Image of Paladim Aparthotel

Paladim Aparthotel

46 of 105 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Rua do Municipio 1, 8200 Albufeira, Portugal

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
NIcole Barrow
7 years 9 months ago
We stayed at the Paladim for two weeks recently.First impressions were that the property was clean, mostly well maintained and pleasant enough to stay in. We like to do our own thing so weren't bothered by the lack of entertainment here but thought I'd mention it for the benefit of potential travellers who like to base their holiday around their accomodation. The property is rated 4* but I would only rate it 3*. The main thing that let the place down (for us)was the limited space in the grounds. Maybe this wouldn't have mattered if we had travelled low to mid season but this was high season. The pool is a good size but there is not much space around it for sunloungers etc, speaking of which, we only managed to secure one once in the entire two weeks we were there! We didn't mind lying on the limited grassed area but quite often the ground was damp from the sprinkler system and our towels ended up filthy. The hotel operates a 'no reserving sunbeds with towels' policy and claims that the pool area is closed between 8 and 9 am each day for cleaning with the empty threat that any towels found on loungers between these hours will be removed. What tosh! Most days every lounger was reserved with towels by 8am but you rarely saw more than half a dozen people occupying them until about lunch time. To summarise, the Paladim is pleasant enough, resonably well located but the grounds are much too small to accomodate guests when the hotel is full. I would consider staying again out of season but not while it's busy. There is a decent games room for those travelling with older children but nothing for very young children and once again, there isn't much space in the grounds for them to have a good run around.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Sonia & Sam
9 years 7 months ago
We stayed in studio's at the Paladim. The studio's were well spacious but cluttered with unnecessary furniture. The maids came 6 times a week and did a really good job. The only complaint I could make is the beds. One was the sofa and the other was a bed that pulled out from under neath which squeaked every time you moved. The pool was clean and the snack bar was excellent. The snack bar has an happy hour from 1 till 5 and sells a pint of lager for
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Sam And Sarah
10 years 6 months ago
when we arrived outside this hotel we thought o my god!!! we went in to the reception area staff was polite, we then went to our apartment which was clean and spacious over looking the pool. in the bar area we found two of the staff very friendly a brazilian man and a english girl, and food was ok depending on what you like to eat as it is quite basic, entertainment is only 3 nights per week, the pool area is cleaned daily however we felt the water was very cold, but this helps when you want to cool off, we would defo go back to this hotel again!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Thomas + Debbie
10 years 10 months ago
We could not fault the hotel on cleanliness, maid service is daily (except Sundays).
We had a lovely pool view and our balcony got a lot of sun. Be aware though that studio rooms do not have a seperate bedroom, it is a fold out sofa bed.
Although we were self catering we did sometimes get some food from the hotel i.e. breakfast/lunch and it was good.
We did not think the hotel location was the best, although there is a taxi rank 2 mins from hotel, 3.25 euro for taxi to old town/the strip, or 15 mins walk.
There is a large supermarket next to hotel.
Hotel staff were polite and very helpful.
We were out everynite so did not experience the hotel entertainment but we did go back early one nite and the entertainment was very,very good.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Matt
11 years 10 months ago
Was pleasantly surprised on arrival - apartment was clean, spacious, and controllable air con in each main room. Balcony did face onto the road (as warned in the brochure), but the double glazing kept most of the noise out.

The beach felt like along way away, but a decent supermarket was less than 100 yards away which partially made up for it.

Hotel staff were good, rooms cleaned and towels/bed linen changed daily, but they were oddly tight on toilet paper - we ran out most days...

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
12 years ago
This hotel was very good value for money. The one bed apartment was excellant as it was so spacious...especially the balcony over looking the pool area. However.....I was really disappointed to find the pool area totally swamped with seagulls. They pecked away at the sun loungers, destroying most of the foam inside of them. There also wasnt enough cushions to go around all the beds. In the week we stayed I only saw the pool being cleaned twice...it was supposed to be cleaned every morning.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. There wasnt much entertainment at the hotel, however when there was entertainment, it was very good! The hotel is located a fair walk away from the strip and the beach. However there is a train that takes you right from the old town to the new town, this stops a short distance away from the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

E Dunstan
12 years 2 months ago
We stayed in the Paladim apartments. They were very clean and the staff were very friendly. We travelled out of season so apartments were full of long stay old people.

The entertainment was based around the older people ie Bingo Quiz nights and a Hank Marvin sound/lookalike (NOT) person.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: style

Recommended
Lorna And Mick
12 years 7 months ago
The hotel was very clean and tidy with towel change and maid service every day except Sunday. Rooms are air conditioned which was a luxury to have.

Our only problem was on arrival when we were shocked to discover a lounge and kitchen area plus a bathroom. There was no bedroom and didn't realise the small sofa was in fact our bed which required pulling out and making. The mistake was our fault as we had misread the brochure! We were lucky to upgrade to a one bedroom apartment which was much bigger (bigger balcony as well) which we couldn't fault. This seemed to be a common problem as we noticed another couple the following morning had the same concern and we were told by the receptionist when we changed that it is a common mistake by people booking.

Pool was a good size, hotel staff were okay but some a bit miserable. We went self-catering but the food we did have from the restaurant was pretty good.

Location was okay but had to walk a bit to get anywhere. Good thing is that the taxi rank is just outside and also a train stop (wheeled train that drives on the road) which charges 3 Euros each for use all day.

Would recommend but make sure you go for the one bedroom apartment!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Rogerson
13 years ago
The location of this establishment was excellent, within walking distance of old town and new and central for supermarkets.

The only problems were :- If you did not get a 'pool view' apartment then you had to suffer very busy main road which was very noisy 24/7 and did not get the sun on the balcony until after 5pm.

The other problem was seagulls! The pool was inundated with them! They would drink from the pool, clean themselves in the pool and use it as a toilet - generally they dominated the pool area a lot of the time. We were 'bombed' on every day of our stay! Not pleasant!

This would be a lovely place to stay if they could overcome this problem.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
R Adamson
15 years 11 months ago
The hotel we stayed in was one of the best hotel/apartments I have visited on my travels.

The room was spotless and very well maintained the self catering facilities were excellent and the room came with air conditioning which was very good news as it was very hot those two weeks.

The location of the hotel suited us fine as it was in the middle of the resort, ten minutes to the old town and ten minutes to the strip in the other direction. It was also very close to the two main supermarkets and McDonalds was just across the road. If you don
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: j m c

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum