Image of Luna Holiday Complex Hotel

Luna Holiday Complex Hotel

1 of 8 hotels in Mellieha

4 out of 5 from 23 reviews
3 stars
Triq Il-Marfa, Mellieħa, Malta

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
EDNA STEEDMAN
Didnt enjoy
9 years 4 months ago
We arrived here on the 19th June 2012, the temperature was 38 C, we tried to get air conditioning to work, we went to the reception the next day and were told that we had to pay 10 Euros per night, you would think this would be in the price, and we were not told this was an extra charge when we booked the holiday.

The room was stifling even with the air conditioning, as we were above the laundry room. The room was very basic, the bed and pillow were very lumpy. It was clean enough, but that was it. The hotel looks out onto a busy road.

In other words, never again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
And There Were
Awful and very dissapointing
11 years 3 months ago
Extremely disappointed with this hotel. The only good point was the rooftop pool, but even that, completely unsupervised, one of it's many down points.

We had asked for a one bedroom apartment as apparently these have a separate room, and with a 15-year-old daughter this was essential. However, we got a studio apartment so that meant absolutely no privacy, but that matter is subject to a complaint so I won't say too much. We were offered a two-bedroom apartment though I had read of how bad they were, and we'd only get it if we shelled out another £200+.

The apartment itself was ridiculous, much like the two-bedroom ones in that the equipment was antiquated with a leaking fridge. The beds were badly stained and extremely uncomfortable, the shower dirty and dank.

Maid service was once every four days which meant we only got our towels etc changed just once! The reception area is lovely, but that's about it. The supermarket is accessible via tunnel where the bins are kept and it's stinking, though the Supermarket and it's staff are very helpful and friendly.

The ground level pool is small and not the cleanest, the roof top one always sunny but both unsupervised so regularly we had other residents behaving very badly and endangering others by ignoring the no diving or inflatable signs (it was only a metre or so deep).

The food was a joke to be honest, served by the poolside from barely half-a-dozen metal trays and they served so the amounts were meagre to say the least. Twice food was served inside in the inadequately sized breakfast area with similar distribution. One or two things happened which made you think certain people were getting preferential treatment that was disappointing.

My daughter is vegetarian, and we had to buy her food elsewhere on five out of seven nights as there was nothing but pasta for her to eat. We were offered pizza once, but that's hardly acceptable. You could have had chips but they only ever seemed available if you paid for them.

The biggest joke was the "entertainment". Twice different blokes turned up with a keyboard. Very disappointing.
Location:
Leelaka
12 years 1 month ago
The hotel facilities were nice, such as pool area and reception. The rooftop pool was very nice, with good views. The staff were generally friendly and the location was great, if not a little quiet at night.

However, the condition of the two bedroom apartments, which are a separate block at the back of the hotel, was terrible - dirty, rusty and not at all suitable to cook family meals. We even had a gas leak.

I can only assume the mixed reviews depend on which rooms / appts you are staying in, as ours were terrible. Perhaps the smaller, more expensive "superior" rooms are better.

The condition of the kitchen area in particular was disgusting. The hob and ancient kettle was dirty and rusty. the table top micro/grill barely worked and was useless for family meals. The fridge could not keep food cold.

The room does not come with air-conditioning. Free-standing fans were available, but we had to "hire" extras from the hotel to get sleep at night.

I would not recommend the 2 bed appts to anyone. Also they are a separate part of the hotel without a lift, which means dragging bags and childen up several flights of stairs. We did see cockroaches around the hotel and in my sisters apartment which was above ours.

Evening entertainment was generally poor and repetitive. Not really suitable for familys - not offensive, just rubbish.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Timothy
13 years ago
hiya i have stayed at the luna 5times also bein to malta 6times love the place & will be back again next year
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Eve
13 years 1 month ago
These apartments are quite basic but in an excellent location...only few minutes walk from beach.

Roof top pool is excellent.there are plenty of lovely restaurants a few minutes walk from the apartments.we stayed in an apartment with country views and thought it was beautiful.

There is a lot of traffic but it did not keep us awake at all. We couldnt complain at all and will definatly return.

As for the comment comparing the complex to something in a third world country that is totally ridiculous and whoever posted it has obviously never been to a third world country, and is somewhat ignorant to the conditions in which these people are forced to live in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
CHANTELLE
13 years 3 months ago
Luna apartments ...more like loony apartments !

The hotel was dirty and the resort was painstakingly boring!

There is nothing to do apart from watch Johnny the gopon singing every night.

The entertainment is on a 1 week rota and so you have to listen to them twice if you are on a week stay so on and so forth.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: goign places

14 years ago
We booked a studio apartment for 1 week at the end of Sept through E-bookers. As we got a good deal on the price we weren't expecting much, a basic room which is exactly what we got - the sofa was ripped and falling to pieces, the bathroom was grubby with the tiles & grout coming off and the beds were soft and lumpy. We could cope with this because you generally get what you pay for.

However the room was uncomfortably hot because it was next to the service shafts and the fridge was so old and inefficient that it actually heated the room up! We were also on the 2nd floor overlooking a busy road so it was very noisy, especially as we had to leave the balcony door open to try and cool the room down. There are better rooms with air conditioning and a sea view but we've no idea what they're like and are probably worth paying extra for if you did desperately want to stay at the Luna.

There are much better hotels to choose from in Mellieha for a similar price (e.g. the Pergola Hotel or Riviera Hotel where we stayed for the 2nd week). It is definitely worth paying a little more for a 4* hotel (bearing in mind that Malta overrates their hotels by at least a * compared to the UK)

The Luna buffet breakfast lacked choice and wasn't very nice. The bread was slightly stale, the fried eggs (if you were lucky enough to get one) were cold and I found a scourer wire in mine! The staff weren't very helpful either, especially when we wanted to book a trip and the receptionist informed us that she couldn't dial out on her phone and said that we needed to call from our room (obviously wanting to charge us for this!)

To top it off the manager tried to charge us for breakfast when we'd already paid for it when we booked the holiday. He was distinctly unhelpful and insisted that we pay even though we showed him our booking details which clearly stated that breakfast was included. He then tried to deny knowledge of Ebookers and said that it was their fault. Obviously a mistake had been made somewhere but you'd think that a decent hotel would have honoured our booking and not made such a fuss about it. We even showed them the website which was still advertising the room with breakfast included. After this long unecessary argument he eventually was more reasonable and said that we didn't have to pay again.

Only good points about the Luna was the proximity to the beach (about 10 mins walk), the rooftop pool and a convenient mini-market on site.

ONE TO AVOID!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: E-bookers

M Williams
14 years 1 month ago
were cleaned every other day, along with a change of towels & bed linen.
The reception area & pool area's were spotless & well looked after; & there were always sunbed's available. (There were still some selfish people 'reserving' sunbed's with towels, although one day I saw a stack of towels behind reception, so they must have been taken off).
The food was not that good, & after having two meals in the hotel we ate out for the rest of time. Try the Latino restaurant at the Tunny Net Complex, approx 100 metre's down the road, a meal for 4 was approx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Leigh Family
14 years 1 month ago
We booked on self catering basis so I cannot comment on the full facilities at the hotel. As far as we were concerned the accommodation was excellent. We had 2 rooms for the 4 of us and we relieved they were directly opposite as our children had not had their own room before. Theirs was on the pool side and ours was on the roadside. Theirs was much quieter than ours as we had the passing traffic which we did not notice after the first night. Both rooms had ceiling fans which were badly needed as the temperatures were very high both day and night. The kitchen facilites were fine for what we needed (breakfast and snacks). The room was only cleaned once during our stay and we were only left one towel per person after the clean. It could have done with being twice during the week and 2 towels each as had been left for our arrival.
The evening entertainment was not to our taste at all and seating area was limited in the outside bar as the staff seemed intent on clearing away the chairs and tables as and when they were vacated by the diners leaving nowhere for anyone just wanting a drink to sit, so we didn't bother with it after the 2nd night. The entertainment was very loud but fortunately for our daughters finished on the dot of eleven every night so they could get some sleep.
There is a well stocked supermarket on site which seemed very busy whenever we went in. Parking outside for our rental car was ok but bit of a struggle at the weekend when we had to go searching around for space. Note of caution to park only in the direction of the traffic.Don't park the wrong way on the road, you will soon end up with a ticket!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked direct with hotel

Recommended
Barrett
15 years 1 month ago
Arrived at apartment late so couldnt get food and no shops were open so we managed to find a pizza place and brought them back to hotel.

First thoughts on rooms were basic with small balcony. we overlooked the sea which was nice.

Only a dining table with chairs in lounge so nothing comfy to relax on-and you could just fit 2 chairs on balcony - food was edible but like everything else quite expensive. Shower was dirty but worked fine-it blocked up after a few days but problem was sorted within the hour.

The staff were ok but nothing special.

Entertainment was for older folks either kareoke or country singers so nothing for kids.

Rooftop pool was fab but we all burnt it was so hot. Nothing much around area just a few bars -restaurants and 2 gift shops but we preferred this to the usual in your face stuff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.