Image of El Tiburon Hotel

El Tiburon Hotel

17 of 37 hotels in Torremolinos

4 out of 5 from 15 reviews
2 stars
Calle de los Nidos, 7, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
A family-run hotel, El Tiburon is a very friendly hotel offering simple accommodation and a warm and welcoming atmosphere. It is ideally placed for a relaxing stay, yet is within easy reach of the beach and waterfront promenade.

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Anne Stott
7 years 5 months ago
Well I think the staff here have been on a customer care course. We were greeted by a smile and a bit of banter with the usually grumpy owner. However this did not last and by the end of our stay last week things were back to normal.

This is the 4th time we have stayed here but the "no breakfast" really bothered us this year. It's a bit of a bind to start the day searching for a bite to eat without paying too much money.

The hotel was up to its usual high standard and things I disliked were not the fault of the hotel. We always return to the hotel around teatime for a dip in the pool and a drink when it is quieter. Unfortunaly this year we found towels on all the sunbeds but hardly anyone about. This really winds me up - some people are so selfish.

The best things about this hotel are the price and its excellent location. I don't think we will be back next year, but then I said that last year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Alpharooms

Recommended
Mrs D Daffern
8 years 3 months ago
I was glad to get out of the place. I had heard mixed reviews but still went. After travelling there and arriving at 8.30 pm, very tired, and travelling by myself hoped to get a nice welcome. Got there to a miserable unsmiling trout on the desk. Asked me for my paper work, and passport with no manners or a smile. Told me very abruptly where to go and told me I was on the top floor, which I was pleased about because I like to have a good view and a quiet room. She told me to get the lift to the first floor and there would be stairs. got out on the floor and then after climbing three lots of stairs, tired with a heavy suitcase and flight bag, realised she should have said third floor, as the lift went to the third. So a very weary 49 year old woman had struggled for nothing.
Got to the room, not bad thought clean had sea view and balcony (room 401) unpacked. and rested, then I started to hear a noise in a room next door, not a hotel bedroom, but at the end. thought it was just an odd bang, Went to bed then it started, a loud hum, followed by two loud bangs that vibrated through the bed, this occurred every 10 secs. I thought what was it, went to bed, then another noise started a loud gushing and humming besides the other noise. Stuck my ear plugs in, no good. This went on all night. Did not get any sleep. Two noises keeping me awake, it was constant. Decided to go down the next morning to ask for another room. There was a man on now, just as unfriendly, more or less told me the noise must be the lift, no I said, its not that. He said must be the water, only last a few seconds when someone ran water. I asked for another said there was one with no balcony, went to look, a scruffy room I wouldn't put a pig in. Holes in the curtains, bed linen looked tatty, the cupboards, looked fit for the tip and bathroom, needed complete refurb. Said I would stay in the room for now, but would he let me know if another one came vacant with a balcony. He said yes. Found out later, a fob off.
After another sleepless night, and also having to go out to get away from the din I went down again to the desk and it was the miserable ignorant trout again. She seemed to relish my discomfort because as she told me there were no rooms free as the hotel was full , she beamed for the first time. I knew it was a lie because I knew two couples were checking out.
I gave up but I was very upset and telephoned my husband and family a lot because I felt low. The noise was day and night. I did try to make the most of my time out of the hotel, but it was not easy knowing I had got to go back to that room and the din. The room was nice, but the place it was, situated was not.
I discovered when I saw the door open when the cleaners were in it, there were two great tanks that fed the hotel system, one tank had wires hanging out of it. Fancy having tanks next to a guest bedroom, not only was it noisy, but to me a safety risk, if there had been an explosion or anything my room would have been affected.
I spoke to a couple next door to me, 402 and they could hear it too.
However, after checking out after a week, I sat in the lounge and starting talking to some other guests who were also about to leave and found out that they had been on the same floor as me and that the room next to them 403 had been empty for days.
What a rotten thing to do to me, knowing I wanted another room, treating a mature woman who was alone like that. It was a disgrace.
I was relieved to get home to be able to rest and get some sleep.
So I will not be recommending the hotel to anyone. I would like to mention I am not a complainer, and have travelled and had good service and nice hotels, but this was an awful experience, and I have never been treated like this in a hotel before.
The only nice thing about the hotel were the cleaners, they were very nice and deserved the tips I left for them.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Travel Republic & Easyjet

Howells Party
9 years 9 months ago
We were a little aprehensive as to what to expect as we paid so little for a week here. What a pleasant surprise. The hotel was excellent and far surpassed our expectations. Everywhere was spotless, reception/bar area, rooms and pool area.The pool would not suit young children as it didn't have a shallow end. There wasn't a big area for sunbathing but there was a terrace up a few steep steps that could hold about 10 sunbeds and also a few beds along one side of the pool (these were shaded for a lot of the time). A few plastic tables and chairs completed the picture on the outside terrace.

The rooms were average size with twin beds and ample storage space. The bathroom was equiped with shower over small bath, wc, bidet and sink.

Most rooms had a smallish balcony overlooking the pool. I wouldn't recommend room number one where we were as it was right next to reception and the main walkway to the rest of the rooms. We were often disturbed by the Television in reception (which was placed by the window right next to our balsony doors) and even worse was the noise of the double doors out of reception in to our corridor. They were heavy sliding doors and they really did make a racket every time someone kept going through them. My sis 2 doors away from us said that the noise was even disturbing her. I'm sure if you request a room above the ground floor there'll be no problem.

Breakfast seemed to be a one man affair with the friendly chef cooking and carrying through the food to the breakfast room. He kept topping up to make sure there was enough for every one. A good choice of hot and cold food.

The bar area was very friendly and the bar was well stocked with every drink you could think of. There is also an internet corner.

Being non smokers, our party were relieved to note that there was no smoking allowed in the public areas inside although it was permited in your room and on the outside pool terrace.

The location of the hotel was perfect as it wasn't directly next to any bars but close enough for a good night out and also a very short stroll to the beach.
We would definitely return here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: easy jet & travel republic

Recommended
Clive
10 years 2 months ago
superb hotel.Great position.Staff good,food good,good bar which seems to be open 24hrs!Towels changed daily.Lovely pool with plenty of sunbeds.Cant beat it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
10 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from Hotel El Tiburon after staying there for 2 weeks which we booked through Alpha Rooms and Easyjet. The Hotel is rated as a 2 star but is more like a 3 star.The staff were quiet helpful with directions to and from the waterpark by foot.Some of the staff were quiet ignorant when the spanish tourists were around with it been the spanish holiday in August.The location of the hotel is 3 minutes from the beach and is in the Caruhuela area of Torremolinos.

The Hotel rooms are overlooking the well kept pool and the facilities are enough to enjoy your holiday. The rooms are cleaned every day with clean laundry and towels.There is a tv in the room with a few english channels.The accomodation includes breakfast which is ok with hot and cold food buffet style.Gets a bit boring after 2 weeks so sometimes we got breakfast out.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: alpharooms & easyjet

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
Hotel was excellent. It was very clean and was in a great location. Staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough to help during our stay. The hotel was more like a home away from home and we all would have no hesitation in returing to it!

Would recommend for everyone! It provides excellent values for money
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
10 years 6 months ago
The cleanliness of the hotel was very good, the breakfast was ok there is abit of choice like a pick and mix of what you want to eat. The staff are nice and helpfull. The location is ok to the beach or loacl shops though is abit out of the way of theme parks and is about half hour walk or so.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson fly

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
Not as good as some of the reviews made out.

The girl on the reception in the morning needs a few charm lessons.

The room basic but very clean. The hotel throughout was spotless.

Breakfast was average.

The pool was empty. There is no smoking in the bar.

A good location for the beach, but the town center was a 5 euro taxi ride each way.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independent

Sharon Louw
11 years 5 months ago
We found this hotel to be fantastic, a good bargain. I would definitely rate it as a very good 3 star although it is listed as only a 2 star in some places.

The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful, we have booked to go again this year.

Would highly recommend if you want a cheap hotel in a good location
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Hotel Connect

Recommended
Ian
11 years 9 months ago
Went to this hotel at the end of March, start of April in a group of 18.

As I had booked the hotel myself I was a little concerned about the standard of the hotel, mainly because it only cost
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Monarch

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: