Image of Fuerteventura Princess Hotel

Fuerteventura Princess Hotel

9 of 16 hotels in Jandia

4 out of 5 from 31 reviews
4 stars
Gran canaria, 13 ( Urb. Butihondo ), 35625 PÁJARA (FUERTEVENTURA), Spain
Blissful views, four swimming pools, immerse yourself in peace and quiet. If you want to escape the world, then this is the place to come.

31 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Caroline
12 years ago

I was expecting great things from this hotel from reading the reviews, but everything was average.

Food - average. Reception staff - average. Entertainment - cheesy or appalling.

Hotel is stuck out on it's own. You need to catch a bus or hire a car to get to any shops/restaurants. They want you to stay within the complex for your whole stay.

OK for old people I guess who want to do nothing all day long, and GREAT if you love miserable old people who do nothing but complain and flash their appalling old bodies to the world.

Not for the feint hearted - a lot of nudists at this location.

I would not visit again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

JJ Denton
12 years 7 months ago
My second time here, and absolutely nothing has changed... if anything, the hotel's actually improved, because although the daytime entertainment may not be quite as well-run, the evening entertainment cabaret shows were significantly better than last year's.

I won't waffle on too much as my last year's review is still available to see (please scroll down), but once again, I really cannot recommend this hotel enough. Absolutely wonderful!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jo & Nigel
12 years 9 months ago
Well, all I can say is we are due to depart for our THIRD visit to this hotel in a few weeks. We are reformed globe trotters - previously thinking the world is too big to go back to the same place!. Previous reviews will tell you in depth how good this hotel is, the rooms, the service, the staff and the food are all first class - my advice is go and see for yourself! - you will fall in love with the place!.

My only other comment is, please, don't be so quick to point the finger and laugh at the naturists, on the beach, or by the specially reserved pool area. EVERYONE knows that this region of FVT is well liked by naturists - if you are offended by them - please stay away. If you only go to laugh and poke fun at those of us with less than perfect figures (but hey - no tan lines!) - kindly grow up!.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Steve Large
12 years 10 months ago
We stayed at the Fuerteventura Princess the first week in march.We stayed before four years ago and if anything the hotel is now even better.

As before everywhere is spotlessly clean and continually being maintained.All the surrounding gardens were absolutely immaculate. Nothing was to much trouble for the hotel staff.All the meals were excellent.

Never any worry of food running low as even within half an hour of the dining area closing food was still being prepared/cooked. We particularly enjoyed the late breakfasts at at the smaller dining area down by the pool.

Evening entertainment was ok although we never went until after 9pm.Overall though I felt this hotel was excellent and I am looking forward to a return visit.

Highly recommended for those seeking a quiet and lazy laid back holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Rodge
12 years 11 months ago
Have just returned from this excellent hotel.

Last minute deal through travel agents. We are normally independant travellers and this was a shot in the dark.
We could not fault the hotel, it was up there with the very best.

I agree with all the positive comments posted,and would add that the hotel manager was seen walking round the hotel and grounds checking everything for himself three times in the week we were there.

There are 4 tennis courts in good condition with resident professional coaches and a shop. There are tournaments every week, mainly doubles.

There is also an adequate gym.

The staff are superb.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and will return next winter.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Mike & Lisa
12 years 11 months ago
We spent our week-long honeymoon in the Fuerteventura Princess near Jandia and had a fabulous time.

A year previously we had what we'd thought was an unbeatable week at the Hilton Sharm in Sharm-el-Sheikh, Egypt, and were intrigued to see whether this would beat it. The answer was not quite, but it was close.

A lot of other reviewers have covered the basic good points of the hotel - cleanliness, friendly staff, great pools, wonderful bountiful breakfasts etc, so we needn't repeat them. We would agree with all of those comments.
One minor nit-pick with the hotel was that the evening meals were a bit repetitive but when they tasted so good we didn't mind too much!

We did yoga by the pool every morning after the late breakfast, which was a fantastic way to start each day. There are loads of activities to get stuck into, including archery, aqua aerobics and tennis. Don't just lie on those loungers all day!

The nudist pool in the hotel was a frequent amusement. Jandia beach as a whole seemed to be a mecca for rotund naturists, who seem only too proud to display their apparatus. Very funny, but it did put me off the mini sausages at the evening buffet though!

The evening entertainment alternated between hilarious (often unintentionally!) and bizarre. We had Chinese contortionists, transvestites, a boy band and a resident group who gave karaoke a bad name. All well worth watching, if mostly for the comedy factor.

The weather (late Jan) was very changeable. It poured down the days we arrived and left but was bikini/trunks temperature most of the time.

Our rep was very helpful if very very slightly over-keen to promote the more expensive excursions (it's their job I suppose).

One highly pedantic comment would be that the hotel's internet is ridiculously slow, which is very cheeky when they charge you by the second, and it's not that cheap. Broadband needed, we think!

Don't let these trifling criticisms put you off coming to a top class hotel. We had a splendid, luxurious, totally relaxing week, we ate like kings every morning and evening and were extremely well looked after. You'll have a great time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Lucy
13 years 4 months ago
We have just returned form visiting the Fuerteventura Princess and were delighted with our stay. From the moment we got on the coach it was clear we would be well looked after and on arriving in the stunning reception area we could not stop smiling!

As many others have mentioned the level of cleanliness and service recieved from the hotel staff was excellent in every way. we wouldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Carol
13 years 5 months ago
Absolutely lovely. We would definitely go there again.

Lovely rooms.

Very nice staff especially in the dining room.

Great food with very varied choice.

Swimming pools very nice with plenty of sun beds.

Everywhere was very clean and well kept.

My only "complaint" is that there is not enough for teenagers to do in the evenings.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson's

Recommended
13 years 6 months ago
I don't recall ever going on holiday and actually being eager to tell people how wonderful the accomodation was; but the Fuerteventura Princess has left the whole family feeling exactly that way. The thoughtful layout worked wonderfully, with plenty nooks and crannies for whatever you want to do. Quite superb. Others before me have given detail so I won't repeat. Simply wonderful, and we will be returning year after year providing they can keep up this standard.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
13 years 7 months ago
I really can't fault this hotel in any way... from the moment I checked in to the moment I left, everything was perfect. It's located about 4 miles outside Jandia, in an area called Esquinzo... there are no shops or bars anywhere nearby (car hire would be beneficial if you wanted to go out and about - driving in Fuerteventura is an absolute doddle), but it's an absolutely perfect place for chilling out.

After getting on the transfer coach, I was given an envelope containing a pen, questionnaire to be filled in and a letter about the hotel and what it offers - this is done in order to speed things up when you get to the hotel, which was a brilliant idea seeing as most of the people on my coach were going there. As a result, check-in was efficient and hassle-free - you don't even have to worry about carting your suitcase everywhere - it's delivered to your room by a porter on a motorised golf-buggy (watch out though - they drive like maniacs)! I was particularly impressd that they'd kept the restaurant open for us when we arrived - we had a 3pm flight and didn't get checked in until nearly 10pm. I was expecting just a cold buffet, but there was still a full selection on offer.

Finding your room can be quite daunting at night because the complex is absolutely MASSIVE and accommodation is in 8 separate blocks, almost like a little luxury village... you are given a map when you check in and there are numerous signposts (not all are lit though), so do take time to plan which way you're going to go otherwise you could end up walking around in circles...! A tip I found out is that the higher the block number, the further away from reception it will be.

The rooms are absolutely beautiful, and spotlessly clean - mine was in in block 6 (room 6106) which overlooks the swimming pools and ocean. Rooms are lavishly furnished with twin beds, 2-seater sofa, coffee table, extra chair, satellite TV, very good air-conditioning, FREE fridge, safe (in wardrobe), MASSES of storage space and well-furnished bathroom. Be careful when opening the patio doors though - there are actually two doors, one behind the other... the second one is a mosquito door with net as opposed to glass. Some balconies are bigger than others as well - just pot luck as to whether you get a big balcony or not. One little touch I loved was that at about 7:30 every night, a housekeeper comes to your room and presents you with a chocolate - if you're out, it will be left on your pillow and the bed turned down for you.

Food is of a high standard and choice is quite plentiful... breakfast and dinner are both equally well presented. I usually ate in the main restaurant, but a late breakfast is also offered in another restaurant at the far end of the complex on the clifftop. Lunch can be either taken at a pizzeria grill (recommended... lovely pizzas!) or at the clifftop restaurant... can't comment on that one though as I only used the pizzeria.

The public areas of the hotel are all absolutely beautiful... the reception area will literally take your breath away! The pools are quite large and well laid-out - the heated one (the first one you come to as you head downhill) was lovely and warm every day, and is perfect for less confident swimmers like myself as it's only 1m50 at its deepest point. Can't say a lot about the other one as I only used the heated one, but it did look lovely...! Both are "walk-in" as well, so you don't have to worry about getting out of your depth. There are masses of sunbeds near the pools as well, or if you prefer, a terraced solarium area overlooking the sea also contains a large number of beds - I never had any trouble finding a free one, even at lunchtime.

In addition, there are also multi-sport courts located near to reception with a tennis school also based there, a games room underneath the waterfall, and a gymnasium, sauna and massage area... be aware though, these latter three are located in the naturist area... it's well signposted, but brace yourself before going in...!

There's also a gate at the back of the complex which leads onto a sandy area with a slope leading directly down to what must be one of Fuerteventura's best beaches... absolutely breathatking!! It's apparently possible to walk to Jandia along the beach, but it'd be a good idea to look at the times of the tides first (they're on a laminated sheet attached to the gate) as it looked quite rocky in places. Keep a lookout for the chipmunk/squirrel things as well... they're very cute and so tame that you can actually take some food down and they'll take it from you!

There are two poolside bars (one on an island in the middle of the large pool, the other just inside the naturist area) and a further three bars in the main building - a large piano-bar on the reception floor, and two on the bottom floor - the entertainment bar, and a sports/games bar which extends into an outside seating area - the latter is open until 2am every morning.

Entertainment at the hotel is exceptionally well-organised without being overly "in-your-face"... there are hotel-run daytime and evening childrens clubs, and lots laid on for adults during the daytime ranging from water-polo, beach volleyball and aerobic-style activities to more sedate stuff like darts, archery and petanque (better for people like me - although they did get me playing water polo once as well)!! If enough people from both hotels attend, the beach volleyball is held as a competition between the Fuerteventura Princess and Club Jandia Princess.

For evening entertainment, you have the option of the piano bar, or live music 6 nights a week (very good resident band - the guitarist is exceptional!), with disco music on the 7th in the main entertainment bar - there's also a show on every night in there. I found most to be very good, but there were exceptions... avoid the Bee Gees if possible - my ears are still trying to recover...!! The entertainers also wander around the room when the band are playing introducing themselves and asking random guests to dance with them, which is a nice way to meet them - they're all very friendly and not aggressive in any way.

Staff in general really can't do enough to help you... some can't speak a lot of English, but if you make the effort with a few words of Spanish, they'll absolutely love you for it... I lost count of how many waiters/waitresses I got chatting to during the course of my holiday - they're all so friendly, and all seem extremely proud to work there - for those reasons, I'd have to say that despite its size, this is probably the friendliest hotel I've ever stayed at.

Security/safety at the hotel is extremely good as well... guards patrol the grounds regularly, and I noticed a lot of CCTV cameras dotted around the pathways between blocks and around the perimeter fencing - one is also focused on the gate leading down to the beach.

In conclusion, this hotel just screams quality at you from the moment you walk through the door. If you're looking for a place to chill out and relax in luxurious surroundings, I really don't think you could do much better than to pick this hotel - HIGHLY recommended, and I can't WAIT to go back!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum