Image of Fuerteventura Princess Hotel

Fuerteventura Princess Hotel

9 of 16 hotels in Jandia

4 out of 5 from 31 reviews
4 stars
Gran canaria, 13 ( Urb. Butihondo ), 35625 PÁJARA (FUERTEVENTURA), Spain
Blissful views, four swimming pools, immerse yourself in peace and quiet. If you want to escape the world, then this is the place to come.

31 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
N Wood
13 years 7 months ago
When we arrived at the hotel we were amazed as it was not as it appeared in the brochure. It was outstandingly better and the pictures in the brochure did not do it justice. The reception area is remarkable in its design and the reception staff who all spoke very good english were always helpful and courteous.

The food was excellent and varied enough to allow you to try different things on different nights. There were some themed nights which gave us the chance to sample local dishes and many other.

The location suited us as we were looking for a quiet relaxing getaway. This was my partners first holiday abroad and and we both would most definately stay there again. We hired a car to explore the island and would recomend that this is something that You should try as it is an experience and great fun. We drove all the way round the island in one day and saw many wonderful sights.

We did not partake of the entertainment at the hotel as during the day we were out and about and in the evening we chose to relax and chill in the bar in the middle of the largest pool which was open to midnight every night. Quiet secluded where we could talk and enjoy the evening.

If you are looking for excitement and non stop entertainment then try somewhere else. If your looking to enjoy a holiday away from the hussle and bussle of normal life then this is your place.

Excllent!!!!..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
13 years 9 months ago
Fuerteventura Princess Hotel, Jandia, Fuerteventura, Thomson, March 2005

We spent a long weekend at this hotel at the beginning of March 2005. Neither of us had been to Fuerteventura before, but we had been to Tenerife, so we were hoping for similar weather, but less tourist over-development. Before we went, we were a bit apprehensive about the weather, as the Canaries were experiencing the worst winter for a very long time. Luckily for us, when we arrived the situation was starting to improve and we had a couple of reasonably hot days, along with some of the
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Ronni & Mel Smith
13 years 9 months ago
We would go back to this hotel again, which is something we do not usually do.

The hotel was spotless as was the rooms clean towels every day if required there was a fridge which we could use at no extra charge.

The view from our room was wonderful there were about 5 pools one which was heated, no shortage of sunbeds either.

There were a lot of Germans at the hotel but every one tried to communicate with each other so there were no problems there.

The food was excellent there was something for everyone, two mornings a week they served champagne with your breakfast. There was a section for smokers non-smokers family's and also a section outside, this was lovely and we had our meals in this section whenever we could, but you had to get there early or towards the end as it was very popular.

The location of the hotel was fine if you were on holiday to chill out which we were, you could walk to Janida along the beach, which a lot of people did including us. Jandia is just a small town with a verity of tourist shops, i.e swimsuits clothes etc. but not much else. The walk was nice though it took about one and a half hours there and back.


The hotel staff could not do enough for you and were very friendly and I might add very hard workers.

The entertainment catered for everyone, there was a piano bar if you just wanted to chat and have a queit drink, plus an entertainment bar where there was something different going on every night, you could dance or watch the shows, most were very professional.

We would definitely go to this hotel again, we booked premium with Thompson's and our cases were collected from the hotel the day we left, and we were also given our boarding cards which enabled us to go to the departure lounge when we got to the airport. This saved a lot of queuing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
Neil P
13 years 10 months ago
Our second visit to this hotel and must say, still as good. The standard of service and cleanliness is second to none.

The remote location is one drawback but if all you want to do is relax under then sun then this place is perfect. More Jable and Jandia are just a short cab ride away for an escape every now and then.

Food is very repetitive but you certainly won't starve.

The entertainment is a bit hit and miss. Those of you who ever saw the Beetles tribute band would probably agree they were great but avoid going to the Disco bar early on as the resident band play then. A bit like a Sunday lunchtime at your local working mens club !!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Jeff Wilby
13 years 11 months ago
The hotel, advertised in Thompsons Platinum brochure, was rated 4*/5T.

Having stayed in similar category hotels in Spain I felt this was over rated, a good 3* would have been nearer the mark.

The hotel is laid out in accommodation blocks, three storeys and anything from two to ten units per floor. The sound insulation was very poor, normal everyday noises from neighbours were very clear.

The rooms were adequately furnished without being luxurious. The bathroom did not have a bidet and the extractor fan did not work. The cleanliness was exceptional and the staff, by and large, friendly, polite and helpful.

The dining room was buffet service, the food being of good quality and varied to reflect the diversity of nations it catered for.

Whilst we were there the largest pool was closed for maintenance for nearly a fortnight.The access to the pools and the beach arew not suitable for the less mobile, being built on a hill even the trip for meals in the main complex area was a drag.

There was also a fair complement of naturists, they had their own area screened from the main sunbathing areas, who had a monopoly on the two saunas and steam room. That is you were advised entry to the rooms was allowd in the altogether!

Whilst the hotel was the basis of a good holiday, it fell short of our expectations.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Nick
14 years 1 month ago
Have just returned from an excellent relaxing get away from it all holiday.

Hotel is situated next to a superb very long beach. This is not the place to go if you want a lively night life.

The food was good, plenty for everybody. However, the evening meals were a bit repetitive. We stayed for just one week and found them getting boring, so maybe a problem here for those staying two weeks.

Possibly due to the design of the hotel, we suffered very little from the strong winds that the island is renowned for.

The pools are well designed, activities available for those that desire - but check the activity board - the tanoy system announcing the activities is hopeless.

Finally there are a couple of excellent large saunas for late afternoon / evening.

However, be prepared, the saunas are by the nudist pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Luke
14 years 3 months ago
Although the buffet evening meal was good with plenty of choice, the Hotel offers an A-La-Carte Menu at the Pizzeria for no extra cost. The food there was amazing and the staff friendly. You had to book a table between 9 and 12 at reception on the day that you wanted to eat there. It was a set 4 course meal consisting of soup, small fish or pasta dish, main course and desert. The staff were more than happy to make up a mixed salad if there was a course that you didn't like. For me it was when the second course was fishy.

In the brochure it states that long trousers must be worn for evening meals - this does include jeans!

The hotel was very clean as were the rooms which were very spacious and comfortable.

Jandia town centre was an hours walk form the Hotel but you could get a taxi for about 5 euros or a bus for 1 euro. The bus stop and taxi rank are just outside the Hotel. Thomson offer an excursion to the market which is about 14 euros. Find out when market day is and get a taxi or a bus. It's loads cheaper.

The market was very small and a lot of the stalls sold the same items - fake sunglasses, watches and handbags. There were a couple of stalls selling individual, more unique pieces.

As the Hotel is built on the side of a mountain it is very steep in most places, therefore unsuitable for the elderly and disabled.

Entertainment during the day and night was there for those that wanted it. From speaking to others the evening entertainment was quite average.

There are several bars in the Hotel where you can go for a quiet drink which are very relaxing. The drink prices were very simliar to England. Maybe slighlty cheaper.

Overall, the Hotel was amazing and the staff were great. I would definately go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Helen
14 years 5 months ago
The quality of the food was excellent and there was plenty of choice even for fussy eaters like me!

The staff were very efficient and helpful - most spoke far better English than we did Spanish.

Our room was tastefully decorated with all the amenities you would expect from a 4* Hotel. It was cleaned thoroughly every day and the beds turned down every night.

If it is peace and quiet you are looking this is the place to go. There are no other shops, bars etc., in the immediate vicinity of the hotel only those on site.

The evening entertainment was good - very international.

Day time entertainment was low key but available for those who were interested.

Not very suitable for people with mobility problems. The hotel sits on the side of a cliff and the pathways are steep from the rooms to the main hotel building
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Emma
14 years 5 months ago
We have just returned from a really relaxing holiday at the Fuerteventura Princess. The hotel is really impressive as soon as you walk into the reception you can tell that it's a Platinum. The hotel was always clean and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The pools were great and for saying it was peak season they were never too busy. The hotel says that sun beds cannot be reserved but this is rubbish. Shade is very limited therefore we found ourselves getting up at 6.45am to make sure that we got a sunbed under the terrace. I would say that this was the only real gripe we had. The food was amazing there was lots of choice everything was fresh you couldn't ask for more. Some of the drinks were a bit on the expensive side but because there is nothing around the hotel you have to put up with it. The hotel is quite a remote location there is a hotel to each side but that is it. You can get a bus to Jandia that cost 1 euro from outside the hotel. Jandia has all the normal kind of shops and bars you would expect. The market that is advertised as a thomson trip is rubbish do not waste your money. The market is small and full of fake sunglasses and bags etc. Thomson wanted around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Griggs
14 years 6 months ago
While the site and rooms were kept very clean the food was of poor quality and birds were allowed to fly around the restaurant while meals were being served, making it very unhygienic.

Complaints directed to management and Thomson reps were ignored. Staff were generally not particularly helpful and the entertainment was poor.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum