Image of Norbreck Castle Hotel

Norbreck Castle Hotel

18 of 24 hotels in Blackpool

3 out of 5 from 32 reviews
The Norbreck Castle Hotel, Queens Promenade, Blackpool, Lancashire FY2 9AA

32 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    7

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Julie Dodworth
good health spa facilities
7 years 6 months ago
We went as a couple with travel style and were expected to sit at a table with 26 other diners. we didn't nor wanted to know if we wanted our dinner at 6.30pm, which was late enough as it were, they boast evening meals start from 5.30pm on their website but I was told when I got there it was only in the school holidays, so why not mention that? We had to wait while after 7.30pm to get to sit together at a table for 2 it was outrageous!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travelstyle

Hotel tip: tram and buses stop bang outside

Christine Reid
Never go there again
8 years 3 months ago
Organised chaos when we got off the coach. We had to wait hours for the keys. Couldn't go anywhere pouring with rain. Eventually got keys for 5th floor sent in wrong direction at first. Room very basic and needed updating. Food appalling, knew it was cheap but when the 99p bar ended the drinks were expensive.

Heard a lady ask for a bottle of wine approx £12.00, when she could buy the same bottle over road for £3.99.

When we booked we were not told hotel name (wonder why) said they would know by 7 days before Rang/Mon/tues/weds fobbed off on each occasion. No luggage labels arrived, one lady was told on phone you do not need them as you know what your cases look like.

Big delay going home don't know why as the driver gave no apology and never spoke on way back. We will never book with National Holidays again or go near Norbeck Castle Hotel even as a freebie.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: national holidays

Very poor
9 years 5 months ago
We stayed here in June 2012 and were very disappointed with the accomodation and the 'entertainment'.The room was described as 'tastefully furnished' on their website but it was in fact very shabby and badly needed refurbishment. One bedside lamp was broken, the radiator was rusty and there were water stains on the peeling wallpaper. The dressing table was very old and heavily scratched.When we first put the TV on there were 'sizzling' noises coming from it-then a smell of burning so we quickly turned it off and it was replaced quite quickly. There were only 5 channels available-no freeview even!The so called entertainment was distinctly 2nd rate and aimed mostly at the children. I wrote and complained once back home and was offered a paltry 'special rate' as compensation. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Tired and Dirty
9 years 11 months ago
Booked 2 nights B&B cost £150.00. Stayed in room 538 on the top floor. Only one lift serviced this area which despite notices saying it held 8 persons only large enough for 4. The room had a sea view and that is the only positive I have. The room was clearly a single room with an old double bed which was extremely uncomfortable, we could feel the springs in the mattress when we laid on it and they dug into the body.
I daren’t look under the sheets for fear of what I might find. The bed was pushed up against the wall so the person against the wall had to get out of bed at the bottom. Linen ok but duvet old and heavy. Old furniture, not enough room for bedside cabinet. Wardrobe covered the connecting door to the next room. Decor tired, the overhead light must have had loose wires as it went off if touched.

The drinks facilities consisted of an old plastic tray with a cheap kettle, 4 sugar sachets and 1 old tea bag. A couple of milk cartons but no coffee. The two mugs were dirty and were replaced when we asked for clean ones. Paint work in small bathroom was peeling and the door must have jammed at some point and so had been planned to fit but not painted. Breakfast was not much better. No dishes for cereal, sugar canister congealed. I saw a lady ask for a jug for milk at breakfast and the waiter gave her the one off the next table that had been used by the previous guests which was waiting to be cleared. Unbelievable.

The hotel is in dire need of refurbishment, it is tired and in places dirty. This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and could not recommend a visit
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Martyn
Room was a good size
10 years 11 months ago
We had a 3 night midweek break, dinner, bed & breakfast for under £50 per night for 2. If you expect 5 star for that price you are in dream world.

The hotel was clean and for it age everything seems to work. There were always maintenance staff around so I would presume if you did have a problem they would be quick to fix it.

The room was a good size and had a sea view and was warm. The bathroom was small and basic, but for slightly more I could of booked a room with a better one. The TV only had 6 channels and none of them was a news channel. The floor boards creek and you can hear everybody walking down the corridors or in the room above.

Food was excellent, it is a self service buffet with plenty of choice. You do have to book a table time but they are flexible on it. A bottle of house wine was only £8.

Entertainment is in the conservatory area. Seating with a view is limited.

It is part of the Britannia group now and they do seem to be gradually upgrading the Norbreck, some rooms are now premier which of course cost more.

They have a health club and and swimming pool. The ballroom has regular dances.

It is not in the centre of Blackpool; it is about halfway between Blackpool and Cleveleys. Buses and trams run from right outside. There is plenty of parking.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kath Daniels
11 years 11 months ago
This hotel is possibly the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. It was so crowded, hot, dirty.Checking in was a joke. It took us 45 minutes to get a key despite we had paid upfront via Expedia. There were literally hundreds of people checking in all at the same time. Utter chaos. The list is endless. I went into the bathroon at 5 am to be cofronted by silverfish running around the room. It made my flesh crawl. Never ever again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Private

Cheryl
12 years 3 months ago
The hotel is dated and shabby on the whole, desperately in need of a refit. Bedrooms are dirty (we had mould on our duvet cover) and stink of cigarette smoke. The food is all processed, nothing is fresh. Even the potatos were tinned. The clientelle save their benefits all year to holiday here. I saw more tattoos on show in the dining room than in all my previous travels. Nice.

On the plus side,the staff were lovely. Poor things.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Britannia Hotels

Annon
12 years 8 months ago
after reading bad reviews on this hotel i wasn't expecting much. good job! we arrived at the hotel at 1 o clock but couldn,t get into our room until three so we decided to walk into the town centre. didn't think for 1 minute it would take us an hour to get there. anyway got back to hotel just wanting two put our suitcase in our room. checked in no problem given our key and went up two our room.key didn't work so went back two reception to ask if they could let us in they said go back to your room and someone will come and let you in. well an hour later and three more visits two reception and we finally got in. room was ok.carpet very dirty.furniture very old fashioned but we only planned on sleeping in it so not really a problem. went to the restaurant fo our evening meal at seven o clock which was the time we were told but staff said we were too early and had to come back at half seven. when we went back we were asked if it was a table for two we wanted . we said yes so were taken to our table which was a small table with another couple already eating.not exactly a table for two! wouldn't normally mind sharing a table but it was bearly big enough for two people let alone four. entertainment not good at all hotel way too far from resort centre. only good thing was the hour free bar at night.hotel very dated but nice sea views would not return
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: national holidays

CARJUL
13 years ago
I think the last time our room had been decorated was when Colour TV first came out.
The food was very poor especially the breakfast.Checking in at 3pm is a bad move especially when you arrive at noon.Bar prices too high.Did not bother with the entertainment.Staff were pleasant and helpfull.Location is okay if you want peace and quiet,tram stop opposite to take you to the centre.
Never return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: National Holidays

Dave
14 years 4 months ago
I have just come back from a most enjoyable weekend at the Norbreck Castle, OK it is a bit out of the centre but the views from the bar and room were excellent.

I have read reviews from other people saying the food was bad well I have stayed in 4 star hotels all over Europe and the food in the Norbreck was as good.

I got excellent value and would definitley return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.