Image of Seabank Hotel

Seabank Hotel

6 of 8 hotels in Mellieha

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
4 stars
Marfa Road, Mellieha Bay MLH9063, Malta
Set against a backdrop pf hills, overlooking the sandy beach, this hotel appeals to all guests. The resort centre og Mellieha is only 1km away and a comprehensive range of amenities can be found locally, including a PADI diving school.

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Theresa Roarty
Great for families and couples.
7 years 6 months ago
The Seabank Hotel is a fantastic place to stay in. The hotel staff were all very friendly and easy to communicate with. Our accommodation was modern with the added extra of safe, fridge, coffee & tea making facilities, hairdryer and air con all included. The meals in all the restaurants were way above average, being freshly cooked constantly and very hot. A large and varied cold selection with plenty fruit and tantalizing desserts. Red/white/rose wines, lager, water, juices, tea & coffees all on tap too. Pool towels could be hired for a refundable 10 Euro deposit. Although we did not use the spa, comments from others in the hotel said they were very enjoyable. Large outdoor pools (with an adults section only), an indoor poor and a baby pool with play area. Our whole all inclusive experience was way above previous all inclusive hotels we have stayed. Thank you so much Seabank for a fantastic holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Hotel tip: 3rd and 4th floors all have great views.

Recommended
Claire
Great for families, lovely hotel
9 years 3 months ago
I would return here tomorrow. The hotel is newly refurbished and immaculate. Pools are great, as are the rooms. Choice of restaurants is good; however service is slow in the ones odd site. Staff are very helpful and accommodating.

We went on our first family holiday with our 2 year old. It was lovely and very stress free staying here. Pools are lovely for children but the bottom had been recently resurfaced and was very rough. No chance of falling over but made the little ones feet very sore!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
11 years 5 months ago
I thought we had submitted a report not long after returning home, obviously not !!!

The Seabank has been a RIU hotel for a few years now and this brand name is indication that decent standards will be met.

The Seabank is a good package deal hotel which merits 4 Star because of the heated indoor swimming pool, beauty parlour and bowling alley etc. Air Con in rooms is another plus although it was hardly needed in April.

We were there in low season so it was quiet, however there was daily "animation" from the resident activities duo for guests that way inclined and decent enough evening entertainment in the usual form of local semi professional singing acts.

The rooms were large enough, clean and well appointed.

The food was good (we are relatively easy to please) and a fair selection to cater for most tastes.

The outdoor pool is kidney shaped and big enough without being too extensive - plenty of sunloungers with foam covers. Can't comment on how it would be in high season though.

Half the large sun umbrellas were well past their sell by date and due for replacement, although this wasn't an issue during our stay as the hotel was far from full, especially when the flight restrictions kicked in.

The weather was pleasantly hot most days, without becoming unbearable as it usually does in July and August around the Med.

There was a daily happy hour in the late afternoon which suited me as they brew British style pale ale in Malta (a relic of Empire !!!) on draught. It was overpriced during regular bar price hours, but a fair deal during HH.

We "suffered" the volcanic ash delay - but Thomas Cook were 24 carat and kept us in the same room on the same board basis for the extra 4 days.

The hotel is at the south end of Mellieha Bay with a very few bars and shops close by. There is a fine beach right across the road and bus stops on either side with a very regular and plentiful bus service.

The Seabank produces its own easy to follow local bus guide based on the services which pass the hotel - this was REALLY helpul. You can go anywhere on the island using two buses - one to Valetta, which has a hugh bus station and is the hub for routes all across the island. Fares are very cheap, the vehicles are ancient museum pieces and an adventure in themselves - mind and have the right money though.

The unservicable parasols aside, we couldn't find a significant fault with the Seabank, although as I said earlier we don't expect the Ritz or the Waldorf Astoria in a standard tourist hotel - and we don't aspire to a part time career in finding trivial and easily resolved faults in hotels.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
M Vickers
12 years 7 months ago
Hotel car park gravel/mud so park on road in wet weather. Foyer and reception very dark and forboding but reception staff pleasant and courteous. Rooms ok but could be cold as heating seemed to be limited to morning and evenings. Choose a land/pool view room in winter and get the sun, seaview rooms on road side so could be noisy as road is main route to Gozo ferry. Restaurant buffet service and as with all Riu hotels has 2 sittings and allocated tables at dinner.
Breakfast ok as long as you don't turn up at 09.00 then very full and queues. Food ok and variety good but invariably cooked food only warm and never managed to get a good fried egg. Dinner horrendous. Since everyone turns up at the same time you queue for everything. Tried waiting till queue subsided and food gone or cold. Salad bar fairly extensive but contained more Maltese food than normal and sweets selection fair. Waiting staff insufficient so long wait for drinks and table clearing. This is the worst Riu restaurant I have ever eaten in. Pool area ok if you like cats. We counted 10 one day. Heated indoor pool invaded by locals at weekends but this applies to all Maltese hotels.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: none

Mr & Mrs Davies
13 years 4 months ago
We booked this hotel on the internet, for 1 week b&b.

The room that was initially allocated did not have a view as such ,its view was into a light well and felt a bit dark and dull, the room it's self was fine. We asked to be reallocated with a pool view, this they did

with no hesitation. Reception and hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is a buffet style with plenty of choice, can't fault the food.

Room cleaned every day along with clean towels, there was plenty of sun loungers and parasols at this time (May)Can't comment on evening food or entertainment as we used restaurants and bars local to the hotel.

Managers on hand in the dining room and everything was smoothly run.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Julia
13 years 11 months ago
The room we had was a sea view,which was excellent,very spacious,and clean,lovely to have the sea breeze.
The buffet choice was excellent,freshly cooked,variety of childrens meals.Themed nights were a hit.
The staff we so friendly and helpful.Loved the children.The animation team for the children and adults were friendly,and had lots to do.even when weather a bit windy,all were entertained.
The indoor pool and spa was lovely,felt very luxurious.Bowling was good,pool tables.
Mariners bar was good for watching sport,again staff were very friendly.Fantastic hotel,made holiday better.Would definately recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Byan
14 years 1 month ago
Having been visiting Malta for the last 25 years and mainly staying on the south of the island we decided to try the Seabank. I was very impressed. Pool clean and fresh water, pool bar for snacks open all day. Animation team for pool games and look after the smaller children. Evening entertainment good, where you can sit in the bar with waitress service for drinks and not have to shout over the music. For the more lively entertainment a pub bar downstairs with wide screen TV. Internet cafe for children and full size bowling alleys, Games room etc.
I shall be booking again for next year without a doubt.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Going Places

Recommended
14 years 3 months ago
Once again, I have just returned from this friendly, well run hotel. A few changes have been made to the pool area this year. More sun beds, a kids club room. We made use of the Atraum this year(An in-door swimming pool with jacuzzi) which was a welcome break to get out of the sun. A lot more Germans than british, which gets a bit annoying but......We will definatly be returning here for a weeks break again next year, we just cant get enough!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
15 years 4 months ago
Just returned home after staying at this hotel for the 4th time. The hotel is so friendly, its just like returning home!

The food, the entertainment, the staff, everything was fantastic! even the pool that I mentioned in an earlier posting has improved. My son did not develope an ear infection this year!

The only down side was the amount of Germans that were there but god gave us elbows and we had to use em!

We will definatly be returning next year, just love it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Michael
15 years 8 months ago
We have just arived back from the hotel seabank.
I have been to Malta three times before and wanted to stay at this hotel.

The Seabank is a well run hotel with a lot of facilities especialy the health club which my wife used the gym and sauna plus the indoor pool.

We had to pay for the safe deposit and tea and coffee tray, but has the tour companys knock down the price for the say the hotels have to get there money back someway.

The bed room was furnished to a good standard and the bathroom was also a good size, hairdryer safe fridge tv heating/ac plenty of wardrobe space.

The restaurant was also very good, there was plenty of choice and the food was not cold. they operate a two sitting at diner we were on the late one at 7.30pm.

There is a free bus to Bugibba at 10.00 every day you have to book in advance.
I do not go on holiday to be entertained at night but in the bar there was a different group on most nights which were good also there are some daytime activities also.

The hotel is across the road from the beach a great view the only downside is the hill which takes you into Mellieha my wife christened it cardiac hill but you can always catch a bus up to the top. There a few bars and restaurants close bye.

The staff are very helpful and friendly.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.