Image of Playa Coco Hotel

Playa Coco Hotel

6 of 7 hotels in Cayo Coco

3 out of 5 from 23 reviews
4 stars
Carretera Cayo Guillermo, Moron | Jardines del Rey, Cuba

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    5

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Nigel/Allison
10 years 6 months ago
We were quite relieved when we arrived at our Hotel not to have been charged to leave the coach.

My Sat Nav had been confiscated by customs at the airport and was going to cost me around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Billy Campbell
10 years 11 months ago
Unfortunately we really hated our time at the Oasis Playa Coco! Yes it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

M. Barber
10 years 11 months ago
Just back from Hotel Playa Coco, Cuba. Went 28/07-11/08 and had a great time. The location of the hotel, which as we knew before we went, was completely isolated, based on a beautiful beach front. The hotel room we were in was kept clean with fresh towels/sheets. The bar areas were spotless and the food was good - bearing in mind it an all inclusive. You could find something everyday to eat. My husband and brother in law loved the fried shrimp/mussel/lobster which a chef cooked in front of you. We booked the a la carte restaurants - Japanese fabulous, wasn't too impressed with the Italian and the seafood was good. Overall we found the staff friendly and helpful and yes we did tip. This is a very poor country and 1 peso is only 75 pence! The entertainment on an evening was watching the dancers do a show - quite impressive nothing was repeated during the whole of the fortnight. Yes we would go again.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
D Chalice
11 years 3 months ago
Although the resort had several eating places, the food tended to be much the same each day.

The rooms were cleaned everyday. however we got bitten on a regular basis some of which appeared to happen at night( bed bugs?). Mosquitoes were a terrible problem, probably made worse by the fact we were between two swamps.

The hotel was miles from anywhere except other hotels, you could get there by bus if it ever turned up which most of the time it didn't.

Hotel staff would do anything for you as long as they got a tip otherwise forget it.

The pool area was very noisy especially with children, so if you want a quiet afternoon by the pool forget it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Lisa Wiles
11 years 7 months ago
This was our first visit to Cuba but we`ll be back.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere so do`nt visit if you like a busy resort with shops etc.The local bird and animal life was amazing, Eagles, ospreys,pelicans and the like, lots of tree fogs and lizards, Wild cows!!

They do have a big problem here with mosquitoes, despite drenching ourselves in reppellent we all go bitten, the hotel spray each evening but there really is little you can do to avoid the mozzies, my advice take plenty of antihistamine creams and tablets.

The beach was great, the sea was shallow and warm and the fish nibble your toes!

The Bedrooms where large and clean, nice towels but cool showers!

The food, we ate in all 3 a la cartes and the buffet. One of our party is a chef and so is quite fussy but generally we were all impressed with the standard. The Japanese was the best a la carte for the entertainment factor, the italian was also good but the fish restaurant was dissappointing, there was better fish in the main buffet.

None of us suffered fom any poorly tummies even though we all tried different things.The pizzas at the beach bar were also good.

The main problem when we where there was the weather, we had 3 great days but 3 very stormy ones and this hotel is not designed for bad weather as the entertainment and 3 of the bars are outdoors.

When the weather is bad the indoor piano bar gets very busy but the rum based cocktais take your mind off things!
The staff ars friendly and helpful, this is a poor country and they do really appreciate a small tip.

We would go back to Playa Coco if we knew the weather was going to be good, for a Carribean destination it`s good value for money, the hotel is probably more like a med 3* though.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Lorna Bennett
11 years 9 months ago
On arriving at the hotel Playa CoCo we realised this was not going to be the holiday we were expecting.

After our fourth attempt at trying to get into our room we found to our horror that the room was damp and it stunk. My bedding had makeup and blood on it and it was obvious it had not been changed. The room was absolutley filthy the food was disgusting and covered in flies. The staff were vile and tried to rip us off at every opportunity there were so many pepole having accidents everywhere and when we complained we were ignored.

I would never recommend this hotel to anybody and hope this will prevent anybody from having the same experience as us it was also supposed to be twenty four hour all inclusive and it wasnt. On on leaving the hotel people whilst waiting to be picked up had left their luggage in reception had clothes and stuff stolen will never go to Cuba again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

11 years 10 months ago
We found the grounds and beach to be littered with plates and plastic cups or straws. Admittedly this is partly due to the ignorance of hotel guests. Bins were usually full and not emptied on a regular basis. The pools were often cloudy and only cleaned if guests complained.

The food was mundane and everything tasted the same. There was not a lot of rotation with the same foods being served on a regular basis. There were several areas to eat in. The buffet was not air conditioned. They frequently ran out of supplies and flies were a major problem where the food was concerned. Many of the guests came down with travellers tummy during out stay there. I ended up at the doctors and on antibiotics after 6 days of enduring stomach cramps.

The hotel is situated near a swamp and a huge lake either side. There is also a nature reserve within walking distance. With this in mind there are a lot of mosquitoes, flies, and frogs on the hotel resort. There is another hotel being built to the right of this property but gives little noise.

We found the staff often unfriendly and rude. Usually you would tip if you received good service, at this hotel we felt that you only got good service if you tipped beforehand. Females would usually be ignored and priority being given to males at the bar. Also note the maid likes to watch TV in your room and nibble on any foods you have stashed away. We reported our air condition wasn't working properly and some 4 days later a man came to attempt to fix it. Needless to say he failed and left it as it was.

Entertainment was the same old same old. The kids club entertainment seemed to be made up as it went along and the adult entertainment was well choreographed if nothing else. Do not expect audience participation.

We would certainly not visit this hotel again let alone visit Cuba. This experience put us off totally. We changed hotels after enduring this hotel for some 8 days. Which we are now in liaison with Thomas Cook with for compensation
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Stadden/stayt
11 years 10 months ago
We booked this hotel as the child age reduction is 16 which is very good for all inclusive.

Our hotel room was spotless the maid was very particular about making swans everyday with my daughters hats on them as my daughter thought this was fab. Towels changed everyday, if you were in the room until late morning the maid would callback.

When it rained she was outside the doors brushing the puddles away. Only one complaint is that there were no signs to put on the door not to be disturbed or any other literature on the hotel.

For the all inclusive package this was fantastic the children could have drinks and ice cream when ever they wanted, the buffet restaurant was air conditioned with fresh seafood and meat being cooked to your request. The Japanese was to die for absolutely fantastic, the waiters do entertain you while you eat.

The piano bar in the evening was all ways packed therefore be prepared to wait a while for your drinks. The mosquitoes were a nightmare 8pm every night they smoked the bushes I have never been bitten as much even in the room. Flies were also a nuisance.

The location of the hotel was OK as we have been here before therefore not expecting anything to be near us.

Most of the staff were friendly once they new you, you would not have to wait for bar service. The childrens club was awful which was another reason we booked this hotel. No activities at all, the children were allowed to come and go as they pleased no names were asked for or anything. The mini disco was awful as well the entertainment we didn't bother watching in the end.

I would visit this hotel maybe a different time of year and I hope the childrens club will be sorted out as I have complained to Thomas Cook about this.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Colin Paterson
12 years 4 months ago
The staff at this hotel worked very hard to keep rooms and communal areas clean and tidy, the grounds staff did the same.

The food was varied and of good quality but it must be said that the Seafood and Japanese restaurants were excellent. Get in the queue early to book these or you may have a long wait.

The location is quite isolated although there is a local bus service, I did not use it cannot comment. Hire cars and scooters are available at the hotel but the roads are not good. I did see one accident involving scooters (if you don't ride one at home don't ride one there).

There are plenty of organised trips that can be purchased at extra cost, I can recommend the Sugar cane spectacular (a very good day out).

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The entertainment was reasonable.

The pool complex is very nice but some people were taking glasses with drinks in to the pool instead of using plastic containers from the pool bar. This is a bit dangerous with people walking about with bare feet.

The beach is wonderful but it would help if they used their Tractor to gather up the weed washed ashore every now and again.

Overall it was a very good relaxing holiday. I put my alarm clock with thermometer on the balcony one afternoon and it went to 49.5C. Sun lotion is expensive to buy at the resort.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
12 years 6 months ago
Advertised as "four star plus" definately nothing like this. Food was OK but rather repetetive (not as much selection as other places we've been).

The Japonese restaurant is definately the exception. The beach was breathtaking beautiful clean and clear sea with wonderful snorkelling.

The room was large with a lovely sea view. This hotel is mainly geared up for families and if you are visiting as a couple I would not advise it really (alot of noise, children running round the bar areas in the evening etc).

The draw backs were firstly the vast infestation of sand flies. Some people had over 100 bites on the back of 1 leg - every body had at least some bites. Also I ended up with a bad stomach complaint after a few days - I am not particularly susceptible (I have been to India 4 times with no problems) but here I did have a serious problem which must have been down to some thing I ate. Lastly the only other complaint was the weather.

We went for a week over Christmas and only got 3 days of sunshine (not enough considering it took 10 hours 40 mins to get there).

If you want a holiday sitting on the beach or the pool (there is absolutley nothing else around) and you are prepared to chance the weather and the sand flies in December - this is the hotel for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum