Image of Playa Mar Aparthotel

Playa Mar Aparthotel

8 of 24 hotels in Puerto Pollensa

4 out of 5 from 33 reviews
4 stars
Carrer de Ponent, 07687 S'ILLOT, Spain
The Playa Mar is to the north of Puerto Pollensa centre and its sandy bay. The promenade and pine walk along the bay is about 400m from the hotel. The main beach is 1.9km away.

33 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Humphrey
13 years 4 months ago
My Husband and I chose this Hotel for our Daughter who's 2.5 yrs old.
The Hotel is absolutely spotless,the towels and sheets changed frequently, the staff are really friendly and helpful.

The Thomson staff are great.
One complaint of mine was the nightly entertainment.Totally crap.The kids entertainers, entertained the adults most nights ,which was awful. Thomson should put decent acts on and keep the kids entertainers solely for the kids,which they were good at.

The walk into town was 20 minutes without another bar in sight, so if you stopped in the hotel,it got really annoying watching the reps trying to be funny.

The pine walk into town was nice and pretty but it got a little tedious after a while.The cobble stones were hard to push a buggy over.We walked about 8 times during our stay of 14 days then we resorted to a taxi's costing around 5 euro's.

We love walking as a family,but i was glad we were half board,people who were self catering chose to eat in the hotel as they didn't want to walk the distance to town and the taxi costs soon added up.Its just too far out of town,with no bars to nip out to for a change of scenery.

The food was nice,got abit repetitive towards the end of our stay, so we ate out a few times, but no complaints there.

The sunbeds are a laugh though,we had our room facing over the pools.The janitor unlocks the beds around 8 ish.
People were sat on chairs for 30 mins or longer waiting for him to arrive to grab a bed.
So if you like sunbathing by the pool, be ready to get your towels on,however the thomson rep did on mumerous occasions take them all off. Its alot quieter on the beach,as it does get noisy with all the music and entertainment going on through the day.

We made some good friends, but i wont go back again,its too far away from town,a little too noisy and the entertainment was horrendous.

Just one last thing.We booked 2 trips,one was pirates, really good but expensive for what it is,travelling on the coach took well over an hour there and the same coming back.

The next trip was marineland, that was good,but that was about an hour aswell.Looking through the brochure,it says under 3's are free but we paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Lorraine
13 years 4 months ago
I travelled with my husband & 6 year old daughter. The hotel was spotless; cleaners were in nearly every other day and towels changed ever other day. We hired a car for the 2 weeks just as well as the walk to town was too long and boring. I cooked a couple of time in the apartment kitchen equipment was adequate although the freezer could have been defrosted before we arrived as it was full of hard ice. We ate out most nights in the resort and further a field due to the fact we had the car. We also ate in the hotel a couple of times, on both occasions it was a bit boring. Kids club was good and my daughter really enjoyed it.

Pool side was clean, could do with emptying the bins around the pools a few times during the day to stop the wasps which were quite bad if you were unfortunate to get a sun bed near the bin. With regard to sun beds this was a joke you has to be up and down stairs at 7.45 to wait on the beds being unchained. People the put towels on them and disappeared until the middle of the afternoon. The reps did say that they would go round and take towels off beds which were not being used. I saw this happen only once. As for parasols Thomson need to invest some money and buy some more. There is not enough to go round. We had to go and buy one.

Entertainment at night was terrible. My daughter always wanted to go to the mini disco which started at 8.30 to 9.15. After that the so called family entertainment started. We had 2 shows that lasted 1
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

David
13 years 4 months ago
We visited the Playamar last July, when we booked a Late Deal 4T through Thomson, and were that impressed, we wanted to come back again. However, it was going to be
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Cagsy
13 years 5 months ago
Apartments were clean and spacious. The staff were very good. Evening entertainment less than third rate. Not enough parasols for a Super Family resort, perhaps it is OK for the kids to burn.

Reps tried hard but were very amateur. Breakfasts were OK but the evening meals were dire, cold, unappetising and basically very very poor, a local greasy spoon could serve better.

If you arrived late in the dining room there was food under the tables which had been dropped by previous diners. The bar closed at 11.30prompt and you were made to feel very unwelcome if you outstayed that time.

The walk into town is very tedious after the first few days, we ended up getting taxis into town which of course added to the cost.

The supermarket belonging to the apartments is so small that it could only take about 2 customers at a time, ridiculous considering the amount of people staying on a self catering basis.

One the whole very poor for a so called Super Family resort. Never again!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

13 years 6 months ago
We have just got back from this hotel, and it has been a huge disappointment as we were very excited because of the good reviews this hotel has got.

When we got to our room on the first day we had sewage coming from the bath. We reported this to the rep who reluctantly gave us another room with faced a brick wall right next to entertainment which kept us up most of the night, we were assured that the problem in our previous room had been resolved - the pipes had been cleaned and the room completely disinfected. We moved back to room as this was the only room left.

We were half board and the food was very basic, but o.k until our second week when a surge of people arrived, we had to queue to get into the restaurant, and then told we had a 30 min wait most evening to eat obviously with a 4 year old and 1 year old this was unacceptable as they were over tired. By the time we managed to eat the food had also ran out by the time we got there.

Our room then flooded from the ceiling above causing water to over flow into the living room and our daughter to slip and bang her head, the maintenance came and insisted for us to move rooms but the receptionist man told us there were no room available and that he was too busy. They fixed the problem and cleaned our room, but then on on the 3rd day before we were due to leave sewage again was brewing from the bath and overflowing the toilet - human waste was spilling from the bathroom into the living area and bedroom the smell was the bad the rep couldn't come into our room without heaving, this also happened to room next door.

We were moved to another room that evening and out to our surprise they had moved new guests into our old room. I am would be surprised if they had fixed the sewage problem or had time to clean room properly. I am still feeling ill at the thought of this hotel and I would advise anyone with children to stay away.

The hotel is to small to cope - the restaurant is over packed and the capacity is too much for the drains. It is a 20 minute walk to the main town so self catering is a difficult option for most.

The noise in the hotel is a bit over whelming as well the entertainment is on till 12.00 and getting to sleep before then is impossible.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland direct

Nev And Jules
14 years 3 months ago
After many visits to this hotel, yet again we have not been disappointed.

Playa Mar is spotlessly clean and the service from the staff has improved over the years.

There are many excellent restaurants in the town and wouldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Burtonshaw
14 years 3 months ago
Just returned from a fantastic holiday. Was told the hotel when we arrived. The complex is really lovely, the rooms are of a good size except the kitchen, the maid was only to come in 3 times a week, but seemed to be in most days so it was always clean.

Have never spent so much time in a complex, did not want to go elsewhere, as we had such a great time. Loads of activities during the day, most organised by annabelle who was great fun, the water activity being the best,and the poolside quiz.

Have not got young children, but could see that the kids club was enjoyed by all and their helpers were all good fun.

Found it a bit far from the main resort, so we eat at the complex 12 times and found the buffet to be fantastic with lots to offer, (must have changed something looking at other reviews).

Only had one meal not up to standard and that was when the main chef was off. All the staff were fantastic, except for the Thompson reps, who never advised of the new arrival meeting until we had been there four days, the only time they seemed happy was inthe rep show.

Would not hesitate to return again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
14 years 4 months ago
The hotel is very clean and apartments have all the things needed for a basic self catering holiday.

The entertainment at the hotel needs a little change...as its a superfamily you have the usual mini disco then prizes for the day and a show...these can be very mixed in quality. Although Annabel is very good at her job during the day..the other Animaction Rep Daz...is a waste and just seems to go through the motions at times..

All the staff in the hotel are great and very helpful.
But this year the majority of the Thomsons Reps are new and as such a little less knowledgeable about things.

All in all you cant really go wrong if you are off to here with young kids..apart from the fact as has been stated before it is a far way from town..around 25 min walk..
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Jenny Brown
14 years 4 months ago
WOW what can I say??? After booking this holiday six months before we were really looking forward to our first superfamily holiday, if not a little apprehensive. But there was nothing to fear it was the holiday of a lifetime!!!

The children were in tears when it was time to leave!

The thomson kidzone reps were unbelievable every morning about 9.00 they would pass us at the pool full of smiles saying hello to everyone working right through the day (and night!).

The clubs for the children were fantastic and the reps got us all involved. They even put on extra clubs in there own time to cope with the demand.

The kidzone gang went beyond the call the of duty constantly the rep in charge miar was a credit to Thomson really interested in everything and fantastic with the kids.

Also gillian jolly you have to meet her to believe it was fantastic at here job as were the other girls.

So if you are off to the playa mar you wont be disapointed xxxxx thanx for a fantastic time xxxx
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Louise
14 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the Playa Mar and found it to be an excellent hotel.

The apartment was a decent size. The kitchen, though small, was plenty big enough for our requirements. The maid service was good and any staff we came into contact with were very helpful.

We did not see much of the entertainment as we spent a lot of time in Puerto Pollensa, but we did see Abba Again, who were brilliant.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.