Image of Algarb Hotel

Algarb Hotel

15 of 23 hotels in Playa d en Bossa

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Avda. Pedro Matutes Noguera s/n, Ibiza - Playa den Bossa po box, 07800 Ibiza Town, Spain

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 10 months ago
just update to tell others.that this hotel is now run by gps.its not what it used to be like when Fiesta ran it.food gone down hill a bit.staff still ok.more younger clubbers stay here now.diy is the only option.tui pulled out last feb 2008.great location still.apts work done now.refitted inside this year.no really open lounge area.entertainment still poor.but if you on a budget.still cheap to stay here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: diy

Kim And Tony
10 years 2 months ago
We stayed Half board for two weeks and the food was really 5 star, Fantastic buffet including fresh shell-on prawns and strawberries, freshly cooked eggs, omelettes & pancakes at breakfast and griddled steak, pork, chicken and roast meat and fish at dinner. Fresh fruit and salads were great, In fact, we were so pleased with the food that we even ate in the restaurant on our wedding anniversary as we felt that we couldnt really do better if we went somewhere realy special!!

The staff in the restaurant and bar were really friendly as were the entertainment staff who went out of their way to make all nationalities feel comfortable. Lorenzo, Rafael (the Stooge) and Ninky. Great vocal talent was David Castro - really worth seeing and hearing - Reggae and soul artist on once a fortnight. Other entertainment was great with the local Fiesta Fun Team organising activities for children, teenagers and adults.

We had a lovely time at this hotel as the staff were so friendly and accommodating and really seemed to care about our holiday experience.

Rooms are very clean with excellent maid service and a hairdryer in the bathroom and an electronic safe in the wardrobe. We were a little shocked at having to pay 36 euro for two weeks hire of the safe though!!!!

Also, the walls were rather thin if you had neighbours who came home from clubbing late! Beds were also rather uncomfortable. we agree that the hotel needs new furniture and lights etc.

We didn't find the building going on next door a problem though.

The hotel has a magnificent location on the beach in Playa D'en Bossa and is walkable to Figueritas (about 15 minutes) and Ibiza Town (30 minutes)

Buses are cheap to Ibiza Town and stop outside the hotel. Connexions to the rest of the island are easy from Ibiza Town and we travelled to Calla Llonga, Santa Eulalia and San Antonio on the buses.

Daily return trips to the island of Formentera are available from the beach for 18 euros per adult, 10 euros for children with under 6's going free.

We spent a long time walking, swimming in the sea and pool and admiring the views of the Dalt Vila and on Formentera. Also, the national park and bird sanctuary of nearby Salinas.
And, of cousre the atmosphere of the island.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mick
10 years 2 months ago
Stayed here for 11 days, this was the third time we have stayed here.

Like others reported we were not told about the building work next door to the hotel, although they were not working or making any noise it was not a pleasant site from the balcony or pool, especially when I work on building sites all year.

Like the other review the air conditioning was still leaking in the restaurant into buckets in June.

Would stay here again but hope they get there act together soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Gary
10 years 2 months ago
The Algarb is in a great location, right next to the beach if you want to sit on that beach for your full holiday, there is a bus service to the other end of playa den bossa and Ibiza town however as the hotel is in the middle of this long route we got the bus once in the whole 2 weeks the bus only stopped for us once, the rest went sailing past full, so we used to walk which I don't mind but wouldn't suit the less mobile.

Steep stairs down to the pool so if you have prams or a wheelchair you have to go outside reception and walk in from the beach? quite a hike!

Pool is far to small and at one point had 18!!! lilo's in it so as I'm not a good swimmer the pool was not for me, even if the lilo's weren't in the pool was constantly 'bombed' by groups of lads.

Sunbeds around the pool were in need of replacing and very uncomfortable. there are loads of sunbeds but some days we still couldn't get one, they all had towels on with no body lying on them? the sunbeds are crammed together in lines too so you could be lying next to a stranger with arms touching

There is huge building site on the airport side is massive and not a great view from the balcony,(apartments are being built there) no noise but not really what I want to look at when I awaken, and what a huge chore is was to be moved to another room both by the hotel and thomson who told me that really for how long I was going to be in my room the view didn't really matter!

The lifts are to small for the hundreds of rooms (2 plus one tiny one for 4 per max) and the rooms look like they were last refurbed in the 70's, the maid service was ok but the balcony was not once swept or mopped in 2 weeks and the bath didn't get a wipe either.

The restaurant staff were really good and friendly and the food was good too, lots to choose from and nice really.


Had a fantastic holiday but this hotel is not for me, might aswell have booked a cheap apartment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Partner

Karen
10 years 3 months ago
Stayed at this hotel in May for 2 weeks. The holiday company forgot to advise us that the park next door is not a park anymore, it is a building site for apartments working generally until about 7.30 in the evening but not on Sundays.

Next years brochure still does not have an up-to-date picture. The entertainment team were poor at best, except for the kids entertainer. The hotel is in need of a total rewire. The wiring was hanging out of the walls in the rooms.

At one evening meal water was dripping from the air conditioning duct and they had buckets below, this was in the middle of one of the food Gondolas. One of the lifts broke down 3 times in 2 weeks. I have to say though that the hotel is in a great location, right on the beach.

The pool was a bit scary with a vast slope to the deep end. There was a good deal on drinks for an extra 13 euros a day you could go all inclusive on drinks. This included water, tea, coffee, alchohol and wine at your meal, very reasonable.

All in all the hotel was poor but this didn't mar our holiday, we just got on with enjoying ourselves.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Sharon
11 years 1 month ago
Good selection of food salad bar to cooked fresh fish and meats.

Hotel room cleaned everyday and towels changed daily if you put them in the bath.

The hotel is right on beach and the sea was warm and sectioned off from pedloes and motorised sports.

Staff were always polite and helpful.

There was something to do every hour we had two teenagers and they managed to keep entertained. The entertainers worked so hard and there understanding of at least three languages is great. I must mention them Vincent, Selia, eriken, Lydia, Vanessa a big thank you. If you join in you will get a great deal more out of your holiday.

It was a good hotel and there were people there how had gone back for the last 6 years not bad then.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Dan
11 years 2 months ago
This was my second stay in Ibiza and definitely the best holiday I've ever been on we were greeted by polite receptionists when we arrived.

The location was good, only 2 mins walk from local bars and 15 mins walk from space, which is good if you were in a bit of a state.

Nice big pool and plenty of sunbeds restaurant was nice and big with a good selection of food. Rooms were a good size with air con and a fan clean towels provided every day.

Would definitely visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Steve, Denise And Laura
12 years ago
Excellent location,very clean and well kept,garden area nice, to sunbathe in , plenty of shade.

Food very good, plenty of choice, even for the children.

Rooms clean well daily, a bit cramped for three people, but managed ok.

Ask for pool view when booking. Entertainment during the day great for all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Hayley
12 years ago
The hotel was brilliant and we had a real good time and I would love if we could go back again it was a really clean hotel.

I would rate this a hotel 110%.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.