Image of Talayot Apartments

Talayot Apartments

8 of 11 hotels in Cala n Forcat

4 out of 5 from 62 reviews
2 stars
Cala en Forcat, 07769 Cala en Forcat, Menorca, Spain
Set in rockery gardens of cacti and palms, thse whitewashed apartments are in a lively area between the sandy cove of Cala n Blanes and the resort centre of Cala n Forcat, both 800m away.

62 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    23
  • Very Good
    16
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Richard
8 years 3 months ago
We stayed at Talayot Apts for 2weeks July 09. Ino total there were 11 of us across two 2 x bedroom apartments, in all 6 adults, 2 teenagers, a 5year old and 2 babies less than 1year.
The apartments were OK, a few niggles eg the babies cots seemed very old and rickety so if baby moved in sleep it often woke her up because it would wobble and creak but to be fair we asked them to see to it and they did on the same day. Cooker in room broke but again a new one appeared within a couple of hours.
The rooms were generally clean, the grounds were clean too and the pools were cleaned morning and evening. The hotel staff eg reception were very good, nice and helpful.
The Thomson staff were good, we have xperienced better in other Thomson Family hotels but theye were good and our 5year old liked the kids reps and clubs so happy days.
We found the food at the hotel not to be to our liking besides the coffee and toast in the morning but plenty of options nearby and also there did seem to be quite a few people eat at the hotel bar so maybe we are being a bit harsh.
The location of the hotel is pretty good as it is at the end of a road of bars and restaurants so you dont get the noise from them or people returning from them.
We probably would not return here because although it was OK we have experienced better in other Thomson Family locations, the only reason we went here is because they could accomodate well the large group we had.

All in all a good holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Dawn Cottrell
8 years 4 months ago
There were 4 of us - myself, my husband and our 2 daughters (aged 3 and 5 )
Cleanliness was of a pretty good standard although the rooms were a bit on the shabby side and in need of a refurbish (which I believe they have started to do)But it was clean which is the main thing!!!

We were at 'x' block (which has been renamed 't' block now! We had no complaints with this block although we were a bit worried to begin with as we had read many bad reviews about the 'dreaded x block' It was fine and the blocks pool was lovely..

Hotel location was fab - 5 minute walk to bars, places to eat, bouncy parks (the girls loved these) and the water park - which was great!!
Walk a bit further and you will find Jimmy Hills (The square) - cheap food and good evening entertainment...

Food in resort was ok - if you like chips with everything (which I dont) But I survived!! We only ate toasted sandwhiches from pool bar at hotel and they were lush..

Entertainment in resort was ok - Great place for families as there are toys, bouncy castles etc in all places so mam and dad get to have a meal and a drink in peace - lol...
Entertainment in hotel was great - Tracey the entertainment rep is fantastic. There is something going on from 11am till 11pm (if you want it ) This being said if you want quiet then thats no problem as there are 6 pools by day to choose from...

Fab hotel and fab holiday - best we've had with the children - Cala n forcat really is a kiddies paradise..

Enjoy your holiday and maybe we will see you there soon as we will deffinetly be returning!!!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jocur5
8 years 5 months ago
First time I have stayed self catering and didn't really cook in room but it had everything you could have needed to cook a meal, most importantly a full fridge freezer. Food in the hotel was not the best in resort but acceptable. The hotel was located close to all amenities. Staff were great for families not recommended for couples but the kids have loads to do, they can never complain they are bored. I will definitely be back at this hotel again soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mr And Mrs Hallam
9 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the talyot apartment block x, i have heard so many horror stories about this block that i dreaded going there, but i was really pleasantly suprised, the room was clean had everything you needed and the maids came every 2 days to clean and change towels and bedding, the green parrot club by the looks of it has been closed so there was no noise at all, i would recommend also if you go with younger children to use the x block pools, its has a deep pool for the adults and right below is the kiddies pool, both of which was never full all the time unlike the main pool which we found to crowded ( but if you like to be entertained by the reps during the day the main pool is where you will need to go) as the x block pool we found we enjoyed better as we just chilled out.
The entertainment in the night by the reps was excellent they are great with the children and also have to say a big thankyou to the girls in kids club they are absolutely fabulous with the kids. I would also recommend you take basic items of food with you from home as we found the local supermarkets really pricey on the most basic of items.All in all we loved our stay but maybe if we went back we would definatly hire a car next time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Anon
9 years 1 month ago
We travelled early September and stayed for 11 nights. We stayed at the dreaded X block, but to be fare it was not as bad as some of the previous reviews. The apartment had the basic facilities and was clean. The apartment would have benefited greatly from air conditioning as we were rewarded with some hot weather. We had a 14 month old and were disappointed with the 'soft play room', it was basic and small. We were also disapointed that we had to hire a high chair for the apartment and horrified when it arrived. It took 20 minutes to clean and remove rotting food from under the covers.It was fairly quiet when we stayed and found no problems using the pools or getting sunbeds. The staff seemed friendly and helpful. Our child was a bit young for the entertainment on offer but the older kids seemed to enjoy it. The resort itself has plenty of restaurents and bars but don't expect to eat out cheap as your euros don't go very far. I would advise you to shop around for car hire before you go through the reps. I saved 60 euros by going into the resort and using a well known company.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Tasha
9 years 1 month ago
Where we stayed was fantastic
the only thing bad about the hotel is the food there any where else in the resort is fine however the hotel food is not impressive.
i would just like to say that the entertainers working there dan & bex are superb and i cant beleive bex is leaving shes absolutely fantastic there was entertainment every night with out a doubt and everyday they both did games all week while we were there, i would like to take this opportunity to thank thomson for the two bedroomed E Block apartment it was clean and had maids every 2 days,the bathroom facilities are brand new and the balcony was extended over the bar which was a bonus, fantastic place, fantastic holiday cheers!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Kym Gray
9 years 1 month ago
We were self catering, found the hotel to be very clean and in a very central location but not noisy. Could not comment much on the entertainment as we only went once.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

George
9 years 2 months ago
the apartments are set in colourful gardens we stayed in a 1 bed apartment, well equipped kitchenet, towel /bed sheets changed every 3 days,clean apartment lovely and clean generally,recetion staff extremly friendlt and helpful, this is a family hotel totally geared up for families (and i'm sure that if you have kids up to teens age its ideal),didnt seem to be any kids older than these sort of ages so my daughter (16) unable to meet new friends. 5 pools but all of them i found noisey and pool sunbeds were hottly competed for.
i stayed in M block (adjacent to the apartment reception/bar restuarant/kids pool/climbing frames/pool table and air hockey table) heres the problem, if youre in M block & want some peace to sleep dont expect any till after 2 am, kids running about screaming and the dreaded ping-ping air hockey till the wee hours
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Jowens
9 years 2 months ago
The Hotel staff are very helpful and are always busy making sure the hotel/grounds are clean and tidy. Our room was basic, the utensils were in need of replacement and the towels were so badly worn and bleached they could not be used without taking off a layer of skin the process. We also found some roaches in our room, dead but there all the same they made us wary of cleanliness. The sad thing about this resort is the sun bed drama. You have no chancve of getting near a pool unless you are up and 'claim' one by 6am, and even then most will have been taken up, usually people leave towels out then dont even return to use them untilo late afternoon. If the hotel could crack this issue it would be a much happier place. Pools were good, grounds staff were always there picking up and tending to plants so the areas look well kept. I would urge anyone to double check the transfer times from the airport too. It took almost two hours as the rep said that we werent 'platinum customers' we had to wait until last to be dropped off as there was only one coach. This was a really difficult journey with children after a day of travelling and made us feel second class.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Unimpressed
9 years 2 months ago
we stayed in A block. lovely room perfectly adequate for 5 people. room very clean although very basic. very quite except for selfish people who came in at all hours of the night expecting others to be up becuase they were! the A block is located very near main pool. Extremely lively pool, too many inflatables and no respect whatsoever by certain individuals for smaller children, no lifeguard so be warned. this is the pool where you see the Reps, you dont see them anywhere else in the complex so keep your eyes peeled. we found the Reps to be very unapproachable and found they liked certain holidaymakers more than others! very unhelpful and vacant throughout! the main pool would have been more at home in an 18-30s resort such as Ibiza or Benedorm rather than a family pool! We spent our 2 weeks using the X block pool, lovely quiet pool catered especially for smaller children. not very busy as everyone seemed to be using the main pool. X block pool recommended. It does not seem as though Talyot appts have any regard for order in the complex as no rules were adhered to. children screaming around complex at all hours, adults charging around jumping in the pool at stupid o clock and noone to tell them off - lawless it would seem! Would not recommend this place for quiet family holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomspons

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.