Image of Sol Cayo Coco Hotel

Sol Cayo Coco Hotel

4 of 7 hotels in Cayo Coco

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Jardines del Rey, 69410, Cuba

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Carole Corlett
Nice and quiet
5 years 10 months ago
We stayed at the Sol Cayo Coco over Christmas and we had a lovely time. The Cayo Coco Island only has hotels so don’t expect to find shops restaurants etc outside the hotel. We had lovely walks along the beach. The hotel has a shop and different stalls were set up outside the restaurant most days.
We were able to use the all inclusive facilities of two other hotels (Sol Tryp and Sol Gillermo). The food was ok with a wide variety of choices. Breakfast was very good with bacon and eggs omelettes crepes etc fresh juices etc.

Entertainment was usual games and shows. Pools were nice and staff made sure everyone had a sunbed. Waiter service everywhere (bars, around the pool and restaurant) Take the hand flasks and the waiters will fill them with whatever you drink. Tip them a peso and they will come back and serve you more often. Nice area to sit at night in the reception bar with entertainment, usually a singer or musician. Take the trip to Ciego de Avila - well worth the money and you get to experience the real Cuba.

Good size rooms with fridge, hairdryer, sat TV with movies and sport and news. Very clean. Got twin beds and they were both doubles. Hotel is 3 storeys high and not many rooms have sea views. We had air conditioning which was very much needed. No lifts so if you struggle with stairs ask for ground floor. Ramps installed for the disabled. Maids are very good and very helpful.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Fiona
Hotel was clean.
7 years 9 months ago
Having just read poor reviews I felt I had to comment.

We have just returned and found the Sol Cayo Coco to be very clean, food was varied and I am normally very picky but found something to suit me every day. The freshly made pizzas were great and the chicken kebabs freshly cooked in front of you were excellent.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and we felt under no pressure to tip, we did however tip at the end of our stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Anne Wilson
10 years 1 month ago
This hotel is fantastic!!! Remember this is a Caribbean 4 Star and not a European one.
Don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Maddison
10 years 4 months ago
We were a family of 4 adults going for an all inclusive chill out holiday and that's exactly what we got.

The hotel was a little dated (refurbishment in progress now) but immaculately clean, the air con lacked a little power now and again but that is also something they're concentrating on.

We couldn't fault the food at all, there was a wide and varied selection of both Cuban and International Cuisine, and the meat dishes in particular were second to none.

The hotel was situated right on the beach and the beach to the left of the property, which could be reached by a small bridge, was like paradise on earth, very quiet, crystal clear warm waters and a beautiful sight to see.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. From the gardeners right through to the Hotel Manager they were all there to help. The entertainment was good, they worked hard throughout the day with various activities and then put shows on in the evening.

All in all we had a great fortnight and really didn't want to come home, we would all definitely go back in fact I'm looking to go back later in the year I loved it that much!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years ago
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

2 October to 16 October 2007

Operator Thomas Cook

Arrived at Gatwick to be offered a food voucher, flight delayed for four hours. Thank heavens we booked Thomas Cook Traveller Plus. This included entry to VIP Lounge which given hours of delay enabled us to rest nibble and drink without emptying our pockets.
Flight late but good and Traveller Plus gave us better meals. What a shame Thomas Cook have expunged this option for 2008.

Cuban Customs have upset us in the past but 2007 they were best ever. I suffer sleep apnoea, diabetes, high blood pressure and carry as hand luggage my Cpap breathing machine and many prescribed medications. My machine showed up on their X-ray and naturally they wanted to inspect. I produced letter from hospital to Lady Customs Officer so polite couldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Gallagher Family
11 years 4 months ago
On arrival at the Sol Cayo Coco, we were allocated three of the most damp and poorly decorated rooms. As a family with young children, we had requested adjacent rooms, but this was not the case. As we had stayed at the same hotel five years ago, and had booked nine months ago, we had requested rooms in the west (quieter) wing. The "entertainment" is of the "loud" variety and the rooms that we had been given were overlooking the noisy pool area. Four days later, we were moved to more pleasant rooms, but my husband had to wipe mould off most of the walls and ceilings.

The situation of the hotel is lovely, but very secluded- do not go if you like shopping!! The beaches are very beautiful and water clean and excellent for swimming and snorkelling. The only wildlife that will bother you are the mosquitoes- these are the worst we have ever come across and seem to "laugh" at repellents!

The hotel is in a dire need of refurbishment. The roof gave way in places several times in the main buffet restaurant and these were just patched up.

The overall "look" of the resort is tired and dated.
The Sol Cayo Coco is not a four star reort- perhaps a two star?

The hotel staff are very good, and repond well to a regular peso top up. Entertainment is loud and brash.
The floors are deadly after the rain and I slipped up several times.

The kids club is seriously poor and very few people seemed to bother with it.

The food is on the whole rather bland and avoid the International restaurant- the food is greasy and disgusting. The Cuban Restaurant is excellent. All of us got diarrhoea to some degree, and our two eldest children both developed bad ear infections, which we felt may be due to unhygenic pool water. Several other children also had similar problems.

On one morning, there was no toilet roll or hand towels in the pool-side toilets from 9am-1pm, despite several guests complaints to reception staff.

We would certainly not recommend this hotel. It has definitely deteriorated since we last visited. we will most certainly not be returning!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Cliff
11 years 10 months ago
We chose this hotel from the Kuoni brochure which stated that it was suitable for families, couples and singles. Not really true - the hotel brochure itself points out that it is geared to families. There are other nearby hotels more suited to adults.

On arrival we were allocated " a good room with pool view". Unfortunately the reality meant that it was exposed to the full force of the entertainment staff screaming into microphones attempting to enthuse a few participants into poolside games interspersed with loud music. On day 2 we transferred to a quieter room (the reception staff reacted as though this was a routine occurence) which proved perfectly acceptable.

We avoided the poolside and spent most time on the two beaches close to the hotel. Fortunately, although we suffered a samll number of bites, the mosquitos did not prove to be a major problem and they appear to be less active at this time of the year. The hotel still sprayed the surrounding areas each evening though.

The buffet food was tolerable although often rather cold but the chef provided freshly prepared omelettes, pizzas etc if you were prepared to queue. They did however excel on New Years Eve when a superb buffet spread was provided.

The hotel staff were perfectly fine and for families I would think it is perfectly suitable.

Don't think you see the real Cuba though. The resort is isolated from reality and even if you take the day trip to Havana (which will be a culture shock in itself) you will not see how the majority of the population live.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kuoni

Paul, Carolyn And Scott
12 years 3 months ago
Hotel is great with 3 swimming pools, rooms are in blocks of 4 very clean and tidy and of 4 star quality.

Nothing around the hotel, it is on an island 50 kilometers out to sea. beautiful gardens and beach. We found the food a bit ropey, ommlettes and fried eggs ok in a morning or pancakes were cooked fresh for you .

Evening there is a carvery it is either meat or fish.

Italian restaurant was very nouveau cuisine {raw meat whats all that about ?} left everything and walked out. Creole restaurant was superb as was the pizza bar.

You wont go hungry.Main concern was there were flys landing on all the food all the time.

TIPS...... My advice is give the waiter a couple of pesos 1 = 65p when you arrive and one at meal times to ensure good service, same at the bars. Mosquitos were a major problem, it did not matter what you put on 90% of people were eaten alive. Entertainment all day long if you wanted it.

As someone else has said take some large plastic glasses as all you get is small plastic childrens cups {about 8 would make a pint!} Free watersports on the beach dingys, kyaks, catamarans windsurfers etc. Trips are quite expensive and nearly all involve 4 hour each way coach rides. so all in all would reccomend it .

OH AND BEWARE: no cash machines, no american based credit cards eg Capital One, MBNA etc can be used. You can NOT draw cash but you can pay for trips on others.

Take sterling or euros for the best exchange rates. Have a nice hol.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Mrs Emery
12 years 5 months ago
This hotel is by no means a 4*! The maids do indeed seem to take care of the cleaning in the rooms but our room was in need of redecorating.

The mosquito problem was so bad here that one man in particular received a total of 48 bites on his back on just one day! All fairness they sprayed the resort at least twice a day to help overcome this, the number did indeed go down but definately take some antihistamine with you.

Food was pretty much the same every day and although edible got quite boring! The childrens corner has pizzas already made and made to order, chicken nuggets (nothing like the famous golden arches ones though!) and hot dogs hot dogs, our Son found that chips for breakfast (yes, that's right), lunch and tea wonderful for the first week but was desperate for something different after!

Staff were all very friendly but you certainly got special attention if you tipped! Just 1 pesso per meal (about 60p) and they were very happy. The bar staff for the pool would only bring round drinks once to those that don't tip though.

One serious bit of advice, take you own (large) plastic beaker with you. You will only be given out small childrens party size thin plastic glasses with your drinks, believe me, they will be their weight in gold.

Entertainment was quite good in the evening at the shows but we found it a bit heavy pool side. The staff are reluctant to play beach volly ball as scheduled because it is just so hot and they prefer doing it in the pool!

Oh, and unlike you would expect, the Cayos are 2 round pin plugs, take these with you as you will not be able to buy them there. Every day our Rep had begging notes on her desk asking for any spare ones.

The floors when wet outside the rooms walkways were like an ice rink. My Son infact fell over on these whilst walking (not running) and cut his chin open requiring 3 stitches! There were several other people with similar accidents although I think ours required the only medical care.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

13 years 1 month ago
Sol Cayo Coco 4* Hotel Tour Operator Thomas Cook 12 Oct to 19 Oct 2004 & 14Sept 2005 to 28 Sept 2005

Hurricane Rita
1st Praise where praise is due. Tropical Storm / Hurricane Rita passed during our stay. The hotel went on Cuban Government Alert, the safety plan was well executed windows sellotaped or boarded up. The Thomas Cook Rep stayed with us through the emergency and kept us informed. We always felt safe and were impressed by the extra duties performed for our safety by hard working staff. Yes the beach was closed for 2 days, but the bars remained open I don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum