Image of Vila Alba Apartments

Vila Alba Apartments

71 of 105 hotels in Albufeira

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
R. Adriano Correia Oliveira Lt. 160E, 8200-084 Albufeira, Portugal

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
Chris
8 years 2 months ago
just back from a short break to celebrate my own and 2 others in the party being 40.the only ones celebrating were the thiefs who let themselfs into our apartment and cleared out our safe i say let themselves in as it was quite obvious they ad keys as there was no forced entry and we had metal shutters on our windows.we also discovered an apartment on the next floor was also robbed on the same day which the management denied all knowledge of .we went on to spend our saturday night in the local police station who like management were of no help to us .if it wasnt for some kind hearted english guests in the hotel who took it upon themselfs to have a whip round for us we wouldnt have been able to eat we cant thank them enough .would never visit these apartments again or portugal for that matter as things like this leave a bad taste and especially as this isnt a one of inccident .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independant

Leah
8 years 4 months ago
the apartments were large and kept clean, they also changed the towels regularly.
there is a supermarket near called Ecomarche by Erins isle, an irish bar(you cant miss it) which had everything we needed. the apartments are close to the strip (about a 5 min walk) and in a quiet location, so you wont be kept awake at night.
the staff on reception are helpful, they gave us a map and told us how to get down to the strip, and to the supermarket, etc.
the pool is very nice, but cold! (as always in portugal)

Do not use the phone in the aparment! we had was a shock when paying our phone bill at the end of the week, do not asume that a 0.25 euros a unit means a minute (as we did) it means an impulse, there was approx 68impulses a minute, so 3 short calls cost us 40 euros.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Gail,les,anne & Colin
10 years 1 month ago
The Vila Alba was as stated in other reports and travel brouchures.Our 2 bedded apartment had 1 twin and 1 double room,plenty of storage space and a large lounge/dining area.Bathroom was big with bath and over bath shower(with shower head holder} water was always hot even with four people. There was a large seperate kitchen with double sink,full size fridge freezer, full cooker and toaster. Plenty of cups, plates, glasses etc., we also had a laundery area with washing machine.Apartments are only on two levels, lower with large terrace with sunbeds, upper with large balcony all look over the well kept gardens and pool area. Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms very clean and towels brand new.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: xl

Recommended
Sheila
10 years 6 months ago
My party of 4 adults have just returned and had a great time.

The apartment however was a 2 bed and one of the rooms was a double bed the other was 2 singles.

The apartment was clean and although just decorated and furnished with new curtains and bedlinen it is in need of upgrading. The bathrooms and kitchen mostly.

There was always plenty of hot water if you have children don't let them near it it is boiling.

The staff were very pleasent and helpful. It is a pity they don't take as good a care of the apartments as they do with the gardens and pool which were excellent.

The main pool and childrens pool were crystal clear and the whole area around is very clean.

The apartments are at the top of the strip in Montechoro behind the Montechoro hotel,and it is quite a treck to get to the strip and down to the beach. You can book a bus which will take you but you have to let them know the day before and it is quite expensive.

The local buses stop at the crossroads on the strip so it is better if you can to get there then you can get a bus too most places this is the second time at the villa alba but until they do something about the bathrooms I don't think we will be going back.

Also one of our party were nursing a knee injury so the hike to go out of a night seemed a lot further.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: alpharooms .com

Recommended
Linda
11 years 2 months ago
These apartments were excellent, our apartment was cleaned five times a week, fresh towels twice a week, and bedding changed weekly. The apartment was spacious, kitchen was well equipped with a full size cooker,fridge/freezer,microwave,kettle,toaster and washing machine. The balcony which was the full length of the apartment had table and chairs and also very comfy sun loungers.

The location was brilliant as you could walk to the Strip in minutes, there are also lots of nice bars and restaurants close to the apartments. The supermarket was minutes away as were the bus stops.

I would not hesitate in recomending these apartments.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On The Beach

Recommended
Stephen McErlean
12 years 3 months ago
The accommodation was very basic and in need of refurbishment.

There was no entertainment for kids and the pool was always busy and sunbeds were limited and seemed to be reserved from very early in the morning midnight).

Pool bar closed at 7.00pm and there was nothing afterwards.

Some of the apartments were owner occupied and this led to the increased number of pets namely dogs which barked constantly.We had hot water in the apartments occasionally when other apartments wern't using the showers at the same time. The only positive point was that these apartments were in a good location.

We still enjoyed our holiday as we tried not to spend time at the apartments and subsequently travelled into the old town regularly which had lots of good restaurants and music bars.

We would definitely go back to Albuferia but would give the Villa Alba a miss!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: falcon

Ronnie
13 years 5 months ago
On arrival we were allocated apartment 135. The interior felt and smelt a little damp. The apartment was cleanish and the cleaner came in every day but Sunday. Linen was changed twice a week.

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, a double and a twin. The twin room consisted of a two single beds one of which was located on top of storage cupboards 3-4 feet above the marble tiled floor and the bed did not have a side rail to prevent the occupant falling out. The second bed was a standard height bed but only about 5 feet long so was only suitable for a child.

The kitchen was well equipped and even had a washing machine. However if more than one electrical item was plugged in at the same time then the fuse board tripped out. This became very annoying.

The bathroom was shabby and dirty. enough said!

The furnishings in the living area had seen better days.

Despite this we made the best of the holiday.

The pool was adequate in the first week but when the resort was fully occupied in the second week there was a shortage of sunbeds and the towel brigade could be seen around the pool at 8am.

Albufiera is a lively resort with a good selection of bars and restaurants along 'The Strip'. Vila Alba is located at the very top of 'The Strip'. Look out for touts handing out maps oft the town - very useful.

A trip to the old town is worthwhile. It is more laid back, has lots of little stalls selling nik-naks, street entertainers, cafes, bars and restaurants. If you like Thai food then The Royal Orchid is a must.

If you are self catering in Albufeira then The Modelo is the place to get your supplies. Get a taxi, will cost around 3 euros.

All in all we had a very pleasant holiday but would not go back to Vila Alba.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Falcon/JWT

Ann
14 years 3 months ago
We have visited the Algarve for the past five years. Each time we have stayed at Vila Alba. We have thoroughly enjoyed each stay.

The apartments have a high level of cleanliness, with daily domestic services. The overall site is well kept with gardeners tending plants and pool early each morning. My three children have grown through their teenage years with anticipation of visitng this holiday apartment complex.

Poolside there is a small cafe selling mainly fast food and drinks. Prices are reasonable. There is a small pool for young children. There are also Tennis courts which can be hired by the hour.

The hotel is well placed for the Strip, where there are numerous venues for shopping and eating out.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Going Places

Recommended
Lisa_h
15 years 3 months ago
We booked a late holiday two weeks before arrival in July 2002. We had no idea where in the Algarve we were staying but were pleased to find we would be in Albufeira and even more pleased upon arrival at Villa Alba. The complex has a pool in it's centre with a poolside bar which is surrounded by mature and very pretty gardens which are again surrounded by the apartments on four sides. The apartments are three storeys, and are either one or two bedrooms. Ours was two bedrooms with a balcony (some have a terrace), and was very spacious and clean. Our kitchen had a free standing cooker complete with grill, not one of those ones which sits on the worktop. We even had a washing machine (not that we had any intention of cooking or washing clothes!) There wasn't a kettle, but there were plenty of saucepans available for boiling water. The apartments are situated at the far end of 'the strip' which is in the new part of Albufeira called Montechoro and was directly behind the Montechoro Hotel. The nearest supermarket was about 3 minute walk, and on the strip you could find an abundance of bars and restaurants. For a real taste of Portugal you need to visit the old town which takes about a 45 minute walk or 4 euros in a taxi. The old town has changed a great deal since our last visit 17 years ago and is now bustling with life, bars and eateries. If you are looking for more authentic restaurants, try exploring some of the alleyways up in the old town where you will find a much more quaint atmosphere.

The nearest beach was right down the bottom of the strip at Praia d'Oura which would take 20-30 minutes to walk to. There's quite a steep hill to get down to the beach, but taxis regularly arrive late in the day to take you back to the hotel.

Villa Alba runs a courtesy bus to and from another beach in the old town. It would leave at 10am and pick you up again at 4pm, but it does drop you at the top of a hill with alot of steps to take you down to the beach (and back up again!)

Overall the apartments are well situated to the new town although a little far from the beach. The pool was clean although we found there were only about 30 loungers and they'd all be taken up by 9am at the latest. Be careful, if they find you reserving loungers with your towels and not using them then they will remove your towels if someone is waiting (this happened to us!)

We had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend Villa Alba to anyone.

Travel operator: Unknown

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices