Image of Dunas Mirador Hotel

Dunas Mirador Hotel

18 of 34 hotels in Maspalomas

3 out of 5 from 11 reviews
3 stars
C/Einstein, s/n, 35100 Sonneland, Spain

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Cheryl
7 years 3 months ago
Where to start.... checked in with the rudest receptionist I have met. He was more interested in serving the Germans and Spaniards that pushed in the queue asking him for change. When I finally got to ask if he would check us in he shrugged his shoulders at one of the Spanish guests as if to say "ignorant English" Fortunately the same cannot be said for the rest of the staff. Room was in block D right above where the entertainment team put their speaker for the days music/games. This would be fine had it not been for us having a 4 month old baby who needs to sleep during the day. We could only manage this by closing the patio doors to shut out the sound only this made the room even hotter. It was the same during the night as there were always drunks going back to their rooms but had to go via the pool area (very noisily) at all hours. Sunbeds were reserved from 9am when the pool opened but to their credit, the hotel staff roped off the area so the beds were not all taken before breakfast, but you do need to get there for 9 else you will be very unlucky!!!
Food was ok I would not rave about it but there was always plenty of choice and the cakes were fantastic. At lunch and dinner you can have soft drinks or beer or wine with your meal, this is the only time that you will get a proper glass if you are on all inclusive as you can only get your all inclusive drinks in the pool bar and they will only serve plastic cups. Would maybe suggest they let all inclusive guests use the lobby bar in the evening?? Gin and tonic from a plastic cup is not nice.
Found lots of kids to be running round all the time without any parents, the pool table in the bar was always broken because their was no respect for it. The "hotels shuttle bus" is a coach which is used by everybody, we used it once and there were so many people waiting for it the driver had to leave some behind. There were people on it before us so it goes to show it is not exclusive to the Miradors guests.
Would also say watch for the cats, on our first night we had one on our balcony all night because it got stuck and they are all over the outside area of the restaurant. Go to the Mirdaor by all accounts, but don't expect a relaxing get away from it all kind of holiday else you will be disappointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independantly

Not Specified
7 years 4 months ago
Where to start.... checked in with the rudest receptionist I have met. He was more interested in serving the Germans and Spaniards that pushed in the queue asking him for change. When I finally got to ask if he would check us in he shrugged his shoulders at one of the Spanish guests as if to say "ignorant English"" Fortunately the same cannot be said for the rest of the staff. Room was in block D right above where the entertainment team put their speaker for the days music/games. This would be fine had it not been for us having a 4 month old baby who needs to sleep during the day. We could only manage this by closing the patio doors to shut out the sound only this made the room even hotter. It was the same during the night as there were always drunks going back to their rooms but had to go via the pool area (very noisily) at all hours. Sunbeds were reserved from 9am when the pool opened but to their credit.
Machen
9 years 8 months ago
Wow arrived February 5th!

What an amazing hotel, would recomend to anyone of anyage. The best hotel ive stopped in yet.

Very lively through the day round the pool, english music being played! many of games and activites runn by the hotels very friendly bar staff. Pools, sunbeds are imaculate! very well kept and clean place, very pretty!

Room was large and large bathroom and very clean. Cleaners were in every day.

Restaurante was very clean and efficient. A very wide selection of fresh food cooked to your own taste! Varies every night a very large selection. also section for the children.

Staff were very pleasant and polite and also very helpfull.

Lots of entertainment throughout the night. 2.50 euros in a taxi to almost anywere close e.g beach, play de ingles.

Also hotel provides a shuttle bus that is free everyday which goes straight to the beach in maspalomes and runs at many of times.

Hotel also provides courtesy rooms for you needs so no need to worry with a night flight home.

No downfalls to the hotel at all! Infact should be a 4 star not a 3 star.

Will be returning soon hopefully.

Would reccomend to anyone!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: qwerty travel

Recommended
KIM
10 years 3 months ago
Just returned from the Dunas Mirador ,must say after reading some reports ,wandered what we had booked.

We arrived on a very late Sat night/Sun morning, checked in at reception who was very organised and quickly booked us all in. We had to find our own room and take our own cases which is unusal.We were advised to get a drink and food , first impression was oh my god the fruit juice was warm some foul smelling salad and dried up rolls were on offer.

On returning for other meals it was a different story, agree with others, very repeated but always lots, I am fussy but could always find something. Would recommend the pool snack bar at lunch times shame no entertainment around pool bar but entertaiment was disappointing .

Found very mixed with Eng & Germans.Rooms cleaned 5 out of 7 days.Pool fairly cold but great.Took our 17 yr old dauhter who thought it was great and is planning to return with her mates!

Considering what most people paid we think it was excellant value for money and really do not know what some people expect for such a cheap holiday.My advice to anyone who has booked go and enjoy yourselves,its what you make it!!!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: IMPERIAL TRAVEL

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
We have just returned from a 14 day stay, on arrival the hotel was very impressive. We had 2 rooms booked which were both clean and tidy. The only problem we had was that they had been allocated in two different blocks, which wouldn't have been a problem if we were two couples but has it was children this was. This was soon rectified by the reception staff the following day when they moved us. The hotel cleanliness was excellent with the rooms being cleand five days out of 7. The pool area and everywhere eles was cleaned everyday.

We had no problems with getting sunbeds as you were not allowed by the pool till after 9.00 am so there was no fighting the Germans to see who could get the towels on the beds first.

The food was good but not the selection that you are use to on an all inclusive holiday. After doing several all inclusives the food was a little disappointing, dont get me wrong what was there was good but very repetative. With having a very fussy child who eats very little other than chicken sausage and chips I suffered in feeding him. There was a snack bar but it wasn't open for snacks all day only for two hours which was between one and three and they served hot dogs burgers and chips. To me this was just an alternative option other than going in to the dinning room. So the hotel was not all inclusive.

There were 3 bars with in the hotel but only two were all inclusive which was the pool bar till 10.30 and the disco bar till 9.30. This was very dissapointing but we soon over come this problem by getting extra drinks in before the all inclusive times finished. A bit of a bind to do this but it was away around things. The bar staff were friendly if you made friends with them.

The entertaiment was good especially the shows that the team put on and well worth a look at to see what effort they put into it. All the team were friendly and socialable.

The hotel location was good and it was easy to get a taxi to travel around the island. After walking around sonneland I am so glad we choose this hotel as it was the best for location and certainly best looking.

The only down side with the hotel was the lack of English people which were far and few between. Pleanty of Germans, spanish and other destinations. Some were friendly and some weren't but the ones that were it was a pleasure meeting with.

My personal conclusion on this hotel the holiday is what you make it, we had a good two weeks but found it hard with the children has they didn't have anybody their ages to play with. I would visit this hotel again but only if I was going in a group so you had company.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Low cost beds

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
We have just returned from a 14 day stay, on arrival the hotel was very impressive. We had 2 rooms booked which were both clean and tidy. The only problem we had was that they had been allocated in two different blocks, which wouldn't have been a problem if we were two couples but has it was children this was. This was soon rectified by the reception staff the following day when they moved us. The hotel cleanliness was excellent with the rooms being cleand five days out of 7. The pool area and everywhere eles was cleaned everyday.

We had no problems with getting sunbeds as you were not allowed by the pool till after 9.00 am so there was no fighting the Germans to see who could get the towels on the beds first.

The food was good but not the selection that you are use to on an all inclusive holiday. After doing several all inclusives the food was a little disappointing, dont get me wrong what was there was good but very repetative. With having a very fussy child who eats very little other than chicken sausage and chips I suffered in feeding him. There was a snack bar but it wasn't open for snacks all day only for two hours which was between one and three and they served hot dogs burgers and chips. To me this was just an alternative option other than going in to the dinning room. So the hotel was not all inclusive.

There were 3 bars with in the hotel but only two were all inclusive which was the pool bar till 10.30 and the disco bar till 9.30. This was very dissapointing but we soon over come this problem by getting extra drinks in before the all inclusive times finished. A bit of a bind to do this but it was away around things. The bar staff were friendly if you made friends with them.

The entertaiment was good especially the shows that the team put on and well worth a look at to see what effort they put into it. All the team were friendly and socialable.

The hotel location was good and it was easy to get a taxi to travel around the island. After walking around sonneland I am so glad we choose this hotel as it was the best for location and certainly best looking.

The only down side with the hotel was the lack of English people which were far and few between. Pleanty of Germans, spanish and other destinations. Some were friendly and some weren't but the ones that were it was a pleasure meeting with.

My personal conclusion on this hotel the holiday is what you make it, we had a good two weeks but found it hard with the children has they didn't have anybody their ages to play with. I would visit this hotel again but only if I was going in a group so you had company.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Low cost beds

Recommended
Sharon Gebbie
11 years 2 months ago
We have just arrived back from our holiday from hell.
Upon arrival we were not even booked in, even though we had received confirmation from the tour operator.

Once this was sorted,(with a great deal of difficulty regarding the language barrier), the room they allocated wasnt even cleaned, (human hair was all over the floor of the room).

Setting this aside, we continued to explore the hotel.
The restaurant was clean and spacious, however the food is always lukewarm.

On the first night my husband was propositioned by two gay men staying in the hotel, in front of myself and our daughter, which didn't bode well!!!!!

We found within the first few days that this hotel caters for, on the whole, German, Spanish and gay clientele, which makes communicating difficult.

Our daughter had no one to play with for all the stay, other guests of different nationalities would not play. This made for a stressful holiday all round, as all parents will appreciate!

The hotel staff were helpful all be it begrudgingly.
We found that the all inclusive package within this hotel isn't as you would normal expect.

If you wish to see the entertainment on offer (which isn't up to much) by the time you get out the all inclusive package has finished and you have to pay for all your drinks!!!

When at the end of our holiday from hell, we were waiting to be collected from our hotel, whilst relaxing on the balcony at 01.30am we saw two gay males fornicating etc????

In the main pool, outside of the allowed pool hours!!!!
Needless to say we were glad to be leaving!!!!

The only saving grace were the people we met whilst there. A wonderful mixture. Dutch, English(very few), and a great family from Germany who we will remember with fond memories, despite the stigma....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Last minute.com

Christine & Jacqueline Adair
11 years 7 months ago
Having just arriving back from Dunas Mirador lastweek thought we would say how fantastic it was.

We went all inclusive which was good. Food was fine always something for everyone to eat. The drinks were great they were all hand mesured so you were garanteed to taste the alcohol.

The hotel was spotless our room was cleaned every second day. There were no cockroaches or cats to be seen. Swimming pool was also cleaned every day.

Location was fine free bus to beach. If you want to go out at night to pubs & clubs you have to get a taxi to Playa de ingles which only costs 4 euros.

Bar staff were friendly always smiling and speaking to us. We could not ask for any more from them.

Animation Team (nico,ingie,robin and the rest) were fantastic they are really friendly and make you feel very welcome. The shows they performed were brilliant from Siter Act to Hollywood Horror show.

Hoping to go back in August.






Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: preferred travel solutions

Recommended
11 years 10 months ago
We booked the Dunas Mirador a few weeks before we went and wasn't expecting much, and was pleasantly surprised. This hotel was great.

The food was the best all-inclusive I have ever had. There was a big choice, from Salads, vegetables, meats (cooked on grill in front of you) fish, pasta, fruits, cakes and Ice cream. Also warm bread rolls!

We found that the Bar staff tended to serve the Germans before the English, even if we had been waiting ages, it was sometimes as if you wasn't stood there! Also poor choice of all-inc drinks. The bar was paying only after 10pm!

Rooms lovely, cleaned everyday.

As we went on boxing day, we didn't see much entertainment, although it was available throughout the day.

All in all, good hotel, we are going back for 2 weeks in September!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: otbeach.com

Recommended
12 years 2 months ago
Upon travelling to the hotel it looked fantastic, it was a little out of the way but a taxi can sort that.

We got into the hotel and we were offered cheese and chips as we hadnt eaten all day and had arrived at the hotel in the middle of the night, even though this was a lovely jesture we did not eat as the food had been standing there since 6 that night and that gone dry.

We found that the hotel is not all inclusive as it states as you are limited to how many burgers and chips you have. We used to have one uncooked burger each and had to share a plate of chips which I think is not good enough for all inclusive specially sharing a plate of chips. However if you like watered down San Miguel then you will be fine and cocktails in a plastic cup.

The food in the main restaurant was awful as it is all cold food, and not the normal english food, there were chips occasionally but these had be nibbled at by half a dozen flies and were very cold.

The pool area was fantastic, was a lovely pool with plenty of sunbeds around so need for the hassle of getting up early to get a sunbed.

The staff we often too busy to deal with problems or to even help you, which I found very dissapointing and I also found them very very rude.

If you are going on this holiday I would go self catering as the all inclusive is simply not worth the money.

There is a supermarket round the corner which we went to everyday after a poor meal at the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Monarch

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.