Image of Sonesta St George Hotel

Sonesta St George Hotel

1 of 13 hotels in Luxor

5 out of 5 from 15 reviews
4 stars

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Wonderful Hotel
5 years 10 months ago
We had a late break to The Sonesta St George in Luxor 1st week in Dec 2011.

We have travelled to lots of countries all over the world and this hotel is the best we have stayed in.

From the rooms, hotel decor, food and staff you would not find anything to complain about.

The pool staff could not do enough for you always making sure you were comfortable and would move umbrellas when the sun was to hot.

The position over looking the Nile and Valley of the Kings was so relaxing. This was our 4th holiday in Luxor but the 1st time at The Sonesta having been on all the tours in previous visits it was good to be at this wonderful hotel to just relax.

We hope to return to The Sonesta again soon
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Warren
9 years 4 months ago
Bear in mind we have been to Egypt on 8 occasions , we have done 3 Nile cruises and stayed at 6 different hotels by far the best so far is the Sonesta St George in Luxor. The second time i stayed there i thought i had only been away a week instead of a year, i was recognised by staff and waiters and welcomed back .They even remembered where we came from in the UK ! The hotel standard is very high , even the Egyption president stays there if he visits Luxor. Food is the best quality of any hotel i have ever stayed in and the cleanliness is second to none. I could carry on but until you stay there yourself then you will know!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: on the beach

Recommended
Stella And Chris
10 years 2 months ago
An excellent hotel. Towels changed twice a day. A varied breakfast with something for everybody though could have a better choice of cereals. Japanese restaurant excellent if a little pricey.
Hotel very convenient for all sightseeing,about 20 mins walk to Luxor temple.Various restaurants immediately outside of hotel. Especially recommend the Tavern before Snobs on right hand side. A lovely English lady runs this restuarant with her Eqyptian husband. Food excellent and plush surroundings.
Sonesta Hotel staff cannot do enough for you. I had egyptian tummy and my tablets had no effect. The pool attendant went and got me some egyptian tablets which worked brilliantly.
Very little evening entertainment but they do show films on the pontoon at 9pm.
There is a public pool next door which has parties at least 5 days a week that go on till 12pm and are very loud (especially if you are ill or have early get ups). The patio glazing seemed non existent. Hotel put basket of fruit in rooms after enquiries made and appologised for noise but it was out of their control.Other side of hotel was quiet. It over looks a water purifying plant not sewage works! and does have good Nile views too. Overall an excellent hotel which we would definately recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
10 years 4 months ago
We first saw this hotel a few months after it was completed on a previous visit to Luxor.

It was really nice to go back and stay there and it was fabulous.

We had just finished a Nile Cruise and this was the icing on the cake.

Fab hotel, great location (even though the sewage works is next door), food was great, staff were brilliant and the breakfast service was the best we had throughout our stay in Egypt.

We would most certainly go back to the Sonesta St George.

We asked if we could keep our room on the last day as we weren't leaving the resort until 9.30pm. They did allow us this, at a small charge of $35 for the room until 8pm from midday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
Our stay in the Sonesta St George couldn't have been better.

We were made to feel welcome the minute we walked through the door, nothing is to much trouble for the excellent and friendly staff.

The location is very good and within easy reach of all the luxor sights. An excellent place to spend a holiday in a beautiful country.

Since our return we have recommended The Sonesta to our friends, some of whom hope to stay there later this year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended
Jean And Gary Warren
11 years 4 months ago
What a superb hotel, it was exactly as in the brochure and views we had seen on the internet.

The check in was fast and efficient and friendly, we were greeted with a lovely cold glass of hibiscus juice after our coach journey from the airport.

Our rooms were excellent with a side view of the nile, after 2 days the Manager asked to speak to us, an absolute gentleman, who apologised and asked if we would mind moving to another room as they needed to do some maintenance work on the first floor, this wasnt a problem for us so we agreed, he showed us a suite on the 4th floor and asked if this would be acceptable, was it just, it was beautiful with a front view of the Nile.

The breakfasts were yummy and wow could you stuff your face if you wanted to, nothing too much trouble for the staff.

The location was just right with it being so easy to walk and take a taxi or caleche to nearby Luxor whic we did, also booked up a Hot Air Baloon ride, this is a must although it is a very early start but worth the sight of the brilliant red sun rise and the staff at Hod Hod Baloons really take good care of you, especially when it looked like we were about to land in a field full of water. The pilot steered us into a small road. The team made sure we had a perfect landing.DO THIS IF YOU DONT DO ANYTHING ELSE DURING YOUR STAY.

The pool staff are excellent and very attentive, moving the umbrellas for you and bringing cold flannels for everyone in the afternoon, very welcoming.

I could go on and on about this wonderful place, but go and stay there you will no be disappointed.

There is a nice restaurant outside the hotel, across the road and down a side street, its called SNOBS, and is run by and English woman and her Egyptian husband, food is excellent.

Hoping to visit again this year in October will only stay at this hotel its the best in Luxor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland direct

Recommended
Phil & Gaynor
11 years 6 months ago
I can only agree with everyone else's review on this hotel. It is very good!! The service from ALL the staff is excellent.

My room was looking slightly 'tired' but maybe I'm just looking for any negatives in an otherwise perfect hotel.

The breakfasts were amazing, a huge choice of different foods, the coffee cup was never given chance to empty.

I only gave a 1 for entertainment because we went out every evening so didn't see what was on offer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstar (Midland)

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
Wonderful stay at the hotel, rooms comfortable although the carpet in the bedroom was ready for replacing, if you want a room with sun in the afternoon you need an even numbered room.

We ate in all the different restaurants ( we were half board and were allowed about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fasttrack

Recommended
Mike Cunliffe
11 years 7 months ago
My wife and I checked into the hotel on a monday, about 2:30pm, after transfer from a Nile cruise boat (Etoile Du Nil III). Check-in was fast and efficient, the room was ready. We had upgraded directly with the hotel 2-3 months earlier and paid for a front Nile view room, with large balcony. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath, toilet and single wash basin, ample towels and was well lit. A wall mounted hair-dryer worked fine. Soaps, lotions and two face-cloths provided. Efficient air extractor as no outside window to bathroom.Two bathrobes and electronic weighing scales also provided in this upgraded room.

Bedroom had two single beds (very comfortable), a large fitted wardrobe with two halves, each with 5-6 hangers, and an electronic safe. A couple of shelves in each half, together with a two drawer waall unit provided ample clothes storage space. A t.v. with CNN and Euronews (in English) and a couple of other English speaking channels (including a movie channel) was useful - but no BBC world news service. A small but adequate and effective fridge, able to hold 1.5 litre water bottles (3-4) upright was great. Two chairs and a small coffee table ideal for playing cards. The balcony (extra large) had a dining table (for room service meals), two chairs and two full-size, padded, sun-loungers.

Views from this balcony (on the first floor) were impressive - the Nile being directly in front, the sun setting towards the front left, valley of the Kings hills in the front right. Immed. below is the hotel pool, swim-up bar, sun loungers and between this pool area and the Nile, a large (50yd x 30yd) floating pontoon with full sun loungers for approx. 40 and tables/chairs for a further 30. Many large unberallas provided shade and a colourful display of flowers, shrubs in full bloom (Feb) providing colour and frangrance. A large (20ft wide, 15 high) screen permits nightly films to be shown on the pontoon (Death on the Nile, The Mummy, Alexander and The Last Samurai shown during our stay).

Reception is large, airy and reasonably well air conditioned. The large chandolier is impressive and many seats/tables provide a relaxing area during the day. A small cafe in this area provides tea/coffee and alcoholic drinks plus a range of cakes and small snacks and ice creams. Three lifts permit access to the 6 floors above (rooms) and the two below the reception/street level entrance.

A parade of shops offering jewellery, leather goods, a full bank (with ATM), papers, books etc leads away from the reception and towards the Japanese and Italian style restaurants. An elegant bar area is upstairs (mezzanine floor) offering a range of alcoholic drinks in wood panelled surroundings. There's late evening entertainment here (finishes by midnight)- usually a singer/pianist.

One floor below there's another gift shop and the main buffet restaurant. This in turn leads outside to the pool surround. There's male and female (separate) spa areas on this lower floor - offering jacuzzi, steam room and sauna and massage facilities. A mixed-sex fitness room has a wide variety of bikes/running machines/weights (didn't try any).

One pool table in the area between the lifts and the buffet restaurant.

The pool area is fully surrounded by loungers and unberellas. The pool attendants (usually about 2-3) will provide pool towels, direct you to a vacant lounger in the area of your choice and if asked, will bring a large umberella siting it to provide shade exactly as you require. A small tip is expected and well worth it as these guys will look after you all day ensuring you are in/out of the shade exactly as you desire. There are several waiters/waitresses who will provide a full drinks service (water is 10.5 Eg.pounds - about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MedHotels/My Travel

Recommended
12 years ago
Myself and my husband stayed at the Sonesta in September 2005, our visit was for my husbands 30th Birthday, and as such the Hotel upgraded our room to the Royal Suite instead of a standard room, the room was amazing.

The Royal Suite had a dining area, jacuzzi bath, fridge and fantastic views of the Nile plus views of the street below. The room was superb and I could not find any fault with the room or Hotel.

The food at the Sonesta was excellent, lots of choices within the Hotel. I ate at all the restaurants, except the Japenese and the food and service was what I would expect in a first class Hotel. I did eat outside of the Hotel and never had any stomach problems at all. I did hear that some guests had problems, however I feel that this was due to the heat rather than food.

The Hotel is centrally located and you can grab taxi's or a Kaleche to various tourist spots. The only hassle that I received was from the Kaleche drivers, they can be persistant, however this is Egypt and if you learn arabic for No then they will leave you alone. The Hotel security and Tourist Police will also tell them to go away.

Entertainment is limited in Luxor, however the Hotel has a big screen on the pontoon on the Nile, showing films like The Mummy etc, and it makes an evening enjoyable. The Bar also stays open late and they have entertainment in the Bar. The Hotel also operates an Egyptian Night, which guests appear to enjoy. Due to the early starts, the Hotel was usually empty by 11pm most evenings!!.

I enjoyed this Hotel so much, I found the staff, location and amenties first class. I will definately be returning and 100% recommend for any of my fellow travellers.

If you look at the website: www.sonesta.com this will provide you will a virtual tour of the Hotel and it is exact with information provided.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.