Image of Estalagem do Cerro Hotel

Estalagem do Cerro Hotel

81 of 106 hotels in Albufeira

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
CERRO DA PIEDADE , 8200-161, Portugal
This recently refurbished hotel is stylishly decorated, with friendly staff and a wide range of facilities. This hotel will suit those looking for a more personal place to stay in Albufeira's Old Town.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Susan Mcbrdie
Quirky hotel - great place to stay.
5 years 3 months ago
The hotel is now actually called Do Cerro Hotel as they seem to have dropped the Estalagem. We were a family of 4 - 2 adults and 2 teenage boys. After reading previous reviews I was a bit sceptic about the hotel but once we arrived and got booked in I felt many of them had been extremely unfair - the hotel was really quirky - lots of nooks and crannies to explore with lots of various sun terraces.

We were half board and the food was fine - much the same as any hotel offering buffet type meals - I don't know what some people expect when the staff are catering for large numbers. Breakfasts were great and more that filling even for my two 18 year old sons.

The pool was lovely but if you wanted to go to the beach I would recommend making a day of it as sunbeds were 15 euros for 2 plus umbrella. walking down into old town/beach was fine - 10 mins - walk back around 25 taking in account steep hills but after a couple of days you got used to it. I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break and cleanliness was excellent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Lyn
9 years 6 months ago
We have just come back from a week at this hotel and I have to say we found it clean, the staff were all friendly and extremely hard working. The only down side to the week was the entertainment but having stayed in many hotels over the years we have never found the entertainment that good!!
The food is buffet style and we found that there was always plenty there (maybe because we were on the first sitting for the evening meal - they run different sitting times as the restaurant is not large enough to cope with everyone coming in at once)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Monarch

Recommended
Sarah Slater
10 years 2 months ago
we stayed at do cerro for 2 weeks half board. we had a sea view our room was nice and clean if you had a compaint it got dealt with pretty quick. we didnt really eat in much as it was like school dinners limted choice my advice eat out its cheap n theres lots of choice. The location is very hilly its about 5 to 10 mins to old town n beach. majority of the staff were friendly in particular maids the coffee shop man.I wolud stay again but only self catering/room only.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Tricia
10 years 3 months ago
although hotel a bit out of the way it was ok. cleanliness ok except the seagulls dirtying canopies at poolside which where never cleaned.the food was a discrace for it bieng 4star the breakfast was terrible, there was streaky bacon,boiled egg,scrambled egg, beans.if we wanted friedegg, or english sausage we had to pay extra, the fresh fruit was cut in half and going brown if u wanted fruit for breakfast to take to your room you got charged for it. they didnt cater for the normal tourist , the evening meals were just as bad it was not what 4star in any way. myself.husband,and daughter ate out nearly all of the time of the two weeks we where there.i would not recrommend it to anyone and will be making a formal complaint
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: firstchioce

Roger D
12 years 2 months ago
After reading some of the reviews from earlier holiday makers we were not expecting much,but we went with open minds and came to the conclusion that people expect 5 star, but only want to pay 2 star prices.

Yes the location is at the top of a very steep hill but we managed to walk into town every night and stagger back and we are all in our 50's.

Hotel is small and you will get lost in the corridors but it is very clean,staff are friendly and helpful, food is good even though the resteraunt is a bit cramped.

The resort is fantastic with plenty of nightlife to suite everybody. So if you have booked in at this hotel for a holiday don't worry about negative reviews,everything is in place here to have a great holiday.

My advice is to go expecting a good holiday, and I think you will.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: self booked

Recommended
Arthur Page
12 years 6 months ago
This is the worst hotel it has been my displeasure to stay in. Both my wife and myself could not wait for the weeks holiday to end.

The staff in general did not make the holiday a plesant one and the food was disgusting.

The hotel is situated near the top of a steep hill and overlooks the beach if you are lucky enough to get one of the very few rooms with a view, but the beach is a good ten minutes walk away and thirty minutes back with many a stop for a breather because of the steepness of the hills.
The swimming pool area is small with inadiquate amounts of sunbeds. (we were unable to get one all week), the pool itself was covered over with a low canopy and very clostrophbic.

The many rules of the hotel make you feel like a school child back in school.

One of the lifts broke down with an elderly lady and a young man in, the staff took fifteen minutes to come to their aid even though it was reported to the reception within seconds of the lift breaking down. The only good comment was the rooms were kept clean and the shower facilities very good.

Thank goodness we are now home, what a waste of money and holiday time, will not go there again ever even for free.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Jane
12 years 10 months ago
After reading the reviews I went with an open mind, However on arriving at the hotel we all got a very pleasant surprise. Admittedly the rooms are a bit dated but they were spotless.

The food was for us superb, although we did prefer the buffet nights as the choice was great. I am vegetarian and there was a meal cooked specially for me each night, a rarity on holiday!

The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them.

There was entertainment every night, which was unexpected. The parrot show was excellent!

Would definitely visit again, that hill was the only down side.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Chapman
13 years 2 months ago
Having asked for top floor - booking over a year in advance, we were placed on the ground floor. However, we were extremely pleased with our room. We had two bedrooms and a large patio area with a sea view. We did find one cockroach in our room but when we reported this to the rep the room was sprayed thoroughly that day and we didn't see any more, except running across the road!! It was very hot though so you do have expect this.

The food is OK but we have a very fussy 9 year old who only ate a handful of chips as there is not much choice on the waiter service days for children, either burger or fish fingers. We have had better food in a 3 star in Spain.

The staff including the waiters were a credit to the hotel as they were very pleasant.

The hotel is at the top of a very steep hill, although this seems like hard work especially in the heat or at the end of a long day/night, we found that there was little noise so this was a bonus. The old town at night is great, with plenty going on to keep the children entertained, entertainment in the hotel so it was better to walk into the town - takes about 10 mins.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
J Jones
13 years 3 months ago
The Hotel was clean and the staff were generally very helpful. But no wat is this a 4 Star Hotel. The brochure definately misled us.

The food was not too good. Fresh orange juice for breakfast would have been nice, for a 4 star Hotel this for us should have been provided as a matter of course.
The dining room was very small and Buffet times were often terrible trying to get round the other guests to find your meal.

We had a Portuguese night. A lady with an accordian. a male singer and four young dancers trying to swing each other round in this small space while we were trying to eat was no joke.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

German
14 years 6 months ago
The hotel is located up a steep incline at the back of the old town. As a result the views across the bay are spectacular.

Cleanliness is of a high standard and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.The food is served hot, and is home cooked. There is a wide variety and portions are of a good size.
Breakfast consists of a hot and cold buffet while the eveninmg meal alternates between waiter and buffet service on alternate evenings.
A portuguese evening is held once a week with entertainment in the restaurant, complimentary sangria and a carnation for each of the female guests.

There is entertainment in the bar each evening between 9 and 11 pm.

There is a swimming pool set in gardens and a seperate childrens pool. The pool has it's own snack bar and a games room and a TV room and library.

The hotel decor is idiosyncratic and interesting. There are a number of changes of level throughout the hotel. Some rooms in the main building have no lift access and one is reached by a spiral staircase.There is stair lift access to the dining room. There are several seating areas dotted about throughout the hotel. The rear building is reached by what turned out to be an imaginatively decorated tunnel which goes under the road and which has it's own water feature.It was a most enjoyable visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum