Image of Sofitel Karnak Hotel

Sofitel Karnak Hotel

9 of 13 hotels in Luxor

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
5 stars

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Sofitel Karnak end May/beginning of June. The hotel rooms, public rooms, poolside etc are all spotless. The pool was crystal clear. The staff cannot do enough to help, nothing was too much trouble. The food was good too, with themed nights, French, Italian, etc. The entertaintment team worked really hard, there were a couple of comedy shows, and some dancing shows, and a 'casino' night. The gardens are spectacular, beautiful flowers and trees, and wonderful wild birds. As the hotel is on the banks of the Nile, the views of the river, and over to the West Bank are stunning. The hotel is out of Luxor, so it is a bit of an artificial environment really, removed from Luxor itself, however the hotel runs both a mini bus and a boat to Luxor, which leave at regular intervals, and are foc. The driver/captain are very accommodating and will drop you off and pick you up wherever you want along the main road. Book trips through Jolleys in Luxor, which is outside the Winterpalace.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Richard
10 years 2 months ago
The Hotel, First thing you can save yourself a lot of money by using a good Taxi driver to do your sight seeing, We used a really nice chap called Sayed Goma you can go to the gate of the Sofital Karnak hotel & ask for him or phone (Tel 0020106573591 or 0020952400565) he took us to all the main tourist attractions & knew just about everything we wanted to know
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

PAUL McNAMARA
10 years 4 months ago
The Hotel Staff are excellent.

The food is very good with a good mix of cuisines.

Evening meal was approx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Maria
10 years 7 months ago
The room was not brilliant, with 2 single beds and converted window seat for the 3rd but it was clean and the 'real' beds were comfortable.

Other than that the resort was great. We booked half board and the buffet every evening was good but we had a fussy teenager so didn't always get to eat in there. We ended up paying for meals in the other restaurants. But all the food we ate was excellent. The prices were very low though so it's was too much of a problem. Would probably go back as bed and breakfast only.

The hotel and grounds were always spotless and the staff were really friendly, with a smile for everyone.

The hotel is outside of Luxor itself so you don't get the traffic and noise associated with most of the city hotels. The worst noise we heard was a persistent donkey!

There was poolside belly dancing classes, and games in the pool every day but we were mostly out and about so didn't get involved but the 1 day we were there it looked like fun. The staff worked really hard on the evening entertainment and there was a band one night.

We didn't use the travel rep, but booked our trips though Karnak Travel (by the Old Winter Palace) - very helpful and friendly, and a fair bit cheaper. Don't let a calesh driver try to offer you a good deal through a friend! Go straight to the travel agents by the Old Winter Palace and book everything.

Didn't spend much time in the hotel due to sightseeing but would definitely love to come back and spend a week lying around by the pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Counsellors

Recommended
Nolan
11 years 2 months ago
Hotel was excellent, very clean and tidy, a wide variety of food which was all very good.

The hotel is about 10mins from centre of Luxor which is great as you can relax away from the hustle and bustle of the main centre.

The staff are second to none with nothing to much trouble, especially the pool and sunbed attendant, who was just fantastic, making sure that the hotel supplied towels were on your chosen beds everyday.

The entertainment is limited but ok. I would not hesitate to return to this wonderful hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Radbourne
11 years 4 months ago
Just got back from staying for one week in this hotel. This has to be heaven on earth. I have never recieved such excellent service and food anywhere before. The hotel is very clean. Not a piece of litter in sight. The food choice was excellent, and particular attention was always given to health and safety. It was kept very hot and not left to sit for long. Breakfast was served between 05.30 to 10.30am so no need to rush. The hotel was very heavily guarded, so safety is very important. We were able to leave our balcony door open when out of the room without worrying. We never had to lift a finger on this relaxing holiday, the staff were always on hand to accomodate.

This is by far a definate 5 star hotel and would not hesitate to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Pat O'Neill
11 years 7 months ago
The Sofitel at Karnak was a lovely hotel. The rooms were spacious and kept very clean by the house person. The odd occasion we were there when he wanted to clean, he came back at our convenience.

All the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful, polite and efficient.

There was an extremely good selection of food and plenty of it.

The grounds were wonderful and very well maintained, and free of any litter.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and can't wait to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Paul Telford
12 years 1 month ago
This hotel is in a fabulous setting, well laid out among extensive gardens right on the Nile. There are sunbeds around the swimming pools and in the gardens with a Nile view. The pool attendants and the staff at the poolside bar were extremely attentive and efficient - nothing was too much trouble and we were waited on hand and foot.

The rooms were spacious and beautifully furnished - large television with a variety of saterlite channels. The mini fridge was well stocked and replenished every day. Chocolates and flowers were left on beds. The hotel was extremely clean - the staff never stopped working. Complimentary shampoos, shower gels and body lotions were replaced daily.

The food was excellent with international cuisine - chefs were on hand to cook eggs/omelletes at breakfast. Waiters and waitresses were on hand to refill morning tea and coffee cups. At dinner the variety and displays of food were brilliant. Chefs were constantly checking/replenishing the displays - a pasta chef cooked fresh pasta as and when required. All this was in the Opet Restaurant. We did not get a chance to go to the a la carte restaurant but we were more than happy to use the Opet daily. The poolside snacks were also unbelieveable - they were very cheap, extremely large and very well presented. After our first day we only bought 1 snack between us because they were so large!!

The majority of hotel staff were extremely helpful and willing - there were one or two who were a bit slow in providing service but we think it depended on whether you had tipped them or not!! However saying that a special mention should go to the poolside bar staff - they were always busy, worked extremely hard in very high temperatures and always had a smile for you.

This is a lovely, relaxing hotel and the only downside was the evening entertainment - it was practically non-existent but the resident group/singers tried very hard as did the entertainment team but the programme was not varied enough to cater for all tastes.

If you are looking for an idyllic hideaway or somewhere to chill after a hectic week on Nile cruising this is the place to go!! We will definitely return to this hotel on our next visit to Luxor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cruise Egypt

Recommended
12 years 6 months ago
The food was not very good, mainly ate from the chef, cooking fresh omelettes, or pancakes. The meat was very tough and not at all like meat we know.

The choice was varied but it didnt look appetising. Loads of sweet deserts. Breakfast we mainly had cereal, and toast when the toaster was working. Flagging down the waiter for tea or coffee a chore in its self.

The room was supposed to be a family room with one double bed and three singles, but two singles and a concrete slab for the third, we declined that and had to wait until nearly midnight to get a proper bed in for our son.

The cleanliness was ok but neither of us smoke and there was fag ash on the balcony all week, the beds were only ever made after five in the eveing, when your having a rest or getting ready to go out.

Some of the hotel staff were very slow in bringing drinks, waited and waited one night for my drink I eventually went to bed and my husband had it.

The same with food ordered in the private restaurant in the gardens, 45 mins wait. Entertainment, what entertainment it was diabolical, taking the mickey out of English and other holiday makers alike.

The singer was like the local kareoke looser, that bad. I would not visit this hotel again. They never had any change, would not do travelers cheques, the cash machine was always out of order, the bank comes most days for half an hour?

When paying your bills, we had to check every time as they were putting other peoples bills in ours, wrong room numbers, and because our daughter got friendly with a doctor and his family, when they left their bill for food near the swimming pool was not added on before they left. they put it on ours, and had the cheek to say that one of the sons was our daughters boyfriend, so she pay, I signed a piece of paper saying it wasn't mine and he said he would have to ask the manager if that was alright.

When we came to pay up he still put it on ours. But I stood my ground and he later took the amount off. but he was still fighting me until the bus came to take us to the airport.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.