Image of Vila Bela Residencial Apartments

Vila Bela Residencial Apartments

66 of 106 hotels in Albufeira

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Rua Coronel Aguas 32, 8200 Albufeira, Portugal

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sue & Melissa
10 years 1 month ago
My daughter and I stayed in the 'residencial vila bela in albufeira. ~This is a very pretty family run vila which was spotless. The staff were wonderful and we were well looked after. Dimas and George were very friendly. There was no fridge or kettle, but apart from that we had no complaints. it was only a short walk to the beach and the square, but the bus stop is across the road if you want to go further afield, and it is only 1.10 euros to get to the strip. the javali bar was run by george and we usually called in for a night cap. the breakfast consisted of bread, ham and cheese, but as it is stated in the brochure as continental, this was fine, although we did go out twice for breakfast, only becuase we slept in
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Jess Guscott
11 years 11 months ago
Istayed in the Vila Bela with my sister in 2005 and can safely say that I will never ever set foot in that hotel again. We wanted a quiet, family run, traditional set up. What we discovered were surly staff, threadbare towels, no fridge, no air conditioning, poor standard of fittings in the bathroom, old and threadbare bedding and scruffy decoration. The only plus points were the location in old town, the building itself and its proximity to the beach. The bar was a joke, with a very stilted and unfriendly atmosphere and ridiculously expensive drinks. Our breakfasts were described as continental and turned out to be slices of sweaty processed cheese and ham, orange squash and undrinkable instant coffee. Outrageous in a country where the coffee is wonderful. Honestly a dreadful hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

REBECCA MALTON
12 years 2 months ago
This hotel is just lovely, perfect for a get away from the rat race holiday. It is very clean and well maintained.

The staffs are very helpful and always smiling. The only downsides are you have to be very mobile as there are a lot of steps to access all areas.

The location is perfect a nice stroll into the old town for a meal, drink and excellent live music, before a lovely walk home and night cap in the Javelia bar to see Ray or George.

We would definitely return to this hotel for a good chill out.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Margaret Monk
12 years 10 months ago
The Hotel staff were very friendly and the room, although basic was very clean and comfortable with plenty of storage space. However we were disappointed that the balcony faced on to a plain white wall and only got the sun 2 hours a day.

The breakfasts, consisting of 2 buns each, 1 slice of ham & cheese each, butter and jam, grew very boring and would have been exactly the same every day if they had not run out of ham and when they did run out of ham the 2 slices of ham were replaced by 1 slice of cheese!

Access to our room was poor we had to negotiate 79 steps - no lift available.

The location was excellent and there was a nice little bar but the only entertainment was a quiz night and the drinks were more expensive than other bars.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Linda Pettifor
12 years 11 months ago
Couldn't fault the cleanliness of the hotel and the staff were friendly.

There was no soap in the bathrooms so had to dig out the shower gel on arrival in order to use the loo. Could have done with a small kettle in the room so we could have made tea or coffee first thing in the morning.The reception was only open for short periods which made access to anything left in the safe limited.

The view from our room was excellent, the pool though small afforded the same wonderful view, but if you wanted a drink you had to go down several flights of steps to the Javali Bar, but still couldn't get coffee or tea, though there was a small coffee bar a little way up the street, but who wants to go for a drink while still wet??

The breakfast was meagre and boring(we actually gave it a miss on our last day and went into town instead). The location of the hotel is good, only a few minutes walk to the beach and town centre.

Although the Javali Bar had quiz nights it wasn't our cup of tea...enjoyed our stay in Albufeira but that was due to the lovely weather and the friendliness of the locals and not a lot to do with the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

13 years 1 month ago
My hubbie and I stayed here for two weeks. We have a room with a pool and sea view. Owner (Carlos) was very nice as was pool boy.

Advantages
1. Location - about 5 minutes (slow) walk to beach and old town centre.


Downside

1. No airconditioning
2. No pool bar - if you wanted a drink you had to go down about 20 steps to the bar and get it yourself.
3. No atmosphere - it felt like it was your home not a hotel

Can't comment on the Breakfast as we never got up that early.

I would recommend it for a very quiet holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JWT

Recommended
Brenda Elliott
13 years 10 months ago
It was just what we were looking for, only 40 rooms, family run, very high standards, basic but spotlessly clean and a no children policy.
A lovely old hotel on the hillside with wonderful veiws over the old town and the sea, roof top pool probably the highest in Albufera no reserving sunbeds allowed but we never saw more than a dozen people at a time anyway. The staff are lovely and always smiling.
The Javala bar under the hotel is I believe also the oldest bar in town really quaint and the ideal place for a night cap.
An ideal place for lovely walks a bit hilly but not to challanging
It was perhaps the most peacful and romantic location we have yet to find and has so much more character than the large hotels.
A definate 10 out of 10 from us perfect for couples looking for a real bit of quality time alone
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson small and friendly

Recommended
15 years 2 months ago
I would certainly return to this Vila Bela Pension again. Immaculately clean. Our Room and bathroom were very large with a great view on to the Old Town and Beach.

The pool was not really big enough to swim but was sufficient for a dip. The pool area, again small but really quiet (not withstanding playtime at the school next door)- no trouble getting a sun bed.

We were bed & breakfast - and I have to admit that the breakfast was meagre indeed.

Also there were no safes in the rooms so we used the Hotel safe which did mean access was limited.

So, having got all the negatives out of the way - I just loved the place - Great Location - a gentle walk down hill to the Old Town with all its great restaurants and the fantastic Beach (To whom do I complain that the Sea was very cold though?) - The bar located at the bottom of the hotel was ideal for a night cap once you have staggered up from the Old Town plus they had a quiz a couple of times a week which was a good distraction.

This hotel is a definite on our "Return To" list.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson's Small & Friendly

Recommended
Michelle
18 years 8 months ago
Just returned from the Vila Bela and I would certainly never stay here again.

Very basic,not clean by my standards,not even a small soap in the bathroom,towels only changed once ,bedlinen not changed at all.No fridge for cool drinks and no air con.

The breakfast is the same with no choice and we had had enough by day 3 as eating the rolls was a workout for the teeth.

The stairs to our room was a hike not for the unfit or older guest.Only plus was the view from our balcony that overlooked the old town and sea,beautiful.

The hotel is childfree great for relaxing and no noisey kids playing in the pool but they fail to mention that the hotel has two schools next door and the screaming kids several times a day was very annoying especially in the afternoon if you want a nap and sunbathing by the pool at these times was very noisey!

Lovely old town with great beaches but avoid this hotel it doesnt rate 3 stars by any means.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum