Image of Atalaya Court Apartments

Atalaya Court Apartments

39 of 41 hotels in Costa Adeje

2 out of 5 from 8 reviews
3 stars
Calle Cataluna Torviscas Alto Costa Adeje Tenerife

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    0
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Angela MacDonald
12 years 1 month ago
I visited this website before I left for Tenerife and decided to make my own mind up about the place when I got there. My advice to anyone who has booked to go to Atalya Court is to change your accommodation arrangements.

The location is quite a trek from the main part of town, which I wouldn't have minded, if the apartments were nice. The whole place is run down and in need of serious refurbishment. The rooms were dirty and smelly, with broken tiles on the stairs and floors, skirting boards falling off and our front door could be pushed open even though it was locked.

The children's pool was full of broken glass. I went in myself to pick all the glass out, it took me an hour, and it was still unfit for paddling in. Three of my children cut their feet on the surrounding pool area. There were used condoms in the basket ball court and broken glass and rubbish in the "play park". The reception staff and pool bar staff wouldn't accept that there was glass in the pool, even though the cleaners helped me clear it away.

We paid 90 euros to move apartments after 3 days, along with several other families. We have since found out that they are being sold off at bargain prices - the cheapest apartments to buy in Tenerife.

Don't go!! It really is a horrible place to stay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Dave
12 years 1 month ago
I was told about this web site before I went on holiday and had a look, then wished I had not, because all the reviews on this hotel were true, except for the cockroaches. We only found 3 in our rooms.

On arrival 11pm I asked the receptionist if I could hire a kettle, fan, safe etc and was told no, come back tomorrow, he just flatly refused to hire anything at that time. So I used the teapot for the whole holiday to boil water for coffee. We had to ask the holiday rep to arrange for the towels to be changed as this was not happening, also toilet paper. The room was cleaned and the beds were made though, 3 times in the fortnight.

I had forgotten to ask when booking this holiday if it was air conditioned, and it's not. Even though we hired a fan the rooms were really hot much so that we found it hard to sleep, we had to leave the patio doors open for the whole holiday and it took a while to get used to the noise of the traffic which never seemed to stop. We had good views from our balcony overlooking the sea.

The apartment was clean, although the bath was rusty, there was only 1 plug to do the bath sink and bidet.
The bedroom wardrobe mirror doors were cracked and tapped up to stop the glass falling out. The whole apartment could have done with a paint.

Our apartment was down a flight of stairs and when we arrived we discovered that the light for the stairs did not work so we could not see, I pointed this out to a passing hotel worker, and he just kept pointing to go downstairs. I had to use a lighter to find the door in the end, I reported it in the morning and it was fixed, but then every time we pushed the light button it kept tripping the fuse.

There is no entertainment at all at this hotel. The pool bar was okay though as long as you bought all your food and drink from there.

The bar man would shout at you if he saw you with food/drink bought from elsewhere and tell you to leave, even though one day he ran out of gas for the cookers and could not prepare any food that day.

The steps from the bottom pool back to the rooms are a killer, no joke, I thought I was reasonable fit, think again, just make sure you take all you need when you go to the pool. As for the pools, well, they like the rest of the hotel are in dire need of some maintenance, the paint is coming off the bottom of the pool and you will find it hard to get a sun lounger that
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Alan
12 years 1 month ago
This was without doubt the worst place we've ever stayed in, in all seriousness if you've booked for a stay in the Atalaya then get in touch with your tour operator ASAP and change accommodation.

The rooms were not clean, floor tiles throughout the apartment were broken. The fridge was covered in rust, patio doors wouldn't lock, I could go on.

My eldest son got his foot badly cut in the children's pool and the receptionist wouldn't believe us when we told him the glass was in the pool. He was about as use as a chocolate fireguard anyway so it didn't surprise us, very ignorant and totally unwilling to help with anything we requested. We later found out that Spanish youths were staying at the complex over the weekend and were throwing glasses and plates around the pool. I think our first indication that things would be bad came when the rep failed to show for the Welcome meeting. We lasted 3 days before moving accommodation, the only reason for that was it took 2 days to track the rep down.

I'm a great believer in finding things out for myself and i'm a very easy going person who'd take sites like this with a pinch of salt.

Believe me, if you're booked to stay here then think seriously about changing.

The walk to, and especially from the resort, is a killer. A cable car wouldn't go amiss.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

S Sharp
12 years 4 months ago
Stayed for a week in April. Apartments were very basic but you get what you pay for. We tended to eat out at all times so didn't use the apartments facilities at all except for the odd time at the pool, the lower pool as the top one is in need of restoration.

Had 2 cockroaches in our apartment even though I had put loads of powder down but I had expected to see more. Used the pool at the laguna park 2 more as it was much nicer.

Can't really comment on the food or entertainment as we didn't use it prefering to go down town to try various. Apartments sit quite high up on the hilly area so it's a fair trek back up when you go out but then again the view is really nice.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: a1 travel

Jacqui
12 years 5 months ago
Don't worry if you're already booked in at this hotel, it really isn't too bad. The rooms are huge, many with two floors each with a large balcony. There are two pools, and a poolside bar with very friendly staff that is open during the day for snacks etc.

It is quite a walk to the beach, but there is a taxi rank at the end of the road for longer trips, ie into playas de las americas.

We were self catering, but did eat breakfast and dinner a couple of times in the hotel bar, and the food was fine.

The rooms are quite dirty, and not cleaned every day, but this was fine for us as we had so much to do during the day we spent very little time in them.

Probably not the best place for fussy people, but fine for younger people used to living in student accomodation!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Stacey
12 years 9 months ago
I stayed at these apartments in November with my boyfriend. It was our first visit to Tenerife.

When we arrived at the apartments I was quite disappointed as the reception wasn't even big enough to swing a cat!!

When exploring the area I couldn't believe the state of the swimming pool. There were massive chunks of paint missing from the bottom of the pool. We both decided to use the Laguna Park II swimming pool as it had a nice large pool, with a pool bar.

The cleanliness of the room and apartment was about average.

On one occassion we had a meal in the restaurant, which was nice. However the vegetables which were served with them were freezing cold! The restaurant staff were pleasant and efficient.

The location of the apartments was a bit of a trek to the main resort amenities, but the taxis are relatively cheap (costs roughly 4 euros to the main centre).

On the morning before the last night we were woken up by loud banging noises from the next apartment. After being disturbed we realised that renovations were taking place. That evening we decided to come back to the apartment slightly earlier so we could pack some of our luggage in preparation for our early return journey the following morning. As my boyfriend started to pack his suitcase he noticed an enormous cockroach which must have been hiding under his suitcase!

As you can imagine I was having a fit! Finally after my boyfriend had got rid of the vermin and persuaded me to return to the apartment more cockroaches appeared!! My boyfriend must have killed about seven massive cockroaches that evening. To put the icing on the cake we didn't get to bed until after 2am.

Overall I thought the location of the apartments were too far from the resort amenities and as for that hill, no wonder its called 'cardiac hill'.

I won't be going back there again!!!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travelled independently

Darren Beckett
13 years ago
the apartments are approx 2km from the main tourist area and beach resort, its up a serious hill so a taxi is essential. we checked into our 2 bedroomed apartment which was clean, spacious but very basic. we had to hire a kettle, fan and token to make the tv work. the apartments are built on a hill therefore are on levels with steep flights of stairs between levels, not advisable for the elderley or people with any disabilities. there are 2 pools, the first is very small and seems to be used soley by the spanish, the second with a kids section is in a diabolical state, it has been covered with some form of aqua seal wich during our week was peeling off, under the seal which was a vile green colour was the eroded blue of the pool which filled the pool with allsorts of dirt etc, it was that filthy we used the beach every day as did everyone else i think as we saw very few people round the pool. the pool bar was fantastic cheap beer and nice snacks, the restrauant was nice serving a varied menu at reasonable prices. a supermarket is next door and the staff we saw at the apartments were polite and helpful. upon departure there is a luggage store and they provide a shower room free of charge. we had a nice holiday but used our apartment facilities basically to sleep in, a shame realy as i expect it wouldn't take a lot of money to make things nice and acceptable. p.s have to mention it , several cockroaches in room and the odd lizzard fortunatly my missus and the kids wernt aware of it !!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: aspro

13 years ago
I stayed at these apartments in August/September with a friend and our four teenage daughters. Booked apartment and flight independently and didn't use a travel company.

You have to pay extra for a card to make the TV work (but we didn't bother - on holiday so no need for a TV). We paid the extra to hire fans as it was a very hot week (but not complaining).

Found everything very clean and the staff very helpful and polite. The only thing that we really noticed was lacking was cutlery and crockery - in an apartment for 6 was only 4 cups, two bowls and one spoon so we had to drink our cuppas in relay I'm sure if we had asked at reception they would have provided more - but we didn't bother as generally we weren't all there at the same time. No kettle but we compromised and used a saucepan.

Towels and bedding changed regularly and the maid was great. Only saw one cockroach in our room during our stay but let's face it, in these countries surely you expect to see the odd one.

The entertainment was basic - quiz nights, karaoke, bingo, but the staff did try hard to keep everyone entertained. One of the two swimming pools is in dire need of attention - it was pretty grotty with paint peeling, and the green stuff round the edge of the pool hanging off - didn't see the pool cleaned at all during our stay but having said that, we still used it every day and it was always quite busy during the week we were there. The other pool was in better condition but smaller.

There's lots of steps (counted 87 from our apartment to reception) so not good for anyone with walking difficulties or slightly older! The pool bar was great as far as we were concerned as it catered just right for 4 teenage girls - chips, chips, chips and the odd burger!

Only ate in the main restraurant once but that is because we prefer to go out and try different restaurants and not because of the quality. On the one occasion that we did eat there, no complaints but at the end of the day you get what you pay for and this place isn't exactly one of the pricier ones.

It is a fair way out of the resort but we were happy hopping into a taxi and heading out every night anyway. If you want to stay in the apartments every night for entertainment and object to paying taxi fares then maybe this wouldn't be the ideal one to choose as it is a pretty steep climb on the way home.

We would use Atalaya Court again - it's cheap and cheerful - and you get exactly what you pay for.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked independently

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.