Image of Abou Sofiane Hotel

Abou Sofiane Hotel

5 of 17 hotels in Port el Kantaoui

4 out of 5 from 64 reviews
4 stars

64 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    26
  • Very Good
    28
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Elaine Frearson
Excellent,room service brill,friendly staff
3 years 5 months ago
We had a fabulous holiday, animation team were brilliant,ESP.. Speedy, biggie and go go. The food was very good and besides the restaurant there was a choice of two other bars on the beach that did excellent food at lunch time.cant fault the place, hope to go back later this year.the rooms were cleaned daily,with regular change of linen and towels. Towels for the beach were supplied too and changed twice a week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Catherine
Aireys
5 years 2 months ago
Me and the family have visited this hotel 8 years on the row and will be returning this coming year. First of all I will start on the entertainment, the animation team are amazing and they never fail to make you laugh with the comedy shows and there dancing is unbelievable especially Mouki the main dancer.

The staff at the hotel are very attentive and make sure you are always happy, sometimes there can be problems but they are soon sorted out by the staff.

The beach is beautiful, the hotel has its own private beach, there are water rides for good prices and lots to do down there with their own beach bar. The hotel is situated on the beach, and not far down the road there is a couple of supermarkets and a 10 minute taxi ride there is the shopping port, where you can haggle the price down, even though you do get hassled a bit.

Overall Tunisa- Abou Sofiane is an amazing place to stay for a family and I will be definitely returning next year for the 9th time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Dawn
Please don’t go!
5 years 2 months ago
This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The room we stayed in smelt putrid there was a damp musty smell from air con, all the sheets smelt of it. If you spent any time in the room even your skin smelt of it.

The corridor outside the room reeked of cat pee. When you where having a shower black mould would run into the bath. We arrived on the Friday finally got moved the following Wednesday but all we wanted to do was to go home.

This is the first review I have EVER written but would hate anyone else to waste their money on this flea pit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Elaine
First Time in Tunisia
5 years 4 months ago
I am not that impressed with this hotel, it states that it is 4 stars but not that I can see.

The All-inclusive is more like all inclusive Lite, all day and night soft drinks with beer and wine, food is there but is reused throughout the day in the different diners and there were no snacks unless we bought them.
There was nothing for children between 10 and 16 to do, and the entertainment team were more interested in having a good time than the children.

These last 2 days the hotel has smelled of human faeces and the pool is far too small for this hotel size.

There were no fridges in any rooms, so no room mini-bar, the bath has small plugs that don't fit the shower is added to the taps on the back of the bath, not a separate shower as described. The toilet is broken and lights are a hit and miss. There have been 4 power cuts today alone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Good food
7 years ago
The food was very good. Large choice and plenty of it. Drinks were fine. We both drink alcohol and had no problems. Coffee on tap in reception all day. Was clean enough. Lots of towel changes and sheets changed more than once in week. Staff were fine. I would employ most of them! Bar staff v good.

We took £100 to spend and didn’t know what to do with it! We did tip bar and restaurant and beach staff.

Entertainment was what you would expect, ok in evenings, no kids so can't help there though they all seemed to be getting on. Location is good. Easy access to PEK and Sousse and shops along the road.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Airey
6th visit here
7 years ago
We stayed at the hotel Abou Sofiane, this was our 6th time at the hotel and our best friends who we go with it was their 4th visit. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel is perfectly situated by the beach.

The entertainment team were brilliant and the comedy show is worthy of a night at the palladium. I would be aware of the coolness of the outside pool; one lady in particular had a bit of a shock and needed help from her attentive husband.

On the beach beware of sitting near the entertainments as the same lady went up in the parachute and passed out, again the husband was on hand. Beware of the sellers on the beach as they will try to sell you plants that are not allowed through customs.

Overall this is a top holiday and we shall definitely be going again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 7 months ago
Abou Sofiane Hotel Update - Port El Kantaoui, Tunisia

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Abou Sofiane and this is an updated review this being our second visit, we booked our flights and hotels independently.

The transfer from Monastir to the hotel took about 30 minutes and we booked this through transfers 4u who were excellent.

The Location

The hotel is located about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Port El Kantaoui and is as an easy pleasant stroll with no hills along the main road past the golf course.

If you are there in the high season July and August the easiest option is to get a taxi from and back to the hotel as the temperatures can make the walk unbearable, we were there 18 months ago in August and even later at night it was still too hot for the walk back, you will have to agree the price before entering the taxi but don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
8 years 2 months ago
the hotel was very clean, the rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels the pool was clean and inspected daily, the food was the usual ai food of chicken, turkey, beef, pork, fish and chips of course on the buffet but you can get fresh pasta cooked in front of you with a selection of things to add to it such as mushrooms, ham, chile etc at breakfast you could get fresh omlettes cooked to order or fried eggs or crepes very nice selection the salads were also very nice so my wife says as i dont eat salad and the deserts were lovely.
there was not alot outside the hotel you could walk for about 10 mins to get to some shops but it was very hot so not recommended a taxi to the port was better only about 3 dinars which is about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook/panorama

Recommended
8 years 2 months ago
It our 8th time to tunisia first to this hotel and all inclusive we always went half board.
Everything about this hotel was first class the food was first class so much choice the hotel was very clean and the staff were wonderful.
The entertainment team great the took time to speak to the young and the old alike and they worked so hard but always had a smile.
The weather was very very hot never went below 90 but the bedrooms lovely and cool air con was great it was cool in all public places.
We will go back as soon as we can saving already .
Go you will love it .


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cok

Recommended
8 years 2 months ago
We stayed at this hotel from 8th July - 22nd July 2009.

it was our first time ever to Tunisia and we picked this hotel as it had amazing reviews and i can see why!

I couldnt fault anything wrong with the hotel at all. Everyone was soooo friendly - the staff, the animation team, the guests we spoke to.

The hotel room was spacious and comfy with a safety deposit box, tv, hair dryer in the bathroom.

the food was really niceee, the cips are amazing! they had plenty of food to chhose from - salads, chicken, pancakes, pizza, you wouldnt get hungry!

the Animation Team were one of the best teams! they work really hard during the day and night and put on a show everynight, sometimes on the beach too! - just remember to bring a towel to sit on as the sunbeds are quite uncomy when your sitting on them! lol

We got quite friendly with a few of them - miss them so much!
They had activities going on throughout the day including french bowels, pool games, darts, archery - first time archery for me!
the evening shows were superb - the comedy show was hilarious!!

the staff were tremendous! they would speak to you every day, remember what drinks you want! Amazing!

Overall i can honestly say, if your looking for a relaxing holiday, active holiday or to just get away from home, then go to this hotel!! it's only a small hotel so you will deffinately feel welcome!

We WILL deffinaly be coming back to this hotel at some point - everyone we spoke to had been to this hotel before and if you want to know why, then go and see for yourself!

Enjoy :)

xx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.