Image of El Mouradi Palace Hotel

El Mouradi Palace Hotel

11 of 17 hotels in Port el Kantaoui

4 out of 5 from 20 reviews
5 stars

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Biker Bloke
9 years 9 months ago

This is a great hotel for a relaxing stay. Having been to Tunisia before we realised that it would not be 4* by British standards but gives you a general idea as to what you are getting. The decor is a bit tired in the rooms but fine in the public areas, everywhere was spotless, you are always seeing the maids around and about, working hard.
Our room was good, the water hot and the towels and sheets changed daily, (the maid even made our twin beds up with an extra large sheet to help stop us falling down the gap!!)
It was nice to find a safety deposit box in the room as well as fridge. These were free of charge, as was use of the 6 tennis courts, although this may well be because we were there out of season.
The food was a plentiful buffet, which had variations each day. There was enough choice for the vegetarian in our party (although this did rely quite heavily on pasta and salad), and there was always loads of fresh bread etc.
We found staff very helpful, and not too pushy for tips and seemed appreciative when you did so.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama/Thomas Cook

Recommended
10 years 1 month ago
Read a few bad reviews on the hotel before we went but was not that worried as we have stayed at other El Mouradi 5 star hotels in other resorts.

Hotel is a little dated now, 30 plus years old, but clean and tidy. It needs a bit of refurbishment in some areas but only cosmetic.

Staff are helpful and friendly, we had a few issues with pillows and light bulbs in the room on arrival that were sorted out very quickly. In fact within the hour of being reported.

Not European 5 star but a good 4 star. Many people return to this hotel year after year as the staff really look after you.

Food was good with a wide selection each evening. Some people may say it is repetitive and if you eat lamb, chicken, fish, pasta, meatloaf, beef and pork all in the same evening it will be. Like normal people we had salad or soup followed by pasta one evening, fish the next, then chicken the third night and so on. Wines were drinkable at 16 to 18 dinars a bottle and of acceptable quality.

Overall a four plus rating, you will not be disappointed with this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Christine & John
10 years 10 months ago
Having stayed at this hotel in November and back again for 4 weeks in January, this hotel is the best, staff excellent, managers very obliging.

We visit Tunisia 2 times a year and always stay in the port area, this hotel was home from home. People expect too much from Tunisia, its not Spain or Greece its a third world country and people should read up about it before they book holidays.

I would say this hotel is 5 star in Tunisia and most of the staff are worth tipping, maids work till they drop, bedding and towels are changed daily, would certainly be there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
Layla Fergus
11 years ago
We were in The El Mouradi Palace. The Location was excellent, directly on the beach.

The Staff were really friendly especially in The piano Bar, they were really talkative and we had a laugh with them!

The pool was freezing though, I only dipped my toes in and I normally always go in, my boyfriend went in a few times but came out shivering!

The hotel complex was quiet and the entertainment a bit dated but I would definitely go back in the higher season!

We asked to be moved out to the pool side and were moved almost immediately as a room was cleaned, very helpful, would recommend!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Hinton/Cooper
11 years 2 months ago
We have just returned & I would like to say what a pleasant hotel this is- what you have to remember is you are in NORTH AFRICA not the USA or Europe- they do very well catering for everyones needs regarding food etc there is plenty of choice & yes I agree after a week or two its repetitive but then again you would get fed up of having a Carvery every night too.

The wine in the Hotel is about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Dave Neil
11 years 5 months ago
The hotel was clean and check in was quick, I requested adjoining rooms by e-mail and I got what I asked for.

The rooms were clean and kept clean by the maid, the only problems we had was the bath plug was jammed and the hair dryer was coming apart.

They were fixed quite quickly when I contacted reception.

The food was OK especially the breakfast,could be a bit repetitive for a 2 week stay ?? The outside cafe was very good for an afternoon snack. The bar areas were very good with excellant service and the waiters did not hang around for a tip.

The pool was great and kept clean,special mention to the lifeguard who looked after us. And for a few dinars arranged our sunbeds and mats for us every morning so we could have a lie in.

Entertainment not to bad either.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Maggie
11 years 11 months ago
Arrived on 18th DEC at 10.00am having arrived at Monaster at 6.39 am. Reception was grand and welcome very friendly. After filling in registration forms and receiving welcome refreshing drink we were shown to our rooms.

The rooms were rather tired, in need of a thorough make over to deserve the supposed five stars. Mini bar turned out to be a mini fridge, there was no kettle or tea/coffee making facilities and the satellite t.v provided just two English channels, BBC world news and European sports reviews. The extra bed we required arrived a few hours later. Absolutely everyone we talked to sneered at the five star rating.

We looked forward to sampling the huge variety of food on offer, but after a week were thoroughly bored and ever hopeful of finding something with much taste all very bland though there was plenty of variety. The only drinks you never had to pay through the nose for were served at breakfast, after that you had to pay and tip if you wanted to maintain friendly service. Into the second week we simply couldn't face mealtimes and looked elsewhere.
The bar by the pool provided a fairly good burger meal, but you have to be quick with the ketchup before it's whipped away.

As our visit covered Xmas and the new year, most summer activities had been discontinued. Despite being advised that it would be warm, it was not, we had to cover up and proximity to the beach was of no consequence, all that was on offer was a camel ride.

Hotel staff were distantly polite. We maintained good service by tipping regularly and noted coolness on the one or two occasions when we either hadn't the change or decided not to. Got the overall impression of a huge gossip network amongst them, like they all discussed your business. This was not helped by the cleaners ignoring do not disturb signs and entering your room at least once every day, most often twice, to remove dirty towels and replace them whether or not they had been used. I arrived to find maintenance staff in my room at 9.00pm, they told me my fridge was faulty and they were changing it, and on another day four people turned up to deal with cockroaches I'd reported a few days earlier. These intrusions were invasive and definitely not what you'd expect from a five star hotel. Especially annoying when we were trying to sleep away the afternoon boredom.

Massage and beauty parlours were of a high standard , my husband and sons used them a lot but it cost a lot too, average
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunmaster

Le Bon Family
13 years 3 months ago
Having paid over two thousand pounds for this holiday we were very disappointed.

Arrived at hotel at 4.30 pm only to find room wasn't ready.

The reception area was very teak and tattered like something out of the 70's.

Finally we got into our room "5 star
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Rachel & Phil Meehan
13 years 5 months ago
We booked to stay in 5 star HB allocation on arrival so were unsure which resort or hotel we would be staying in. At arrivals we met the rep who told us we
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Nicky
13 years 5 months ago
On arrival at the hotel we were given forms to fill in at reception and a welcome drink.
We were then told that if we wanted dinner we would have to go to the restaurant as it closed at 9.15pm. We felt at this point that they were quite rude as it was 8.30pm and we had only just arrived and not been to our room yet.

We then went to our room which was very fresh and clean due to its recent touch up. WE then went for dinner which in our opinion was very poor and definately more suited for the continental visitor. I opted for chicken fillets which were being cooked in front of you on a grill unfortunately when i got back to the table and cut into it i found it was still raw and pink in the middle. Not a good start to the holiday!!!
The food unfortunately did not improve and breakfast was just so bad we only went once.

On day 2 of our holiday we awoke to drilling and banging and when going out of our room to investigate the noise we found that nearly all the other rooms on our floor were being refurbished with doors lying in the corridors and carpets e.t.c when we went to reception to complain and ask for a room on a different floor where there was no work we were informed that there was only room with a seaview which incurred a charge which for a hotel of that size was farcical as it was by no means full!! So we remained in the middle of a building site for the rest of the week!

The location of the hotel was good and only a 5min walk to the beach and about 5-10mins in a taxi to the marina. There was plenty of activities during the day to keep you busy although we did find the evening entertainment a bit poor.

We attended the gala dinner in the a la carte restaurant which was the nicest meal we had all holiday but then you do have to pay for it but it was worth every penny just to get something tasty.

The hotel staff overall were very friendly with exception of the reception staff who were very ignorant towards us after we had complained about our room which in my opinion if they cant handle criticism then they are in the wrong job. The bar staff and entertainment staff were very friendly as were the majority of waiters. The maid was also very friendly and always pleased to help in anyway she could she also kept the room very clean and there was fresh towels everyday.

The holiday overall was enjoyable and didnt put me off going back to tunisia however i will not be returning to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: