Image of Riu ClubHotel Buena Vista

Riu ClubHotel Buena Vista

5 of 5 hotels in Playa Paraiso

3 out of 5 from 68 reviews
4 stars
Calle El Horno, 38678 Adeje, Spain

68 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    33
  • Good
    21
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Roger Frost
Fabulous holiday
6 years 9 months ago
My wife and I, this sounds a bit royal, but we were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived. The staff were all very dedicated to their jobs, and made you feel important.

We were upgraded to a suite from a double room which was very nice. All the hotel is kept spotless, and the food we found to very high standard, and plenty of it.

We would not hesitate to return as soon as possible. As we said to the staff when we left that the only complaint was that we were leaving. Fabulous holiday.







Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
B.LEONARD
7 years 7 months ago
Super quiet place to say, food 4*, drink as much as you want, staff superb. Bus service to Playa Americas bus station then a long walk to the front, but it's free.Very international, Germans, French, Dutch, so nobody gets noisy drunk!! Double rooms are small with views at the back, so beg , pay , or book a Family Suite with partial sea view.Good value for the money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSONS

Recommended
Boyle Family
7 years 10 months ago
Hotel was absolutely fabulous, can not fault anything about the hotel, first class food, it was what it should be 4* - the staff were brilliant, the only downside was the evening entertainment it was poor they work so hard during the day but are not upto keeping adults entertained in the evening. Saying that it would not put me off returning, i can thoughly recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
Mcewan
7 years 11 months ago
I can only praise this hotel. My holiday was absolutely fantastic. On arrival I got the opportuntity to grab the last half hour of lunch before checking in.

Unfortunately when I got my room I was rather disappointed as it was a standard room which overlooked the building site. I queried this, nicely, with staff and ended up getting upgraded to a suite with a sea view. At no time did the staff show any annoyance at my query and this was much appreciated.

Food was excellent for buffet style food with options for every food type.

Rooms spotless.

Plenty of sunbeds but all lined up edge to edge so if you like a bit of privacy forget it.

The resort is almost non existent and hardly worth the trek up the cliff paths that have been created.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct travel

Recommended
Mark Stafford
8 years 3 months ago
This was our third trip to what used to be the Dunas Paraiso, but is now the Club Hotel Riu Buena Vista. It was a surprise trip for the kids and a bit of R&R for me and the good lady.

We booked through Travel Republic which basically meant we got a mountain view room in Block B, Room 726. Nothing wrong with that and it was expected as we went for the cheapest price. The hotel offered an upgrade of 10 euros per day per person, but honestly it ain't worth it. Just ask for a high room and even though you are looking at Adeje, you get the Sun in the morning and part afternoon on your balcony.

The hotel basically hasn't changed, in fact parts of it haven't been rebranded yet which is quite odd looking at rooms and seeing some with the Riu Crown and others with the Dunas Dolphins. I am not sure if this means some rooms have been refurbished as we got a Dunas suite.

Checkin was efficient (I'll return to that word) though the one bugbear was we got conflicting information on the Thematic Restuarants opening times (which meant we didn't get an evening meal in there, hence the service score getting a notch down. It appears the manager decides weekly on the opening times/days and sometimes on the day which is efficient, but poor. We kept returning to be told it wasn't opening on Friday and on Friday seeing it being prepared to be told it was fully booked. Sigh... Anyway as it turns out they open it for lunches when the hotel is a bit fuller and we had a nice lunch in there, not the same though. (they opened it for lunch to be efficient...)

It seems Riu at this hotel do have an efficiency target, they open and close things based on the numbers of customers. So for example on Friday, the traditional changeover day, breakfast was limited in options compared to other days as less people took it.

Which brings me to the food. Again this was efficient, so the number of dishes on offer was proportional to the number of people expected to take a meal. So some nights there were a lot more choices than others. Also the kids options, that Dunas had in the nice kids corner, has gone. Its adult fayre only, or at least the kids stuff is not seperated and adults can eat too. If you have a fussy eater, you'd better hope they like Pizza and Pasta for dinners and lunches, and perhaps hot dogs and burgers and fries for lunches. As that really is it for "kid friendly" options. No chicken nuggets or Fish fingers or anything similarly packaged for kids. This is a definate step in the wrong direction.

Having said that the food was good, hot (or warm) and plentiful, with a few theme nights thrown in and occassional carveries. The free wine is much much better.

They have done away with cash handling apart from the shops. This means bars only do All Inclusive drinks and all the bars are now part of the all inclusive. Much better and of course very efficient!

Funnily they have paid a lot of attention to the kids club or Riuland and the animation team appears to have doubled. For once my kids loved the club as the activities were more kid like for example water balloon fighting and treasure hunts alongside the normal pool activities and indoor favourites. The mini-disco also had a differing play list each night which is to be praised, even if we didn't know half of them!

Gone though is the free ice creams the Dunas did. Now I actually see this as an advantage because it meant my kids drank more juice, but some parents will get stuck for paying for them at the mini-market (and its not open in the afternoon!)

Also gone is the eat by the pool option, though when they open the Thematic restaurant this means you don't have to change to go eat. They should open it more though! But that wouldn't have been efficient (have you guessed it yet that the Mangeress is German)

You could always tell the number of guests for a day (and plan accordingly) by the numbers of sun bed put out... though we never queued for a table. I've said in Dunas reviews don't go here in August and I still think, despite the Thematic Lunch possibilities, they may struggle to cope with a full hotel. It was close to full on our last day, but mainly locals celebrating Islas Day.

Suite was clean, well tended, though looking slightly tired in places. Daily stocks of towells and the usual freebies (which we didn't need or use) were supplied. The fridge was hardly used (they don't stock it). The coffee machines were on 24 hours (and occassional jugs left to fill if if you wanted to) hence machines have been removed from rooms as have microwaves. Not a problem to us and gave us more space for gadget charging. And they had decent selections of teas including herbals.

The minimarket is still as it was, small, but functional. Dare one say, efficient.

There is now a hairdressers, which the Dunas didn't have, but take out a mortgage if you want anything done. Twice the price of back home. There is also a resident artist who does charactures (15 euros) and portraits (didn't ask).

This hotel is ideal for a week, but you'd get bored with the food after that, I was getting bored after our 5th night and thats what we went for, 5 nights. Really is an ideal spot for a quickie with one of the many airlines who fly scheduled here.

So recommended as improved, but needs to improve the food, especially for kids and only good for a week. The location is lovely and quiet, hence I gave it top marks, I know other mark it against what others expect, I don't!

This hotel is never going to be a Bahia Principe, but it does its job cheaply and, er, efficiently! :)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY - Monarch and Travel Republic

Recommended
8 years 8 months ago
This was the first time at this hotel for us, when we arrived at lunch time the staff were very good and told us to go and get our lunch then come back and book in.
When we returned to book in they were very pleasant and had our luggage taken up to our rooms for us.
The room was very clean and basic, the only problem was the bathroom it was small and had only a shower not a bath, but unlike some hotels we have stayed in there was plenty of hot water all the time, so we could have a nice long shower without the water going cold on us.
The maid service was every day including Christmas day, we had clean towels too every day.

The food was wonderful I suspect the last reviewer was at this hotel befor it was taken over by RIU because the food was hot and plentyful, some thing for everybody.
We had to reserve a table for Christmas day as they two sittings, it was one of the best Christmas diners I have had.
on Christmas eve father christmas came in on his sleige and gave presents to all the children they enjoyed that very much.
As we only had three good days with the weather getting round the pool was no problem as there were plenty of sunbeds around the two pools.
The Animation team did a good job with the kids during the daytime events and some adults joint in with them too, at night they put some good shows on down in the lower bar room and in the recption bar area they had turns on like singers what people were able to dance to.
I liked the idea of the beer pumps they had around the place so you could just go and serve yourself with beer or wine or soft drinks or coffee.
The only thing about the area of the hotel is, it is out the way of the crowds Ideal if you want a quiet holiday but they do have a free bus three times a day to las americas and back, all in all we had agood rest at Christmas and that was what we went for.
We may well go back to this hotel in the future as we feel that it suited us for our needs.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mrs Blair
8 years 10 months ago
my husband and myself travelled to this hotel with our 7yr old son and 17yr old niece first impressions was this looks so lovely the foyer had several shops and a hair salon and big comfy couches. we then checked in with unhappy staff no smile and pointed in the direction of our rooms which were adequate enough and spacious but had dirty sun loungers on the balcony.this hotel has a good lay out with lovely pools looking out to sea with good facilities but the staff and food let it down the main restaurant always had lots of dirty tables and very noisy the food was cold every day at breakfast and not much better in the evening we did mention this but it didnt make any differance there wasnt a big choice to choose from but plenty of fresh salad the kids menu was poor and didnt look very appetising luckily our son is a good eater so had the adult options instead.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Sandra McColl
9 years 1 month ago
My family and myself stayed here the last two weeks in July and I think that was our worst mistake. The hotel was full to capacity and the staff could not cope. You had to be down at the pool waiting at 8am for a sunbed some people had been there since 7.30am if you did not you would not get one. An English family who had around 8 members all ran to get the same beds and position in front of the pool everyday they also took 8 umbrella's one for each of them it was a disgrace and everyone thinks the German's are bad this family could beat them hands down. The mother threw the towels on the bed with such efficiency and speed you would have thought she was dishing out cards in a game of poker it was hilarious but sad how could anyone be that demented. That was just one problem

The food was ok but the dining experience left a lot to be desired it was noisy and busy and there was the usual ignorance of people with no manners. The All Inclusive is false its basically full board with drinks there is no food available between 10am and 1pm or 10pm and 12am,if you miss breakfast you have to wait till lunch. This hotel is not near anything you are isolated to a degree that it is 20 euros in a taxi to las Americas and you may end up going there because the entertainment here is non exsistent.

I got the impression spanish guests were made more welcome and I'm not a biased person. I booked this for 14nights which I regret because we paid alot of money to stay here and it was not worthy of its 4 stars but you learn by your mistakes.

Take my advice book elsewhere you can stay half board in the Mare Nostrum Resort for the same price this merits its 4 stars.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kwik Travel

Mark Stafford
9 years 3 months ago
Stayed at the hotel 3 years ago and my review is on here.

Finally saw the hotel in its best light which is when its not full!

However the things I had problems with have been resolved namely:

1) A lot of the staff on non customer roles are now outsourced, meaning core staff concentrate on the customer
2) The exception to 1) is the Animation team is also outsourced
3) There are more opportunities to serve yourself drinks than there was previously
4) The hotel staff definately have a more experienced air

And to show how well this hotel works when not full we were lucky or unlucky enough to have the Corpus Christi weekend in the middle of our holiday when coach loads of Spanish locals turned up for a weekend of "fun". Before this the hotel was a third full (which for a May half term was surprising) and after this about 1/5th full.

The hotel worked exceptionally well before and after the Spanish decended (though I'd say it was dead after they left), but during the hotel had very little space and the restaurant was chaotic. I'd say simply put they have some basic design errors they won't cure.

So as I said in my previous review and have proven, don't do this in peak times. Outside of peak weeks/days, this really is a good hotel. Not Special, but very good for a short quiet family break.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
9 years 6 months ago
Fantastic hotel which was extremely clean and well kept. Large choice of food and even my fussy kids ate well.

The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. We didn't join in the evening entertainment as we preferred to watch the football on the large screen but it seemed great for the younger kids and didn't intrude on anyone wanting a quiet drink.

Couldn't believe how well behaved the kids in this hotel were. There were a lot of foreign families who seemed to keep an eye on their kids unlike lots of AI hotels we have been to were English kids have been left to run wild.

The location is a bit remote as we are used to Los Cristianos but the walks are nice and there is a little cove near the hotel were the snorkeling is excellent. We would visit this hotel and were very overall very impressed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Popular hotels in Playa Paraiso

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.