Image of Cay Beach Princess Bungalows

Cay Beach Princess Bungalows

14 of 34 hotels in Maspalomas

3 out of 5 from 43 reviews
3 stars
Avenida Thomson nÂș4, 35100, Spain
The Cay Beach Princess Bungalows are ideal for families, with spacious gardens and terraces where children can play.

43 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    21
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Cheryl
Friendly staff ideal for young families.
6 years 1 month ago
Stayed here for 2 weeks in August. Exceptionally clean bungalow near mini golf area. Excellent style of accommodation - up and downstairs, 2 bathrooms, 2 twin bedded rooms and sofa bed in lounge area. Small kitchen.

Only used restaurant once - preferred poolside snack bar for meals. Hotel based childrens entertainment limited but included, aqua gym, water polo, mini golf, padel - during days, then mini disco at night (30 mins), bingo, quizzes, or brief animal displays, reptiles, eagles (30 mins).

Hotel pools were great for kids - lifeguard on duty everyday at the 2 main pools. Adequate sun loungers. Sedate nightlife - ideal for young families. Staff were friendly, helpful, unobtrusive. Would definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
D.Hill
8 years 9 months ago
Very nice hotel,staff were friendly and good internet access which was 1 euro for 10 mins.Location was a bit far to walk to all amenitys but if you had a car it would take about 5 mins to faro 2/Holiday world.Pool area was great.Would travel to here again.We didnt eat in resurant so cant comment.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
9 years 2 months ago
We have just returned from cay beach, and like all the others we had read the reviews before we went, but as we booked late this hotel was all that was available to us, and I have to say we will not be going back to this hotel.

The complex is clean, and the rooms were cleaned, but not very well. We had a towel change twice and our sheets changed just once that was in our 2 week stay.

The book advertises that they have hydro beds,whirlpool bath and a waterfall and some other stuff but nothing worked, the hydro beds had no water in, the whirlpool bath worked once then broke (nobody fixed it).

The sunbeds are a plenty but be aware most are broken, also you have to get up around 7am to get a sunshade as there is not many about!

We hired a car for 5 days and went out and about as the hotel is about 20 mins walk from any shops.

Faro 2 was ok but we found it a bit run down!! Take a taxi to playa del ingles its much better and only 3 euro's.

The self catering was bad we had 5 people in our room and it had 1 small saucepan and a cooking pot, with just 4 knifes and forkes!!!

If your looking for a holiday where you just sit around the pool all day and stay in all night then this is the hotel for you!!.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: portland

9 years 10 months ago
Just returned from the Cay Beach Princess on 3rd November 2007. I have to say, that we went with some trepidation, as the reviews that we read beforehand ranged from excellent to poor. We arrived on Saturday 27th October and were immediately impressed with the place. The reception area was spacious, airy and spotlessly clean and the receptionist checking us in was friendly and efficient. We were given bungalow 113, set at the back of the complex, with the small patio area overlooking the adjoining hotel complex. Whilst it was restfully quiet here, the patio never got the sun, so this was a bit of a disappointment. However, the pool area was expansive and never too busy. The bungalow itself was fine. We had a one bedroom family job that was just big enough for two adults and our two children, aged 11 and 12. It was clean and tidy and the cleaning staff were in everyday (except Sunday) to clean, change the towels, bedding etc. In fact, they worked very hard indeed to keep the whole complex in good shape.
The pool area and general complex facilities are very impressive, and I think it is this that enables the 4 star rating... though personally, I would just about give it a 3 star. Having said that, we were happy to stay there and would do so again. In fairness, you would have to have extremely high expectations of the place to be disappointed, particularly bearing in mind that it is a family facility. We noticed that a fair few Spanish families decended on the place on Thursday and in fact had a family of five move in next door. We found the children to be boisterous in the extreme, and the adults aloof and arrogant. They certainly seemed to feel that they were to given preferential treatment to us "foreigners".
I must say that we tried the breakfast in the hotel on 2 different mornings and would report that it didn't suit us in terms of choice. It was aimed, primarily, I would suspect, at the German/Scandinavian market, where cold meats prevail.... Just not for me or my family.
Whenever I go to Gran Canaria, I always gravitate a couple of times during the week to my favourite restaurant... the Greek Taverna on the ground floor of the San Agustin commercial Centre... if you can, give it a try. The food is authentic and excellent! Try the Kleftiko or Gyros dishes!
As mentioned elsewhere, the complex is a little bit out of the way, with the Faro 2 Shopping complex being a good 15 to 20 minute walk away. We hired a car for the week, so there was no problem in getting about. I can imagine though, that taxi costs could soon mount up. There was excellent parking facilities for the privately hired car, which seemed limited in the other resorts that we visited, including Playa Del Ingles, Amadores, Puerto Rico and Meloneras.
The weather all week was fantastic... in the high 20's during the day and 18 or 19 degrees at night, which is still t-shirt weather.

All in all, I would recommend these bungalows for a family holiday and would suggest, if possible to hire a car to get about.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Linda And Martin
10 years ago
on arrival the reception was small but very clean, there were a couple of computers for internet usage, a whole range of handy leaflets and a seating area. as everyone else has mentioned we were handed a map. we found our bungalow easily(the place isnt that big)and found it to be clean and very spacious and not a cockroach or ant to be found anywhere.
The location of the bungalows is not for beach lovers as it is a couple kms away but we dont do the sand and sea much so it was ideal for us, although the accomodation offers a free bus starting at about 10am and the last bus back around 4pm.
As we were self catering we often ate in the resturant for breakfast 5.50 EUROS FOR ADULTS AND 2.75 FOR KIDS....only down fall was cold baked beans but hey ho if the spanish eat cold beans so can i.
The accomodation shop was full of nice things grocery wise but look out it has a down stairs...a treasure trove of heinz baked beans, tins of tuna, and of course cat food for the resident moggys that were happy to play "ive got no home and no one loves me"
As to the pool and its area....the pool is ample and not really that cold, im only 5`5 and at any depth...just enough to cover my blushes!
There were ample sunbeds/loungers..but some could have done with a little more shade for those of us whom is a little sun shy.
Evening entertainment was fine with us(but we bank on making our own fun)...bingo, kids party dancing,a snake charmer ect and it was nice to see the locals entertain us rather than the reps.
I found the staff amazing, they were just so happy to help, nothing was a problem for them...and all i could manage was a feeble "gracias"
we as a party didnt fall for it but i bet many do, but our rep harked on about a free day out to amfi de mar....the sand is white as its shipped in from the bahams ect ect.....dont fall for it....its a time share trap.
all in all if i ever go to gran canaria again, yes i would stay at the cay princess bungalows.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
10 years 1 month ago
We booked a late deal 4t with thomson. we were quite impressed when we arrived.

The bungalow we had (125) was very clean and recently refurbished. it had everything we needed. we did however had one problem, the bedroom had lots of ants around the bedhead that was attached to the wall. we informed reception and they came within 5 mins and sorted it and the ants never came back.

The facilities at the hotel were quite good. everything seemed to be kept in good condition and clean. the pool area was lovely although you have to be careful you dont slip. We had a baby with our party and there were some rude guests that put sunbeds in the way so you couldnt get up the ramps. Also we needed shade for the little one so had to get up early for the sunbeds, we got up at 7 or 8 every morning and there was still days we couldnt get a bed with shade. there were some rude guests taking our towels off our beds too. one day we were sat by the pool at 9.30am and decided to go in about 12.30 because of the heat for the baby, we came back out at 3pm and all our towels were chucked onto 1 bed and the others taken so BEWARE.

The rep seemed nice until we said we dont want any trips. I then asked about some nice restaurants and he said I only do restaurants in the evening!!! also we get a bit fed up with his welcome meeting the same talk 3 times a week.

The bungalows are in the middle of nowhere. 20 mins walk to the nearest restaurants. taxi's are cheap but the cost mounts up.

Would not say these bunglows are 4t more like the official rating of 3*

Would not reccomend because of the location.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Hicks
10 years 6 months ago
Very nice 2 bedroom bungalow. Could have been cleaner but have seen worse.

Food ok both poolside and evening buffet suggest you eat before 19.00.

Nice and quiet in the evenings ideal for families. Staff very nice. Pools were very good. Would go back again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Vicki And James
10 years 8 months ago
Me and my boyfriend travelled to this hotel in December for my birthday, when we arrived my first thought was this is lovely, the reception is nice and clean and the staff are nice, we were given our room key and a small map for where to go.

The resort is like a maze lots of little walk ways so it took us 15 minutes to find our room which was right at the back of the resort which was perfect for us as there was no neighbours and the sun stayed in our front garden till at least 6pm.

The room it's self was fantastic, we were given a family room and we counted 7 beds so plenty of room, the kitchen was great and they even have a free microwave which you dont get in other self catering apartments, there is plenty of space in the wardrobes for at least 4 people and the bedroom is of a nice size.

If you are visiting this apartment and are likely to stay in and watch telly think again well not unless you are Spanish or German as the only 2 English channels they have are CNN and Euro sport.

The pool was massive but extremely cold (what do you expect for the time of month), but there is a smaller pool by the Jacuzzi which was heated.
The pool restaurant was nice and the food was very nice.

The location of the hotel is not great but the main supermartes and shops are within walking distance about 10-15 minutes, or you could just hop in a taxi they are very cheap.

If you want to have a great night out then there is a bar called Big Bens in playa del ingles that you could go too, just get a taxi to drop you off outside Jardin Del Sol and then ask someone for Big Bens and they will take you to it, the staff there are fantastic, phil behind the bar and the quiz master himself Kam it is a really great night out.

I would visit this accommodation again in the future.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Manson Family
10 years 10 months ago
We booked a very last minute holiday - "4T don't know where you're going till you get there" so was very disappointed when we arrived at Cay Beach Princess to find it is only officially rated as 3 keys. This is definately not a 4T property (having stayed at other Thomson 4T apartments many times) so don't expect 4 star luxury!

Having said that, the 2 bedroom bungalow we got was really big (could have slept 6 in total - sofa + pull-out in lounge area as well as 2 twin bedrooms) but the apartment was not clean - used cotton buds and dirty socks found under beds etc. the freezer section in fridge did not freeze water to make ice. no plug in bathroom sink. the toilet brush was disgusting.

There is no air conditioning in the bungalows which makes them rather humid and the sheets were never changed the whole week we were there. Towels changed every second day.

The pool area is great. the kids loved it. although bins not emptied regularly - litter was brimming full to overflowing.

The snack bar is really cheap and good quality food.

The entertainment is diabolical. Staff helpful and pleasant.

The bungalows are out of the way but Maspalomas in general is very quiet which means no loud noisy music all night which suited us as a family.

Taxis very cheap to get about - 2.50 Euros to Meloneras or 3.30 Euros to Playa Del Inglis. Free shuttle bus to beach which was handy.

We had fantastic weather - 7 days sunshine - 30 degrees every day and did enjoy our holiday. We would recommend Cay Beach Princess to anyone, just be prepared that it is only 3 Keys and not 4 star!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Nicola
11 years 1 month ago
After reading the bad reviews on this site about the bungalows I was very anxious about my holiday but decided a holiday is what you make it and not what your accommodation is all about!

On arrival to Cay beach princess bungalows I soon discovered the rooms were very shabby but don't be alarmed as out of the 80 odd bungalows there are only 20 shabby bungalows and these are the smaller bungalows!

If you are travelling say 2 adults and 2 kids you will recieve a larger bungalow, the nicer ones!

As for the surroundings the pool area is gorgeous waterfalls, jacuzzi! Its brilliant and sun loungers are not a problem there is plenty!

The entertainment at the hotel is dyer! For a good night out for adults or kids head along to Holiday World - 5 minute walk or 1 min in a taxi!

Good British pub with entertainment and there is bowling and a theme park open til 11pm! The food at holiday world is excellent as well and for a cheap price.

The daytime food at the bungalows from the poolside bar is very nice, very cheap as well but don't eat from the restaurant at night! Food is disgusting!

The bungalows are very close to all things necessary 5 mins in taxi to Playa del Ingles and 5 mins taxi to centre of Maspalomas - sand dunes!

Staff at the bungalows are very friendly except for the night receptionist he is very rude! Be sure to take some bug killer as there are alot of ants inside and surrounding the bungalows!

The holiday was good overall I was very upset when I first arrived due to the state of the bungalow but I soon forgot about it and I was hardly in my bungalow anyway was usually out sunbathing, shopping etc so don't get upset just enjoy your holiday and make it your own!

Hope this helped!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.