Image of Elounda

Elounda Holidays

4 out of 5 from 37 reviews

Hotels in Elounda, Greece

Image of Aquila Elounda Village
3 of 6 hotels in Elounda
1 Review
Image of Elounda Bay Palace Hotel
1 of 6 hotels in Elounda
2 Reviews
Image of Elounda Blue Bay Hotel
5 of 6 hotels in Elounda
4 Reviews
Image of Elounda Residence Hotel
6 of 6 hotels in Elounda
1 Review
Image of Irene Apartments
4 of 6 hotels in Elounda
7 Reviews
Image of Olive Grove Apartments
2 of 6 hotels in Elounda
3 Reviews

37 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    18
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Sally Hutchings
1 year ago
Lovely small marina town centre. Half hour walk from Hotel Ilion.

Very friendly and safe.
Beaches:
Eating Out:
Miss W Dunn
5 years 11 months ago
Elounda was very pretty and the Tavernas were aimed at both adults and children alike. Meals were excellent, particularly in the restaurant Marilena.

Miss W Dunn
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Gloria Hiscox
5 years 11 months ago
This is our third time in beautiful Elounda and we are going back in September and again next year. The beach and streets are spotlessly clean and the people are so friendly.
Elounda retains it's Greek tradition whilst catering for the tourist in a laid back manner.
A trip up from the harbour in Elounda up to Plana Elounda (600 yards) takes you back in time with it's quaint houses and traditonal Kafenios especially Maria's, she makes you most welcome.
Our favourite restuarant is Anemomylos (greek for windmill), the food is wonderful (meat and vegetables all fresh - no frozen produce here !) - it is right opposite the main beach.
The best bar in town is Babels, a lovely people watching spot with wonderful staff Nectaurius is front of house with a lovely warm and genuine personality with Yannis his brother working hard with a lovely friendly manner and willing to give knowledge on all subjects. Couple this with varied background music and multiple screens for all those avid sports fans.
A trip through Plaka and up towards the wind turbines gives you the most breathtaking views imaginable.
Add to this the facinating "Spinalongs" steeped in history although the fascinating stories of the lepers who lived there as recently as the "50's". They are currently filming "The Island" on location, a best selling book by Victoria Hislop. A personal view but "Yannis" by Beryl Darby gives a more grittier view of the lives of the lepers on "Spinalonga", it is fictional based on so many true facts.
Writing this so soon after our return only makes me yearn to return to this beautiful place.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
A Shields
6 years 7 months ago
Elounda is a charming picturesque low key resort. Just enough nightlife so as not to overpower the resort. A beautiful harbour and picturesque landscape with views that take ones breath away. A real Cretan village feel with main emphasis of the main square which is lined with small bars, resturants etc. The resort has managed to maintain its 'unspoilt' status for many years - perhaps why visitors return year after year (myself - 13 years) Spinalonga is worth a visit as is Plaka. There are some lovely walks to be had and there is a regular bus into Ag Nic - roughly 8KM. Over all a beautiful peaceful resort.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Jane
7 years 7 months ago
a bit more expensive than last year, prices seem to have risen quite a bit, try the Tryst restaurant for a really great meal, you wont be sorry, its great.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Sarah And Party
7 years 9 months ago
first time ever been to elounda was better than i expected
beach was across the road from complex which was good made some good friends with some bar staff and the dj's. beach could be better as their isnt any sand its pebbley but apart from that had no problems with it. there is plenty of restraunts and bars and there is a varirty of shops. just got back yesterday and wish we was still there we are already considering going back next year!!!!!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Ian & Aliza
8 years 7 months ago
Although the beach is 'manufactured', it was still great. The usual prices for sunbeds etc.

We didn't do many tours. We went to the leper colony on Spinalonga, which was boring. We booked to go deep sea fishing, which was cheap and looked a laugh, but it got cancelled due to heavy seas.

We went in the car to the south of the island where there are some lovely little coves and beaches.

Cretans are very friendly, and the food and drink were great at reasonable prices. Elounda is a great place for couples, but families might struggle to fill their days with little 'uns.

Go to Crete and stay in Elounda - but not at Vasillis' Appartments.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Alan
8 years 8 months ago
Elounda was busier than expected with a good number of shops, bars, tavernas and restaurants which suited my teenage daughter, especially the free pool (as in snooker) at Eden. Prices were consistent throughout the resort which was reassuring.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Lyn And Hannah Mcgee
8 years 9 months ago
Elounda is a typical greek harbour resort. Lots of very good taverners and bars. A selection of shops, supermarkets, 2 banks and a couple to chemist shops. The habour square is lined with lots of varied resturants. This resort is ideal for families with small children as well as adults. Not much for the teenagers. But a touch of real greece may just be the alternative holiday for nice change.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Bev
8 years 9 months ago
Lovely clean resort, nice harbour area, the usual gift shops etc... but not too many. Very nice clean beach. Plenty of restaurants and bars where you can sit and watch the world go by.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Elounda Residence Hotel
Elounda Residence Hotel
Elounda, Greece
The pictures you see on the website of this hotel …
Image of Aquila Elounda Village
Aquila Elounda Village
Elounda, Greece
We have just returned from a week's holiday at the…
Image of Olive Grove Apartments
Olive Grove Apartments
Elounda, Greece
These apartments were the best we have visited ver…
Image of Elounda Bay Palace Hotel
Elounda Bay Palace Hotel
Elounda, Greece
I came to Elounda to visit a friend and booked int…
Image of Elounda Blue Bay Hotel
Elounda Blue Bay Hotel
Elounda, Greece
Short; Good: The views, the location, the staff. …
Image of Irene Apartments
Irene Apartments
Elounda, Greece
The apartments are located in a quiet location app…
Other popular destinations
Image of Sidari
Sidari
Corfu
Image of Pefkos
Pefkos
Rhodes
Image of Stalis
Stalis
Crete
Image of Malia
Malia
Crete
Image of Kalamaki
Kalamaki
Zante
Image of Faliraki
Faliraki
Rhodes
Image of Kardamena
Kardamena
Kos
Image of Hersonissos
Hersonissos
Crete
Image of Kavos
Kavos
Corfu
Image of Roda
Roda
Corfu