Image of Sol Y Mar Makadi Marine Hotel

Sol Y Mar Makadi Marine Hotel

4 of 41 hotels in Hurghada

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
4 stars

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mr.& Mrs G.G.Greaves
9 years 1 month ago
the hotel was very clean and staff very freindly posittion of hotel was very good right on the beach, beach towels provided and plenty of sun beds.
food was bland and most of the time not very hot plates were cold. did not go to any of the entertinment so can't comment on that.
on the whole the hotel was very nice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

9 years 10 months ago
The hotel was very clean in all areas, our room was cleaned to a good standard.

Beds comfy, enough towels and beach towels. Hairdryer in bathroom. TV in room but not many channels in English. Mini bar in fridge butyou have to pay for this - seems a bit odd as it's an all inclusive hotel?

The food was not very good, after the first couple of nights we found it a bit bland. It wasn't that the food was bad just not apetising. The plates were cold hence the food got cold very quick.

They operate a dine around option where you pay 15 euros per person and you can dine al a carte at one of 6 restaurants around the resort - we ate at the thai and it was excellent.

The staff at this hotel went out of their way to please you, they were very friendly.

We mentioned that there was a lot of noise late at night from the next door room (TV on high at 2am and sounded like they were having a party!) and the next day we were moved to a different part of the complex to a nicer room.
The hotel seemed to cater mostly for Russians and Germans there were not many English people there when we visited.
Due to the time of year it was very cold in the evenings and it got dark early - most of the entertainment and several bars were outside so this was not suitable, we ended up sitting in the bar most nights before going to bed early!

There is a disco in the next door hotel which you can use but didn't think this was very good. There is nowhere to walk in the evenings as the resort is made up of about 6 hotels. You can go in any of these to use the facilities although you can only eat & drink free in the one you are staying in.

My husband went on the Quad bike trip (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

Lucy & Richard
10 years 2 months ago
We had a excellent 2 week AI break at the Makadi Marine. We was very impressed on arrival at this hotel, you are given a compliantary drink on arrival and sat down in the lobby area (which is very grand and spotlessly clean)to check in. The bell boys then take your bags and show you to your room and explain where where everything is.

The rooms are very spacious and well decorated, the shower is massive - could have spent hours in there. Rooms are cleaned ever day and towels changed when you are asked for them too (you need to leave them on the floor in the bathroom). Everyday we had a new towel decoration on the bed which was a nice touch.

The pool area is kept clean and there are plenty of sunbeds, no need to get up as the sunrises to get a bed. The pool does not have a lot of cloren in it like so do which is nice.

Beach Bar could be busy and sometimes you would have to wait a while for a drink. Food on the other hand was a different story. You had a good choice of food to choose from - beef burger chicken burger, kofte burger, salads, pizzas, pasta & sandwich's. Once you have decided what you want a waiter takes your order and the food is cooked to order which makes a nice change from the dine around.

Blues Bar - This bar was nice and relaxed with mellow music and nice mood lighting.

Pool Bar - Waiter go out of there way to find you a seat when it is busy and will bring drinks to your table all night.

Dine Around - Food was of an ok standard, some nights we found it hard to find something we liked but maybe this is just us. Food was repeated the following week which is common in AI hotels.

Makadi Marine offer a Dine Around option where there are the following restaurants that you eat eat at from
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jade
10 years 3 months ago
Makadi Marine is deffanatly a hotel i would visit again.
Rooms, pool and the beach very clean all the time. =)
The hotel staff where all good at english and very well mannard
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Jan & Pete
10 years 5 months ago
Makadi Marine, excellant hotel, the staff so friendly and helpful, rooms clean, food good, came back 22nd June after 2 wonderful weeks, and will go back next year.

Value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Baker Family
10 years 8 months ago
Just had a week AI at the Makadi Marine. Hotel is spotless, staff are lovely. First time to Egypt.... hopefully not the last. Would visit Makadi Marine hotel again.

Cannot comment on entertainment as did not attend.

Food was good, plenty available. Bottle water left in room for you daily. Dine Around option available, with a choice of Italian, Indian, Egyptian, Thai restaurants (extra 10-15 euros pp) - we ate at the Thai restaurant, and had a delicious meal there. Local drinks are all ok g & t, ouzo & lemonade, brandy, and lager is ok, and preferred the red wine to the rose or white.

Hotel is on the beach .... beach towels are provided foc by hotel. Provided with a towel card on arrival, and you produce this at the towel hut near the pool, where you exchange the cards for towels each day, then return them at the end of your day - beats having to take beach towels with you. Went on the snorkeling trip organised by the team on the beach - a good day out.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Tracy
11 years 3 months ago
We have just returned from a lovely relaxing holiday.

The hotel was spotlessly clean we had no trouble getting sun beds even though there was twenty of us.

The animation team were very good and once a week there is Olympics against all the hotels in the resort with a desert party late into the night our family came second in the tug of war and came home with medals.

The food is not what I liked but most of the rest of our group enjoyed it and the kids didn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Willow
11 years 3 months ago
Our room was cleaned every day with fresh towels if needed, just simply leave the towels on the floor if you want them changed. Staff clean all areas, all through the day and the toilets in all areas of the hotel were always spotless.

Food was samey but you get that everywhere else on all inclusive! The waiters/catering staff exellent, smiley and friendly they love english people, especially children.

If you have a birthday whilst at the hotel tell the reception and they will organise a cake for the occasion which will be drummed and sang in by the staff... great fun!

Remainder of staff equally as professional, friendly and efficient, only person who let us down was the Rep and we will leave that comment to be interpreted as you wish.

Entertainment undertaken by the err animation group, which tried their best but four times a week they have wonderful turns by outside entertainers.

We would definetely visit this hotel again, if only to revisit the lovely friends we made with some of the staff.

Water, large bottle in room each day, beer, lemonade, wine, coke etc available via self service and icecream always available from the pool bar, great for kids!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
The hotel is situated in a small complex which is behind a security check point so is very secure. There are a small number of other hotels in the complex and the Marine is pretty much in the middle of them.

The reception area is very plush and spotlessly clean. The reception staff are extremely helpful and there are usually at least 3 of them behind the desk at all times.

The pool is situated directly behind the reception area and again is spotlessly clean. The pool was not heated, but given the time of year it was warm and made a pleasant way to cool down. It is quite deep in the main pool, i'm about 5'6" and I had to stand on tip toes, but there is a childrens area of the pool which is not as deep.

There isn't much shade around the pool and the sunbeds that are shaded usually get reserved in the early hours, so if you plan to stay around the pool, be prepared to get up early!! The people that reserved the shaded beds usually didn't appear until the afternoon so the beds were unused during the day, which was annoying!

The room that we had was on the ground floor, but still up a few steps, the balcony overlooked the pool and was lovely. The room was also very clean and was cleaned daily. We received a bottle of water every day from the cleaner and had a different towel sculpture on the bed sometimes with fresh flowers on our pillows.

The food was plentiful with lots of choice. There was a chef making fresh pizza from scratch and the evening meals were themed with the waiters dressing up accordingly. The food was very good and very well presented. During lunch, snacks were also available at the beach bar, being sandwiches and pizza slices etc, ice cream is available all day, i'd recommend the chocolate and the vanilla...

There are three bars at the hotel, the beach bar, the pool bar and a bar upstairs called the blues bar. All serve a wide variety of drinks and cocktails with no apparent limits.

There are 167 rooms in the hotel but the majority of the guests were Russian and German with very few English guests. The staff are extremely helpful and could not do enough for you, they really seem to like the English guests.

The entertainment . Well it would be difficult for me to comment on it as we tend not to go away to get involved with the activities. The staff do come around both the beach and the pool trying to get you involved with things and if you say no they tend to get the message eventually. There was always something going on though and there is plenty for children to do..

The beach is sectioned off and there are plenty of sunbeds and shade. There are toilets close to the beach so you don't have to go far off your lounger!

Snorkelling. Well what can I say. You need to go snorkelling whilst you are here, because if you don't you are missing out. There is a reef a very short distance from the beach and there are loads and loads of fish etc to be seen, fantastic! If you enjoy the snorkelling i'd advise that you go on a boat trip. There is a company called Tiger Marine on the beach, the men come around to you and tell you about the boat trips, the one we went on was an all day trip, it cost
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
This was our first trip to Egypt and we had a great time, we only spent a week in the Makadi Marine as we also spent 3 nights in Luxor and 4 nights on a Nile cruise but we loved every minute of the whole holiday!!

The Makadi Marine is a beautiful hotel, everywhere is always spotless and the staff are all really friendly.

On arrival one of the men from reception will come and sit with you and give you a green AI arm band and explain how things work in the hotel and where the restraunts etc are. He will then show you to your room and within a few minutes the porters will arrive with your luggage.
The staff really go out of their way to help you! On our first day I asked how to get to Souk Makadi and one of the guys from reception came out and walked us across the road and said that's it, when he could have just said it's straight across the road!!

There is always plenty of room around the pool and on the beach even though people from the neighbouring hotels seemed to use the sunbeds on the beach instead of the ones at their own hotels! The animations people are always doing something or other to keep people entertained but didnt hassle you prefered to just relax and soak up the sun! The hotel is right on the beach has a fantastic reef to snorkel on just a minutes swim from the shore. (make sure you take a waterproof camera it's like finding nemo down there!)
Extra Divers have a diving centre just a couple of minutes walk from the beach to the left, they came to the pool twice a week to give free try dives. All equipment can be hired from them and then paid for after your last dive if you dont want to pack your own gear.

The rooms were always kept spotless and everyday there was a bottle of water left in the fridge and different towel creation on the bed - the best being on the final day a little person with a note to thank us for staying there and hoping we would want to come back again some day.
Our room had a shower but no bath, there are hairdryers so don't bother packing one.

The food in the main restraunt was great, there was always plenty of it and a good selection too. There was a different theme in the main restraunt every night with the waiters dressed accordingly. In the evenings outside they had a grill where they cooked something different everynight. There was also a man who made fresh croissants with sauces for breakfast and then very nice pizzas for lunch and dinner. The drinks are all self service but the waiters will usually offer to carry them to the table for you.
We didn't try the food at the beach bar at all but I think it mainly served snacks like pizzas, sandwhichs, salads and burgers etc.
We didn't suffer from any upset stomachs or anything.

The entertainment at night wasn't brilliant but they did try hard! There was a theatre where almost every evening the animation team had a different show, the best from the ones we watched had to be the funny animation show with the sex machine sketch at the end! If you are going dont miss it!!

There is an american bar in the hotel somewhere but we didn't go there as we don't drink much and were happy to stay at the pool bar most evenings.

We went on the Cairo trip by coach at 1am and were told it was ok to take our pillows from the room for the coach and were given a breakfast bag for the next morning.

This is a fantastic hotel and I wouldnt hesitate in recommending it to anyone unless they were looking for all night partying! It's a nice relaxed hotel in a beautiful resort with very friendly staff and anyone planning to go there is very lucky....I sure wish I was going again already!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget Travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.