Image of Sol Kipriotis Village Resort Hotel

Sol Kipriotis Village Resort Hotel

7 of 7 hotels in Psalidi

3 out of 5 from 15 reviews
4 stars
PSALIDI, Kos 85300, Greece

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Johnson
Geared mainly to younger children
7 years 4 months ago
Good standard All Inclusive hotel. Mainly geared to families with younger children.

Very clean public areas and maid service good as well.

Disappointed that air conditioning was not available until mid June so we had to sleep with windows open and got bitten!

Good choice of food in the restaurants. Although there are a la carte restaurants these are just different buffet service restaurants.

If you are a beach lover you may want to try a different resort as Psalidi's beaches are not great.

The hotel is short bus ride away from Kos Town which is worth a visit, especially at night.

All in all an enjoyable break.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
9 years 1 month ago
We travelled out on 223rd July, i.e. high season. The flight was excellent as was the transfer. When we arrived at the hotel, we were very impressed with the speedy check in and tranfer to our room. We had a duplex room, which was OK but the 2 beds upstairs are reached by a very steep wooden staircase insuitable for our 3 and 5 year old. The room was very clean, but only had 5 coathangers for the 4 of us, the airconditioning was useless and blew out luke warm air. Our room had an old fashioned key for a lock and did appear to need a bit of updating, though the beds were excellent. The bathroom was a bit small but the towels provided were very new and clean, as were the sheets.

The food was plentiful and hot, but by the end of the fortnight did get a bit repetative, the Italian restaurant is nice, but the chinese no longer exists!

The beach is not ideal, very pebbly and the beach bar does not open until mid-day, it's a very long walk back for a drink.

We tended to stay round the Palmy pool where the kids cluns are, it is a bit quiter here, and the bar opens at 10 30. there are 3 kids clums, 2 Dutch which are run by tour operators and the hotel Kids blub. Our 5 year old absolutely loved the club, there were generally only around 3 or 4 childrfen in there and the staff were brilliant.

Sunbeds are hard to come by, towels are on from 5:30 am, so we had to join in, we got up at 6 to put the towels on, if you wanted ones by the pirate pool, ay 6 you would have had no chance!

The evening entertainment by the animation team was very good, the only disappointment being the Greek night, it was boring and our children hated it.

drinks are Ok but cocktails very limited unless you paid.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Docherty
9 years 10 months ago
On arrival to the hotel we were very impressed, the reception area was nice and clean and the reception staff very friendly, we were given our room keys and pointed in the direction of our room. They have a great conveyor belt to get your cases down a large flight of stairs and a mini bus then took us to our rooms which was great. On arrival the complex and the pool areas all looked nice and clean. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was nice and clean and stocked up with plenty of towels which were changed everyday by the maids. One thing with the room that we found disappointing was that on arrival we had some tea and coffee in the room and small bottle of wine and a bottle of water but the teas and coffee were never replaced, and for an all inclusive I do feel that this was a bit tight.
Food - well what can I say it was awful, in the whole 2 weeks that we were there we never had a hot meal,it was always luke warm if you were lucky. There are 4 restaurants that you can use, the main buffet, a italian, a greek and a chinese, the chinese is not included in the all inclusive, but while we were there it was never open. All the restaurants were very repetitive. The lunch time snack bar by the main pool was also the same, very repetitive. The one thing that was nice though was for the children the ice cream was self service from a freezer with either bowls or cones by the side, so the kids could get what they wanted when they wanted it which was nice. The bars alway had a good variety of drinks but they were running out towards the end of our holiday as it was the end of the season.
The pool areas had plenty of sun beds and umbrellas, but one thing again which I feel should be included on all inclusive was you had to hire your pool towels and these were a rip off. The main pool area was lovely and clean, and the boat with the slides was good fun. The indoor pool was dirty and not very nice, and the olympic pool area also looked nice and clean and again plenty of sun beds.
The majority of the hotel staff were nice but there was a couple of them that were not particularly friendly.
The hotel was mostly german guests so be prepared to be shoved around and they like to push in when there is a queue.
The entertainment was ok, the few reps that were left, because it was end of season, did try their best with beach volley ball, table tennis, water polo, darts. boules and archery. The evening entertainment was usually a kids disco, ok if you could sing in german, then bingo and then there was always more caberet after the bingo but we never stayed for this so I am not sure what this was like.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Dale
10 years 10 months ago
After reading a few of the reviews my girlfriend and I were a bit unsure what we would find.

On arrival I was very impressed with how clean everything was and although it was 5am all the staff were helpful and very polite, even though the bar had shut they opened it and got us both a drink!!

The whole complex is spotless and the staff work very hard cleaning it all day. The pools are clean and the pirate ship slides are good fun.

The food is fantastic, there is so much choice. You can tell that some is mass produced but the majority so is tasty and plently of it. There a four different restaurants to use on an evening (you have to pay for the Chinese) and they are all very well run and are worth visiting.

The drinks were good, a very broad range of drinks and the majority of bar staff were very friendly and happy to serve you especially the pool bar and the beach bar!!!

My girlfriend and I have travelled all over the world and stayed in a variety of places. This is one of the best. I suppose it would have been different if we would have visited during peak season as the complex was only about half full.

A lot of people have left negative reports and I think these people must have really looked hard for something to complain about or they were very unlucky. I would recommend the kipriostis holiday village to anyone and would not think twice about returning here!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: qwerttravel.com

Recommended
Emma C
11 years 1 month ago
This is the first time I have stayed All inclusive and will look to book AI again in the future.

The food was fantastic, plenty to choose from and lots of selection for everyone. With so much choice there was no need for anyone to go hungry.

The bars were another matter, it wasn't unusual to have to wait 15-25 minutes to get served, while other nations were queue pushing, shouting their orders over your head and getting served before you. The staff on the bars were OK, although they need to look up now and again to see who is getting to the bar first (A good barman knows the queue order!) In general there were just not enough staff at peak times. As for the kids, well they would go to the bar for a coke and get totally ignored while adults were given priority, they have just as much right to be served after all they have also paid there fee to be there.

The main restaurant was overcrowded as people waited for chips, the queue would be about 10+ deep due to the chip queue so it was difficult for non chip eaters to get to the other dishes (Although to be fair after a suggestion from a few others they solved that problem by moving the chips... what is it with chips?)although the rest of the food was very nice. The Greek resturant was the best, not as busy as the main resturant and the staff seemed more relaxed and friendly one up for the captain and his team. The Italian.... didn't have much Italian food in it other than pizza! We didn't try the Chinese, I had already paid to go AI so didn't fancy paying extra. The snack bar wasn't up to much 2 savoury snacks and sandwiches that were rock hard , a sandwich toaster would have been good. The ice cream was great though, kids had a blast!

The staff were friendly and the animation team were fantastic, I have never been one for kids clubs but my 2 insisted on going most days because it was so much fun, the did crazy golf, ball games, T-shirt painting, dancing, beach visits, swimming games and so much more. They also had plenty going on to keep the adults amused as well.

The rooms were clean but the air conditioning was awful, it blew out warm air! To the hotels credit, if you had a complaint with your room it was usually sorted within the hour.

The pools were nice, but not very child friendly (for the under 7's). The shallow pool was listed as 0.8 metres but in fact it was about 0.5 deep water in a pool about 1 metre deep with no steps in or out so my 4 year old had to be lifted in and out everytime she used it. The next pool was 1.20m deep with a ship that had 2 water slides- they were certainly fun. The 3rd pool was 1.4m - 2.3m deep.

There were beds crammed everywhere, it was ridiculas, I have never seen so many pool beds in my life jammed into such a small space, and god forbid if you wanted one in an area so you could watch the kids in the non child friendly pool, you had to be up at 5am, even though the hotel insists it has a no towels on bed policy!

There is a new pool area (the Palmy pool) which is not listed on any of the maps you get given which is nicer for the children but is based in the middle of the german kids club so is a bit off putting. There is a park area in the Palmy pool area for children which is the only park on the complex, the one in the brochure DOES NOT EXIST!

To sum it up, the hotel either needs to downsize the number of guests, or make the pool areas bigger and less cramped and employ more staff for the customers they have. It seems they have crammed in more people for more money but don't want to back it up by increasing the facilities.

This is not a hotel I will return to in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic Holidays

Recommended
Galina
11 years 2 months ago
I would not doubt if it turned out to be one of the worst hotels on the island:

1) the reception desk is very unprofessional; they keep you passport and credit card for 3-4 days to make a copy of them.

2) the rooms are in very poor condition: the air conditioning, the TV and the phone do not work in most of them (many of my friends stayed there at the same time as me, so we could compare our rooms).

3) the hotel is located on one of the worst beaches on the island (dusty, dirty, windy and very wavy) .

4) food is not good: breakfast is ok, but don't waste your money on all inclusive package, you would be much better off eating in any of the places outside of the hotel.

5) there is NO internet! they sell wireless card for 8 euros/hour, which you can use only in the lobby, and the connection proved to be very unstable.

On the positive side:

1) the maid service is excellent.

2) the hotel's location next to the town of Kos is very convenient (15 minutes bike rides, bikes are available everywhere for 4 euros a day).

3) the hotel has a conference center (probably, the only one on the island);

but even if you are coming there for the conference, you probably should consider staying somewhere else.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None

Jill Thompson
11 years 3 months ago
This was our first time for an all inclusive holiday and it definately won't be our last! The food was amazing and there were varied choices for everyone. The room was cleaned every day by pleasant and friendly staff. The hotel is very large with beautiful surroundings. There was plenty of entertainment especially for children with a brilliant animation team which got you to take part in various games throughout the day. There really was something for everyone. Having visited Greece on many occasions I was doubtful that the rating for the hotel would be adequate but I was pleasantly surprised. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff were very friendly and despite reading previous reviews that say you get treated differently because you have already paid being on all inclusive -I would definately have to disagree!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
T BENNETT
12 years 3 months ago
We have visited this hotel 4 times within the last 5 years and decided to change resorts last year and went to Crete, Crete was ok but nothing compared to Kipriotis and we booked to return this year.

I arrived back this morning . Before we went I was shocked to read the reviews on this hotel as we had been so many times and thought it was fantastic great service clean airy rooms great location and views within the complex the animation team were fantastic. What a difference a year makes this hotel is now only ai were as it used to be sc, hb and ai. Walking back in was great same great luggage service with luggage taken to your rooms for you via mini bus. Very beautiful reception area and grounds still as lovely.

We were a little disappointed with our room tiny terrace with views on to other peoples rooms, room needed a once over as ants and to my shock for the first time ever no towels. I did not want to complain so left it thinking that would be delivered the following day when the maid came in but no still no towels, I left it for two days and used my own beach towels but desperately needed clean ones, I told reception and they had towels delivered straight away.

The grounds are lovely but since ai sunbeds are quashed into every available space head to toe sunbeds so very little privacy and a nightmare trying to get into the pool or walk around.

The drinks are served in plastic cups understandable around a pool but drink and kid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MY TRAVEL

D Rawding
12 years 3 months ago
Being a well travelled family we were very surprised and shocked at how clean and comfortable this hotel was compared to previous we have visited. Especially for greece.

We had no ants, clean room and linen was changed every day.

The food was fine, you would not starve even for the fusiest of people. Breakfast was cereals, yoghurts,fresh fruit, cooked breakfast, (but ask for eggs to be flipped). Fruit juices water , teas,coffees, bread rolls.

Lunch was Barbecued grill. chicken.pork,veal,turkey with an abundance of fresh salad , chips rice potatoes etc.

The resturaunt Greek was Fab but you have to book.
Italian was Fab but you have to book,
Chinese was a la carte and a waste of money as you have to pay a supplement.

The animation team were awesome and try very hard to involve everyone. This will definately make your holiday, we recommend you all hit the ampitheatre every night especially if you have children.

because this is International Hotel there are very many different nationalites booked here. we have to keep an open mind to the food selection , entertainment selection and mix with everyone.

Push bike hire 2 days 7 euro. 3 km from Kos Town. Fantastic!

I will definately return here next year, i just hope they keep the same staff.



Missing them all already!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Lyn Caple
12 years 10 months ago
We had read all the reviews, but decided to give the place the benefit of the doubt. On arriving we were pleasantly suprised on the general appearance of the place, it looked really nice with beautiful gardens and a spacious, airy reception.

The room was damp and it smelt fusty, the only ventilation was the patio door, obviously that can only be left open when you are in the room (as little as poss!). The resort is geared for AI, so people like us on half board get looked down upon for some reason. A lot of the clientele is Dutch, often quite rude to the poor staff, so we made an extra effort to be polite to them as they do work very hard. This proved to be hard work, apart from a barmaid called Zaira, who always looked after us. Thanks hun, you made our week just about bearable.

The food was quite bad, we went out to eat most of the time and only had breakfast there once or twice, preferring to buy cereals and milk and eat in our room.

There were dogs wondering around the complex, very friendly and well looked after, but not what you want to see on holiday simply because of the deposits they leave behind, and they drank the pool water. I'm glad I didn't use the pool at all! We gave it our best shot, but will never go back to Kipriotis again.

I really don't know how they get away with listing it as a 4* superior.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum