Image of Admiral Hotel

Admiral Hotel

17 of 45 hotels in Golden Sands

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
5 stars
Golden Sands, 9000 Varna, Bulgaria
Hotel Admiral is located on the beach front position of the former hotel Rodina. Close to the centre and a stone’s throw away from the beach makes this hotel ideal for those who want to be within easy reach of all the resort's amenities.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Clive
10 years 5 months ago
This is a five star hotel in respect of the building and facilities, but as for the level of service I would think it would pass only as a three star. The staff at the cafe at the front of the hotel and around the pool specifically would benefit from customer service training! One of the female staff by the pool made a gesture to my wife which managed to cross international language barriers!

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel. One thing to watch is the fact that, again at the cafe and around the pool, the staff keep your change! Also, on two occassions, including once at 10 pm, we returned to our room to find the door left open by staff. When we complained to the hotel reception they did handle it OK and we got a basket of fruit and a bottle of wine on our last evening as an apology.

The food was very good - we stayed half board but most nights had drinks away from the hotel as they were cheaper and you never got served anyway.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
This was a fantastic hotel to stay in on our first and hopefullyy not our last visit to Bulgaria. The rooms were comfortable clean and spacious with a travel cot provided for our two year old with no problem. The breakfasts were fine if a bit repetive, the staff can look a bit surly but are very helpful if approached. Lots of nice touches like a weather report for the next day, chocoaltes left on your pillow and slippers and gown provided. A lovely place to stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan - but flight only

Recommended
Ross Kean
12 years 3 months ago
The location of the hotel could'nt be better, it is Central for everything.

Food wise, the breakfasts were okay but the dinners catered very much for German and Eastern Europeans and on the whole were very repetitive.

The hotel is very clean and sheets and towels were replaced regularly. The staff were mainly efficent but not particularly friendly. We were charged for goods from the mini bar when it had not been touched.

Forget about entertainment there is none, this is not a family hotel. It has more the feel of an impersonal city hotel and the staff and many of the guests seemed quite up themselves to be honest.

The pool area is far to small and you have virtually no chance of a sun bed, so you end up paying at the beach or a private pool.

Location and presentation are spot on but the hotel lacks in almost every other department.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Dirk Vermeulen
12 years 6 months ago
The location of the hotel is great. Near a small town center and at the start of the "boulevard". A bit noisy at nite with the window open. The cleanliness and facilities are excellent. Beach costs are L 12.50 pp daily for "private beach". Not very nice. Nice beach though and pool bit small. Also has inside pool.

In-house nightclub with live music. Nice if you are not bothered by groups of doubtfull locals with wads of cash claiming godlike status.

Food sucks. Breakfast and dinner are buffet style. Vegetables and meat are overcooked. No variation in choice of food at all. Not catered to the guests. Cheap ingredients. We went usually out. You have to look around for someting decent to eat. Cocktails are great at Pench's.

Bring your own shampoo and shower gel (rarely replenished) + beach towls.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Neckermann

Recommended
S Jupp
13 years 3 months ago
A group of 18 went here on the above date.

The hotel itself is very nice.

The location, is great on the sea front.

We had glass on our floor for 3 days even went to complain, it was still on the floor.

The worst part of this hotel is there dinning room, if you move you lose your seat. Plates were staked up on the table, food was cold and the same thing all the time. I had to have a row with man before we could get tables together.

The other down fall to this so called 5 star hotel was that the lounge upstairs was was closed off at times.

Some of the staff behind the desk were very rude and it wasn't a barrier of language, they were just rude.

From on looks its looks a lovely hotel which it is it just needs some good management, and a lot more tender loving care with its guests.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan holidays

Peter
13 years 3 months ago
We stayed from 5th to 26th September 2005 in this very good five star hotel well situated on the sea front and within easy reach of everywhere.

There were very few British or German guests, mainly Scandinavian, Dutch and Russian, with whom we got on very well.

All the staff were first class, especially those in Reception who were most pleasant and helpful. The dining room was most efficiently run, but you had to hang onto your plate and cutlery or they vanished if they thought you had finished - not a problem, but they were that good.

In the rooms and corridors, the cleaning ladies were also most efficient. If anything was out of place all you had to do was smile and point, and it was put right within seconds.

The upstairs bar/lounge was a most pleasant place to relax all times of day and well into the small hours. It never closed or was unavailable to guests for the three weeks we were there.

The food was basically very good, and surprisingly varied over our extended stay, but like buffet type meals all over the world, was never as hot as 'a la carte'.

Entertainment is to be found all over Golden Sands, and in the Admiral night club. It was great not to be deafened in the two hotel bars.

Without doubt we will return.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Payne
13 years 4 months ago
Excellent Hotel in superb beach front location. The standards were very high throughout with a wealth of facilities. Food was very varied and again excellent. Bedrooms are superb.

The only downsides was that the restaurant got very full at times (especially breakfast) and it was often difficult to find a table! The hotel is in the heart of the resort so expect some noise. The pool area is small so don't expect a guaranteed sunbed.

Would definitely stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan holidays

Recommended
13 years 4 months ago
Found food in restaurant very repetetive and also very cold. Although the pancakes went down well at breakfast.

The Pool - up at 5:30 every morning to put towels out.
Be very careful by the slide, pipe runs across path and forgot about it several times almost breaking my foot.

Room was very clean, although we had a view of a brick wall on our balcony.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Deborah
13 years 5 months ago
Excellent hotel with very good facilities. Staff a bit rude, may be just the language barrier.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
14 years 3 months ago
First class hotel, is actually a 5 star, but was 4 in the 2004 Balkan Holiday brochure. New this year, and just can't fault it. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bathroom one of the best we have had in a hotel throughout the world. Safety deposit boxes are in the rooms and free.
Have already booked for next year.
To us, no entertainment in the hotel was a plus, except for a duo playing in the restaurant on an evening. It has a completely separate night club for those who want it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum