaller than i imagined but perfectly adequate.
And boy, what a great location. Macy's on one corner and the impressive Empire State building on the other. Times square was a 10 minute walk away, with plenty to see on route.
The hotel bar and restaurant was welcoming and relaxing after a full days activities.
A definate must if your looking for a friendly, comfortable and convenient stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Virgin

Recommended
Steve & Lorraine
12 years 5 months ago
This hotel could'nt be better placed for seeing the sights of NYC. One block from the Empire State Building and the same to Macy's.

The place is VERY clean, pleasant and helpful staff.
Go up on the the roof top terrace and there is the Empire state in front of you and when you go up the Empire State to the observation platform you can look down at the roof terrace.

You get a good continental breakfast, cereals, tea, fruit juice, doughnuts, etc.

There are plenty of restaurants close by.

Tip, before you go buy your tickets for the Empire State Building on line, it saves you HOURS of standing in line, just show your tickets at the door and you walk straight past all the queues until the 80th floor when you have to queue for the observation deck elevator.

We only went in the city for the week-end, stayed with relatives on Long Island the rest of our holiday, but we went to :- Empire State Building, Central Park, 5th Avenue, Times Square, Macy's, Broadway, Staten Island Ferry (FREE) to see Statue Of Liberty and Ellis Island, Battery Park, Ground Zero(last time we were in NYC we went up the twin towers) knowing what was there and what is left certainly puts things into perspective. On Broadway again to see MAMMA MIA and Times Square at night is UNBELIEVABLE !
WHAT A WEEK-END ! ! !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook/Virgin

Recommended
Robinson
12 years 10 months ago
On arrival we wondered where we were staying because the hotel entrance is small, don't be put off by this it's a tardis opening up to welcoming staff that are all too eager to please and advise, your wish is their command. 24 hour coffee in hotel lobby and a wonderful continental breakfast.

Spotless clean room and ensuite including fresh towels every day. Brilliant location central to all the attractions New York has to offer.

Book in advance for shows when offered by reception or you may be disappointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
13 years ago
This hotel was a real 'gem'. It is situated just minutes from Macy's and a stones throw from the Empire State Building.

The hotel provides a continental breakfast, consisting of various bagels,cereals,muffins and pastries.Fruit juice and as much tea and coffee as you can drink,between 6.30-11.30am. Tea and coffee is avaliable 24hrs.

The rooms are cleaned and towels changed everyday.There is a large T.V in the room with lots of channels, including BBC America, and some that people with Sky might be aware of.

The general cleanliness of the hotel is very good. The staff are very friendly and extrememly helpful with sightseeing, taxis etc, they even provided umbrellas when it was raining.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, 5th Avenue, Times Square, and loads of shops all within easy reach. There is no entertainment provided, although there is a bar that does have occasional entertainment, but I am not sure how often as we did'nt use it.

There are a few bars/restaurants right next to the hotel that serve good food. If you want to keep in touch with home I suggest you buy a phone card, there is a 'newsagents' a couple of doors down, but be aware that the hotel charges you $1 for each call you make. They also have internet access, just ask at reception.

There is a fantastic roof terrace, that although it was'nt open you could go up there and just admire the view, the Empire State Building stares right down at you !.

I would recommend this hotel and would definatley go back there myself.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: British Airways

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum