Image of Siva Grand Beach Hotel

Siva Grand Beach Hotel

22 of 44 hotels in Hurghada

4 out of 5 from 41 reviews
4 stars

41 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    17
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
16 years ago
Firstly I was really nervous about this hotel as I have read that the food was not to a high standard. I was pleasantly shocked at how good this hotel was.
When we arrived we were shown to our room which was a good side and a small balcony (on the ground floor).

Food
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Elin
16 years 1 month ago
this is at first an attractive hotel with all the amienties you would expect from a four star hotel in eqypt.we arrived at the hotel in a coach full of other british holidaymaker but didnt see them again until our departure at the end of the two weeks! the reason for this was that the british are a minority in this hotel which caters predominantly for german holidaymakers. the staff definately favoured german tourists although some individual members of staff were very helpful and courteous.We were always greeted in german and by the end we replied in german and therefore recieved better service.We did feel isolated during our stay and it did detract somewhat on what was a very nice holiday. the rooms were very nice and kept very clean. the food served at both restaurants was exactly the same and therefore lacked some variety.A tip for those going to this hotel - dont leave your table empty, you will probably find some germans sitting there on your return. Being an all-inclusive hotel i expected the entertainment to have been better at night although there was plenty to do during the day- volleyball, water polo, gymnastics etc.
despite being an allinclusive hotel there were many extras which the brochure does not mention. we were always offered cocktails and juices at a price and hassled to pay for themed nights and parties. Much of the action was to be had in the town itself and the hotel's sister hotel the grand beach, which i was begrudged to pay for having paid enough for this all inclusive holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
Nigel W
16 years 1 month ago
Transfer from airport is only a short time and distance. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. All the staff bar one or two were friendly and extremely helpful. We found that by tipping small amounts the service was excellent although I think it was very good anyway. In the first week there was predominently a German presence but there were more English in the second week but I personally don't care what nationality the guests are and it made no difference to the quality of service. Virtually every staff member spoke good English. Using just a couple of Arabic phrases - Hello, thank you, one beer please was really appreciated by the staff and led to many convesations and laughs with them. The quality and variety of food was extremely good. The beach was on the doorstep and very nice. The entertainment during the day was fine but the evening entertainment wasn't really to our taste being musical reviews most nights. All in all I thought it was very good value
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
L. Taylor
16 years 1 month ago
Me and my partner stayed at the Grand Siva for 1 week and we were pleased it was only for one week.

You are invisible if you are not a german they favoured them all the time we were there. The sunbeds are a nightmare to get if you're not up before 8am because the germans claim theirs first thing.

The hotel was very clean and your room was always cleaned by housekeeping.

The location of the hotel is a bit strange, you really are in the middle of nowhere but the beach is perfect, crystal clear water.

The hotel staff in the main hotel ignored you if you were not german and the food is nothing special. When we were there we had a letter sent around warning us that hepatitis A was on the outbreak from people returning from the hotel.

The day we received this letter it was in german and they could give us no further information because they didn't have an english copy until 24 hours later. Tourists have contracted Hepititis A but we have had no warning from Panorama so we had to contact them to find out what was going on.

We still have not had any explanation and no advice to go and see our doctor. We are not happy with the service we have been given at the resort and Panorama.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Wendy
16 years 2 months ago
On arrival the hotel appeared to be first class the main problem was the Germans who at the time we went accounted for approximately 80% of the holiday makers.
As we like foreign food we found it to be very good. We were disappointed that we were located on the first floor as we didn't have a sea view.
The waiting on staff always spoke to you first in German but we didn't hesitate to inform them that we were English who they appeared to like, however, the Reception Staff and Customer relation staff clearly favoured the Germans. On one occasion one of the dining rooms was full, we were asked to wait (no problem) however a German couple came up behind us and were given a table straight away. The soft drinks eg Cola/Fanta were of very poor quality and they didn't have Bacardi or white rum. Whilst on holiday it was my birthday, we booked a meal in the beach resturant (extra charge) but they made me feel very special and really went out of their way. I agree fully with the above report from G.D. of Hull although we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
Allan Anne
16 years 2 months ago
having visited Egypt for the last six years ,we are disapointed with the service of the staff at the Siva grand resort. we found if you could not speak german they just ignored you . we found this to be the case in the main dinning room, and the main bar on the first floor. although the room staff were very good. i complained on site to the head waiter and to the service manager,about the points stated and they agreed with me , that this hotel is geared more for the Germans. it is a beutiful hotel and the location is perfect. we enjoyed our second week back in our usual hotel the isis hotel in luxor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

16 years 2 months ago
As stated in other reports this hotel is predominantly German but also there are Dutch and Danish so the English make up only around 1% of the guests- Panorama are the only UK agent and only have around 40 guests in a hotel with a capacity of around 2000 although there wouldn't normally be more than around 1000-1500 guests.
This means that English speakers are very much in the minority are are treated as such. You are guaranteed very poor service from the staff who all speak excellent German but appear to have little understanding of English - they have a tendancy to ignore you if you speak in English. We proved the anti-British theory by speaking in German and receiving much better service at the bar!!
It must be said though that the above is true of the whole resort. The British are so much in the minority that you would have to expect the locals to speak German - if only we were warned of this before we set off we could of brushed up a little on the language skills!

The hotel itself is very nice. Very clean, the rooms are more than adequate (we slept 3 in one room and it was plenty big enough).
The facilities are very good - private beach, large pool, plenty of bars etc. One complaint is that the 2 restaurants served the same food every night. We expected that the fact it had 2 restaurants would mean a choice of menu - it didn't.
The entertainment was ok. I guess it depends on what you expect, but there was water polo, basketball ball, table tennis etc during the day and a different show every night.

The biggest irritation during our stay was the continuous pestering to buy something. Being All inclusive we expected no hassle at all, but there was always a member of staff trying to sell something - fruit juice, cocktails, romantic meals on the beach, it just seemed never ending and soon became very annoying.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
G. D.
16 years 3 months ago
The all inclusive is more like all extra, for example fresh orange juice was extra.
Cocktails such as Tequila sunrise was extra.
Bottled beer was extra.
(this is not in the Panorama brochure).

As you would expect from buffet style food it was never hot and probably more for the German taste as the hotel has 70% Germans.
The Busboys did a great job of clearing the tables, usually while you were at the buffet getting your next course and return to find someone else sat in your chair.

The sandy/gravel beach was really good and has a sand spit that went out 200 hundred metres.
Due to the 70% Germans you had to be an early bird to get a sun lounger.

The 'Pub' was part of the lobby with a broken pool table.

If you travel with Panorama you can only stay on the ground floor due to the balcony railings being under one metre high. (this is not in the brochure).

Junior suites are just one room and if there are more than two people they move the furniture outside to make room for the extra beds.
The standard rooms are probably better than the junior suites so don't bother upgrading.

From Luxor it is 5 1/2 hour transfer in the convoy not 4 hours as the brochure says.
If you arrive in luxor after 5pm you will miss the last convoy and will have to spend the night in Luxor.
If you have to go back to Luxor you will leave the Hotel at 05;40 even if your flight is at 20:30 as ours was due to the armed guarded convoy.

Therefore you will lose the all-inclusive on the last day.

I would class this as a 3 star hotel and I've been to Egypt before.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

AB
16 years 6 months ago
Swimming pool was very cold - too cold to swim.
Need not spend any money - only tips.
Small tips were really appreciated.
Entertainment very disapointing - good for children though.
Staff were very helpful - even with no tip.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Tony And Diane
16 years 8 months ago
We stayed in this hotel for 1 week in Jan 2005 and had a great time.

The hotel was spotless, the pool and beach were superb.

If you talked to the staff we found they went out of their way to help and the service was no problem at all. Yes the hotel does cater for German, Swedes and Russian mainly but we were treated exactly the same and at times better.

The only down side we really found was that the food was bland and very much the same every day and the entertainment left a bit to be desired. Also in the evening it could be a bit difficult to find a seat in the lobby but it was Winter so cool in the evening and people were reluctant to sit outside.

The beach is very safe for kids with a shallow lagoon that stays 2-3 foot deep for a long way out.

The hotel is not surrounded by much but if you just want a break by the pool/sea it's ideal. There are plenty of things to do in the day like water polo, aqua aerobics, volleyball and boules and it's a good way to interact with other guests.

In general a great clean hotel with good service and yes we would go again!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.