Image of Sun Park Aparthotel

Sun Park Aparthotel

33 of 44 hotels in Playa Blanca

3 out of 5 from 16 reviews
1 star
Aparthotel Sun Park, C/ Janubio, S/N, -- Lanzarote-Playa Blanca, Spain

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Palmer
Cold swimming pools!
6 years 7 months ago
The apartment was clean, although decor a little tired. Lovely view from first floor balcony overlooking beautiful gardens and pool. Rather surprised to read comments re towels and linen as our beds were changed twice during our one week stay and the towels were changed at least three times.

We did not use restaurant or watch the entertainmnent, we only wanted a base and went out most days and every evening. Would have preferred a different type of pay TV as we only used this to watch the news but we learnt to our cost that the payment ticks off even when the TV is turned off. The first time we watched the news we put money into the pay meter thinking this would last all week only to watch it tick away to nothing.

Whilst I have definitely stayed in much better accommodation (the sister hotel Sun Royal is a better choice but was fully booked) the only complaint we had was that all four of the lovely swimming pools were so cold as to be unuseable. No one suggested to us that we could use the heated pool in the Sun Royal, although I must confess this did cross our minds but we felt it wasn't quite the thing to do.

My reason for saying we we would not stay here again is solely because of the cold pools. For what we paid we felt it was probably value for money.

I do agree that the hot water was very hot but surely that is better than being too cold. It is not an unsurmountable problem.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Dave
Worse than I thought it would be!
6 years 8 months ago
The family and I recently travelled to the Sun Park just before Christmas and on arrival our impression of the hotel was ok even though it did look quite dirty from the car park. The holiday was quite cheap so we weren't expecting too much anyway but it was a little worse than I thought it was going to be.

Once inside the complex it did look quite nice with 4 big pools (freezing) and some nice trees. The room itself also looked ok initially then the cracks started to show. The front window was stuck between open at the top and closed at the bottom so it could not be opened at all. Some of the electric sockets were broken and only half the lights worked.

Checking the bathroom the door handle fell off and the flush was sitting broken on top of the cistern, couldn't even flush the loo after taking the top off and trying to do it manually. The sink mixer tap was also loose and swivelled freely. All the fixtures and fitting were poorly fitted/maintained.

We also only had 3 dining chairs and 3 outside chairs even though there were 4 of us. All problems highlighted to reception several times before the toilet was fixed and light bulbs replaced. Nothing else was sorted but just gave up and put up with the other things.

The cleaners attended the room 4 days out of the 7 but obviously didn't do much other than make the beds and change the towels as the floors were quite dirty and even found a cigarette but behind one of the cushions on day 3 (no one smokes in my family).

It was also a bit hit and miss on what was supplied as our friends who were travelling with us had some things we didn't and vice versa. None of the rooms had a brush or pan which I think is essential. Sheets were also very old and threadbare.

I will admit we have stayed in worse but moved hotels on that occasion.

One last thing don't even think about paying for their crazy golf as the worst excuse for a crazy golf course I've ever seen.

Not going to be rushing back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Generally ok, but would stay elsewhere
7 years ago
I have just returned from a weeks all inclusive holiday with my sister at the Sun Park and all in all it was a great holiday. The hotel was OK, lovely pools and the rooms were clean and tidy with clean towels every other day.

The downsides were the food, the breakfast was very limited and the food in the evenings was not very inviting. We did eat out 3 times and I can definitely recommend Jumbo's Chinese restaurant. Another downside was the outdoor sitting area in the evenings, it was dark, dingy and had nothing appealing about it at all, hence why we went into the town every night. Didn't find the staff particularly friendly either, it was even too much for them to put ice in the drinks when asked.

Playa Blanca is a lovely resort, very clean, lovely beach and some nice restaurants - would definitely go again but would probably not stay at the Sun Park unless some changes were made. Don't be put off if you are staying there though as it was generally OK.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Tom Fielding
7 years 8 months ago
arrived boxing day hotel is nice and clean and four good sized pools on 2 levels good location for the beach,bars and resturants only 10 min walk flat terrain not hilly,thats the good points now the bad ones only had 1 towel and bedding change all week food for a/i was a bit bland nice chips and good selection for the salad brigade but then again they put a good spread on for the gala dinner new year so they can do it if they try harder watch out for the hot water in rooms it is literly boiling (watch the kids)entertainment was very embarrasing germans trying to be funny carnt sing carnt dance carnt even mime,also spent alot of time walking back an forth to the bar only allowed 1/2 beer each they just dont understand the british mentality of drinking a pint which lasts longer and puts less strain on the staff with a perminant Q at the bar you can only drink so much when your full your full weather its 1/2 or pints would stay again but only as a base
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ice lolly.com

Recommended
Debbie Tomkins
7 years 8 months ago
We came for a relaxing chilled out 1 week holiday in the sun and that is exactly what we had. The apartments are spacious and decorated nicely. Bathroom was of an acceptable standard although the hot water is scalding and only 1 small towel each.

We recieved a free breakfast on the first morning to tempt you to upgrade to AI but it was awful and no butter for our toast so we didnt bother. Well equipt kitchen facilities in the room enable you to make breakfast/lunch easy enough so had those in the room instead.

Pool area kept clean although some sunbeds were a bit dodgy,cracked or broken, so you had to be careful there.Lots of umrellas for shade but the beautiful pools were freezing.This stopped me going in but the kids still went in.You can use a heated pool next door in the Sun Royal if you can be bothered.
Bar staff friendly enough.

Entertainment is German and they are great with the younger kids, coming round to collect them for activities. At night the entertainment was a laugh if only at how terrible it was - they were trying to mime and dance to sound tracks, well funny - but they were lovely people. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff even though they had to work all over New year.

I would visit again as it is well positioned and good value for money but definately Self Catering only as only 10 mins walk away from a good supermarket and great bars and restaurants which werent too expensive.


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Tony & Sue
7 years 11 months ago
First impression as you walk into the reception is very offputting, but don't let this put you off.
All the apartments are dotted around four loveley pools & only on two levels, giving you a nice view.
Went self catering so can't comment on food, only to say that if the free first day breakfast was to go by then don't waste you money.
The room was ground level and very clean & plenty of room for two, good size bedroom & bathroom , plenty of cupboard space. no air con though.
On the whole for what we paid , the sun park has all you need to really relax and chill in the autumn when there are not too many families there.
Nice ten minute stroll to the beach makes it a good location for beach lovers too.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Paton
8 years 10 months ago
We have just returned from the Sun Park and found the hotel to be of a medium standard. The room itself was basic and was cleaned twice in the week we were there. The location was okay, it was a mere 10-12 minute walk to the beach and nearest restaurants and shops. There is an onsite supermarket which is open from 9am till midnight and stocks all your basic requirements for self-catering and is reasonably priced. The only downside of the hotel is that the entertainment team only cater for the 90% of German tourists that visit the hotel. The British children were not made to feel welcome, every activity was explained in German and not English, the animation team went out their way to please the Germans. Would I visit the hotel again ?, probably not as my son had a fab time at the hotel next door, the Bahia Blanca Rock the last time we stayed in Playa Blanca as he was made to feel more welcome in all the activities even though it was made up of all different nationalities. I think the hotel management need to realise that everyone staying in their hotel is not German.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

10 years 6 months ago
Having read various reports about these apartments I tried it for myself. I have no complaints regarding food or entertainment as we went self catering. The apartment was clean, the staff friendly.

Beautiful, well kept gardens and surrounding pool area. A little far from town but no problem if you're fit. Otherwise a couple of Euros in a taxi. The brochures say 600 meters to the nearest beach and 800 metres to the town. That may be a slight exaggeration but it's not far out.

The aparthotel has its own supermarket which is usually kept well stocked. The only reason I did'nt bother with the cabaret was that it seemed to cater for the German guests more than anyone else.

Apart from that I would recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Aspro

Recommended
Jacky Hamilton
11 years 2 months ago
We had a good stay as this was a good accommodation with four pools to choose from. We had our rooms cleaned 5 times a week (we stayed 2 weeks) with towels changed 3 times a week and sheets twice a week.

It was 10 mins walk to the beach and centre of resort. when we required the help of staff they were very helpful prompt ane efficent. The entertainment was OK. We would certainly use this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspro

Recommended
Holly Brown
12 years 2 months ago
We stayed at the Sun Park apartments in June 2005.

We had a great time we have no complaints about anything really.

The only thing is that there could have been more entertainment but if your not bothered about that then it would be perfect.

Playa Blanca was lovely the restaurants were brilliant jumbo Chinese was even better than at home and the selection of places to eat was amazing for the size of the place.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and would have done anything for you.

All in all if you want a quiet relaxing holiday this is the place to go and stay.

Big thumps up for the Sun Park. We are off back this year in September cant wait!

It was a fabulous holiday !
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: boyfriend

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.