Image of Grand Kaptan Hotel

Grand Kaptan Hotel

14 of 23 hotels in Alanya

3 out of 5 from 40 reviews
5 stars
Obagol Mevkii Tosmur S/N, 07460 Alanya, Turkey
Set in attractive gardens, away from the hustle and bustle of central Alanya, this hotel offers luxury mixed with Turkish character. It is well situated in a quiet area with easy access to miles of shingle beaches.

40 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    18
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ali
11 years 3 months ago
I have just come back from holiday last week to tell you the true was not that great. The reason why I am saying that first you pay a huge of money and you will be treating like is doing for you a favour.
Let start what I come cross with that particular holiday.
The grand Kapton Hotel is too far from the airport is about 2 Hours and 15 Minutes.
I was in half board and I really did not know that soft drink is included, but after two days I found out that was not included as you will not provided with a receipt so I did paid for two days which I had soft drink in the reception. I said from now I will keep my self paying every two days. The next two days I went to the reception to pay and the MANAGER said to me the amount which I was not expecting to pay and the amount was double (By the way the soft drink cost 3.90 Lira nearly €2), so I said no is that amount and he start to get angry, and said he will found out. I did gave him time to found out but unfortunately he did back to me, so I went to the other so call manager and I did explain to him that I have been charge twice and I already spoke with some body two days ago also said he will found out , I was waiting an other two no one come to me , so I went again and found the third Manger I did explain to him and that I did report it twice also said he will found out , so I back to UK last Friday 23rd July 2010 and basically no one bother to come to me.
The outcome of what more frustrate me is not about the money (thanks God I live in UK) is about they do work in group so if you complain to the chef or to the waiter or to the supervisor or to the Manage or maybe to the boss you will not get your right. Other thing The TIPS in Turkey become necessary as if you go to excursion you will find a guy holding box in the boat asking for the tips, also when they drop in the hotel by bus the rapper asking you to give tips for the driver that also annoy me.
The food is buffet that was alright.
Don not use soft drink in the fridge which located in your room as will cost you each small coke or spite 3.90 Lira nearly €2.
They do have WI-FI but not in the rooms just in reception area.
I was looking for the sand beach which was saying before I book but I end up with nearly full of stones so be in mind is not like what is says in the website.
The grand Kapton Hotel is too far from the airport is about 2 Hours and 15 Minutes by coach.
There will be a door man waiting for you in front of the hotel as he will carry your language so expect to give some money.
The excursion I found it very expensive Lazy day will cost you £33 to see manavgat will cost you £30 and is boring.
Customer service ZEROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
When you go to the beach there will be a guy standing as soon as you arrived he open for you parasol and he will expect for you to give him some money.
I found Turkey is too expensive whereas people saying is cheap.
If you travel from England to that hotel Grand Kapton will be 6 Hours travelling 4 hours plane and 2 hours and 15 minutes by coach





Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Clarkson
11 years 4 months ago
just returned from a wonderful week at the Grand Kaptan .It used to be casino and is extremely good condition. The public areas are very spacious.Our room was very large and comfy. Huge bed and plenty of wardrobe space.

The food is excellant (just wish we had been all inclusive ) They bring out treats all day. The buffet was very varied and it had the biggest salad bar I have seen.

But as all previous reviewers have commented ,the entertainment is absolutely DIRE!!!!! God knows why they dont hire in entertainment. Ah! but maybe they dont need to because if you all inclusive then you are captured for the night.

A word of warning though.I am recovering from a severe case of food poisoning NOT from the Hotel but a small turkish bar/restuarant near by. I belive its name is Tom Tom its on the other side of the main road and it has a string of yellow lights around the entrance.

severe I should say so !!! .I am now in my second week !!! of the baddie bug and had to go to casualty this morning . Go to the Blue Parrot if you want a drink locally they are great.

and please go to the Grand Kaptan its first class.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
12 years 2 months ago
I stayed with my husband and 15 year old daughter in Hotel Grand Kaptan for 2 weeks in August half board. The hotel is in Oba, which is on the outskirts of Alanya. There is not much to do in Oba apart from the Monday market - worth a visit, best fruit in the world! - and the Blue Parrot bar next door - a 'must visit' - but the hotel runs a free bus into Alanya several times a day, which was reliable and air conditioned, but if you don't get that, the public GoldCity buses run every ten minutes and only cost 1 lira (40p) to virtually anywhere (if only UK buses were the same!).

Our room was very clean and well equipped (but no ironing board!) although quite dark but a good view from the balcony. It was cleaned daily with fresh towels and linen, and a beach towel provided so really no need to take towels. The cleaners were always very friendly.

There was a supply of hot and cold drinks and snacks in our room, but beware if you are not fully inc, as some are free and some are very expensive! We only found out because a porter tipped us off, otherwise we would have had a massive bill at the end of our stay, and when I complained that items we have not ordered should not be put in our room, the Head Receptionist was very rude to me and walked off. So beware, the large bottle of water on the table is free, but the small one in the fridge is expensive! But apart from this particular character, everyone in the Hotel was very friendly.

The air conditioning in our room did not work the first few days but, after several complaints, we were moved to another room which was great. As compensation, we were allowed to stay in a spare room for the 6 hours before we went home on the last day, but that room also had faulty ac so they seem to have a problem with the system. Believe me, in August, you need it!

Breakfast and dinner is buffet style, and there was an enormous variety of food, so you can have something different every day, and plenty for vegetarians and meat eaters alike.

One annoying thing was that some guests plonk their towels and personal belongings on the sun beds around the pool and leave them there for the duration of the holiday, so unless you are one of these, you are unlikely to get a bed around the pool, although there are plenty on the private beach, accessed by a short tunnel. The Fun Pool with 3 slides is in the grounds of the annexe (which was disused while we were there), and is accessed by a rickety wooden bridge (look out for the camel!) It was great fun, and not just for kids!

The 'Entertainment'; early evening was a sing-and-dance-along for children, and the youngsters seemed to enjoy this. But the main entertainment after was so excruciating, it was embarrassing to watch. If it was a school production, it would be ungraded. And here is where some of the fully inc guests felt hard done by, as they had paid for their drinks but went elsewhere in the evening as there is nothing in the hotel to do, so I am glad we were half board.

All in all, a nice hotel, but don't expect to be entertained, and make sure the air conditioning works!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Debbie + FRank
12 years 4 months ago
Me and my husband had a two week holiday at The Grand Kaptan Hotel in Alanya on a half board basis June 2009, The hotel was very clean by an army of cleaners and the food was fantastic!all tastes were catered for also the two al a carte meals were fine cuisine. The location of the hotel was a bit far from Alanya its self but a free hotel bus was provided which was very good. The staff are fantastic and actually go out of their way to make your holiday special eg jayjay and symon on the entertainment team, hamet the waiter and our room cleaner nasife who work very hard.Entertainment day time by the pool was great hubby joined in all the games!! I did yoga and aqua and gym ! but on a night the staff tried hard but entertainment was not very good at the roof bar. Would we go back to Grand kaptan most definetly we had a wonderful holiday the best we have ever had.Also this hotel is truly a five star rated.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Sophie
12 years 4 months ago
i have been to turkey twice...1st time marmaris and second time alanya...both were very nice holidays but i have to say i very much enjoyed staying at the grand kaptan hotel...
i have read reviews that other people have written about all the bar staff being miserable and the food being the same...this was not the case when i was staying at the hotel! the bar staff were absolutly brilliant even joining in some holidays snaps with us and nothing was too much trouble for them
the food was fantastic, taking into account that the hotel has alot of nationalities to cater for...ther was salad chips cheese ham a selection of bread different soups every day and whats more, the chefs would grill your meats infront of you and the selection changed everyday from grilled chicked fish lamb donner meat beef veal..you never got bored of ur meal times...we ate out 3 times in the 2 weeks that we stayed.
the hotel was bery clean at all times and the cleaners were very pleasent to speak to
reception staff were very helpful when i had trouble trying to make a call from my room to england
the only downside to the holiday was that the entertainment was really poor! we tried the roof top bar twice and after that went out into the town or sat down in the lobby.
because of such poor entertainment we ventured out the hotel to find very nice little bars and pubs of which everybody was nice and friendly however the one that sticks in my mind the most was a bar called the blue parrot which for a bonus was just accross the lane outside the hotel the staff were absolutly amazing and there party nights were great fun equiped with fire eaters belly dancers break dancers as well as staff performing there own entertainment for the customers ideal for adults and children for a very good night out and a special thanks to the manager of the blue parrot tommy for wonderful service
overall the hotel and settings are definatly worth 5* ratimgs i will definatly be visiting the grand kaptan again in the very near future!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Corrina
14 years 2 months ago
We really enjoyed our stay at the the Grand Kaptan. The food was really nice it got cooked in front of you in the resauraunt. But in the restaurant the service is very slow.We went for a meal on the boat which was really nice and the food was a bbq and a salad. We also went for the bbq on the beach which was very nice again. The entertainment was poor we went up twice to the entertainment and both nights wasn't good. The maid came in daily and also you got a free botlle of water daily. The location was out of Alanya town but there was a free bus from the hotel that took you into Alanya town but got very busy. There is a bus at the top of the raod which also took you into Alanya which you had to pay for.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
T.Weeks
14 years 2 months ago
my partner and i have just got back from Turkey, we got married in Alanya and there was a party of 50 of us in total who stayed in the Grand Kaptan.
my first impressions of the hotel were good and it seemed pleasing on the eye.

The biggest let down for us were the bar staff in the lobby and on the roof. they refuse to serve people at the bar and insist they send a waiter to a table.
we waited 45 minutes in total on the roof bar on one or the nights in question to get served one round of drinks! i highlighted this to 3 members of the waiter staff at various points during this 45 minutes and was greeted with a blunt "wait" or "go and sit down" reaction on each occasion.
the bar staff were always rude and looked miserable.
the lobby bar was just as bad but this time more down to lack of staff numbers than lazyness. there were 1 or 2 waiters for maybe 60-70 people which was not really good staff management.

i made a complaint regarding the service at the bar and he told me that some of them just dont like English people!?!?!
i have never heard anything like that from a hotel manager before!

i would recommend the blue parrot which is next to the hotel, reasonable prices there and the staff are excellent. seems a shame to go on an all inclusive holiday and they pay for your evenings drinks at another bar but trust me, at least that way you can get served!!

the restuarant staff were the opposite, always happy and very fast with their service.

our rep "Gem" was excellent and very helpful.

regarding the Pools, the slides were very entertaining!! on a bad note, out of 50 of us nearly all of the people who went in the pool regularly developed ear infections while we were there which cut the fun down no end!



also if your flight is very late then dont take the staffs final answer about not letting you keep the room on until 11pm. it is at a cost of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice / eclipse

Corrina
14 years 2 months ago
The hotel was clean with a maid coming every day and the reception area clean as well.

The hotel food was good, it was cooked infront of you.

The location wasn't good there was probably only two pubs are favourite The Blue Parrot.

The hotel staff were friendly but the fuss when you checked in was onnoying as you had to fill out a form after a long day of travelling.

The entertainment was poor it was on the roof it looks good from a distance but we went up twice one night kareoke and the other a show but we coouldn't hear them!

The hotel was nice with the theme of a boat and try and spot the tortose's! You can relax by the pools or in a garden.

We enjoyed the hotel just the location let it down!

We went for a Turkish bath which was good and my children went parrasailing they enjoyed also and recomend it! My husband got a hair cut he said 'it was really good!'.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Annie Maclean
14 years 2 months ago
i stayed at the Grand Kaptan hotel last year.
i realy enjoyed my stay, and it seemed a very friendly hotel to have your holiday.
My biggest let down was the entertainment, the bar staff were not at all friendly and the entertainment was confusing as it was not all in english and took awhile to translate.
The amazing part was the food. it was delicious, you had all sorts of differnt foods, and it was ALL cooked right in front of you.
the pool was amazingly cool and very relaxing, there was a slide area for the kids and also a beach resort around the hotel wchichwas hot and calming(:

overal i would definatly visit turkey and the grand Kaptan hotel with the family again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Lucy Bye
14 years 3 months ago
i stayed at the grand kaptan hotel at the begining of July 2007, which was really the height of the season so it wasnt that busy. i found that the hotel was very clean, our room was cleaned every day thouroughly which was brill although it did get a bit annoying, the maids coming in every morning. the hotel food was varied but a bit strange. they pretty much had the same every night, although if you do go all inclusive or half board i heard there was a bbq ont he beach and an 'a la carte' restaurant by the harbour which was apparently great but as i was only staying for a week we didnt have enough time.the hotel was not very central but there is a courtesy bus going to the centre on average every couple of hours, and theres a regular bus service costing 1 turkish lire (around 40p) which pulls up outside the hotel so there is always a way to get to the town centre and theres shops near the hotel so you dont really need to go the the centre.although there was a bit of a language barrier the hotel staff tried their hardest to help us with any queries.our rep 'gem' was fantastic, the best rep in the world, he was a nice person and was so helpful and when talking about excursions he told the truth, he'd been on them all and if he thought that they were boring he said so.he knows everything about turkey that you want to ask. apparently the entertainment wasnt very good but i didnt go to the discos as theres bars around the corner, 'the blue parrot', which is the best bar ive ever been to becuase the staff are so brilliant, and thats what probably made my holiday so special.i would recommend the jeep safari and the sunset cruise.dont be fooled by the turkish bath, it hurts! we went to one around the corner from the hotel as an excursion we got scrubbed and bubble massaged which was fine then got talked into having a warm oil massage and they dug in so much i couldnt look over my left shoulder for the week and my mum had bruises on her back.apart from this though the holiday was the best ever!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.