Image of Pontins Family Holiday Centre

Pontins Family Holiday Centre

19 of 24 hotels in Blackpool

2 out of 5 from 18 reviews
Clifton Drive North, Lytham St Annes FY8 2SX

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    6

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Rundown
6 years 2 months ago
We checked into Pontins in June 2009 it looked pretty rundown to be honest chalets looked like they haven't been touched since it opened we stayed in club apartment the best grade of apartment and it was absolutely filthy with a dirty floor a funky smell, dirty bedding it was horrible. My son absolutely loves basketball and went to the court the hoop wasn't even on the place so he couldn't play it. The entertainment was OK but some of the bluecoats didn't seem happy working their but loads of them were happy and joyful. When we was there we saw some cleaners in an apartment sat on the sofa doing nothing it was awful. One night our chalets heater went off and it was freezing. The ground floor chalets looked a bit ugly the bathroom windows in them were covered with this white film and it didn't look nice they could have put a proper bathroom cover on it instead when we was their we let our kid do the go kart he enjoyed it but apparently the teacher wasn't looking really shocked about that. The park was right next to the airport the airport wasn't that busy but at night when you were asleep sometimes the planes would wake you up in the night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Ca

Paul
Not nice
6 years 3 months ago
We arrived in 2008 a year before closure it wasn't nice at all the park was rundown moss all over the complex wall the fashion shop wasn't nice it was horrible. The accommodation was OK it did stink when we arrived but it was OK we went in club the best apartment not the best it was filthy on the carpet i just didn't like the accommodation.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Car

Tracy
12 years 2 months ago
I am most disappointed in the attitude shown by Pontin's to their customers. I booked a family weekend in Pontin's Blackpool in October, to avail of the facilities, and see the illuminations. After paying the booking deposit, booked non refundable air fares. Pontin's contacted me to say the weekend was now going to be for over 55's, and cancelled my booking. Although I got a refund on the deposit, this was only after a considerable number of calls to their call centre. Despite 2 letters I remain significantly out of pocket due to the air fares I have incurred, and they refuse to accept any responsibility towards me, despite their decision to cancel a family booking to concentrate on a more niche market
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Pontin's

Lisa
12 years 2 months ago
just returned from a 4 night stay in pontins blackpool after reading several bad reviews we were very worried at what it was going to be like to my surprise it werent all as bad as expected dont get me wrong it aint the ritz but the food was really nice with plenty to choose from the entertainment was quite dissapointing though it was ok but thats it nothing spectacular the rooms are very basic but was clean and had fresh bedding the main bar was full every night so being a family of 11 struggled to get seated even from as early as 6.30 and when we did finally find seats we couldnt see a thing what was going on it is all very basic but depends on what you are looking for in your holiday the location aint bad and there is plenty do do in blackpool itself but i think if your looking for staying onsite its not ideal but for a place to stay and your meals included its good we enjoyed our stay but couldnt stay for a long break its not a touch on butlins we wont be returning as it isnt ideal for familes with different ages reasonable site great tasting food just not enough to do to keep you there or make you return unfortunately.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked online

Ann Conlan
12 years 3 months ago
The apartments are filthy and smelling of dampness.
The entertainment was rubbish what was advertised was not what was on the guests did all the entertaining the blue coats did nothing!!!!!!!!!!
On the subject of advertising more like FALSE advertising we were told we would get
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: family

John Downes
12 years 6 months ago
Pontins Blackpool.
After waiting nearly an hour just to book into reception because of shortage and incompetancy of staff we were very disappointed and annoyed with the state of the chalet that we were given. It was absolutely filthy.. Anyone who gives this place a good review must have very low standards. The carpet was disgusting. The matresses were very old and smelt musty which I must admit was an improvement on the ones that were stained with urine at the Pontins Brean Sands Camp that we stayed at a few years ago. The sheets had holes in them. The bedside cupboard had no drawers in it, they were missing. The walls were very dirty and marked. The skirting boards hadn't been cleaned in months and were covered in dust. The windows were so dirty that it was impossible to see through them. There was no sound proofing between the chalets and you could hear everything going on next door including hearing them in the toilet. The whole camp is run down and dismal and could do with bulldozing and being rebuilt. We definately wont be going there again!

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: self drive

Recommended
Jack
12 years 6 months ago
Visited this location as part of a football weekend for youth football - teams participating had option of staying at 3 locations.

This location was very poor, run down chalets and not very clean.

I can not believe people would actually pay to go on holiday to this camp as it looks like something from the 1960's - trust me no work has been done since the 60's!

Food was not that bad however the bar areas were poor as they were not well resourced both in terms of staff and drink - they kept running out of certain beers.

Summary - close the place down and re-build if Pontins wish to capture the UK market but they are years behind the developments by Butlins
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: n/a

Stevenson
13 years 3 months ago
Have now visited pontins blackpool on 3 occasions and have already booked to go back in september. The camp in a little run down but this is made up by the fantastic staff and entertainment. My children aged 2 and 15 both had a great time with neither wanting to go home. The chalets are basic but clean. The food is served in a canteen type area with a wide choice to suit all. The bluecoats are fantastic, keeping the children amused with a wide variety of activities allowing you to relax a little.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: pontins

Recommended
Vernon Clay
14 years ago
When we arrived it was a huge dissapontment, no staff or characters to greet as promised, and from their it got worse. We went club but think we got basic, firstly the thermostat on radiators was broke, no heating with two babys. the sink was blocked, the shower broken, mould growing up the bathroom walls, my sons bunk bed slotted togther fell apart with him in it, no room for travel cot the baby slept in his pushchair, never had the room tidyed bin emptied, hoovered and then had my personal money stolen by cleaner. Food basic, staff ifronant, and the resturant staff spilt spaghetti on my baby in their rush to tidy whilst you were still eating.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: drove

Lauren
14 years 5 months ago
I have been going for the past five yrs now and find it a lovley place to get away to for a weekend or so. With the rooms you get what you see / paid for. the first few years the rooms were excellent however in my last trip the room was infested with ants, i cant say much was done about this to be honest. the food was excellent with lots of choice and variety every night differd. the staff i wasnt to impressed with, a few of the bar staff were okish, the pool staff were chatty and wernt rude like the others. the staff in the canteen were disgracefull. they were rude obnoxious and all you got was "you arnt speaking loud enough" or "thats all your getting" i must say the entertaiinment was good nine times out of ten there was something to do. bluecoats need to smile a bit more.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: private

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.