Image of Club Mermaid Village Hotel

Club Mermaid Village Hotel

19 of 23 hotels in Alanya

3 out of 5 from 19 reviews
4 stars
Turkler Beldesi Mevkii, 07400 Alanya, Turkey

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    10
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Richard Leonard Greco
Never again, wouldn't recommend
10 years 10 months ago
The hotel was extremely good in both layout and cleanliness, but the food was another matter in the 7 nights we were there they had meatballs on the menu 4 times for dinner and once for lunch. For breakfast there were numerous salvers of salad, a lot of which were just Feta cheese and decoration, there was no toaster only a large catering sandwich toaster.

They appeared to really only cater for the eastern countries as any cold meats were of the spicy sausage type, boiled eggs were available everyday while fried eggs were available probably 4 days out of 7. 2 of the other days consisted of pancakes.

The plates for hot food were always cold therefore when you put something like eggs on them they were also cold by the time you returned to your table, fresh orange juice was 2 euros per glass and they only made cocktails from imported spirits and cost 7 euros each.

Desserts were the same for lunch and dinner with no ice-cream or cream to accompany. Ice cream was available at 15.30 each day but only to children under 14. There was alternative hot food but again 3 nights and 1 lunchtime this included mackerel with skin still on and as most people will agree has an acquired taste. All in all this was the worst all inclusive deal I have ever experienced. One other thing was that there was no inside bar, 1 of the bars was poolside while the other was under a canvas top similar to the roof of a tent. This was where the entertainment took place, the only other place to drink was in the restaurant. The final straw was when we tried to go to the A la Carte restaurant, we were advised it had closed for the winter.

This hotel was in the middle of nowhere with no other facilities nearby apart from half a dozen shops mostly selling souvenirs. We never actually went to the beach as it involved a 600 metre walk or travelling in vehicle towed by a tractor with a limited amount of seating. Can't comment on the beach standard as we only saw it from a distance. While my wife and I are both 68 and didn't intend to play tennis or basketball the access to the court and the gardens was also closed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Tez
13 years 9 months ago
We stayed here on the 28th oct 08 till 5th nov 08. iv never been to a hotel where there is nothing to do and is surrounded by a war zone. The whole area looked like the yanks had dropped bombs on iraq. The food is cold, Every bar staff and restaurant staff tried it on with my girlfriend and her sister. Even after being told several times to stay away they don't give in. I reported it all to the manager. She said no no no, my staff are good, nothing like that happens here. I can not tell you how much this site is derelict. There is nothing but 3 little shops that sell sweets (well there is your kids entertainment). The only fun we had here is when a few of us got together and threw many staff fully clothed into the pool. That was the highlight of the holiday. all you can do is sit by a pool.

Also we went to Alanya, We were conned, robbed and harassed so much we had to run back to the bus stop and go back to the hole of a hotel. I had 2 daughters with me, 10 and 13. They felt so unsafe. Oh yes also don't book excursions, we we conned by the rep of 225 lira and told we will get it back at the airport, ye right. More chance of the manager sacking the staff at the hotel. Look at my pics, you will see for yourself.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Emma Williams
13 years 10 months ago
We have just returned from holiday in Turkey Club Mermaid Hotel... The only nice thing i cazn say is we met some great friends from our own country...
The food was ok for us we ate a few bits and bobs that were passable but ate out twice and paid a bomb!! My 1 year old didnt hardly eat i was fairly worried... and even if you do manage a niced meal you get bombarded by flies and wasps.
The pool area is great and the pool slides are alot of fun, the pool seems clean and the hotel itself is very clean.
I found some of the staff to be very rude from the entertainment crew but the bar staff and catering staff are lovely and helpful.
Overall i dont think we will return to Alanya especially that hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travelmaster

Craig Damon
13 years 10 months ago
I have just returned from a 2week break at the club mermaid village and its the worst holiday i have ever been on. The all inclusive doesnt include activities such as tennis,gym, the night club ect.Which all have to be paid for with a card.You have to purchase it on arrival and have to put
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday City

Craig Damon
13 years 10 months ago
Hi i have just returned from a 2 week break at the club mermaid village and i can say it is the worst holiday i have ever been on.

The all inclusive doesnt include activities such as tennis, basketball,gym, the night club and cinema.which all have to be paid for with a card that you have to purchase on arrival how ever you have to put
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday City

Cook
13 years 11 months ago
We stayed at the Club Mermaid. Save your money and go elsewhere. This was the worse holiday we have ever had.
My daughter caught an ear infection from the pool, the queues for pancakes are a joke and the all inclusive is very poor with very little choice of drinks.
The food was awful, not geared to Brits at all, more to the Russian guests, eg, salt fish. No ice cream for the kids unless you buy it in the very expensive shop.
The location is in the middle of no where, needing taxi's or coaches to get to anywhere, there is no where within walking distance.
Staff dont speak much English, but the entertainment staff do try very hard.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Ms Taylor
14 years ago
The apartment we stayed in was excellent, was cleaned daily with clean towels.

The food was good for adults as well as kids that, are willing to try a little different from British food, but there were bugars and chips and pizzas, pancakes during the day at the pool bar if your taste is that only. I have to say though the cheese on the pizzas was feta cheese or goat im not sure but the kids loved it, you do have cows milk in the morining for the cereal and the coffee machines made excellent coffee.

One fault there was'nt free ice cream but you could buy it cheaply costing 150 euro to 250 euro. Staff were excellent they could not work any harder making your hoilday stay the best and as relaxed as possible when youve got children.

Entertainment was for every body it was spoken in all language's, which took a bit of time but you got to take your hat off for him being able to speak all the language's. we made lots of friends from all over the world, but you have to beat the germans for the sun beds ect.... but the turkish are great and every thing is a quing system so there was no pushing in because they wont serve you.

I would recommend this as a fantasic hoilday for family and coupes alikes.

We are going back again in 2 years as are hoilday was excellent and we cant wait to see the staff we made as friends again, one fault I would state was that there was no cash machine you would need to get a taxi to the nearist one, costing you 20 euro's or get the hotel bus to town, we got the hotel to tell the driver where we wanted to go and the taxi will wait for you free of charge time was no issue. As English was a problem on local transport.

I would recommend a boat trip and the water park they were fab days out.

The hotel to the beach was minutes away we went in the evening as the sand was to hot for the kids, the sea was clean and blue did wonders for my prickly heat, ha ha
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: bookable hoildays

Recommended
Angela
14 years 1 month ago
Disappointed with how All Inclusive is perceieved from this hotel,very disappointed.
Hotel grounds and pool area lovely, kept clean at all times, the only 4 star catorgory of this hotel; the rest I would rate as 2 star.
Location is terrible, nothing around a good 30 mins distance from Alanya; bus shuttle service offered from hotel.
Staff are friendly, especially animation when they want you to buy from them a DVD, they really make a point to be-friend you.
Entertainment is poor, alcohol drinks poor, and limited.
Hotel shop is very overpriced, far more expensive than home, bring with you lots of sun lotion and daily personal needs. I would not visit this hotel again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sun Savers

Gary&leah
14 years 1 month ago
Just got back with my family and I have to say we had never been to Turkey before, first off we were told the hotel was in Alanya, well its not.

Have to say the room was cleaned every day and clean towels put down.

The food was OK as long as you get there early to sit down as you had to wait for a table, and there were alot of flies.

The location well my husband thought he was back in Bassra, we did go to the beach which they did have a free bar but you have to book food with them. Also if you right and keep walking you will come across a dolphin park which is fab and not expensive to go in.

As we arrived early morning we had mr bean.... Booking us in I don't think he had ever used a computer before it took an hour and there were only 3 familys that were booking in.

Entertainment well thats an eye opener, thats all they want to do is dress as women and get naked.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: medholidays(tele text)

Louise
14 years 10 months ago
We have just returned from a week's all inclusive holiday at this hotel. It was fantastic.

We stayed in an appartment style room which boasted a double balcony that over looked the mountains surrounding Alanya. So relaxing in the evenings!
Our appartment was cleaned everyday and was always kept to a high standard. Bed linen was changed everyday too. The hotel itself was always clean and the floors etc were also cleaned everyday.
The food was really nice. There was a huge selection to chose from with something new each night. As a really fussy eater I was pleasantly suprised. There was plenty of fresh fruit and salad and always a meat dish.
The hotel was about 5 or 600 meters from the beach which was easily walkable but if you prefer the hotel does offer a shuttle service. Alanya town centre is 16Km away but again the hotel run a free shuttle service or you can catch a bus for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.