23 independent reviews of the El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel Location
Ranked #14 of 18 hotels in Port el Kantaoui


3/5
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel is rated 3 out of 5 from 23 Reviews
48% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (23 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 1 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 4 stars

El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel Reviews

4/5
4

gary bunn had a holiday at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel, Port el Kantaoui, Tunisia in July 2010
If you want a peaceful and relaxing holiday without the constant irritation loud pool-side music, dive-bombing children, and drunken Brits; then this is most definitely the hotel for you.
We absolutely struck solid gold when we discovered this very intimate 'couples only' retreat.

The first thing that struck us was the overwhelming warmth and welcoming nature of the hotel staff. Without any exception, all were friendly, and more than accommodating. In fact, nothing was too much trouble.

The reception area is cool, and beautifully ornate. An extremely relaxing area to be for an evening drink in very comfortable surroundings. The bar has a real element of class, sadly lacking in other hotels in the area.

The rooms are clean, comfortable, and very well air conditioned. The huge bath is absolutely amazing.

The pool-side is very relaxing, with a pool bar. The food is without ...
doubt, the very finest I have personally experienced anywhere else in the world. With a range of European food (including chips), and traditional Tunisian food, it is impossible not to be satisfied at meal times.

Although certain areas may need a lick of fresh paint, this hotel oozes quality and class. I guarantee that you will never find another hotel of this quality in the resort of Port El Kantaoui - if not, the whole of Tunisia. Please believe me - the rest are truly shocking examples of low-grade, low-class, low-life Tunisia versions of the worst you could ever imagine Spain could offer.

The El Hana Palace, Port El Kantaoui, is a place well worth another visit. In fact, this year was our fifth visit, and we intend to return again, and again, and again.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Kim stayed at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel, Port el Kantaoui in March 2010
Stayed in this hotel in April, was very concerned after reading reviews didn\'t expect too much. When we arrived we were shown to our room, it was lovely, clean and spacious. The food was superb, the staff were so friendly and very helpful and the hotel and our room was clean. I haven\'t got a clue why so many people write bad reviews, we all have to remember that this is North Africa and their standards are perhaps not as they should be according to us brits. But as far as I was concerned this was a good 4 star hotel, I honestly could not fault it. The royal suites were out of this world and the bar area in the palace is fantastic, if I had one complaint it would be that is was a shame that the palace ...
wasn\'t used more perhaps for a bit of entertainment. If you want a peaceful holiday in lovely surroundings then this is the hotel for you. NB This hotel should not be confused with The El Hana Hannibal Palace they are two seperate hotels.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

brady had a holiday at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel, Port el Kantaoui in May 2008
Found hotel to be unkept, dirty and needs updating. Would not rate this hotel as 5 star more like a 2 star.

Would not recommend this hotel under its present condition.

Tour Operator: thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Cait stayed at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel in July 2007
We stayed in the El Hana Palace really enjoyed it.

Found the food very good and you are designated the same table and waiter for the whole holiday and found this worked out fine.

Found the pool area lovely - there is a swim-up bar.
What we really enjoyed was the very relaxing bar in the Casino part of the hotel and particularly the wonderful waiter who was so attentive. (Only complaint is that this bar was not accessible for wheel chair users). Great location - would go back.

Tour Operator: Direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

janm visited the El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel, Port el Kantaoui in November 2005
It is important not to ge this mixed up with El Hana Hannibal Palace, Port El Kantaoui. Also to realise that it is two hotels.

The \"Hotel Casino\" part appears to be reserved for Brits. The room I was allocated was atrocious, really barely the standard of the

Tour Operator: mytravel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

1/5
1

Richard stayed at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel, Port el Kantaoui, Tunisia in September 2005
We spent last week in P El Kant and went 5* Supersaver Allocated on Arrival with Panorama. We were allocated El Hana Palace and as soon as we arrived were dismayed by the hotel.

Although this hotel is clean, it is extremely faded and jaded in appearance with stained and worn carpets. Probably built in the late 70s/80s, it has not been updated in any way.

Our room although big was musty and stale smelling. The bath although huge had cracked enamel, the shower hook on the wall was broken and the hot water tap on the wash hand basin didn\'t work.

We went down to breakfast before meeting our rep and the food was pretty basic, the coffee cold and the croissant stale.

The pool is small and the beach area attached tot he hotel unusable.

Rather than change ...
rooms, we just insisted on a change of hotel. We asked our Panorama rep who insisted it was a real 5* and he fobbed us off a bit. We ended up going into the town centre and going to the Panorama office at the Hotel Kanta (this closes at midday so get there early). The girl was pretty helpful and we were offered the Diar El Anedalous 5* but had to pay a 67 Dinar (38 pounds) \'administration\' charge.

I completely expected a Tunisia 5* to be a good deal less than European standards but El Hana Palace is not even close to being a 5* anymore (maybe it was 20 years ago).

Please do not go to this hotel. You honestly will hate it and asked to be moved.

Read More

Tour Operator: Panorama
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

1/5
1

A. Gawan had a holiday at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel, Port el Kantaoui, Tunisia in August 2005
Oh, how I wish I had heard of this website before booking with Panorama!!

Booked a last minute 5-star holiday with them on allocated on arrival basis. Sure enough we were put in this hell-hole.

First room was filthy, damaged furniture, soiled bedding & blankets and the room smelt awful. Moved to another room, this time shower head was broken, toilet door jammed shut, bath was so old that the enamel had started lifting and was mould-stained.

After a 1 a.m. telephone conversation with Panorama supervisor was moved the following day to a 4-star and offered 50 quid for our trouble !!

Don\'t go to this hotel and don\'t use Panorama especially for allocation on arrival.

There are some beautiful 5-star hotels in El-Kantaoui this just isn't one of them.

Tour Operator: Panorama
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

chris sandilands stayed at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel, Port el Kantaoui, Tunisia in March 2005
We stayed at the El Hana Palace Port el Kantoui in Tunisia. We found this to be a French colonial style hotel and had a wonderful relaxed two weeks.

The staff were all friendly, rooms cleaned daily, pool area etc cleaned daily.

The only downside is if you like the beach don

Tour Operator: panorama

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

1/5
1

Cockerham visited the El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel in March 2005
El Hana Palace is not a 5* hotel do not go on an allocation on arrival you will be put in this hotel we arrived late on and soon as we walked through the door I thought what a pile of rubbish its more like a hostel. Rooms where dirty cig burns on the bedding and iron burns on the carpets.

Food I would not serve that to my dog next morning before 9:30 we moved out of the hotel and so did 10 more couples the best hotel is El Melia Mourada hotel thats where we all went.

Whoever gave the El Hana hotel 5* needs to put there glasses on maybe 20 years ago needs knocking down and starting again. The week before us 30 couples moved out if you land in this hotel take my word ...
for it and get out as soon as you can.

Read More

Tour Operator: Panorama
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

1/5
1

jon and liz stayed at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel, Port el Kantaoui in February 2005
Palace it's not, 5 star it's not.

Although we went in February and knew the weather would be average for this time of year for this we were quite prepared. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels in Muslim countries and are aware they are not 5 star British standard.

This hotel should be demolished and they should start again. To say this is an inviting hotel is a joke and all I can think is that it

Tour Operator: panorama
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Lynne visited the El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel in January 2005
This was the 5th time we had stayed at El Hana Palace since Sept 03 and we are going out again in May. We love the laid back atmosphere of this hotel and it is like coming home as soon as we arrive.

The hotel is very clean and although it may not be 5 Star by International standards if you take everything into account it is by Tunisian standards.

The people in Tunisia are generally very friendly and we have found the staff in the Hotel to be lovely. It\'s like everywhere, treat people the way you would like to be treated yourself and you will be accepted.

the El Hana is very handy both for walking down to the
Marina and catching a taxi for the 10mins into Sousse. We like to eat out and there are loads ...
of nice restaurants both at the Marina and in Sousse. Again don\'t expect the food to be the same as at home, import taxes are very expensive so there are a lot of goods not available. Enjoy what is on offer and be a bit adventurous you never know you may be surprised.

My partner and I are 43 and 50 and do not like discos etc. we go to Tunisia to chill out and get away from hustle and bustle so we actually enjoy the fact that there is virtually no entertainment in the hotel. Although, saying that the last few times we\'ve been there, there has been some form of light entertainment in the form of two chaps who sing Elvis, country music etc. They are not superstars but are quite inoffensive and it\'s nice to have a few songs now and again.

All in all we love this hotel and would urge anyone who does not like peace and quiet not to book a Supersaver in case you get sent here and spoil it for this rest of us as recently this has been happening and a few louts have been complaining and getting drunk etc.


Read More

Tour Operator: Panorama

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Lynne stayed at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel, Port el Kantaoui in January 2005
This was the 5th time we had stayed at El Hana Palace since Sept 03 and we are going out again in May. We love the laid back atmosphere of this hotel and it is like coming home as soon as we arrive.

The hotel is very clean and although it may not be 5 Star by International standards if you take everything into account it is by Tunisian standards.

The people in Tunisia are generally very friendly and we have found the staff in the Hotel to be lovely. It\'s like everywhere, treat people the way you would like to be treated yourself and you will be accepted.

The El Hana is very handy both for walking down to the
Marina and catching a taxi for the 10mins into Sousse. We like to eat out and there are loads ...
of nice restaurants both at the Marina and in Sousse. Again don\'t expect the food to be the same as at home, import taxes are very expensive so there are a lot of goods not available. Enjoy what is on offer and be a bit adventurous you never know you may be surprised.

My partner and I are 43 and 50 and do not like discos etc. we go to Tunisia to chill out and get away from hustle and bustle so we actually enjoy the fact that there is virtually no entertainment in the hotel. Although, saying that the last few times we\'ve been there, there has been some form of light entertainment in the form of two chaps who sing Elvis, country music etc. They are not superstars but are quite inoffensive and it\'s nice to have a few songs now and again.

All in all we love this hotel and would urge anyone who does not like peace and quiet not to book a Supersaver in case you get sent here and spoil it for this rest of us as recently this has been happening and a few louts have been complaining and getting drunk etc.


Read More

Tour Operator: Panorama

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Gerry Ryan stayed at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel in June 2004
Hotel

The hotel is not a European 5* standard, it would be closer to 3*. On saying that, the rooms are quite large and the bathrooms are large as well. The rooms are a little (maybe a lot) out of date and are a bit musty. However the maid service is excellent, with the rooms cleaned thoroughly every day.

Staff
Some of the staff can appear to be quite rude however once engaged in conversation, they are pleasant enough.

Food
The food was not particulalry good quality. Breakfast was okay (apart from the milk) however dinner was pretty bland. There\'s not much choice and it\'s the same for each day.

Beach/Pool
The pool area is clean and well maintained. There is a staff member on hand to offer covers for sun beds and towels, no complaints here.

Entertainment
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, peaceful and non ...
eventful holiday, this is it. There is NO entertainment at all in the hotel and none in the town either. I am not understating this, generally the entertainment is sitting in the hotel bar having a few beers and that\'s it.

Read More

Tour Operator: Panorama
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

graham had a holiday at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel in May 2004
We arrived in monastir and were allocated El Hana Palace as a 5 star hotel. This Hotel was not to a 5 star standard and looked as if it needed refurbishing. However it seemed clean
and the food was just about alright although pretty plain.
Entertainment was non-existant and generally the hotel was very very quiet. The beaches were dirty with litter etc so was Sousse. Would not go again too boring......

Tour Operator: Panorama
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Pamela had a holiday at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel, Port el Kantaoui, Tunisia in April 2004
First impressions...the windows of the glass lift were covered - and I mean COVERED - in bird droppings and the whole hotel smelled like a neglected old boozer. In addition, the indoor pool smelled strongly of sewage, the jacuzzi was filthy, the staff were taciturn and money-grabbing, and the entertainment was dire. Until this hotel sharpens up its act I would recommend that you avoid it.

Tour Operator: Can't remember
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

dianne had a holiday at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel, Port el Kantaoui in April 2004
Stayed 1 week half board May 2007.

Hotel clean, staff very efficient and friendly, food good.

Location of hotel good - 10 minute walk to marina.

Would recommend and will go back. (No hotel entertainment but nice bar area)

Tour Operator: My Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Kelly stayed at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel, Port el Kantaoui in March 2004
If you want to go to a 5* Hotel then prepare for a shock at this hotel. It is more like a 3 star.

The food was terrible, stale bread, no fresh fruit, bottles of water that looked 20 years old.

Absolutely no entertainment, not the thing you expect from a 5* Hotel.

Cannot see how this hotel was rated 5*

Tour Operator: Panorama
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Debs visited the El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel in March 2004
I am amazed at some of the reports regarding this hotel. My partner and I found it to be excellent when we stayed in April 2004. The rooms were sizeable and the bath was huge!

The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh linen and towels and we certainly had no complaints with the staff. They were extremely helpful and courteous at all times and went out of their way to assist us with any queries we had. They were also able to recommend a few excursions and I can thoroughly recommend the trip to Carthage. An absolutely fantastic day and the sights are superb.

I am a firm believer in treating people as you would like to be treated yourself, and for those people who didn\'t like this hotel, or thought it was substandard, maybe when visiting ...
other countries, you should have respect for cultures, beliefs and remember, you are no longer in England. The food will be different!

Read More

Tour Operator: Panorama

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Mike had a holiday at El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel, Port el Kantaoui, Tunisia in March 2004
The food is very average but then again the food in tunisia is somewhat lacking. I dont really know if they have variety of imported food anywhere. Even \'Le Mediterranean\' restruant which is about in Kantaoui is somewhat lacking. (The T Bone Steaks there are not T-Bones!) The food at the hotel was properly cooked, the meat was poor and in small quntities. Fruit was OK.

The Staff with typical Tunisian mentality are trying to get every penny out of you. Myself and two other people were short changed at the Reception desk when changing money so wahch out, and wait for and check your reciept!

The entertainment was poor , no actually terrible.

The indoor pool is small.

There are hardly any other facilites at the hotel.

This is really a 3 * hotel.

*******One other very important thing****
Dont go on the ...
free shopping trip to the \'village\' that your rep will tell you about. This is a scam and the Panorama rep (named Jamal) is in on it. It is actually a carpet factory with a few crafts and you will be hounded as you look around.



Read More

Tour Operator: Panorama
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Alexis Harley visited the El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel, Port el Kantaoui in March 2004
The Hana Palace was beyond all my expectations. I expected at least a 3* hotel for the price I paid and I was delighted to find that I had a 5* hotel.
For two weeks, it was excellent value. Beautiful building, abundant marble and the food was to a high standard. I do not agree with what other former guests have said about this hotel not living up to their expectations, when the staff were polite and welcoming. The pools were both great and service was very good. Beauty treatments were especially good.
I would definitely like to return to this hotel.

Tour Operator: Panorama

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share