Image of Bayside Salgados Golf & Beach Apartments

Bayside Salgados Golf & Beach Apartments

91 of 105 hotels in Albufeira

3 out of 5 from 23 reviews
3 stars
Herdade dos Salgados, 8200-424 Albufeira, Portugal

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Robert Lee
good for couples & families
4 years ago
This was a good complex for anyone who likes to be away from lively resorts. All aspects of the complex were clean and all staff very friendly. Lovely poolside area only water was too cold to entice us in. studio very limited cooking facilities but could manage breakfast and snacks. TV only had 1 English Channel which was sky news. Walls quite thin and could hear neighbours but did not annoy us. Shower and bathroom adequate. Lots of hot water.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunsave

Hotel tip: on site restaurant was fine as was the bar next door. we stayed in a ground floor apartment which was quite spacious for a studio

Recommended
June Kay
Best holiday for years
5 years 7 months ago
My friend and I went to the Bayside in May 12 We were really worried after reading the reviews, however the owners had managed after a year of court battles to get the people who were in there running it out.

They had a mammoth job on their hands but with a new management team Luis Joseph and John and all new staff they worked day and night to get the hotel turned around. We enjoyed ourselves so much my friend and other people we met there went back in October for another 8 days. We had a really good time and if you’re willing to join in you will too.

It is a bit out of the way but there is a bus on a morning which will take you into Albefeiura at 10 am and bring you back at 3pm for 1.75 each way. Or if you want you can just book one way and get a taxi back whenever you want. I am just booking to go back again in May, they have been refurbishing the apartments and they are lovely, hopefully they will have them all finished by then. Reception area has had a makeover and it is a really nice place to stay.

Evening meals are reasonable and extremely good as well.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
June Kay
Great Hotel
6 years ago
My friend and I arrived at the Salgados worried after reading the reviews but were pleasantly surprised. The hotel had had problems with the previous management and had all staff had been totally replaced. They were working really hard to get the hotel back to its former glory. Louis the Hotel Manager was really good and helpful as were all the staff.

Our room was spotless with new mattresses, linen and curtains. Any little request was dealt with immediately.

The pool and pool area were excellent with plenty of comfortable sunbeds.

They are working hard on getting entertainment sorted but there was something on every night.

There is a small supermarket 2 minutes away and a larger supermarket 10minutes walk away. Both stores were very reasonably priced. There is a minibus shuttle that takes you into Albufeira at 10am and returns at 3pm It cost 1.75 euros each way but you could book one way and return in a taxi which cost us 10 euros.

All in all we had such a good time we are booking up again for a return trip and meeting up with other guests that we met there. I think as time goes on considering the changes the new management had made in a month previous to us arriving there this hotel will be even better.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Tina Adamczyk
Never go here
6 years 4 months ago
We arrived in the evening to be given a key with a 50 euro deposit on it. We were given directions across the grass, which was covered in sewage. The room was disgusting, the smell was awful of damp and mould, the beds were damp and filthy, the patio door fell off when we tried to open it, the water had been off for 4 days so the smell was terrible.

The apartments were out in the middle of no where! Thankfully we had a hired car, good job because we had to be moved to another resort in town before we became ill.

It was an absolute joke (but not funny) it spoilt my whole time in Portugal. I would never go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Kt
Disappointing!
7 years 2 months ago
Got there and very disappointed as in the middle of nowhere.

Went to room and stank of damp and mould. Beds were very damp.

There was a bus in to the Old Town which we used every day but they could do with putting a bigger bus on and more frequently; only runs twice a day.

I will definitely not be returning to this hotel again even if it was free.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mrs Brown
Rooms are very basic
7 years 5 months ago
We stayed here for 1 week and were not impressed by its location. The Hotel does offer a bus service which runs twice a day to Albufera but only picks up from Albufera once. We recommend you hire a car, as nothing is within easy walking/cycling distance.

The room we had was very basic; toasters and kettles can be hired at an extra charge per day. The bedroom stunk badly of damp/mould, and was quite nauseating, on a couple of occasions the apartment smelt of sewage.

The outdoor pool is covered in Winter but it is not heated, so don't worry about packing your swimwear.

The only entertainment was via a big screen either showing football or a Music channel.

The restaurant was quite expensive and only serves snacks during the day. Hot meals start at 6 in the evening.

Would we go again? The answer is No.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Batteries recharged
7 years 5 months ago
I holidayed with a good friend of mine in November 2010 for 2 weeks. We were looking for somewhere peaceful, with no schedule where we could just chill out in the warmth, for as little money as possible.

It is winter and the usual summer hubbub had quietened. Our apartment was perfect for the job, although could have done with a grill. Location is brilliant - Albufeira is huge and sprawling, much of it stuffed as full as possible with resorts, people within feet of you at all times - this was totally different, with space between the clumps of buildings, and a bit of nature around you.

The staff are lovely, and very obliging, I ate twice in the restaurant, the food was excellent and reasonably priced. Grocery shopping is limited to one small corner shop, and an adequate supermarket but is hideously expensive.

Entertainment is limited to televised football matches, rugby matches and karaoke! Instead of being entertained we did socialising and having conversations with other guests and we laughed all holiday. Refreshing change to the drudge of family life - batteries recharged!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Olly
8 years ago
Well I only read reviews regarding the hotel after booking the holiday for 15 lads to go on a stag do. The reviews were not appealing to say the least, they actually made one of the lads not bother going!! so only 14 of us went. On arrival we had to pay a deposit of 50 euros per room which I expected anyway being a group of drunken lads! However we received the deposit back with no problems on the last day and the staff even gave us a round of 14 pints on the last day for free!! even though they had received numerous complaints about us being noisy at early times in the morning.
The hotel was great! Clean, great pool, big and clean rooms. We had 4 to a room in a couple of rooms. And the staff, were fantastic. The hotel was definately more aimed at families, and it is certainly a hotel I would happily take a family to. The only problem was that alberfira was miles away. But 12 euro taxi is nothing! I havent rated the entertainment, as we were not there for any. But overall, all I can say is that the other comments are completely unfair, and obviously left by snobby, bitter wastes of time, that probably moan about their own reflection becaquse the person looking back at them is the un-successful, failure of a person their parents always said they were going to be! Top holiday!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: OntheBeach

Recommended
Mrs White
9 years 4 months ago
If you have any sense at all you will not go on holiday to this hotel.
Me and my husband went away to this hotel on the 4th december 2008 for a week for a lovely break together but we were wrong.
It is the worst place i have ever been on holiday all the staff were horrible, tghe food is very highly priced, the entertainment was rubbish, the rooms were dirty and i even had a worm in my sink (yes a worm) how bad is that, it really is the most unpleasent place i have ever been and it was a complete nightmare.
i know these coments are all bad but its the truth a bg waste of money please dont go here
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: co op travel

9 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from the bayside after a 3 week Christmas and New year break we stayed from the 17 December to 7 January.This is our second time staying at these apartments,
What can i say (Apart from the moaners who would find fault with ther own ---------) we had a great time
All the staff are pleasant from Claudia on reception to Ricardo in the bar.
Good maid service clean apartments good change of shets and towels.
Full kitchen facilities,good evening entertainment and the food is excellent,The christmas day meal was out of this world (spot on)
Great location 10/15 minutes walk to the beach depending on how fast you walk,lots of pubs cafes etc around if you take the time and trouble to look for them. Overall a very good holiday
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum