Image of Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

5 of 7 hotels in Cayo Coco

3 out of 5 from 19 reviews
3 stars
Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba
Beside the second largest coral reef in the world, this is an ideal choice for families and couples who want to experience this 24 hour All Inclusive hotel\' s choice of amenities and activities.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Keith
9 years 2 months ago
Firstly, I am a very fair, understanding and accurate person when considering all of the facts, so read this with confidence. We as a family have been to Cuba before and are very aware of the cuisine.
On arrival we were allocated 4 different rooms until we found one acceptable. (poor start) on the first day we noticed the two pools were different colour, one being normal and the other greenish, it appeared to be in need of some chlorine.The other most astonishing thing was that the hotel main area was constructed on a swamp like area and stunk unpleasantly, as you will imagine most activity went on around this area, walking to the restaurant, bars and so on.
The beach however was fantastic, however this was not created by the hotel only the Lord above.I must say that from the lobby area looking down onto the pools it does look very nice, but so did my first wife, looks are Not everything.
Well here we go-- Food for breakfast finding a table was one of the most difficult things to do, then most mornings if not all we waited for plates, then we would wait for some bacon then we would have to wait for eggs/omelette, which resulted in a coldish breakfast. ( unacceptable ) During the first week the coffee machine did not work properly and functioned fully about 3 days, however on the second week it functioned 4 amazing times.But still the coldish breakfast, we did vary our approach but the results were the same.
Lunch, guess what ? it was very similar. However in defence of the hotel I must mention that the evening meal was even WORSE. Most evenings tables were not available and you had to be very assertive to get one, for example hang around a family that were nearly finished from their meal.You had on average 1 waiter to approx 10 tbls, (very poor )
All of my concerns were taken up with the Director general personally after 3 days, I did explain to him that with more staff these issues would be resolved, ( very simple really ) he thanked me for my contribution and opinion and DONE absolutely F A - means nothing in English last word is all and first word rhymes with duck.
All of the above mentioned concerns would be resolved if the management done their job correctly. Truthfully the waiting staff were put under so much pressure and also it was obvious that staff were needed around the kitchen area as well.
Choice of food was terrible, which resulted in my evening song every day :" I feel like chicken tonight", thats an English advert.
I must say though, in the other eating areas the food was edible and the waiter service was far better, with a staff table ratio of 1/3.
I could mention so much more but feel you will get the drift from the above.
We have heard that this hotel will be closing for 2 yrs whilst they revamp it, i would suggest changing the management.
After speaking to one of the waiting staff it was made clear just how the management take a cut out of the staffs tips, which I strongly disagree with. IF I wanted them to have anything it would be something more like a warm fluid type that i experienced on the toilet.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Keith
9 years 2 months ago
I forgot to mention that this is the equivalent to Butlins, or Fawlty towers.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Norine & Paul Charlton
9 years 11 months ago
I had read many reviews on the Tryp so was feeling a bit nervous about our holiday. My fears were groundless. Yes the hotel could have done with a bit of a paint job, but the rooms were immaculate, maid service great.

We found all the staff fantastically helpful - each and every one of them. The food during our first week in the buffet restaurant was not very good but by the second week was much much better.

The quality of the other restaurants, International, Chinese and Italian was great and we managed to book them without any bother, in fact we could virtually get into the International on the same night without booking. The pool area was tatty but the General Manager said this was being addressed in September.

But why anyone would want to sit around a pool when the beautiful beach was just a few yards away is beyond me. The beach was beautiful, you could get sun beds whenever mostly. We spend every day down there.

We had the small pool right outside our window so would go in there for a dip late afternoon after visiting the beach. We loved the hotel, the people are so friendly, even without having much. We went on the overnight trip to Havanna - it was fantastic. Met some wonderful people, visited the Tropicana, words cannot explain how wonderful it all was.

Wouldn't have missed it for the world. Worth every penny. Our guide on the trip was wonderful, so helpful and knowledgeable. Our rep in the hotel was also great, really helpful. Loved every minute, met some great people, made some lovely friends.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Hawkins
10 years 2 months ago
This hotel was fantastic, had a brilliant time, wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone and would love to go back again one day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Frank
10 years 9 months ago
Me and my wife enjoyed the stay at the Tyrp there is no bad comments to say - thank you. I will be there soon.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: TMR

Recommended
MATT
10 years 10 months ago
This is by far the worst place I have ever visited an I would advise anyone going to just cancel because you will hate it!

Everyone I have spoke too have got ill from the food, it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMAS COOK

Michelle
10 years 10 months ago
Good points: towels and sheets changed daily and rooms big. Pool was big. Entertainment okay through day but got abit repetitive, night time entertainment excellant. Entertainers very friendly and staff nice. Beach was nice and beautiful location.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Michelle
10 years 10 months ago
Bad points swamp like river that run under the hotel,was breeding ground for mossies and smelt. We never being bitten as much as this. main pool had tiles missing and would cut and stub your toes and was filthy, bits of food in. no toilets around the pool and toilets you had to go to smelt vile. not much shade round pool either and wasn't any parasols There was also construction work going on and dust, sand and paint would go in pool. Should no be a food bar near pool as food went into pool and smoking should not be allowed at pool bar. No wide selection of food we lived off toasties at bar, flies everyway and food uncovered. Very remote location.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cool

Recommended
Joan & Micky
11 years 2 months ago
Very disappointed with this hotel, it spoilt our entire trip to Cuba. Compared with previous all inclusive resorts we have stayed, this is without a doubt the worst.

The rooms at a first glance were quite nice but were infact a little tired and i think the hotel is in great need of refurbishment. However the grounds were quite pleasant. Our room was situated really close to the beautiful beach which was good.

The food was very poor in the buffet and snack restaurants, not a great deal of choice and nothing was ever hot! We pretty much lived on bread buns. No wonder we ended up with bad stomachs! At breakfast you even had to fight for a slice off bread to make toast. We booked to visit the a la carte's but didnt get there as we were too ill. We did however hear some better reports on the food in them compared with the buffet but unfortunately didnt get the chance to sample for ourselves.

The evening entertainment was poor and almost non-exsistent though the bar staff did try their best to keep you entertained. The staff in the snack bar were particularly friendly. After the first day they remembered you and did a good job of keeping your glass filled up with your preferred tipple. It would have been nice to be able to sit outside by the beach but all bars in the evening were enclosed. Most of the staff provided a good service but expected a tip every time they served you, they really made you feel obliged. This proved quite expensive by the end of the holiday.

The worst thing about this hotel has to be the swamp like water feature running under the hotel. Mosquito breeding ground! Normally we dont really get bitten, but due to the conditions we were eaten alive, bitten from head to toe. As were most of the other guests. I have never known a place like this. The smell is terrible from this water, thereis no escaping it and when you can smell the stench in the restaurant it really puts you off.

We had to call the doctor out during our holiday and although she didnt speak much English the service was very good.

I would not return to this hotel and would not recommend to you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

John McKitterick
11 years 5 months ago
I run a hotel on the Isles of Scilly, so I am probably quite a harsh critic! Whilst thoroughly enjoying our holiday, the hotel was a minor let-down. The first room we were give (number 666 !) smelled damp and stale. The next room was not much better, but following a nine hour flight, we just wanted to relax... So, cleanliness was not good!

The food was 'as expected' from an all-inclusive three star location. It was good. There was lots to chose from but it did get a bit repetitive towards the end of the fortnight.

We loved Cuba and will definately return... but not to the Cayos. Too far from anything! There are plans to build another 4000 bedrooms in the region which should enhance the facilities nearby and recuce the 'remote' feeling of the resort. The beach is excellent and very good for swimming. We visited other complexes just for something to do and to get some cash1 (no cashpoint or similar facility at the hotel).

Staff were very good, and, in most cases friendly and efficient.

Entertainment was there if you wanted it. It tended to be very loud so you needed to be a few blocks away at night if you wanted an early night!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum