Image of El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel

El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel

14 of 17 hotels in Port el Kantaoui

3 out of 5 from 23 reviews
5 stars

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Gary Bunn
6 years ago
If you want a peaceful and relaxing holiday without the constant irritation loud pool-side music, dive-bombing children, and drunken Brits; then this is most definitely the hotel for you.
We absolutely struck solid gold when we discovered this very intimate 'couples only' retreat.

The first thing that struck us was the overwhelming warmth and welcoming nature of the hotel staff. Without any exception, all were friendly, and more than accommodating. In fact, nothing was too much trouble.

The reception area is cool, and beautifully ornate. An extremely relaxing area to be for an evening drink in very comfortable surroundings. The bar has a real element of class, sadly lacking in other hotels in the area.

The rooms are clean, comfortable, and very well air conditioned. The huge bath is absolutely amazing.

The pool-side is very relaxing, with a pool bar. The food is without doubt, the very finest I have personally experienced anywhere else in the world. With a range of European food (including chips), and traditional Tunisian food, it is impossible not to be satisfied at meal times.

Although certain areas may need a lick of fresh paint, this hotel oozes quality and class. I guarantee that you will never find another hotel of this quality in the resort of Port El Kantaoui - if not, the whole of Tunisia. Please believe me - the rest are truly shocking examples of low-grade, low-class, low-life Tunisia versions of the worst you could ever imagine Spain could offer.

The El Hana Palace, Port El Kantaoui, is a place well worth another visit. In fact, this year was our fifth visit, and we intend to return again, and again, and again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kim
6 years 3 months ago
Stayed in this hotel in April, was very concerned after reading reviews didn't expect too much. When we arrived we were shown to our room, it was lovely, clean and spacious. The food was superb, the staff were so friendly and very helpful and the hotel and our room was clean. I haven't got a clue why so many people write bad reviews, we all have to remember that this is North Africa and their standards are perhaps not as they should be according to us brits. But as far as I was concerned this was a good 4 star hotel, I honestly could not fault it. The royal suites were out of this world and the bar area in the palace is fantastic, if I had one complaint it would be that is was a shame that the palace wasn't used more perhaps for a bit of entertainment. If you want a peaceful holiday in lovely surroundings then this is the hotel for you. NB This hotel should not be confused with The El Hana Hannibal Palace they are two seperate hotels.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Brady
8 years 1 month ago
Found hotel to be unkept, dirty and needs updating. Would not rate this hotel as 5 star more like a 2 star.

Would not recommend this hotel under its present condition.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Cait
8 years 11 months ago
We stayed in the El Hana Palace really enjoyed it.

Found the food very good and you are designated the same table and waiter for the whole holiday and found this worked out fine.

Found the pool area lovely - there is a swim-up bar.
What we really enjoyed was the very relaxing bar in the Casino part of the hotel and particularly the wonderful waiter who was so attentive. (Only complaint is that this bar was not accessible for wheel chair users). Great location - would go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Janm
10 years 8 months ago
It is important not to ge this mixed up with El Hana Hannibal Palace, Port El Kantaoui. Also to realise that it is two hotels.

The "Hotel Casino" part appears to be reserved for Brits. The room I was allocated was atrocious, really barely the standard of the
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Richard
10 years 9 months ago
We spent last week in P El Kant and went 5* Supersaver Allocated on Arrival with Panorama. We were allocated El Hana Palace and as soon as we arrived were dismayed by the hotel.

Although this hotel is clean, it is extremely faded and jaded in appearance with stained and worn carpets. Probably built in the late 70s/80s, it has not been updated in any way.

Our room although big was musty and stale smelling. The bath although huge had cracked enamel, the shower hook on the wall was broken and the hot water tap on the wash hand basin didn't work.

We went down to breakfast before meeting our rep and the food was pretty basic, the coffee cold and the croissant stale.

The pool is small and the beach area attached tot he hotel unusable.

Rather than change rooms, we just insisted on a change of hotel. We asked our Panorama rep who insisted it was a real 5* and he fobbed us off a bit. We ended up going into the town centre and going to the Panorama office at the Hotel Kanta (this closes at midday so get there early). The girl was pretty helpful and we were offered the Diar El Anedalous 5* but had to pay a 67 Dinar (38 pounds) 'administration' charge.

I completely expected a Tunisia 5* to be a good deal less than European standards but El Hana Palace is not even close to being a 5* anymore (maybe it was 20 years ago).

Please do not go to this hotel. You honestly will hate it and asked to be moved.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
A. Gawan
10 years 10 months ago
Oh, how I wish I had heard of this website before booking with Panorama!!

Booked a last minute 5-star holiday with them on allocated on arrival basis. Sure enough we were put in this hell-hole.

First room was filthy, damaged furniture, soiled bedding & blankets and the room smelt awful. Moved to another room, this time shower head was broken, toilet door jammed shut, bath was so old that the enamel had started lifting and was mould-stained.

After a 1 a.m. telephone conversation with Panorama supervisor was moved the following day to a 4-star and offered 50 quid for our trouble !!

Don't go to this hotel and don't use Panorama especially for allocation on arrival.

There are some beautiful 5-star hotels in El-Kantaoui this just isn't one of them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Chris Sandilands
11 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the El Hana Palace Port el Kantoui in Tunisia. We found this to be a French colonial style hotel and had a wonderful relaxed two weeks.

The staff were all friendly, rooms cleaned daily, pool area etc cleaned daily.

The only downside is if you like the beach don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Cockerham
11 years 4 months ago
El Hana Palace is not a 5* hotel do not go on an allocation on arrival you will be put in this hotel we arrived late on and soon as we walked through the door I thought what a pile of rubbish its more like a hostel. Rooms where dirty cig burns on the bedding and iron burns on the carpets.

Food I would not serve that to my dog next morning before 9:30 we moved out of the hotel and so did 10 more couples the best hotel is El Melia Mourada hotel thats where we all went.

Whoever gave the El Hana hotel 5* needs to put there glasses on maybe 20 years ago needs knocking down and starting again. The week before us 30 couples moved out if you land in this hotel take my word for it and get out as soon as you can.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Jon And Liz
11 years 5 months ago
Palace it's not, 5 star it's not.

Although we went in February and knew the weather would be average for this time of year for this we were quite prepared. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels in Muslim countries and are aware they are not 5 star British standard.

This hotel should be demolished and they should start again. To say this is an inviting hotel is a joke and all I can think is that it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: