33 independent reviews of Koutouloufari, Greece
Koutouloufari Location

3/5
Koutouloufari is rated 3 out of 5 from 33 Reviews

Koutouloufari Hotels

Koutouloufari Reviews

2/5


B J visited here on August 2007
We stayed in Koutouloufari, which was uphill 15 minutes from Hersonnosis, which I do not rate at all, not a very nice beach and the resort quite grubby. We would not go down to the beach. On the other hand the village was lovely on an evening with its tavernas, bars and shops.Would certainly visit Koutouloufari again. Entertainment in tavernas music with a little Greek dancing.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
2 stars

3/5


Grace Bush and Josie Clifford visited here on July 2007
Most fantastic week ever. We made friends for life coming here and will never forget our visit. Ben the manager was always around to help and to chat to us. Felt really welcome and were looked after very well. We definitely both want to come back this year!
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Donna Cooke visited here on July 2007
The beach isn\'t far, although the hill looks very daunting its really not that bad a walk.

We never walked into Hersonissos for nights out as the taxis are very cheap and Ben would always call them for us. Fantastic pubs, so many choices of places to eat and drink and many with offers and promotions.
We ventured to Malia for a night out and had a fantastic time. The taxi wasnt too expensive and only took about 10 minutes. We found many pubs that we wanted to go in but also found that we were pulled into many by staff tryin to entice us with offers and their charm. The temperature was so much higher there due to the area bein ...
much more built up and so pubs with airconditioning are the way to go.

I had the best holiday ive ever had and will remember it forever. Loved every minute of it (not including the mossie bites that is, but thats our lesson learnt when it comes to bringing repellant)The night flights are a bit of a pain when it comes to going home, but with the temperature in the day bein about 40 it was understanable and nice not to be waitin around in the heat in the very crowded airport. We all stayed throughout the day in the pool and bar area drinkin and laughing with ben before we were picked up. I would fully recommend this part of crete and the Andonis to anyone and everyone.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


bradley visited here on June 2007
Koutouloufari is a five min walk and is very quaint apart from the annoying quad bikes and scooters which are a danger and nuisance to all pedestrians in the narrow streets. I guess they will wait until an accident before enforcing the no motorists rule which everybody blatantly ignores.

Favourite restaurant by far was Kalypso (try the swordfish souvlaki) with other contenders of Stekis and Patrikos. Didnít go on any beaches but walked down the steep hill a few times past Star Beach which seemed full of young people, loud music and plenty of entertainment Ė there was also a nice childrenís area around the corner.

Hired a car and visited Chania (recommended) Elounda, to cross to Spinalonga, Aghios Niclos, Rethymnon and Plains of Lassithi (Dikti cave).
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


Annette Moore visited here on June 2007
Beach was within walking distance about 10 mins away, we didn\'t spend any time there as we prefer the pool. Hersonissus had lots of bars and restaurants, as did the nearest town eat in the Windmill or the restaurant which had a roof top terrace opposite the chinese, as both were excellent meals. We also have good welcome at the Meze restaurant and the lady owner came from Newcastle.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Jon & Linda Lewis visited here on May 2007
Koutouloufari is a 15 minute walk downhill to Hersonissos, longer to walk back up! So the location is not ideal if you like beach. The village has a classy feel about it. Plenty of places to eat, the best in our opinion is The Windmill (Anemomylos), now under new management, Iannis and the family made us feel like royalty, they made our holiday.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Coles visited here on September 2006
Hersonisis in general we found very clean, Koutouloufari Oh what a lovely name, we spent virtually our whole two weeks trying to perfect the pronunciation, Ha Ha, is superb, very very beautiful, 3 connecting villages with excellant restaurants, bars & quaint little shops. It did not have much in the way of entertainment, but all we needed was somewhere to stroll in the evenings before or after finding which of the (what seems like) hundreds of restaurants to choose from. Koutouloufari, is quite a walk about 20mins down the hill to the main beaches but well worth it, & we got a taxi back up the hill for not very much (can\'t remember how much)We always think back to that holiday with great fondness.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


Lynne visited here on August 2006
Koutouloufari is fantastic! Very traditional, bur must agree with other reports rerading the traffic - it is nightmare.

Food here is excellent - we found Sergiani\'s to be superb. The T-bone steak was so huge, it hung of the plate, and they had to bring the veg in separatley!

Avoid the Windmill restaurant - we were told it used to be really good, but our meal, and those at the next table, was poor (in fact my daughters was cold, and mine was burnt!).Asked for a steak to be rare, and it was burnt beyond recognition.

Most other restaurants were either good or very good.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
2 stars

4/5


Amanda visited here on May 2006
Koutouloufari is a great little village. It is absolutely crammed with great little tavernas catering for a huge range of tastes. There are a few shops selling food and of course the usual tourist/souvenir shops. As this was originally a traditional hill village, which has become a resort, the streets are really narrow and driving there can be particulrly hair-raising at times, especially taking into account the insanity of the local drivers...anyone who has ever been to Crete will know what they\'re like!
The tavernas in the resort are a little dearer than in many other resorts but the quality of the food is first class.
The resort of hersonissos is about a 10 to 15 minute walk, with ...
plenty more bars, taverneas, clubs and shops. There are also a number of nice beaches and good public transport links from here. The walk back from Hersonissos to Koutouloufari is about 30 to 45 minutes as its all uphill, but there some tavernas on the way up, which are welcome on hot days.
If you are visiting here, make sure you visit Fabrica Taverna, where Yiannis and Maria make the best crepes and waffles in the known world!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


Wolfman_Jack visited here on September 2005
Resort: Koutouloufari is a lovely little village, busy but not in a commercial, touristy in your face way. About a 20 - 30 min walk from Hersonissos which is where you go if you want some action.

Beaches: Hersonissos has a couple of beaches, but they\'re small and usually crowded. We went up to Malia, Sun beach next to the Palace of Malia ( the archealogical dig site).

Food: Koutouloufari has no shortage of restaurants, Pegasus is fairly good value for money, and Gallini has been touted on these boards before - but seeing it, it didn\'t appeal to me. Almost too busy & crowded. Stay away from the chinese rest., not very good I\'m afraid.

THE BEST, and I mean the ...
best place to eat in the village is at Emmanuel Tavern, in the village square. Run by Manos and his family, he offers top quality food and top service, he and his waiters are charming, attentive and always smiling. The food is what I call for want of a better expression \" Modern Greek cuisine\". What I\'m trying to so is that the menu includes things like Gyros, mousska etc, all \"traditional\" greek dishes, but Manos serves them in a contempory way that puts his place way above the rest.
His lamb dish for instance, in Rose wine and bay leaves, cooked in the 18th C woodfired oven is a classic, but my wife had a fish dish - Perka, kind of a Perch - that was out of this world, one of the best fish dishes I\'ve seen anywhere in Greece or the UK.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Lynne visited here on September 2005
Koutouloufari is a traditional Cretan village. It\'s far enough away from the 18-30 crowds of Herssonisis but close enough should you want to go into town (It does sit on a steep hill but there are taxis and buses available for the less able). The choice of tavernas is fantastic and the food is amazing. I wouldn\'t hesitate in recommending the apartments and resort to anyone.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Hayley visited here on September 2004
The resort of Sunrise Apartments as always clean & tidy, the staff ensuring that nothing was left lying around & tidied up instantly.

The \"Sunrise Family\" made you feel very welcome and puled out the stops for you sso your stay was more enjoyable, the bar-b-q on Sunday night was fantastic, the food was heavenly & lots of fun was had at the attempts of greek dancing around the pool.

It was a 15 min walk downhill to the beaches but once there you could stroll along the many small sandy beaches until you decided on which one you fancied, or you could just opt for the nearest Star Beach.

Sun loungers were for hire at all beaches for a ...
reasonable fee & the man selling fresh pastries was always a welcome site.

The beaches were always clean no matter what time of day or night you went. Just remember don\'t try to walk back to the apartmants again after a visit to the beach whilst it\'s still afternoon else you\'ll end up de-hydrated ( although depending on which hill you walk back up there is a very handy bar half way up!).

All in all this was a fantastic holiday for re-chargingthe batteries & the \"sunrise amily\" had a very large part to play in that as well as our friendly barman (even though he did support man city!!)

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Adonis Studios  stars Adonis Studios
Address: 10 G. Seferi Str., 70014, Greece

Latest Review: Jun 2010

Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Koutouloufari

4/5
Astra Village Apartments  stars Astra Village Apartments
These friendly family-run apartments, previously known as the Ikaros Royal Apartments, are set on a hillside and have lovely views over the sea and surrounding mountains. Youíll have the best of both worlds with a traditional Greek atmosphere.

Latest Review: May 2010

Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Koutouloufari

3/5
Galaxy Villas  stars Galaxy Villas
Address: Ag. KJonstantinou Street, Koutouloufari, Goúrnes 70014, Greece

Latest Review: Jul 2006

Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Koutouloufari

5/5
Petra Village Apartments  stars Petra Village Apartments
Address: Georgiou Seferi 8, Koutouloufari 70014, Greece

Latest Review: Jun 2008

Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Koutouloufari

4/5
Romantica Apartments  stars Romantica Apartments
Address: Koutouloufari, Chersonisos 70014, Greece

Latest Review: Jul 2008

Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Koutouloufari

302/5
Sunrise Apartments  stars Sunrise Apartments
Address: 6 G.Seferi street, HERSONISOS 70014, Greece

Latest Review: Aug 2010

Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Koutouloufari
Share