Image of Hotel 41 at Times Square

Hotel 41 at Times Square

19 of 51 hotels in Manhatten

4 out of 5 from 5 reviews
3 stars
206 West 41st Street, New York, NY, United States

5 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Terence William Jones
10 years 4 months ago
I booked Hotel 41 after reading all the reviews on Holiday Truths and I thoroughly agree with all the good comments.All the staff were very friendly and helful.We stayed in room 601 which had an excellent front view. It was small even though it was a delux room but it was quite adequate for two. It was very modern and clean with best quality linen.The heating system is individual to each room MARVELLOUS.There was a large fridge and TV and DVD player with free DVD's available from reception.There was no tea making facilities so we were glad we took our travelling kettle(there was free coffee at the bar until 4pm)Happy hour at the bar was from 4 -7pm Mon.- Fri.We arrived at the weekend and were given BOGOF voucher to use that weekend(excellent!!!)The meals/snacks at the hotel are good and local office workers used the hotel after work in the evening which added to the atmosphere of the bar.The situation of the hotel is excellent opposite on one corner was The Red Lobster which was always full, turn right outside the hotel and right again there was a 24hour MacDonald's and an all you can eat Chinese buffet with a drink (till 4pm)
which was first class 16 dollars for two (cost in the evening a few dollars more)The location of the hotel was brilliant for a great deal of the "attractions" the Empire State Building was a 15min.walk which was near Macy's. The walk to all the Theatres in the evening was through Times Square was awesome the atmosphere suberb.Dont forget to get your half price tickets from the booths at he side of the Marriot, we saw three shows all first class.A must is to go to the revolving restaurant in the Marriot(just have a drink if you prefer)and see Manhattan by night.WOW.The police presence was very noticeable we had no problems at all.Central Park (do have the carriage ride)Bloomingdales,Tiffanys' Rockefeller Centre all within walking distance.Overall fab fab fab.If you like a small friendly hotel this is the hotel for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
13 years 4 months ago
We stayed at Hotel 41 from the 2nd to the 7th of February 2005.

Check-in was very quick and easy, the girl on reception was lovely, really friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 302, which is at the front of the building, overlooking the street. Unfortunately whilst we were there there was scaffolding to the front of the hotel, although we could still see into the street it didn't look as good as it should have (with the fancy fire escapes) we didn't get disturbed by the street noise.

The room looked exactly like the photographs on the hotel website. It was tiny, but it was extremely modern, clean and attractive (and the smallness makes you keep everything very tidy!) The room had a large fridge, really good heating/air conditioning, TV/DVD and safe. The storage space was good, with lots of hangers and large drawers. The bed was very comfortable, with really nice bedding and loads of spare pillows, the sheets were changed daily.

The bathroom was lovely, all white tiles, ultra-modern and typical New York, the shower was spacious and powerful. There were loads of clean towels daily and the complimentary toiletries and 'bits' were excellent. The hair dryer was very powerful. The room, and hotel in general, was kept exceptionally clean throughout our stay.

The complimentary breakfast was basic but good, fresh bagels, pastries, muffins, coffee and orange juice.

The whole atmosphere at the hotel was relaxed and informal, the staff, across the board, were friendly, helpful and efficient.

We would not hesitate to return to Hotel 41 on our next visit to New York.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: N/A

Recommended
13 years 4 months ago
This hotel is a gem within Times Square - perfectly located for access to theatres, cinemas, restaurants, and the subway, all within walking distance.

Following check in, we were offered 2 bottles of complementary water.

The rooms are small, but perfect for couples, with modern furnishings, full sized fridge, writing desk etc. and are equipped with a DVD player, there is also a complimentary DVD and CD library to borrow from in reception.

The bathroom is bright and clean with a marble floor, and is well maintained.

Bar 41 is downstairs, where free continental breakfast is served.

We found the staff friendly, professional, and extremely helpful, and therefore, we would certainly stay here again.

Driver02
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Expedia

Recommended
Nikki
13 years 4 months ago
The hotel is pefectly positioned right on Times Square. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel room was very small, but adequate for the two of us. Although the room was small, it was newly decorated, well furnished and very clean. There was a large TV, DVD player and a fridge. The bathroom was newly refurbished and had a large shower.

The only time we ate in the hotel was for breakfast every day and it was very nice with a good selection of cakes, muffins, bagels, toast etc.

I would definitely visit this hotel again and found it very good value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Expedia

Recommended
14 years 4 months ago
I stayed at the Hotel 41 At Times Square ( between 7th and 8th Avenues) from 21-02-04 till 24-02-04. I arrived at 1pm and my room was already available. After receiving the complimentary bottle of water I took my bags up in the roomy lift.

The room was on the 6th floor (room 604) and while it was one of their superior rooms, it was still very small. However, the room was immaculate as was the bathroom.

The view was of a flat roof and air conditioning ducts but I wasn't staying here for the view and it was nice and quiet.

There was a television and DVD player and a fridge in the room, along with a glass top writing desk and chair and a full length mirror in the bedroom. There were plenty of hangers in the cupboard and an electronically lockable safe (which I couldn't get to work, so someone came up to sort it out for me).

The heating is controlled within the room, so you can heat it up or cool it down at will. The window also opened. There were 4 large pillows on the bed and soft cotton sheets.

The room was cleaned every day as was the bathroom along with fresh towels and bedding. There were complimentary Aveda bathroom products which were lovely. The hairdryer in the bathroom was quite powerful so you won't have to bring your own.

The breakfast was simple but more than enough. Bagels with cream cheese, danishes, biscuits and a delicious cake with glazing that I can thoroughly recomend! There were also water, juice, coffee and a selection of teas.

The main areas were well kept and spotless. The staff were fantastic, really lovely bunch who made you feel very welcome and are an asset to the hotel. Free DVD's are available to watch in your room from the reception.

Opposite the hotel is the 42nd street subway station with access to the A, C, and E lines and the S, the N, R, Q and W lines as well as the 1, 2, 3 and 9.
The Port Authority bus terminal is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Next door is the Nederlander Theater which is staging Rent. On the opposite corner is a lobster restaurant that also had a take out service and looked busy every night. There is also a MacDonalds in the street.

I found this hotel to be in an excellent location for getting around. It is also in walking distance to theaters and restaurants. I will definately go back there on my next visit to New York.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked through website

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum