Image of Tia Heights Makadi Bay

Tia Heights Makadi Bay

24 of 41 hotels in Hurghada

4 out of 5 from 32 reviews
5 stars

32 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mrs Stevens
7 years 10 months ago
Tia Heights is absolutley wonderfull. Very prestigous and classy. The food was very nice with a wide variety to choose from. The location is on the beach and very accessable,and the staff bend over back wards to please you.The enterainment was good and during the day there is lots of keep fit in the sea and games for all to join in with! But if you want peace and quiet there is plenty of space. I would love to go back and would defiently recommend to my family and freinds. The glass bottom boats are a must. Make sure you take your snorkelling gear as when you put your feet in the water and get to waist height have a little look under the water the fish are AMAZING!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Charlotte
8 years 7 months ago
i ave visited this hotel 4 times

every time was amazing.. i loved it soo much
and would live there if i could
i must admit its gone downhill since its been taken over .. the food wasn't as good and could be better

but over all it was amazing
especially the animation team
i loved them all so much and still do..
i cant wait to see them all again they made my holiday so special and the entertainment is wicked..

I LOVE TIA HEIGHTS AND THE ANIMATION TEAM !!!

i am only 14 but i love the hotel so much and wish i could go back .. but i have only just got back last week and i am already wishing i could be sat in the sun with the animation team :):)


Pleas E-mail Back :):)

Love Charlottee :):):):):):)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Dont know

Recommended
Denise
9 years 1 month ago
The hotel has changed ownership and name on 3rd October 3rd to Tia Heights, this may account for the appalling food served during our weeks stay ! If you like to eat in a Russian canteen environment then bisit the Safega Restaurant on the '2nd' floor. The Aladin Restaurant on the reception, or 1st floor, serves the same inedible food but in slightly better surroundings. My friend and I were ill all week and by the last night I could not even eat the burgers provided for the children. It is dire !!!

On a better note the rooms are clean, but we were in the Tia Club blocks, accomodation given over to the Russians and Block 83 and 84 are a long way from reception, use the tuk tuks !

The staff in the reception area bar were lazy and I suggest you order 2 drinks each at a time, otherwise you may wait all evening for the second to arrive. The hot chocolate ordered with a seperate brandy is exceptionally good !

The restaurant staff were friendly and efficient, tables were cleared quickly.

The pool area is good and kept clean, towels plentiful and sunloungers are easy to find, the Russians bag the beach early (5.00a.m.) so forget it !

We will not go back !!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medhotels

Boni
9 years 4 months ago
I just came back from Hurgada and i stayed in this hotel. I have positive marks about almost everything,exept for the staff they were very lazy and for the entertainment,because if young people go there, there is not much fun during the night and there is no music on the beach. The rest of it was exellent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aurora Turs

Recommended
Debbie
9 years 6 months ago
The hotel is massive, the rooms was cleaned daily, the pools fantastic.

The staff was very nice the only problem we had was the food was awfull. We all lost weight and had tummy problems and the hotel is in the middle of nowhere so couldn't really go anywhere.

The gifts in the shops in the hotel are really expensive they charge what they like overall we had a good time but I wouldn't go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Sam
9 years 9 months ago
The hotel is big, very big, which is a bit worrying prior to arrival, but rest assured the hotel copes very well.

Russians! Loads of them, but not as I previously read with regards them being rude obnoxious etc. they are loud, but you get used to it, also have no regard for personal space, again you get used to it!

Food in the Alladin, excellent on 99% of occasions, there is also the other restaurants to eat at for half their original price, but personally why bother? It is buffet style with massive choices, it's easy to miss some of the choices, so have a good look round.

Location, miles from anywhere, which is good if you want privacy, very little hassle with people selling you things on the beach.

We went on a quad bike excursion, its ok, but really cold and scary coming back in the pitch black of the desert, dodging rocks. My advice is dont bother with the sunset tour, take a two hour afternoon one.

Staff were great, friendly and courteous, animation team the usual pain in the rear, seemingly only there to get off with the younger girls!

Entertainment, well, naff is about the best word for it, but I expected no more than that.

Rooms, very good, we were in the main building, great room service, water always hot and immaculately clean.

I would definitely go back here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Diane
9 years 9 months ago
When I read previous holiday truths about this hotel, I was concerned that we had chosen it.

However, this was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in in Africa. It is huge but the staff cope well with the throughput of customers and deliver what feels like a personal service, despite the amount of people staying there.

The restaurant staff are always very attentive and friendly - plates are cleared away quickly and glasses refilled as soon as they are empty.

My one disappointment on arrival was that the swimming pool, advertised as the biggest in that part of the world, was closed for a few weeks for maintainance. Whilst we were there, it looked as though this was close to completion,so hopefully it will be open shortly.

The rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was a bit dated and crumbly, but again clean and functional.The food, we thought was very good, with lots of choice. You won't find chips with everything - be prepared to be a little bit more adventurous - as they are catering for many different nationalities.

Some people do like salad and cake for breakfast!The entertainment was limited - perhaps there is more happening in the summer months.

Whilst we were there, Egypt won the African Nations Cup, and the hotel staff celebrated the win, but at the same time, continued to provide an immaculate service to their guests - true professionals.

Staff do walk around the beach and restaurant to gently encourage the use of the hotel's facilities and the special menus in the paying restaurants - but they are not offended if you politely decline and they are not at all pushy. They are just as happy to stay and chat about the football.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Val Banks
10 years 1 month ago
This hotel is MASSIVE and because of this I dont think the reception can cope with the amount of people checking in/out. The reception is outstanding, but please note that unless (even in some cases when main building speciifeid) you specify main building you will be put in the Dune Rooms ~ not 5 star at all infact if you get the block of room 83-- which includes 8318 you will find the smell of sewerage overwhelming as the sewerage plant is rignt beside this. We were moved 3 times and on the third move into the main building the rooms was great. I have never had this problem with any other hotel in egypt. There were always sunbeds around the pool, however if you want the beach beware of the early rising russians ~ no beds by 7.30am. The food was average for an egyptian hotel, but we always found something to eat. The animation staff were great fun and the Cobra show is a must see. The best part of the hotel was at night sitting at the Lobby bar watching the waiters there, Ahmed, Traik and the others. They all enjoyed a good laugh with the customers and they all spoke quote good english ~ one even spoke better english than myself but with a cockney accent! If you want a hotel with variety of night life or the possibility of a short journey to the nearest town/village then this hotel is not for you as its 35mins by minibus into the old town and there is nothing around this hotel apart from other large hotels.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Lounge/Eagle Travel

Recommended
Levi
10 years 4 months ago
Me and my family went to le meridien on july 6th 2007.It was the best holiday we have ever been on.The people there were brilliant and were so friendly.they couldnt do enough for you.the food was lovely and was lots to choose from.The rooms were very very clean.At night there was great entertainment for all ages.You could never get bored.i cant wait to go back there!! it was the best place i have been to in my life! i didnt want to come home!the pool was lovely..! its wasnt cold at all!! We got on so well with the animation team! we miss them so much!!..so people,if you are thinking of going to le meridien..DO IT! its absolutly BRILLIANT!!...xxx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

Recommended
Joe Ashton
10 years 4 months ago
The hotel room was clean,the food was so bad i was ill for my two weeks holiday.The hotel is so isolated they could and did charge you 10 times what things where worth and you could not so anything aboutit.Sun tan cream
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holidays Direct

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.