Image of Golf Residence Hotel Sol

Golf Residence Hotel Sol

13 of 17 hotels in Port el Kantaoui

3 out of 5 from 50 reviews
3 stars

50 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    18
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    10
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Shelley
Good location but in need of update
6 years ago
Stayed here 3 years ago, took family members this time. Hotel staff very friendly, always willing to help any time day or night. Housekeeping staff are great, hotel and rooms kept very clean, even though the hotel is looking a bit tired.

The food is fine - not michelin star but you will not go hungry. Breakfast fab- omelettes, fried eggs and pancakes cooked as you wait.

Poolside entertainment staff try hard to get guests involved. Evening entertainment could be better but a holiday is what you make it!

The hotel is ideally placed for the resort centre - just 5 mins from the fountains and the marina. My family all enjoyed it and my husband and I will definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Food was not bad
7 years 3 months ago
Just come back from golf residence having spent two weeks there first impression at reception was a little frosty but when you got to know them they did manage to force a smile.

The rooms in general are in need of a big revamp it is starting to look very tired.

The pool area when wet is very slippery.

The one thing I cannot fault is the entertainment team they work really hard to get people involved in things and are always so happy. The waiters are better for knowing and do try to help.

The food not bad I have tasted a lot worse they do give you a wide variety but if you don't eat meat the I think you would get bored of eating salads. In general I enjoyed the holiday it is really cheap when you get there and after all the holiday is what you make it. Try it what you have to remember they way for live is so different to ours.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
I Bowie
Our first and last visit to Tunisia
7 years 4 months ago
Traveled on a last minute holiday with my 14 year old daughter. Chose this hotel from a brochure/online and thought it looked suitable. How wrong i was!

The room we got at first was not same as in the brochure, totally different, after being on numerous holidays i would actually rate this a 2 star hotel, so bad that my daughter actually burst into tears. Managed to get it changed the next day after speaking to the rep (who was very helpful) showing my invoice to prove i'd paid for a room that slept 4, as shown in brochure, and argued with a receptionist who spoke down to me, probably as i was a female on my own, which i found out on numerous occasions by the way i was treated when asking for help or advice.

There was an Aqua Park situated at the front of the hotel across the road, it had blaring music from early in the morning to late on, there was also a funfair at the side of the hotel, where our room looked onto, it had blaring music and you could hear people screaming on the rides for hours! They were obviously having a great time, unlike us. We'd hoped to relax by the pool which if you want some peace go from 8am - 10am, after that forget it. I'm all for having entertainment guys doing things like water aerobics, pool football, etc but do they really need to have blaring music all the time as well, it was non stop. There was no where to go to get peace and that's one thing i crave when i go away. The nightclub thankfully was at the other side of the hotel so didn't bother us but i heard plenty of other people complaining and moving rooms etc.

Food.. well, i totally struggled to find anything decent to eat, and yes it is a different country etc. but I'm not really a fussy eater but lived on pasta, rice (hard) and chips, something i haven't been able to look at since i got home. My daughter totally struggled to eat, she lived on water, grapes and bananas which i bought from the supermarket / beach sellers. Part of a great holiday for us is the food, we were totally disappointed. The queuing for everything made me feel like i was back at school in the canteen at lunchtime!

Some of the staff were friendly (mainly the cleaners) others would walk away when i went up to the bar and make me wait until serving me. Maybe if their culture changed slightly and they got some females behind reception, bar and waiting staff in the restaurant things might be a bit more pleasant, they obviously lack the female touch.

Was pleased we were only there for 1 week, wouldn't have lasted 2 weeks, deafened by all the noise and starved.

Probably best not to go to Tunisia without a man with you who will get more respect from the male staff at this hotel and would stop getting hassle from males when out and about. Very unnerving.

Perhaps other hotels in Tunisia are better than this but I'm not willing to take the risk. Its our first and last visit to Tunisia.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Charlotte
This was the perfect holiday
7 years 4 months ago
This was the perfect holiday. The hotel was in the middle of everything so you where able to walk to get everywhere. The food at the hotel was excellent, I was there for 2 weeks and didn't get bored with the food. There is a wide variety of food for every nationality on offer for breakfast, lunch and evening meal. The staff at the hotel were exceptionally friendly and would do anything to help. The entertainment staff where excellent, with a wide variety of activities throughout the day for children right up to adults. The entertainment of an evening was great some shows put on by the staff and others such as a drag queen act and an Indian show where also brilliant and put on from people outside of the hotel.

There was a night club downstairs for the teenagers, this was fabulous and the noise was kept down and you couldn't hear it from your room. The water park across the road is brilliant and a must do if you go. There is also a fun fair over the road also and you cant hear the noise from the hotel.

I will be going back next year I loved it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bob Anderson
7 years 5 months ago
Havong read previous reviews we were more than a little sceptical about going to this Hotel, but decided to judge for ourselves.

The Hotel is ideally situated for the resort and all its amenities.

There is a disco attached to the Hotel, however we were situated tothe rear of the Hotel and cannot therefore comment on any noise levels.

The general demeanor of the Hotel is one of in need of refurbishment. There are worn carpets throughout. There is poor lighting in the corridors, every second light being inoperable.

The room was in the same need of attention. pieces of trim missing, towel rails that fell off.

The cleaners worked as hard as they could to keep the place clean and tidy.

The communal areas were clean, as was the pool.

The restuarant provided indifferent standards of food. Sometimes it was really good, others it was not. The meal timings are not good. Breakfast started at 0630hrs and finished at 0930hrs. If you had a long lei you would miss out.

There are plenty of eggs for breakfast, plenty of omelettes, plenty of scrambled eggs, and plenty of pancakes.

Having been to Tunisia before, this was easily the worst Hotel I have stayed in. It may have been 4 star at one time, but definitely not now.

The staff also varied. some were very pleasant others were surly and it was an effort for them to serve you with a smile.

As a base to sun-worship then I suppose it was adequate.

Having said all that I would recommend Tunisia to those looking to book a holiday as the Tunisian people are very friendly, fun loving and make you most welcome.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

C Morris
7 years 7 months ago
We arrived 25th April 2010 into a dark and gloomy reception. Asked for a room with a pool view and was told the room allocated was not but receptionist did change it and gave us a room with a pool view with no hassle. Corridor to room was dark only about 4 light bulbs lit out of, I think, 9. Room was quite large but had the added guest of ants. Gloomy dark painted wood, very tired furniture on the balcony, lot of grout missing round the tiles in the bathroom round the door frame. The toilet didn't flush properly. The pool area was very nice with plenty of sun beds to go round and sun bed mats were available for 1 dinar. The water was a bit cold though.
The meals were not up to much although we didn't starve. There was cauliflower and cabbage for breakfast on a few occassions, and not much variety at both breakfast and evening meals. The evening staff were o.k. and quite friendly as opposed to the breakfast staff.
There was also building work going off in the hotel so we had to put up with banging and drilling for most of the day (for a week)!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Palmer
7 years 10 months ago
Rooms and linen cleaned every day.Food always fresh and hot not a huge choice as some bigger hotels but something for everyone>The hotel is in a good position for the beach ,shops etc. We will certainly be going back as really enjoyed it and would recommend this hotel to others.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Jackie
7 years 11 months ago
ive just returned from staying at the hotel for me i think it should be a four star not a three for me i had a great time there the staff were realy friendly great food had a very pleasent holiday i would certainly go there again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: tomson

Recommended
8 years 1 month ago



Arrival & Reception

When we arrived our bags were taken from us and we were given a form to fill in. This was pretty much the same info as for the landing card. We were then allocated a room on the first floor at the front of the hotel. Staff on reception were ok but they didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

8 years 4 months ago
just back from golf residence for the price was excellent rooms really big and spotless chamber maids best i have ever seen staff ok food ok only complaint was the sun beds some people paid staff to hold sun beds over for them which meant you had to get up at 7 in the morning to get a sun bed but great hotel would def go back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: