Image of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Mellieha Bay Hotel

7 of 8 hotels in Mellieha

3 out of 5 from 32 reviews
4 stars
Marfa Road, Mellieha MLH 9065, Malta

32 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
P.foster
Basic rooms, cold food, unhelpful staff
9 years 9 months ago
We stayed at Mellieha Bay Hotel in August 11. First impressions were of the disorganisation and lack of information.

The room was OK but the bathroom was not up to modern standards for a 4 star accommodation. We found the restaurant clean but the buffet food was poor, sometimes cold and mostly overcooked with a repetitive menu for breakfast, lunch and evening meal. The restaurant staff were unhelpful and not welcoming.

Reception service was unhelpful, often unable to answer questions and asking for us to return later to speak to other staff who were also unhelpful,

The hotel has rules/standards posted in various places but did not seem to be bothered if guests kept to them. After a few days we noticed that some of the activities were on but it seemed a bit hit and miss. Although there was entertainment it was very samey and a bit dated on a plus the views are fantastic. The location is not far from the village.

We would not book here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
G Davies
All in all a good holiday!
10 years 2 months ago
Over the last 18 years we have stayed at this hotel and have enjoyed every minute of the 4 weeks stay early in the Spring. This was the first All Inclusive at the Mellieha Bay - due to the high price of everything in Malta generally, I think we had a very good deal!

Over the years music provided in the lounge on Thursday evenings and the dance band on a Saturday night in the Limelight room has been good however it is now something to be missed as the volume is turned up to maximum and despite complaints from guests it still maintains the crash, bang, wallop,that defies any listening or relaxation factor you require to enjoy a quiet holiday. We are even considering not going in 2012. Fortunately Friday night with Johnny Gee (country singer) plays at a sensible level and guests flock to the lounge to hear him play.

All in all a very good holiday, worth the money but beware of the crash, bang, wallop music!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Robert Hird
Did not disappoint, a must see
10 years 8 months ago
Have looked at the Mellieha Bay Hotel for many years and at last got the chance to visit. It did not disappoint. The rooms could do with a bit of smartening up, but other than that were fine. The necessary air conditioning was fantastic, cool and quiet.

The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed as you required. The food was excellent and the choice was vast. All rooms have sea views over the bay. Will definitely return one day.
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
NK Taylor
12 years 1 month ago
This hotel although a little from the 70's, was great for a relaxing holiday. Not very expensive and the views are brilliant. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms cleaned daily, bathrooms on the small side, but OK.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Moores
12 years 2 months ago
The Hotel overall is clean. The food is OK, not as good as 25 years ago when I first went and it was all wiater service. The loacaton of the hotel is great for the view and being out of the way, but is not ideal for people who like to walk out at night and visit bars, the prom is poorly lit. I find that entertainment is a personal thing, depends what you want. During the day there is the option to get involved or not. At night you can sit in the the lounge and listen to the piano, go into the limelight lounge and watch the entertainment, or sit on the balcony and admire the view. As I have been going to the MBH on and off over the past 25 years, I would still visit it again in another 2/3 years. The staff and views are what make this hotel, but how long can they keep it going.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Patrick Keaveney
12 years 4 months ago
We spent a Month in this Hotel ( Christmas and New Year ). We had a wonderful time, thanks to Management and Staff who went out of their way to make the Festive season a great success. The food was truly festive, and a good quality.
The Hotel, although somewhat isolated, is magnificently situated in the Bay,and set in a superb garden setting. The Hotel, and the Rooms are now becoming in need of some updating, although always clean. The Food is good, and with a with a fair choice. I would recommend You do not pay extra for the view, as We found the ground floor terrace superior. Would We go again ?. Yes without any hesitation. Although I would hesitate to recommend it to anybody with walking disability.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Holidays

Recommended
Mrs Carpenter
12 years 4 months ago
The hotel was situated in a lovely bay great views. The staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms were cleaned daily although the bathrooms are tired and in need of refurbishment but overall the accommodation was good and comfortable. Would definitely visit this hotel again. I would recommend that you hire a car because there is a lot to see where the buses cant get do and it gives you the independence to see this lovely place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Teds
12 years 6 months ago
This was our 7th visit to this hotel, each time we have noted its decline. it started badly we arrived at 3 in the morning,had booked 2 connecting rooms and when we got to them one had not been cleaned. The food used to be served hot with a great choice, not any more, warm and not the selection. what happened to the fresh fruit its all tined now. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Where has all the regular entertainers gone from the limelight lounge.We say bring back Law Grey, julie James, and johnnie Gee, Come on MBH GET YOU ACT TOGETHER you are loosing cutomers. the best thing here is the locaton it has fantastic views. Which is why we keep going back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Hindes
12 years 7 months ago
Just returned from the Melleiha Bay hotel - our 4th time there. We love the hotel, especially the pool areas (3 pools). Beautiful gardens, food was good, with plenty to choose from. The staff were friendly. We thought the hotel bathrooms could perhaps do with updating though, but everything was kept spotless by the cleaning staff. Definitely will go yet again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Wells
12 years 11 months ago
Been here before 5 years ago. The hotel has been updated, is much nicer. The views are brilliant and location although quiet suited us as a family. We sat on the balcony (yes they are small) with a good book.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.