36 independent reviews of Elounda, Greece
Elounda Location

4/5
Elounda is rated 4 out of 5 from 36 Reviews

Elounda Hotels

Elounda Reviews

4/5


Umit & Laura Batman visited here on June 2005
Absolutely loved Elounda, very friendly quiet fishing village. Nice romantic strolls along the beach.

Plenty of day time activities boat trips and water sports, Only thing is the concession on the beach of the sun beds at 4-5 Euros (good tip, keep an eye on the guy in yellow as he walks up and down the beach, when he comes your way, head into the sea and wait for him to walk back. We did this a few times and spent an even better free time on the beach!)

Meals at the taverns are reasonably priced, DO try Dolma (stuffed vine leaves). Taverns do close early so you would need to get out early.

All in all we loved Elounda and would ...
recommend as it was a friendly quiet couples and families resort just what we was after!!!!!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Dave Norman visited here on May 2005
It had been sixteen years since we last saw Elounda, so memories were a little vague. Beaches not so golden and sandy as I remembered but still pleasant and well maintained. There is a very \"peaceful\" beach heading out towards Plaka with a full complement of watersports where the order of the day seems quietness. No sand! but plenty of natural shade from the trees there. Certainly worth a visit if only for the magnificent views of Spinalonga. As we expect there is no shortage of places to dine out in Elounda but two particular restaurants that deserve a mention would be \"Anemomylos\",(very near to Manos Apartments)- a very reasonably priced taverna with excellent food and \"The Olondi\", (around by ...
the harbour). Probably a little more expensive but with it\'s waterside location, well worth a visit. To be fair,in every taverna that we dined in, the overall standard of courtesy and the quality of food was very good.

Theres a few bargains to be picked up on the Friday morning market in Elounda (near to the church)

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

5/5


Cathy visited here on May 2005
Elounda is most probably the nicest resort in Crete. It is quite small and quiet but there is still plenty to do and see. We visited for 2 weeks and there were enough restaurants and tavernas to visit a different one every night and some besides. There were several bars that stayed open until really late, but I probably wouldn\'t recommend it for a girly / lads holiday. As a couple in our late 20\'s I would say it is a perfect resort for couples and families who like lazy days, good food and good nights out without too much partying. It was nice to go out every evening and have a really good time, ...
without any of the loutish behaviour that you see in some of the larger resorts.

The beaches are spotless and the sea is very clear with lots of fish and other sea life and we managed to do lots of snorkelling. The harbour is also really pretty and its worth a walk over the causeway as well for some really pretty scenery.

The local people are all extremely friendly and love to have you there. The food was fantastic and would definitely recommend trying some of the fish restaurants that have their own little boats in the harbour and catch the fish daily.

We visited Spinalonga, a fortress at the entrance to the bay, it was well worth a visit for an hour or two. We would recommend organising this yourself from the harbour and not through the tour rep as it cost a lot less. We did however shop around for other excursions and the trip to Knossos and the water park were better value if you went with the rep.

We still have many other greek islands to tick off our list, but Elounda is a place we would go back to anytime.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


holland visited here on April 2005
We loved the town of elounda , the people were so friendly we always stayed later than we meant to because we always got into a conversation with one of the locals. We dont look for night clubs so have no idea on them, spent evenings in local taveras and restaurants.The beach was about right for us .
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


cheryl weall visited here on September 2004
A lovely family friendly resort, if your looking for wild boozy all night bars and discos dont go to Elounda. If you want a pituresque harbour, good restaurants and friendly bars then you can't go wrong.

The bus and taxi service are great (and cost next to nothing) the Cretan people are so genuinely friendly and generous that my family and I classed this last minute holiday one of the best we ever had and can\'t wait to go again this year.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Beddow visited here on August 2004
We had not previously visited Elounda, but certainly will go there again. It is a small resort which has retained a \"Greek\" atmosphere, but still caters for holidaymakers requirements. Small children would enjoy the beach and sea, but there is not much for older children. On the whole, it is a resort better suited to couples wanting somewhere to relax in beautiful surroundings. In every direction there are views worthy of being printed on postcards. If eating out is your thing, there are numerous restaurants and tavernas, all serving quality food at excellent prices.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
1 stars

5/5


Sarah visited here on July 2004
The resort was quiet but not too quiet, plenty of supermarkets most were reasonably priced, a good selection of tavernas to choose from however the menus were pretty similar. The harbour is very picturesque & from there you can take a boat trip to Spinalonga; an island just off the coast (its cheaper to go from harbour than from Rep) Also, a few souviener shops (enough to keep me busy for a week!) One thing to beware of is the banks close at 1pm and don\'t reopen, there is a money exchange but this appeared to run on GMT (Greek Maybe Time) Maybe it\'ll open, maybe it won\'t. All in all though a nice resort for a relaxing no rush no fuss holiday.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


tania visited here on June 2004
we found elounda clean freindly and laid back.the beach was a blue flag beach with all amenities very close,stunning scenery.many good restaurants ,watch the ones by the edge of water not always the best.3 or 4 lively bars.would go back.









Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

1/5


White visited here on June 2004
The resort was excellent,and eating out could not have been better, spending 14 nights we still did not try all the restraunts. Beaches were good, but no lifeguards, and when the wind blew, you had to watch children with air beds and rings, as they could quikly be out of their depth.
Entertainment was as we liked it, lots of bars with low music, not a resort for the youngster looking for all night disco\'s.
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


Christine Gilbert visited here on May 2004
If your looking for a chilled out relaxing break this is the place to go. Lots of places to eat out, we tried a few but kept returning to Elis\'s Bar - great food and service every time.

Not much in the way of nightlife being not very many \'bars\' but you can just have a drink in one of the Tavernas.

We spent a lot of the time on the beach which was very clean and the sea was realy clear and shallow and ok to walk in (not too many rocks).

The trip to Spinalonga is worth it but make sure you take a drink with you.

The town is quite small, you can walk from one end ...
to the other leisurely in about 15 mins not that much traffic. There are a number of shops (most of them jewellers) a few gift shops and mini markets.

If you want more shopping Aghios Nikolaos is a bus ride away where there is a large market weekly and loads of shops.

This was my first time to the Greek Islands and I now know why everybody raves about them. Elunda is a lovely place with lovely people well worth the visit.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


sharon whittaker visited here on September 2003
It was a short walk into town (about 5 mins). Ate in a different restaurant every night and never once had a bad meal. The restaurants across from the harbour (can\'t remember the names, are very good). If you want loads of entertainment every night (an 18-30 type holiday) don\'t go to Elounda. It\'s a quiet beautiful little town, where I will definately go back to in 2004.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Aquila Elounda Village  stars Aquila Elounda Village
Address: Pigadakia Eloundas, Mália GR-72053, Greece

Latest Review: May 2008

Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Elounda

5/5
Elounda Bay Palace Hotel  stars Elounda Bay Palace Hotel
Address: Elounda Crete, 720 53, Greece

Latest Review: Sep 2006

Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Elounda

3/5
Elounda Blue Bay Hotel  stars Elounda Blue Bay Hotel
Address: Elounda Blue Bay, Aghia Paraskevi, Elounda 72053, Greece

Latest Review: May 2006

Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Elounda

1/5
Elounda Residence Hotel  stars Elounda Residence Hotel
Address: Elounda, 72053, Greece

Latest Review: Jun 2008

Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Elounda

3/5
Irene Apartments  stars Irene Apartments
Exclusive to Unijet in the UK market, a popular family friendly complex offering comfortable accommodation in a pleasant location. These apartments are set in quiet surroundings amid olive trees. They are located along a narrow path.

Latest Review: Jun 2005

Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Elounda

4/5
Olive Grove Apartments  stars Olive Grove Apartments
This newly built accommodation is located just off the main square in elounda with shops, markets and restaurants a 2 minute walk. 5 minutes walking will bring you to the main beach of elounda.

Latest Review: May 2007

Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Elounda
Share