Image of Melia Cayo Coco Hotel

Melia Cayo Coco Hotel

2 of 7 hotels in Cayo Coco

4 out of 5 from 27 reviews
4 stars
Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 22300, Cuba
Romantic and beautiful with an idyllic beachfront location, relax beneath the palms or taste the delicious food at this first-class 24 hour All Inclusive hotel. Parts of the hotel, which is exclusive to adults, are built on stilts over a natural seawater

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Diane Branch
PARADISE
6 years 5 months ago
My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks. It was amazing the flight was on time check in really quick with cold drinks and warm flannels on arrival. The hotel staff were amazing could not do enough for you.

The entertainment was slightly poor but they tried there hardest to make sure you enjoyed yourselves. The food was fine I am a vegetarian and found enough to eat the desserts were really good. The beach was a few steps from our room it was great the sea was really warm and you had fish swimming round your feet.

This is an adults only hotel which made it really special. Would we go back again yes we would it was great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 5 months ago
Just returned from two week stay. Was unsure of what the standard of hotel would be in Cuba. However, we were delighted with our stay and would highly recommend it. Food was excellent with a huge choice of food for all meals. Food was freshly cooked and the quality of food was excellent including the service provided by the staff in the resturant. We had a standard room which was lovely and big, everything you might need for a good stay. The Maid did an excellent job and was also friendly. Hotel entertainment was fine nothing wonderful but that did not matter. Very relaxing holiday with lovely beaches. No problems gettig sunbeds.

Went on a couple of trips out, overnight to Havana which I would not recommend for the price. Perhaps better to do the one day trip.

Otherwise a lovely holiday and I would go back again to the same hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Webber
9 years 9 months ago
went to melia 4 star plus on the 21st jan, thinking it wouuld be the as many 4star hotels,boy was we wrong.
the hotel i will say was clean and so where the rooms although our air con was not working and the ceiling leeked.
the food was of a good standard eggs etc where done as required, but the service in the main resturants referance drinks,coffee etc was poor-staff just did not want to serve you,or maybe cost cutting with just the one or too cups or glasses.
all ladies toilets apart from the one in your room had no locks, or where always blocked.
the swiming pool juquzzi did not work once while we wher there.
the entertainment team where really good and raised spirts well.
the on site resturantants where very good although the steak house had a rather strange aroma thoughout the day from the drains.
not what we expected from a 4star plus.
we would not go to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

John-doe
10 years 4 months ago
hi.all..........this truly was a fantastic hotel all the items you want for a perfect holiday where present .
the food the staff ..the room..the beach and free sports .
i wish i was still there .can not recommend this hotel enough........
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Tracey & Vaughn
11 years 2 months ago
Meli
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
The First Choice flight from Manchester was on time and very comfortable, having travelled long haul with Thomsons last year I would certainly book First Choice again, seat back entertainment console and food were both excellent.

Good transfer to hotel and a good impression upon arrival, drinks waiting for us, we were told to go and get a seat in the lobby bar and relax whilst the check in procedure was carried out. Ten minutes later we were walking to the room. The room was larger than we expected but we found the lighting dim, the fridge was empty but whenever we phoned up it was refilled soon enough.
The air conditioning was excellent, we left it set at a constant 19 degrees and nicknamed the room the fridge, it was a joy to go from sauna (outside) to fridge.

The weather was fantastic, about 2 hours of rain one lunchtime and the rest of the time was almost wall to wall sunshine. The day before we arrived they had a full day of torrential rain, we think this contributed to the fact that for the first 4 days the sea was like a millpond, excellent for snorkelling, and there was virtually no wind. The usual trade winds picked up after that and gave the sea a slight swell making underwater visibility not as good. All my fears about going to the Caribbean at this time of year have been quashed.

There is a small reef/seaweed patch less than 100 yards out from the scuba dive hut that has some nice marine life activity, some colourful fish including an Angel fish that was cleaning the mouths of larger fish, just steer clear of the resident Barracuda that just lies there watching you.

The food was good, we tended to eat off the grill, as it was nice to see it being well cooked, I think most people did the same as we noticed that the bain maries were not being replenished very often and we all thought the grill was a safer bet than the food that may have been left sat for 2 hours or more. The freshly made pasta was probably the food we enjoyed the most, the chef was a really nice guy, he even has an Italian sounding name.
Of the A La Carte restaurants we enjoyed the Italian the most, the seafood saffron spaghetti was excellent. The problem with the A La Cartes is that there is no atmosphere because they don't let them get fully booked, maybe they want to keep a more relaxed feel to the places. The place we least enjoyed was the beach restaurant, we found the only member of staff we didn't like serving there and that put us off going again, we stuck to the main restaurant or the pool snack bar after that.

We enjoyed sitting outside the billard bar at sunset, sometimes watching the lightning whilst downing a Mojito or two. Talking of which, the Mojitos we have had in Dominican Republic are better! We didn't get bothered by mosquitoes whilst sat here overlooking the lagoon, but we were covered in Avon skin so soft and Jungle Formula. The odd bite we did get seemed not to erupt, they just went like spots, we put this down to the vitamin B1 tablets regime.

The Animation team were great, they work so hard and really seem to enjoy their work.

We took the bus up to Cayo Guillermo and spent a day at the Melia up there, Cayo Coco beach is the better of the two, Guillermo is quite narrow. Both hotels seem very similar with Guillermo looking newer and a little smarter, the food we had was of the same standard.


As a whole I would rate the hotel buildings 3 1/2 stars certainly not international 5 star standards. Little things take the edge off like doors not being gloss painted and therefore showing marks and scuffs easily, cracked edges of floor tiles on steps. After looking at some of the other Hotels in the area it is definately 5 stars Cuban standard, that's OK but I think the tour operators should reflect this in their ratings. Taking into account the fact that the staff offer 5 star service and really make the holiday I think overall I would rate it as 4 star.

Would we go back?
No, whilst we enjoyed the holiday there are so many other places in the Caribbean to visit. I can appreciate those of you with only a 4 hour flight returning (as we do to our favourite place in Tenerife) but with such a long flight I think it's a long way to go back to the same place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
T Jones
11 years 5 months ago
Hotel OK clean tidy but a little shabby. Stayed on the lagoon beautiful views (roof did leak in the rain)

Food is repetitive fish/chicken /steak on bbq numerous dishes on the serve-over buffet but these were often cold.
pool is ok have been to better -very basic.

The people I found very stand offish they will only speak to you if you speak you them.

Beach is OK but was very windy beach bar very basic.
Summing up the hotel its a max of 3 star (premier??)

I have stayed in better hotels in Mexico and the Dominican.
entertainment was the worst part of this hotel bad dancing /singing-nothing worth watching.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Katie & Andrew
11 years 6 months ago
This was our first visit to the Carribean, we are aged 28 & 30.

First impression of the hotel was good, we were met off the coach with a glass of bubbly, chech-in was quick and our bags were taken off to our room for us.

We were in a standard room which was large with a hugh bed and plenty of furniture.

We were on ground level so had a terrace which was rather small although as it turned out we never really used it. Bathroom and dressing areas were both lovely, well lit with lots of clothes hanging space etc. The grounds of the hotel are lovely, (TIP- give the gardeners a can of coke or beer from your mini-bar, they really appriciate it and will make you little birds or hats etc from the foliage).

The buffet resturant was great, so much choice each day (we went for 10 days) i highly recomend the fresh cooked pasta at the grill which is made infront of you with the ingredients and sauces of your choice. Pancakes at breakfast were wonderful.

The table staff we had each time were always efficient and always carried a smile, by the second day each one knew what we drank and the glasses were filled just as we sat down! We tipped 1 pesos (approx 65-70p) each time, this was never because we felt we had to but because we wanted to. We also ate once or twice at the pool grill, although the food here was good we found the service incredibly slow (45mins for a pizza). Of course everything in Cuba is done cuban time! We didnt eat in any of the al a carte resturants as we went on loads of trips and dont like to be tied to set meal times, however we heard that the international resturant was great.

We prefered to sit in the lobby bar in the evenings, its nice and cool with piano music by a lovely lady. I highly recomend Peter the barman here in the evenings, he makes a mean daquaria (spelling?) You cannot go to Cuba without trying this drink!

The swimming pool at this hotel we thought was rather small for the size of the hotel and I had visions of it being mobbed by 8am each day - not the case, many people use the beach and as such you can always find a sun lounger and have a quiet swim in the pool (no children!)

The beach is lovely, the water is warm enough to swim in and there is some nice snorkelling just off the shore (about 100 yrds) while we were there it was quite windy some days which makes the sea a bit rough although we still went in for a swim and the currents were not strong.

When you get to the beach if you turn right you can walk along the beach and hardly see a sole for ages, really nice in the evenings. On the whole we had a fantastic holiday and would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. The only problem we had was with the mozzies, I came home with about 20 bites and still have them now, although I was lucky compared to some who had more like 100 bites, however my boyfriend came home with not one single bite, of course this problem isnt exclusive to this hotel and they do smoke the mozzies every morning and evening, they also used a plane one day to smoke them from the air!

The only other thing I would say is that we found the staff here do not WAIT for tips like some do in other countries, as such we probably tipped more, I took some gifts with us such as smellies, pens, pencils etc, which we left each day for the room maid, and handed out to the waiters etc. They really appriciate this. We also left all our shampoos, sun creams, sanitary items etc on our last day for the maid.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
One of the best places we have stayed in. The rooms were spotless clean towels, the mini bar filled when requested everything worked, which is unusual.

The view was looking out onto a freshwater lagoon, this was nice first thing in the morning after a heavy nights partying drinking plenty of coffee while feeding the fish it was so relaxing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Becky Randall
12 years 4 months ago
I went with a big party of people, and everyone had the most amazing time.
There was something for everyone, it was lovely, clean, the hotel staff got everybody involved, right on a blue water beach, which had hammocks under huts in the sea!
I would definatly go here again, the night life was good, Sun was hot, and i didnt see one person without a smile on their face the whole 2 weeks i was there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum