Image of Electra Holiday Village Hotel

Electra Holiday Village Hotel

9 of 13 hotels in Nissi Beach

4 out of 5 from 82 reviews
Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Opened in 2002, and awarded a Gold Choice in their first season, these apartments are set beside a sandy beach. Close enough to enjoy the lively resort of Ayia Napa, this complex is an excellent choice for a relaxing family holiday.

82 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    43
  • Good
    19
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Fryer/hooley
A little dated, but clean and spacious
6 years 7 months ago
We had a great time at Electra the rooms are a little dated but are clean and spacious with sink microwave and separate bathroom.

The hotel public areas are always kept clean which is a thankless task with some of the guests that visit.

The location is good being right on the seafront with a small rocky beach in front but ten minutes walk to the right you come to a lovely little sandy cove then further still you come to Nissi beach wow!

Staff were always pleasant and friendly with Anis the entertainer being the best,what a great guy he is. Entertainment is a little bit rubbish but because you’re on holiday you just join in. Earlier reports said they had problems with ants so we stayed in a first floor apartment and although we did see some they were never a problem.

With the small water park just over the road the main pool and sunbeds were never a problem to get whether this would be the same peak season I don't know.

Food was good with lots of choice but sometimes things were cold but the snack bar was great you order snacks off a menu and they are cooked to order. Drinks are good we had Carlsberg lager local spirits and Pepsi 7up they also had keo lager which is brewed in Cyprus .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Trina
Good food, poor entertainment, friendly staff
7 years 5 months ago
My husband and two daughters aged 7 and 1 and I came to this hotel with a party of 22 friends and family for my sisters wedding. We were slightly worried because of it being a 3 star hotel but we all had a lovely time.

We had read some bad reviews about lots of ants, there were ants but none in the food area and not enough anywhere else to really bother us.

The hotel food was better than we expected with plenty of choice and snacks available in the restaurant in-between meals. The location was great for what we wanted as you had to walk for about 20 minutes to get to the lively part of town but were far enough away if you didn't want to see Ayia Napa in the evening, we were in walking distance (20-30 minutes along beach) of the harbour for boat trips and a fun fair which was also very good.

The beach directly outside the hotel was a bit too rocky for the kids but good for adults snorkelling. We usually walked or got a taxi to other beaches for the kids. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly in the bar and restaurant.

Air con in the rooms fantastic, actually got chilly if on too low! The entertainment was not great, usually the same guy every night after the kids mini disco doing bingo which dragged on forever and comedy sketches which were not very funny but I think he works really hard and needs a team to help him! We would visit again but probably wont because we like to visit different places.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Alford Family
8 years 4 months ago
We booked half board which was a big mistake to even go there, in our rooms (kitchen and bedroom areas) was a build up of dead bodies where in the past the insects had been killed but had been just left there and there were quite a few months worth. The moment you got any food out in your apartment you got infested with insects. The cups and crockery had not been used or cleaned for ages as you had to blow dust and dead insect bodies from the items before you washed them to be of use. The bathroom was filled with previous filth around the bath and floors, the toilet seat did not fit so you had to balance on it while trying to use it, the shower curtain had thick yellow stains on it, i dread to think what it was. The maid took towels to change for fresh clean ones but you don't get them back, that is of coarse unless you go fetch them yourself after hunting around the complex trying to find someone to help you!

Half board well if you are lucky you may not have to wait for a table long which is very rare as the restaurant area is far to small to accommodate the size of the complex, but you can stand and watch the insects marching to and from while you wait. Thats if the insects crawling over the walls, food and then over you and your table where you choose to sit hasn't put you off. Apart from the limited choice of food not really an ideal place for veggies like myself with fish put in the middle of a platter with salad on the same platter, the choice for children leaves a lot to be desired that's if you can get any as the adults tend to choose the kids meals as its better than the rest. The waiting staff don't know what they are doing and you get served with plastic cups to dine with, then they take so long to bring you your drink that you have finished your meal before you get it. Best to take your own drink in with you.

Around the pool area there were hair clips and cotton buds which had not been picked up for the whole 14 days we were there. Do not go here.
The tiny little bar is often only manned by one bar staff and that's in peak period (august) same again far to small an area and you only get plastic cups, you would be very lucky to get a seat if you wanted to see the entertainment which was utter crap and we like to join in and try most things once. There is one ramp for the elderly, infirm and children and they have that as the designated smoking area- this is not a child friendly place. The beach area is clean but it is not sand it has tiny sharp stones which really hurt your feet and it sticks to you after you been in the water the same if you venture into the sea make sure you were footwear as it hurts your feet. Holiday from hell.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mrs Rose Jarvis
8 years 4 months ago
we booked this holiday as advertised family hotel for familys. what a joke. first two days of hols many groups turned up 18 to 30s and stags .swearing around children vomiting in the pool, bottles of beer around pool area,used condoms thrown on our balcony loud ofensive music being played dureing day around pool ,bar staff well what bar staff. soft drinks were half water half pepsi or should i say watered down . ants crawling on tables in dineing area when eating. this hotel is a farse we payed £6500 for an alinclusive family holiday with a kids club and entertainment. this company lied and did nothing to sort this problem out. i will take first choice to the cleaners i want my money back plus what i had to pay to stay away from the hotel dureing the day due to the idiots that firstchoice and thomsom let stay in this so called family hotel alectra village. avoid booking as all you will get is 2 weeks of hell. jarvis family from wakefield uk
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Millie Morgan
9 years 3 months ago
I first went to the electra with my parents and sisters, we arrived at about ten o'clock. me and my sister shared a ground floor apartment, and it was cleaned everyday. The staff and entertainment were very nice, but the food was nothing special. If you go all inclusive, you can get food at any time of the day, and drinks. i especially loved the cocktails that they serve there. my sister locked herself out of her room from time to time, and the staff were more than happy to help! the pools were very good quality and the reps were very helpful. the setting of the resort is beautiful. we found some homeless cats, with kittens, who were very thin, so i think the hotel needs to do something about this. the beach was quite stony, but if you walk for a while in the same direction, you will find three more beaches. the one aspect i will complain about is the amount of teenagers that go to the resort and make a loud noise until the early hours of the morning.
overall, i found this stay amazing and i would definitely recommend it.
i am going again this summer!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
G Caine
9 years 4 months ago
my husband and i went to this family advertised hotel for an all inclusive weeks holiday last September,and decided to return with our two teenage children this year, but self catering.we booked a superior room at a cost of an extra
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Liam
10 years 2 months ago
my mum, dad, brother and i all stayed at the electra village for 2 weeks and we had the best time of our lives!

the hotel was very clean apart from the ant problem. Sometimes if food or even clothes are felt on the floor the ants swam on the object and are very hard to get off. also the hotel was litted with bubble gum probally purchest from the hotel shop.

the food was lovely and warm all served in hot trays and you can come in to the super clean dining room grab a table and help your self to as much food as you could eat (if you went all inclusive!) the breakfast was basically the elements of a full english with some added extras...

lunch was anything from the bar menu burger's, tuna all great food.

dinner changed every night from english food to mexican but for the less adventures there is always chip's and what ever is on the kids menu. There is also a vegetarian version...

the hotel was so close to the beach any closer and it would be on it! the sea was crystal clear and warm a bit rocky but well worth it!

The staff were ok some really happy to help but some barely smile...

the entertainment was excellent and a different show every night! Nikki and Anis (sorry if i spelt it wrong...!) were great at there job's, and had bingo and a raffle every night. They also came up with very memorable catch phrase's like "acha acha" "oh year" and "50" trust me you need to go to understand...

we hopefully are going again next year!



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
D.williams
10 years 3 months ago
the pool ares was lovely.the situation of our apartment was in avery dark and unlit area of the complex,which was very un-nerving of a night.as a result of this our apartment was robbed on the second night,my boys 2 i pods were stolen,it was one of 4 burgelries we heard of that week.as a result we did not feel safe. the food was cooked to perfection,however it was very bland and the wasn't much choice.the hotel,bar and waitress staff were ignorant and unpleasant.a smile now and again would not have gone a miss.nicky and annis were the entertainment staff,thet did a very good job and worked very hard.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Barry And Jane
10 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from this hotel, and we cannot praise it enough. the hotel is in a good possition close to all amenities,food and cleanliness are to a good standard, staff very friendly especially the entertainers ANIS and NIKKI o'yeah ,they keep you going all day till late in the evening. We have been going to this hotel for the last 5 years and this is the best entertainment by far, and we dont think it can be beaten any where in the world
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Kevin Philips
10 years 5 months ago
This place was by far the best holiday we have had. I travelled with my wife and our 6 year old duaghter. The trouble on writing this review is where to begin but I will start with the only negative side to our trip: The bar staff (Most not cypriot or english) seem to have a scam going on whereby they will give you an old Turkish coin that is similar in appearance to a
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum