Image of Vistamar Apartments

Vistamar Apartments

26 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

3 out of 5 from 16 reviews
3 stars
Camino De Gilabert S/N, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Situated just minutes away from the beach, this new property is ideal for those seeking a beach based holiday with many amenities close by. All apartments are furnished to high standards. The restaurant offers a buffet for breakfast and dinner.

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Rod
10 years ago
In a word - forget it!!!
I booked the accommodation via Atlaschoice in UK.
I requested a STUDIO in a quiet part of the hotel. (I was returning to UK and straight into hospital for surgery - so quiet and relaxation was required to prepare).
On arrival I was given a room directly over the entrance. I told them of my requirement, but was refused any alternative accommodation. Subsequently, I had virtually no rest or peace for the whole of my two week stay. Delivery vehicles, refuse collection vehicles, taxis, private cars and at times, hoards of people shouting and talking at the entrance directly below my window day and night. The approach road is a virtual cul-de-sac so cars, vans and lorries were turning round under my window almost all of which were paked with the diesel engines left running whilst servicing both Vistamar and the next door hotel. I believe there is a total of only about ten or fourteen rooms facing the sea. All the rest have a sideways view from a tiny balcony which can seat a maximum of two people. Half the rooms NEVER have any sun (mine included) and I had the great advantage of overlooking a building site and listening to the heavy equipment all day.

I contacted Atlaschoice but they totally ignored my contact and never got back to me. I checked with other staff at the hotel and was told there were plenty of empty studios overlooking the pool when I checked in, but didn't want to cause them problems by quoting them to the management. The hotel was virtually empty at that time.

The choice and quality of the food (half board) was very poor. Breakfast - a good choice, but not hot enough and left out in bain-marie for long periods and I believe below the recommended temperature. (There was a microwave to reheat.) Examples - fried eggs, almost exactly the consistency of plastic joke shop fried eggs found in the UK seaside resorts, bacon more suited for shoe soles. etc etc. The corn flakes were OK though. Dinner - again cool and cold food at the buffet. During the second week a large conference party arrived. The food got better, more choice, more frequently replaced. Immediately they departed - back to the poor choice and quality.

Entertainment (some evenings only) was hardly what was expected. Karaoke with an audience of FIVE. A magician (more suited to a children's party) playing to an audience of about NINE, Flamenco dancers (it's probably better if I don't comment). The duo playing keyboard and singing were great!!! Pity the audience consisted of seven people. I later learned they had stepped in at the last minute as the regular entertainer wasn't comming. From the comments, I understand they won't be returning???

When I checked with the receptionist I was given the wrong day and date resulting in me expecting to leave a day early. Fortunatly, I checked again and was asked why I was leaving early. I went back up to bed. Later that day another guest told me she had also been told the wrong day/date.

On the lighter side - the conference delegates who filled the hotel were members of a religious group seemingly hell bent on converting everyone im sight and I had two offers of baptism in the hotel swimming pool and a free bible. (All declined).

The location of the hotel - "Cardiac Hill" is a very suitable name for the road leading up to the hotel entrance. Yes, guests could enter via the car park but I was told it was locked at six p.m. People I spoke to said they had to stay in every night as they were unable to climb the hill. I estimated it was about 30 minutes walk to any real nightlife. One lady (travelling and staying alone said she was afraid to walk outside the hotel at night as someone else had been attacked.

I was OK as I had a car, but was unable to use the EMPTY car park unless I paid a rather excessive fee each night. The car park appeared empty for the whole of the period I was there.

So - as I opened this report - Vistamar (Seaview)? - FORGET IT!!! Atlaschoice(the booking agents)? - forget it!!

Having recommended this hotel for the past year or so,
we have now permenantly removed it from our list of approved hotels for staff promotions.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independantly

Rachel
10 years 3 months ago
Hotel was fairly clean, room only cleaned once in a week, the other times towels changed and beds made. Air con in room, great sea and pool view from balcony. The pool was great, my daughter loved it small pool was warm by 1pm and we never had a problem getting a bed usually around 12 ish. There is a nice grassed area which is a bit quieter than round the pool and sometimes had a bouncy castle. Ate lunch in hotel once and it was awful, pizza was half cooked, really greasy chips. Bar had a happy hour from 5 - 6 and it was worth it, 2 for 1. The hill up to reception was not as bad as i expected worse during the heat of the day, but just go for it and try not to stop! Overall it was a nice hotel, not quite 4 star but i was impressed after being worried about going. Only saw the entertainment once and that was because we were waiting for our taxi to the airport, i felt so sorry for the bloke, on a keyboard playing to an empty bar, but he did a cracking Sweet Caroline!! If i was forced to visit Benalmadena again i would pick this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Discount Centre

Recommended
Gerry
10 years 5 months ago
The hotel is spotless and well maintained. One interesting feature is that the pool area does not open until 10 am and therefore makes it more difficult for the multiple bed baggers to spread their towels around, however despite all the signs stating that such sport is not allowed, the intrepid baggers still managed to claim their territories. The hotel is on a short but steep rise which could be aided by them keeping the garage entrance gates open allowing a flat walkway and entrance to the elevators. The hotel bar is soul-less and when we went back in the evening after dining in the town, couldn't get a cup of coffee to go with our night-cap as the staff didn't make coffees at night.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Globespan

Recommended
Julie,andy,lucy & Jess
11 years 2 months ago
An excellent appartment block.

We were given an apt over the reception, which we anticipated to be quite noisy,asked reception to move us which they did the next morning,lucky us, sea view,large balcony and an extra bed in lounge!.

There is a quite a steep hill to climb but as said by others,not too bad,use the garage entrance.

The pool was freezing,but the children used it,not mummy the wimp!.

Shops are all close by,we did eat in the hotel once and the food was Ok,there are plenty of places to eat close by ,Burger King 100yds away.

Reception staff very helpful,as were bar staff who were friendly.

All in all a very good complex, we had a good time apart from the weather,it rained 5 out of 7 days, never mind!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: expedia

Recommended
E Rigby
11 years 2 months ago
Stayed there with my brother for a fortnight and found it
first class.

In the bathroom there were even toothbrushes, disposable razors and a shoeshine kit.

The staff were very friendly,the hotel was spotless, could not fault it in anyway.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Gordon & June
11 years 5 months ago
Naughty naughty Vistamar, air conditioning should mean you should be able to use it when you want. I know you are trying to save money on the elec. bills but this is meant to be a 4* hotel for chrissake. Let me explain: the aircon is controlled by a motion sensor in the room, so when you move around, the aircon comes on, so everything should be nice and cool, right? -wrong ! The fly bandits have installed the sensors in the kitchen area so when you go to bed you are not in the range of the sensor so, off goes the aircon and on comes the sweating. I don't know if all the rooms are like this but I spoke to a guy who told me he moved his bed to the kitchen area and frequently waved his arm at the sensor to bring on the aircon through the night,- not exactly a way for a good nights sleep-eh! Could you imagine what the Spanish would say if they came to Scotland in the depths of winter and we put the central heating on a sensor, they'd probably go nuts.

Next gripe, cleaning the rooms every second day is not really on for a 4* hotel is it? Now, thats the moaning off my chest, I can now say we had a great time.

The hotel is lovely, its in a great spot, the local produce is excellent for self catering, the supermarket called PLUS is just round the corner for all your basics -1 litre carton of wine -28 pence, tin of German beer 17 pence - both excellent, then theres SUPERCOR, just up the road ,superb deli - fish -meat -bakery, all in all really good place for a very reasonably priced holiday.

Oh and do yourself a favour and hire a car, it really isn't as bad as what you think, once you are moving with the traffic it becomes like second nature, and, being mobile, it lets you visit all the sights instead of waiting at bus stops in the heat, or paying 12 euros eveytime you use a taxi. We usually use value car rentals who seem to be very reasonable. They gave us a Nissan note dci for
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: globespan

Recommended
Knox
11 years 5 months ago
We stayed at Vistamar for two weeks in July 2006, this is an excellent hotel, very well run, kept spotless, just across the road from the beach. The maid is in every day with clean towels etc. There is no on site supermarket but an aldi type one just up beside burger king, and another excellent one just a few yards past burker king beside the hospital.
We had a one bed apartment, the kids slept on a pull out bed (age 11 and 7), it was quite good, but if they were any older it might have been a problem.

The staff very good, all spoke english, the pool is excellent with a lifeguard on most days, there are no floaties allowed in the pool which is not a problem, the pool does not open until 10 a.m., no towels allowed, but everyone does but it was not a problem, there were always plenty of beds regardless what time of the day we came down at, a nice garden also for sunbathing in, with lots of beds and umbrellas. All in all an excellent hotel, about a 20 min walk to the main resort centre with plenty of shops and restaurants near by.
I would recommend this one to anyone and I am quite fussy.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: kwik travel

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
Went to these apartments with a party of 30 other guys from a Football Club. (apologies to the other guests ..)

As already stated they are up a hill which would be difficult for those with walking difficulties, again though you are allowed to enter through the garage and avoid the hill. Food served nearly all day and you could get a full breakfast for 9euro's.

Found getting about inside a bit of a maize and took a couple of days to get the hang of the layout. Poolside fine with it's own bar. Not too many sunbeds. Rooms were decent I thought although not too good for four adults sharing. Main bedroom has the usual two beds and built in wardrobe. Safety deposit box too. Living room has a couch that unfolds to a double bed. Would be ok for one or two small kids. Two rings for cooking, a microwave, kettle, fridge, and most importantly for me a pop up toaster .. TV with Sky News and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Aircon on request and a neat, quiet system airing into all rooms including bathroom.

All in all nice apartments. Wouldn't go back though as I didn't like the resort.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Flyglobespan

Carmen And Scott
11 years 10 months ago
The Hotel Vistamar is very clean and modern.

The room furnishings are very nice. We were impressed with the way the hotel looked.

The balcony was not the best though, we were on the 6th floor and our balcony was a hole in the roof which never seemed to get the sun.

We went half board and it was meant to be a buffet dinner but we were given the menu and we had to pick what we wanted and the chef made it up for you just like at home if you went out for a meal which we didn't like because we didn't know what half of the things were.

We didn't get access of the pool either because they were re-tiling it and the beach was been dug up by tractors and jcb's.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fly Globe Span

Mrs R Patchett
12 years 4 months ago
The hotel Vistamar was situated on a hill, however this was never a problem to guests as most used the garage entrance at the side which cut out the hill.

The rooms were a fair size , very claen. the hotel staf all very frindly . Pool not massive, but clean and enough room if not too busy.

Overall a good hotel, would return for a week again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: alpha rooms

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: