Image of Almirante Farragut Hotel

Almirante Farragut Hotel

9 of 11 hotels in Cala n Forcat

4 out of 5 from 21 reviews
3 stars
Cala En Forcat, Avinguda Delfines, S/N, 07760 Ciutadella, Spain
This quality high spirited hotel has achieved customers choice status thanks to its fine range of on site facilities. Located next to a small cove with magnificent views of the Mediterranean, the Almirante Farragut is the perfect holiday base for families.

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sue Moger
Should be advertised as adults only
7 years 2 months ago
I travelled with my 20 year old son and a 1 year old child. I booked it because it said it was close to beach and had a good range of activities. The beach could only be reached via either 55 steps or a 15 minute walk into town and 15-20 minute trek down a rough dirt track - neither good with a pram! There was nowhere safe for my youngster to play, not being old enough for the childrens activities.

The pool/sunbathing area was fabulous but being on a rocky headland the fencing was totally inadequate and very unsafe for children. The staff were all wonderfully friendly and efficient, the room was spotless but the carpet in the corridor was not. My little one was filthy after crawling the length of it one day.

Food was plentiful, great choice every meal - but never hot, I used the microwave more than once to warm it up! High chairs were provided for babies but few had safety straps on and then they were just reins wrapped round the chairs.

The childrens entertainers were very good, and so was the evening entertainment.
Due to safety issues in my opinion this hotel should be advertised as a couples only venue.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Sam 1
7 years 3 months ago
Stayed at the almirante from fri. 6th july to 16th july 2010,
we have stayed at this hotel 6 times in the past and always found it to be spot on,things have now change slightly at the almirante due to low visiting numbers in 2009.they have now introduced AI and reduced the staff working there.
They have closed the lovely biticora bar which we found to be a big mistake.the problem is in the evening,if you dont want to watch the entertainment in the concert area where the shows are all mimed,then you have to sit outside near the pool area and this is where all the spanish come out to smoke,hence this is where the biticora bar comes into play,here you could have a quiet drink not any more.
The introduction of AI means there are queue's at the bar from morning till night.
In the restaurant there used to be theme nights,chinese,italian ect. not now.
They would never allow shorts to be worn in the dining room on an evening they do now.
The variety of food has been trimmed to the bone but still well cooked.breakfast always the same.
The staff are now overworked but still try to be friendly.
Hotel is very clean as is the rooms.room safe cost 25eur pw. + 10eur dep.
The hotel offers a fabulous bathing area where there are plenty of sunbeds.towels start arriving on sunbeds around 7-30am but dont panic there are plenty,they used to be chained up until 8-0am not anymore.
Drinks are 3eur a pint of local beer.shorts 3eur + 1.20 eur mixer.if not AI.
would we go back to the almirante the answer is yes but we shall let a few years go by first and then check reviews to see whats being said.
If you have never been to the almirante i think you would say it's ok for a 3 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Julie
9 years 3 months ago
Weve just arrived back from our 1st holiday to this island and hotel and i just have to say that BOTH are BRILLANT
the hotel is well worth 4* Plus food choices were excellent, staff, entertainment, cleanliness, reception staff, bar staff, waiters etc etc
All Brillant childrens clubs even a ball pit for my 18mnth old
BRILLANT BRILLANT time on a sandy cove ideal for todlers and young children though its down some steps so leave the pushchair at the hotel and carry them
Only down side was they had spanish highchairs wich are just a taller chair great if your child is above 2 or very good, but after speaking to resort rep Jen she got us a english highchair so we were able to enjoy i meals knowing that our son was safe.
the resort centre is a nice 10 minute stroll away and has something for everybody whether familles or couples loads of bars with acts on cant rave enough about this hotel and resort
having only picked the plce due to short flight time because our son would have to sit on out knee we have already collected brouchures for next year
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Clare
10 years 2 months ago
I have recently return from a family hotel at this hotel, The hotel was kept clean and the staff were helpful, the location is on a cliff overlooking the sea, we had a lovely view both of the sea and the pool. The pool was salt water which was a bit of a let down, after a few days we got used to it. The worst part of this hotel was the entertainment, the staff speak in spanish and English but are hard to make out, This hotel is popular with spanish holiday makers
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
S Whelan
10 years 4 months ago
Very clean friendly hotel, with lovely staff and a high standard of English and local knowledge.

We were half board and ate breakfast at the hotel 3/7 mornings and had one dinner there. The breakfast was nice although it finished at 10.30am by which stage there was not much left (buffet style). The dinners and lunches were not appealing to us as it was mostly veal, duck and fish which neither of us eat so we chose to eat out 6/7 nights.

The hotel was well equipped and there was a lot for adults and children to do. My only complaint would be that the pools are saltwater which is a nuisance as it irritated our eyes every time we used the pool.

The 'main strip' was only a 10 minute walk away and was ideal for older couples or families, however if you are a younger traveller this resort is not recommended unless you plan on just relaxing and not staying out too late.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
FinallyCruising
11 years 3 months ago
This was our second holiday in Menorca and our first in Cala'n Forcat. We went to Cala'n Bosch a few years ago.

We recently returned from a rather hot 11 night stay at this hotel.

Overall impression of hotel was very good, especially the food and entertainment, though the evening entertainment started a bit late for our liking (22:00 or later - 21:00 for the mini-disco).

As we went in the school holidays the price was expensive at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
George Ellerby
11 years 5 months ago
Stayed at this hotel last year for 14 nights but we hit the Spanish Seniors holiday for our first week.

The food was poor at dinner but to make up for it we were give free lunches and free wine and water with lunch and dinner so we thought that was fair enough. And so we thought we would do the same again this year - bad mistake!

We only caught two or three days of the Spanish Seniors holiday but the food was terrible, far worse than last year, and whereas last year it improved beyond all recongnition for our second week this year it improved slightly but only at dinner, the cooked food at breakfast was still disgusting. The cooked food at breakfast consisted of beans, porridge (but what they had done to it I have no idea - it looked like uncooked rice pudding) and on alternate days frankfurter sausages, disgusting small spanish sausages that looked uncooked, and spanish bacon and fried eggs. The fried eggs were uncooked on the top and overcooked on the bottom so that the edges were crispy. If you wanted to eat one of them you had to scrape the uncooked egg from the top and cut the crispy bits from the bottom.

The other features of the hotel couldn't really be faulted except that the entertainment was a bit poor sometimes and one show was the same from last year.

The sunbathing was superb - loads of sunbeds and places to sunbathe. To sum up - if it's sunbathing you want this hotel can't be beaten, but if you like a cooked breakfast and you would like british bacon and the occasional British sausage with it - go somewhere else!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travelcare

Tony And Angie
11 years 5 months ago
We found the Almirante Farragut is on the whole a good hotel in a good location, but,with a few negatives which I will point out now are because of our personal tastes.

The hotel is a family orientated establishment, which for couples like ourselves became a bit of an irritant, when you couldn't have 10 minutes peace either in the restaraunt or around the pool, because of wayward and screaming children, who seemed to be oblivious to their parents. If you haven't got children do not go to this hotel unless you like continual bombardment and disruption to your daily activities around the hotel from the kids.

On the subject of noise, we were unfortunate to be at the hotel when a local childrens basketball team arrived for a two night stay.oh dear!! The whole of our floor was kept awake all night by the antics of the team running up and down, shouting, banging on doors etc...without any reproach from the persons in charge of them or the hotel staff. Lets just say that the next morning the hotel manager wished she was no longer the hotel manager, well not on that morning anyway, as she was barraged with complaint after complaint from the holidaymakers. After she recovered, whatever she said or did, worked, because the second night there was not a sound from the basketball team. Well done manager, but why didn't you tackle it as it was happening on the fist night?

Onto food, a subject dear to my heart and no doubt many others. During our first week the hotel was overrun with Spanish pensioners from the mainland on their government funded breaks, which apart from their rudeness ( they don't believe in queues )wasn't too bad because the food was of a good standard and varied from night to night. Then the spanish went home, and the second weeks food went downhill big time, with numerous people again complaining.

The food was cold, undercooked, repetetive and little to choose from. One person we were talking to caught food poisoning from undercooked pork, which we thankfully avoided. It was as if when the Spanish went home they dug out the tourist menus for the rest of us. Also when you go to the restaurant for the first time we noticed that if you were a Spanish couple you were allocated a table for two, but tourists had to share a table of four, despite half the dining room being unoccupied and coned off.

We had to share, which we actually enjoyed due to the people we had allocated to our table, but you could see that a lot of people were not so happy, and any protests fell on deaf ears, although all the staff were very nice and friendly.

The entertainment was what I would call typical holiday hotel stuff, with the staff from the resident entertainment group putting on various ( mimed ) shows, like the Bee Gees, Blue Brothers etc...

We thought the hotel location was excellent, being just a five minute walk from the main area of the resort, but being far enough away to be peaceful if you wanted it to be. Finally, my hat goes off to the cleaners who religiously scrubbed every floor and surface in your room and the hotel in general on a daily basis, with towels changed daily ( if you want it )and bedding every third day. Well done cleaners. Own conclusion we probably would not go back to this hotel, for the points we have raised above, but on the whole for the price it wasn't too bad.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Kristell
11 years 5 months ago
Well our fourth trip to this hotel. We still have very positive comments about it - just a few points are:

Full menu and entertainment etc., does not come in to effect now until 1st June. We arrived on 27th May and wondered what had happened to the food - the freshly fried eggs and carvery, the snack bar by the pool was closed - but low and behold it all changed on 1st June and everything was back to normal by then.

Drinks are a bit expensive but we always expect this in hotels now.

Were very surprised to find the whole hotel (and indeed all in Spain now) are non smoking throughout and supermarkets/bars can not sell cigarettes unless the bar has a license and then it is just a vending machine.

Hotel staff as always were excellent, helpful and many remembered us from previous years. Weather was a bit iffy for a few days but we hired a car and went around the island (again and again!!).

We still love it here - the location is superb - wonderful views and we will return again!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Carol, Colin, Ellie 13. Liddy 10
12 years 2 months ago
This hotel is great I can't believe it only has 3 stars. Don't be put off by this. If you have a sea view room it is lovely to watch the sunset on your balcony. Although slightly out of resort it means that it commands a lovely position on a headland and you are not overlooked by other hotels.

Buffet style food was good and varied and catered for the most fussy people.

Staff were friendly and the kids club was the best I have ever seen at a hotel. Ours could join in if they fancied or leave when they had enough, no booking in advance or paying for sessions. I am sure if you had younger children they would have been more supervised but we didn't need this.

Evening entertainment was usual hotel cabaret/shows -
depends if you like that sort of thing.

Menorca is great for families. Hire a car and see the rest of the Island. The Algerian beach was a big winner with our family and it is not far from our hotel but you do need a car to get there.

Menorca is a well kept secret. People are nice and friendly, everywhere is easily accessible (by car) and most holidaymakers are families (I don't think the 18 to 30's would find much to do). I would definitely go back again and the more I look at hotels for our next holiday it makes me realise how well this hotel suited us.

If you are going here - lucky you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.