Image of Panorama Hotel

Panorama Hotel

8 of 8 hotels in Mellieha

3 out of 5 from 25 reviews
Triq Dun Belin Azzopardi, Mellieħa MLH, Malta
Secluded, high upon a rocky ridge, small wonder so many guests return to the Panorama. As its name suggests, it enjoys fine views of Mellieha bay, its sandy beach and sun-hazed, surrounding landscape, (with views of neighbouring islands Comino and Gozo).

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Simon Thould
A big con, for older, single travelers.
7 years ago
Booked twin room with sea view for sole use but on arrival was given a single internal room with no outside window. Complained to manager who was disinterested and to tour rep next morning and was moved to a side room with a sea view only obtained by leaning out over the balcony rail at 90 degrees to right.

Food awful, feral cats roaming the poolside, unsmiling staff and very poor decorative condition. Complained to maltadirect on return who admitted they knew of the bad single rooms, but are still happy to take your money and collude with this 'bait and switch' scam. WOULD ADVISE NOT TO USE MALTADIRECT NOR GO TO THIS HOTEL IF YOU ARE A SINGLE TOURIST.
Location:

Travel operator: Maltadirect

Hotel tip: Avoid this place like the plague!

Hulme
If Carlsberg did hotels this would probably be the worst in the world.
10 years 7 months ago
Food is awful, it was so bad we went looking for a nice local restaurant, even though we are all inclusive, couldn't find one we would even consider within 3 miles.
The decor shabby and very dated, staff unfriendly and you could not call the swimming pool a pool more like a large bath.

Access via single road, cars parked making you reverse out uphill onto a main road. Only thing I can advise anyone is avoid this hotel at all costs.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Craig Beck
Worst hotel I have ever stayed in
10 years 8 months ago
I am a business traveller so I have a varied experience of hotels around the world. I am my own boss so I always go for value and as such I am quite used to dealing with basic rooms. I am pretty easy to please, as long as the air conditioning works and there is Wi-Fi I will put up with pretty much everything else.

The inland view room I paid for consisted of a damp, dirty smelling tiny box room with two tiny windows. The first looked out onto the fire escape and the other onto the heating ducts, no outside light came into the room.

The hotel had provided ONE wire coat hanger so I could hang up ONE shirt, presumably I was supposed to dump the rest of my clothes on the floor.

The air conditioning didn't work and the staff didn't care, presumably once they have your money that's job done.

Seriously this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, if I can do the human race one good deed it would be that you take my advice and avoid this hotel at ALL costs
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
M Jackson
10 years 10 months ago
The fabulous views from the hotel are probably worth the less than perfect experience of staying there.
General decor is shabby and dated. Air conditioning didn't work, but was provided with a fan. Bare wires hanging out from the missing light fitting above the mirror, bedside light only worked on one side. Only one plug socket in the room which was sited under the dressing table unit and too low down to use a kettle or iron comfortably.
I was also slightly disappointed with the manner of the owner and some of the staff who seemed to treat guests as a necessary inconvenience.

However on the plus side, plenty of hot water, clean towels every day and bed linen changed every other day. Room was cleaned to a high standard. Bed comfortable and - if the balcony door was kept shut to mute the feral cats' nightly sing song, with the local dogs as backing track - not a bad night's sleep to be had.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Chevron

Janet & David Broadbent
11 years 10 months ago
This hotel is rated 3 star in the Bellair Brochure - it would not in our opinion achieve a 1 star in the UK.
The food was appalling with liberal use of tinned and frozen vegatables. The menu included food such as breaded haddock and sprouts, beef and horseradish sauce and Pizzas composed of huge dollops of melting Chedder and Stilton cheese. With 30C degrees of heat outside this we felt was inappropriate!
The dining room was filthy. Plastic tablecloths not wiped between sittings, chairs that if you leant your back against them you stuck to them. The kitchen looked as though it needed a good clean.
On our arrival the toilet in our room was leaking, the curtains fell apart, the shower head was faulty and the air-con did not work for the duration of our stay. The only thing going for the hotel was the view.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Bellair

Peter
11 years 11 months ago
panoramic views as the name suggests. full views across the bay. clean hotel , food was adequate.set on top of the hill , not for the infirm. having said that the bus service down to the beach is very reliable and cheap.
the staff are friendly.. entertainment is basic.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: alpha rooms

Gosling
12 years 8 months ago
We were promised a front sea view, we actually had a side room, admittedly you could see the sea but only by looking at an angle. The room was much smaller than we could have imagined. It was dirty and had a strange smell. The matress was stained and the sheets did not fit. We had a choice each night did we want our feet to touch the dirty mattress or our heads! We had a large colony of ants in the shower. The air conditionong made an awful noise but did not actually work. We spent many an hour opening and shuutting the door, turning thr fan on and off. We complained over a numbers of days. Finally a man appeared to fix it looked at it said it was not his problem.

About three days in to the holiday we asked for another room which we got the next day.

Food choice poor, no vegetarian option, very little fruit. A very poorly looked after and run hotel. The food was very salty.

When the room above used their toilet we often enjoyed the smell. It came into our room.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: belair

Patsy Shuttlewood
12 years 10 months ago
My husband and I have just returned from a 10 night stay and had a lovely time. We found our room clean, towels were changed when required and the staff are so helpfull and friendly. The breakfast was adaquate and hot. The views are spectacular and if you are looking for an informal friendly hotel I would recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Alpharooms

Recommended
Mrs G Hill
13 years ago
Hotel had a brilliant view, but appeared outdated and run down (tired). In it's day it was probably the best. The room had plastic patio chairs, rubber curtains and a balcony door which did not lock. The towels which were white and clean were so thin you could almost see through them and the sheets were the same. Only TV channels in bedroom were Italian, although sky was available downstairs. For an English speaking country this did not seem acceptable. Staff were very helpful, but the reception area was scuffed and old looking. the entertainment was very basic. There was very little choice with breakfast and the evening meal looked very bland. It would only rate a 2 star as far as we are concerned until improvements made, which would not take too much in outlay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Bellair, Malta

13 years 8 months ago
we have been going to malta for many years and stayed at the panorama this time we are all in our fifties and like a noise free enviroment the hotel has seen better days fixtures and fittings were in a poor state of repair food was at best mediocre a deposit of ten lira was required for a grubby kettle evening entertainment was best avoided much better to go and sit with the locals at the sea view bar down the street,however the upside are the hotel views which no one can dispute there are non better, we will not be returning to this hotel, its the santana for us next year (again)though we will be at the sea view to see the lovely donna
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: malta direct

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.